DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/07/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 5 of the REMARKS, filed 01/07/2025, with respect to the 112 Rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 112 Rejection of claims 6, 7 and 9 has been withdrawn.
Applicant argues on page 6 of the REMARKS, “Suga and correlates the claimed second region with the bubble-rich regions 102 and 104 of Suga. Suga discloses that the silica glass portion 13 itself is transparent to visible light and may have a visible light transmittance of 60% or more, whereas the entire substrate 10, which includes bubbles 14, is opaque to visible light (Suga; [0024]). Thus, Suga only contrasts the transmittance of the bubble-free glass "portion" (the silica glass portion 14) with that of the substrate 10 "as a whole". Suga does not describe or even imply a comparison of transmittance between different regions within the thickness of the substrate 10 as required by claims 1 and 12. Even if one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention could theoretically expect some change in local transmittance of portions of the substrate 10 of Suga along the thickness direction due to the variation in the distribution of bubbles 14 as described in paragraphs [0051]-[0056] of Suga, Suga merely provides a qualitative statement that the substrate 10 as a whole is opaque. There is no disclosure of the respective transmittances of the first region 101 and/or the second region 102 compared to the silica glass portion 13. Applicant respectfully asserts that there is no disclosure in Suga of a relationship such as "the transmittance of the second region is lower than that of the first region" as required by claims 1 and 12. Therefore, as each and every element of claims 1 and 12 is not present in the disclosure of Suga, Suga fails to anticipate claims 1 and 12”. The Office respectfully disagrees.
The independent claim(s) claim, in part, a glass layer comprising a first region having a first transmittance and a second region having a second transmittance that is lower than the first transmittance. The claim has not physically defined what is being transmitted. The claim has not quantified a level of transmittance such as to establish different first and second transmittance. The claim has not structurally limited the first region nor the second region such that the regions can have overlapping boundaries.
Suga (US 2024/0407089 A1) states at [0024] “The silica glass portion 13 is transparent to visible light. On the other hand, the silica glass substrate 10 includes a plurality of bubbles 14 and is thus opaque to visible light as a whole. Note that, in the description, being “transparent” means that a visible light transmittance is 60% or more, preferably 70% or more, more preferably 80% or more, and still more preferably 90% or more.”
As seen by OPAQUE Definition & Meaning | Dictionary.com, opaque means “not transparent or translucent; impenetrable to light; not allowing light to pass through”. Suga discloses that a region comprising 14 (interpreted as the second region) do not allow light to pass through, i.e. do not allow transmittance of light, as the portion is “opaque to visible light”. The transmittance of light about the regions with 14 are closer to zero, as Suga states this region is “opaque to visible light”. The region about 13 (interpreted as the first region) is described by Suga as “transparent to visible light” therefore allows transmittance of visible light. Transmittance of light in the region about 13 is most preferably at “90%” or more. Therefore Suga discloses a glass layer comprising a first region having a first transmittance (e.g. 90% or more) and a second region having a second transmittance (opaque to visible light) that is lower than the first transmittance.
Suga further shows in Fig 3, region of 13 (see callout 13) is centrally located in the thickness direction of 10 and region comprising 14 (see callout 14) closer to the upper and lower sides of 10. Again as noted earlier, the claim has not structurally limited the first region nor the second region such that the regions can have overlapping boundaries. Thus Suga discloses a comparison of transmittance between different regions within the thickness of the substrate 10 as [0024] of Suga also discloses the difference in light transmittance of the different portions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 7, 12, and 14 – 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Suga (US 2024/0407089 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Suga (US 2024/0407089 A1) discloses a printed circuit board (Fig 3) comprising: a glass layer (10) having a first region (area or portion about 13; note that the structural limits and boundary of this claimed region have not been structurally claimed) having first transmittance ([0024] “transparent to visible light”; note the claim does not specify what is being transmitted) and a second region (about 102,104; with 14; note that the structural limits and boundary of this claimed region have not been structurally claimed) having second transmittance ([0024] “opaque to visible light”), different from the first transmittance ([0024]); and a first wiring layer ([0006,0074-0078] “conductor layer”) disposed on the glass layer (10), wherein the second region (about 102,104; with 14) is positioned on each of an upper side (side or end away from 13 and towards 11) and a lower side (side or end away from 13 and towards 12) of the glass layer (10), at least a portion of the first region (region or area about 13) is positioned on a central side (see Fig 13 should 13 is towards the middle of 10) between the upper side and the lower side of the glass layer (10), and wherein the second transmittance ([0024] “opaque to visible light”) is lower than (less visible for transmitting light) the first transmittance ([0024] “transparent to visible light”).
Regarding Claim 4, Suga further discloses the printed circuit board (Fig 3) of claim 1, wherein a thickness ([0062] a thickness; e.g. a region or portion about the thickness of the region spanning at callout 102 as seen in Fig 3 is less than a region or portion about the thickness of 13 between the regions called out at 102 and 104) of the first region (area or portion about 13; note that the structural limits and boundary of this claimed region have not been structurally claimed) is greater than a thickness of the second region (about 102,104; with 14; note that the structural limits and boundary of this claimed region have not been structurally claimed).
Annotated Fig 3 from Suga (US 2024/0407089 A1)
Regarding Claim 7, Suga further discloses the printed circuit board (Fig 3) of claim 1, wherein the second region (region about 102,104 is shown spanning across the whole substrate and so a wiring layer would be formed on the second region; with 14; note that the structural limits and boundary of this claimed region have not been structurally claimed) is disposed in at least a portion of the glass layer (10) in which the first wiring layer ([0074] “a conductor layer on at least one of the first main surface 11 and the second main surface 12 and forming a circuit pattern”) is disposed.
Regarding Claim 12, Suga discloses a printed circuit board (Fig 3) comprising: a glass layer (10) having a first region (area or portion about 13; note that the structural limits and boundary of this claimed region have not been structurally claimed) internally positioned (towards the middle of 10) and a second region (about 102,104; with 14; note that the structural limits and boundary of this claimed region have not been structurally claimed) externally positioned (externally away from 13) with respect to a stacking direction; and a first wiring layer ([0074] “a conductor layer on at least one of the first main surface 11 and the second main surface 12 and forming a circuit pattern”) disposed on the glass layer (10), wherein transmittance ([0024] “opaque to visible light“) of the second region is lower than transmittance ([0024] “transparent to visible light”) of the first region.
Regarding Claim 14, Suga further discloses the printed circuit board (Fig 3) of claim 12, wherein a portion of the first region (area or portion about 13; note that the structural limits and boundary of this claimed region have not been structurally claimed) is in contact with the first wiring layer (wiring formed on 11 or 12 would contact the first region; [0074] “a conductor layer on at least one of the first main surface 11 and the second main surface 12 and forming a circuit pattern”).
Regarding Claim 15, Suga further discloses the printed circuit board (Fig 3) of claim 12, wherein the first region (area or portion about 13; note that the structural limits and boundary of this claimed region have not been structurally claimed) is spaced apart (portion about 13 is away from 11 or 12) from the first wiring layer ([0074] “a conductor layer on at least one of the first main surface 11 and the second main surface 12 and forming a circuit pattern”).
Regarding Claim 16, Suga further discloses the printed circuit board (Fig 3) of claim 12, wherein a thickness ([0062] a thickness; e.g. a region or portion about the thickness of the region spanning at callout 102 as seen in Fig 3 is less than a region or portion about the thickness of 13 between the regions called out at 102 and 104) of the first region (area or portion about 13; note that the structural limits and boundary of this claimed region have not been structurally claimed) is greater than a thickness of the second region (about 102,104; with 14; note that the structural limits and boundary of this claimed region have not been structurally claimed).
Regarding Claim 17, The printed circuit board of claim 12, wherein the second region (about 102,104; with 14; note that the structural limits and boundary of this claimed region have not been structurally claimed) is positioned on at least a portion of each of an upper surface (region is away from 13 and towards 11) and a lower surface (region is away from 13 and towards 12) of the glass layer (10), and extends to the inside of the glass layer (10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suga (US 2024/0407089 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fushie (US 2006/0201818 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Suga discloses the limitations of the preceding claim.
Suga does not disclose the printed circuit board of claim 1, wherein the first wiring layer includes a first-first wiring layer disposed on an upper surface of the glass layer, and a first-second wiring layer disposed on a lower surface of the glass layer, and at least a portion of the first-first wiring layer is disposed to be misaligned with at least a portion of the first-second wiring layer.
Fushie (US 2006/0201818 A1) teaches of a printed circuit board (Fig 1), wherein a first wiring layer (6,7) includes a first-first wiring layer (upper 6,7) disposed on an upper surface (upper surface of 2) of a glass layer (2; [0064]), and a first-second wiring layer (lower 6,7) disposed on a lower surface (lower surface of 2) of the glass layer (2), and at least a portion (see right side of Fig 1) of the first-first wiring layer (upper 6,7 is shown not aligned with the lower 6,7) is disposed to be misaligned with at least a portion of the first-second wiring layer.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the board as disclosed by Suga, wherein the first wiring layer includes a first-first wiring layer disposed on an upper surface of the glass layer, and a first-second wiring layer disposed on a lower surface of the glass layer, and at least a portion of the first-first wiring layer is disposed to be misaligned with at least a portion of the first-second wiring layer Fushie, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art, such as to form a desired wiring capable of mounting various electronic parts and improve mounting density (Fushie, [0003-0010]). In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding Claim 9, Suga discloses the limitations of the preceding claim.
Suga does not disclose the printed circuit board of claim 1, further comprising: a through-via penetrating the glass layer to connect the first wiring layer, wherein the first wiring layer includes a first metal layer and a second metal layer disposed on the first metal layer, and wherein the first metal layer of the first wiring layer covers each of an upper surface and a lower surface of the through-via.
Fushie (US 2006/0201818 A1) teaches of a printed circuit board (Fig 1), comprising: a through-via (3) penetrating a glass layer (2; [0064]) to connect a first wiring layer (6,7), wherein the first wiring layer (6,7) includes a first metal layer (7) and a second metal layer (6) disposed on the first metal layer (7), and wherein the first metal layer (7) of the first wiring layer (6,7) covers each of an upper surface and a lower surface of the through-via (3).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the board as disclosed by Suga, further comprising: a through-via penetrating the glass layer to connect the first wiring layer, wherein the first wiring layer includes a first metal layer and a second metal layer disposed on the first metal layer, and wherein the first metal layer of the first wiring layer covers each of an upper surface and a lower surface of the through-via as taught by Fushie, in order to densely form a wiring layer, improve mounting density, improved miniaturization, allow for front and rear surface wirings capable of mounting various electronic parts, and provide a desired thermal resistance characteristic (Fushie, [0003-0010]).
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suga (US 2024/0407089 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kokubu (US 4,624,934).
Regarding Claim 8, Suga discloses the limitations of the preceding claim.
Suga does not disclose the printed circuit board of claim 1, wherein the glass layer includes colored glass.
Kokubu (US 4,624,934) teaches of a printed circuit board (Column 1, lines 6-11), wherein a glass layer (Column 3, lines 20-55) includes colored glass (Column 3, lines 20-55 “glass powder of the present invention is preferably constituted in at least 95% of its entirety by the above-mentioned components. For the rest of less than 5%, it is possible to incorporate a coloring agent, SnO.sub.2 to improve the water resistance or PbO, etc. to improve the melting property”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the board as disclosed by Suga, wherein the glass layer includes colored glass as taught by Kokubu, in order to improve water resistance (Kokubu, Column 3, lines 20-55). Furthermore having the glass layer including colored glass may allow for a more visually appealing product, allow for better surface contrast and meet desired pictorial designs.
Claim(s) 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suga (US 2024/0407089 A1) in view of Fushie (US 2006/0201818 A1) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Inagaki (US 2015/0327363 A1).
Regarding Claim 10, Suga in view of Fushie teaches the limitations of the preceding claim including the glass layer.
Suga does not disclose the printed circuit board of claim 9, further comprising: a first insulating layer disposed on the glass layer, and covering the first wiring layer; one or more second insulating layers disposed on the first insulating layer; and one or more second wiring layers disposed on or within the one or more second insulating layers.
Inagaki (US 2015/0327363 A1) teaches of a printed circuit board (Fig 1-9), comprising: a first insulating layer (50F,50S; [0046-0051]) disposed on a layer (30), and covering a first wiring layer (22,24,26); one or more second insulating layers (150Fa,150Sa,150Fb; [0046-0051]) disposed on the first insulating layer (50); and one or more second wiring layers (60,52,76; [0065-0068]) disposed on or within the one or more second insulating layers.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the board with glass layer as taught by Suga in view of Fushie, further comprising: a first insulating layer disposed on the glass layer, and covering the first wiring layer; one or more second insulating layers disposed on the first insulating layer; and one or more second wiring layers disposed on or within the one or more second insulating layers as taught by Inagaki, in order to provide functions and dedicated wirings for electronic components mounted on the board (Inagaki, [0024-0037]). This would also provide for additional densely formed wiring layers, further improves mounting density, improves miniaturization, and allows for front and rear surface wirings capable of mounting various electronic parts as taught in view of Fushie (Fushie, [0003-0010]).
Regarding Claim 11, Suga in view of Fushie and Inagaki teaches the limitations of the preceding claim and Inagaki further teaches the printed circuit board (Fig 1-9) of claim 10, further comprising: a solder resist layer (70F) disposed on the second insulating layer (150Fa), and having an opening (71F) exposing at least a portion of the second wiring layer (76).
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suga (US 2024/0407089 A1) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Inagaki (US 2015/0327363 A1).
Regarding Claim 13, Suga discloses the limitations of the preceding claim including the glass layer. Suga also disclose the second region (region about 102,104) shown spanning across the whole substrate and so a wiring layer or additional layers atop 11 or 12 would be formed on the second region (the region with 14; note that the structural limits and boundary of this claimed region have not been structurally claimed).
Suga does not explicitly disclose the printed circuit board of claim 12, further comprising: a first insulating layer disposed on the glass layer, and covering the first wiring layer, wherein at least a portion of the second region is in contact with the first insulating layer.
Inagaki (US 2015/0327363 A1) teaches of a printed circuit board (Fig 1-9), comprising: a first insulating layer (50F,50S; [0046-0051]) disposed on a layer (30), and covering a first wiring layer (22,24,26).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the board with glass layer as disclosed by Suga, further comprising: a first insulating layer disposed on the layer, and covering the first wiring layer as taught by Inagaki, in order to provide functions and dedicated wirings for electronic components mounted on the board (Inagaki, [0024-0037]). This would also provide for additional densely formed wiring layers, further improves mounting density, improves miniaturization, and allows for front and rear surface wirings capable of mounting various electronic parts. The combination of Suga in view of Inagaki would teach the printed circuit board comprising a glass layer, further comprising: a first insulating layer disposed on the glass layer, and covering the first wiring layer as taught by Inagaki, wherein at least a portion of the second region (the region show in Fig 3 of Suga spans across the entire substrate and would contact any additional layer atop 11 or 12) is in contact with the first insulating layer (an additional insulating layer as taught by Inagaki formed contacting the core).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROSHN K VARGHESE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896