DETAILED ACTION
for
EXCITATION SYSTEM
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/23/2024 & 07/18/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Oath/Declaration
The Oath/Declaration submitted on 02/07/2024 is noted by the Examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because: Figure 13: Blank reference boxes like the one in the adjacent annotated Figure, in addition to the overall box as shown in Fig. 5a and 5b should also be labeled with their representative structure in order to more easily identify the structure quickly that is utilized in the invention without having to read through the specification. Specifically, the boxes should be labeled -- Sensor See 37 C.F.R. 1.83(a) below.
Claim Objections
Claims 4-5 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4, recites the limitation "exciter element” in line claim line 2. It is Examiner's belief that Applicant is intending to recite “exciter elements are magnets” as recited in the previous claims. To avoid an antecedent basis rejection appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5, recites the limitation "exciter element” in line claim line 2. It is Examiner's belief that Applicant is intending to recite “exciter elements are magnets” as recited in the previous claims. To avoid an antecedent basis rejection appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by MacMahon et al. [herein after US 2020/0072062) “Admitted by Applicant on IDS”.
Regarding claims 1 and 12, MacMahon discloses a non-contact excitation system and method for a spin rig comprising: a plurality of test piece elements (122) for attachment to a test piece (18) for rotation about an axis of rotation (X) of the spin rig [18; “a longitudinal or axial centerline axis 12”] ; and a plurality of exciter elements (112) arranged around the axis of rotation 1, wherein the test piece elements (122) and the exciter elements (112) are magnetically attractive [¶0037, lines 10-12; “an electromagnetic force is applied to the airfoil via the electromagnet at the static structure and the ferromagnetic material of the airfoil”]; wherein the test piece elements (112) comprise magnets “the ferromagnetic material 112”; and wherein, in use, the exciter elements (112) are arranged around the test piece (18); each exciter element (112) being axially and radially offset from the plurality of test piece elements [(122); see annotated Fig. 4 below].
Regarding claim 2, MacMahon further discloses the plurality of exciter elements (112) are magnets which each have a magnetic pole (P.sub.E) which is oriented radially [¶0050, lines 3-6; “the electromagnet 122 is disposed at a radially outward end 127 of the stator 124”].
Regarding claim 3, MacMahon further discloses the plurality of exciter elements (112) are magnets which alternate in polarity in a circumferential direction around the axis of rotation (Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 4, MacMahon further discloses the plurality of exciter magnets (112) are permanent magnets “ferromagnetic material 112”.
Regarding claim 5, MacMahon further discloses the plurality of exciter magnets (112) are bar magnets (Figs. 3).
Regarding claim 6, MacMahon further discloses the test piece (18) being a bladed disc and the test piece elements are for attachment to a plurality of blade tips (Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 7, MacMahon further discloses the test piece elements (122) are magnets which each have a magnet pole (P.sub.T) which is oriented radially [“electromagnet 122”; Fig. 4].
Regarding claim 8, MacMahon further discloses the test piece elements (122) are magnets which alternate in polarity in a circumferential direction around the axis of rotation (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 9, MacMahon further discloses the exciter elements (112) are magnets and the test piece elements are ferromagnetic elements “ferromagnetic material 112”.
Regarding claim 10, MacMahon further discloses each exciter element (112) is moveable between an active position (Fig. 4), in which a magnetic force is provided between each exciter element (112) and at least one of the test piece elements (122), and an inactive position (Fig. 8), in which the magnetic force between the exciter elements (112) and the at least one test piece element is reduced.
Regarding claim 11, MacMahon further discloses a test piece to which the test piece elements are attached (Fig. 3).
Conclusion
Bywaters discloses the module handling tool (128) has a cylindrical stator frame (116) having a base. A bearing is supported by frame and designed to facilitate the movement of active portion module along the module translation axis. A translator is designed to move the active portion module along the translation axis. A positioning system is designed for aligning the frame relative to module receiving location of electromagnetic rotary machine (100) for insertion/removal of the active portion module respectively, into/from the module receiving location.
/BRANDI N HOPKINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855