DETAILED ACTION
Status of claims
Claims 1-3,5-6,12-15,17-18 and 24 are amended.
Claims 25 is a newly added claim.
Claims 1-25 are pending.
Amendment claims overcome 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection. Augmented data for the first aircraft implies the improve the situational awareness of the aircraft operator. Applicant’s amendments are entered. Applicant’s remarks are also entered into the record. A new search was made necessitated by the applicant’s amendments and remarks.
Response to arguments
Applicant’s remarks and arguments are respectfully considered but not
persuasive. Applicant’s stands on pages 13-14 that” Maji fail to disclose receiving, by the…correlating, by the …, augmenting, by the …., displaying .. wherein an aircraft icon…”. Examiner states that Maji teaches the traffic unit received ADS-B message from other aircraft (See Maji [column 6, lines 6-8] The traffic unit 112 may also receive ADS-B messages from other aircraft (e.g., via the ADS-B unit 170) which supports that system provides status information of other aircraft of the supervisor monitored aircraft.
Regarding, correlating….Maji teaches that identification is implemented by correlating the current approximate traffic information with previously stored proximate traffic information (See Maji [Column 8, lines 21-47]Such identification may be implemented by correlating the current proximate traffic information to previously stored proximate traffic information based on.), which supports correlating the other aircraft information with the air traffic information to identify the supervised aircraft with data.
Regarding, augmenting….Maji teaches that database coupled to the ADS-B unit and configured to store the flight information associated with other aircraft over plurality of time period, to improving overall flight safety but adding results to the system (see Maji claim 1 a database coupled to the ADS-B unit and configured to store at least a portion of the flight information associated with the other aircraft over the plurality of time periods), result is used to improving overall flight safety(see Maji column 1) which supports the supervised aircraft with the air traffic information obtained from the source(database 120)
Regarding, displaying ….Maji teaches that he embodiments improved monitoring, evaluation and display of aircraft traffic, missing aircraft traffic by identifying missing ADS-B messages), approximate traffic updated an displayed (see Maji [column 12,lines 1-31] the embodiments improved monitoring, evaluation and display of aircraft traffic, missing aircraft traffic by identifying missing ADS-B messages), approximate traffic updated an displayed(See Maji the traffic display 400 of FIG. 4, the zone 435 has been removed based on the updated information from the air traffic control to indicate the reduced level of uncertainty, figure 5 is the updated display based on the correlation and augmented data).
Therefore, Examiner maintains the 35.U.S.C 102 rejection and repeat the rejection as before
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by
US 9530323 B1 to Maji et al. (herein after “Maji”).
Regarding claim 1. Maji teaches A computer-implemented method (See Maji column 1 lines 12-17 Computer generated aircraft displays have become highly sophisticated and are used to provide flight crews with real-time visual representations of flight management, navigation, and control information) of providing status information of other aircraft in a vicinity of an supervisor monitored aircraft(Similar as an own-ship aircraft) (see Maji column 1 an aircraft system for an own-ship aircraft includes an Automatic Dependent Surveillance-Broadcast (ADS-B) unit configured to receive ADS-B messages with flight information from other aircraft over a plurality of time periods.), the method comprising: displaying , by a supervisor computer system, a supervisor monitored aircraft icon on a display to represent positioning of the supervisor monitored aircraft within the vicinity of the supervisor monitored aircraft (see Maji column 1 lines 20-24 As one example, a traffic display presents the operator with the relative positions of other aircraft in the vicinity of the aircraft during flight) (supervisor monitor aircraft is similar to an own-ship aircraft ) receiving , by the supervisor computer system, radio transmissions broadcast by the other aircraft in the vicinity of the operator controlled aircraft (see Maji column 5 lines 7-12 The communication unit 160 may be any suitable device for sending and receiving information to and from the system 100. In some embodiments, communication unit 160 may be configured to receive radio frequency transmissions,); processing, by the supervisor computer system, the radio transmissions to generate one or more text strings corresponding to audio content of the radio transmissions (see Maji column 5 lines 20-223The communication unit 160 may interpret received communications and present this information to the processing unit 110), (see Maji column 5 “the communication unit 160 may exchange automated or selected messages with air traffic control about traffic, either as text-based messages, voice communications, or other forms”); processing, by the supervisor computer system, the one or more text strings to determine, for each of one or more of the other aircraft in the vicinity of the supervisor monitored aircraft (see Maji column 5 lines 17-21 As described below, the communication unit 160 may exchange automated or selected messages with air traffic control about traffic, either as text-based messages, voice communications, see column 5 the communication unit 160 may configure to receive radio frequency transmission…also to send and/or receive information with the air traffic control, he communication unit 160 may exchange automated or selected messages with air traffic control about traffic, either as text-based messages, voice communications, or other forms, the communication unit 160 may interpret received communications and present this information to the processing unit 110) at least one of an identifier of the other aircraft, a position of the other aircraft, or an intent of the other aircraft; (see Maji column 5 the communication unit interpret the received communication(text or voice) and present this information to the processing unit 110 or the other system of the other aircraft )
receiving, by the supervisor computer system, air traffic information for at least one of the other aircraft in the vicinity of the supervisor monitored aircraft obtained from an aircraft traffic information source; (See Maji [column 4 lines 8-22] Data in the database 120 may be uploaded prior to flight or received from external sources, such as an airport and other aircraft trans missions and/or onboard sensors, see [column 6, lines 6-8] The traffic unit 112 may also receive ADS-B messages from other aircraft (e.g., via the ADS-B unit 170). )
correlating, by the supervisor computer system, the radio transmissions broadcast by the other aircraft with the air traffic information to identify a first aircraft among the other aircraft associated with data among the air traffic information; (See Maji [Column 8, lines 21-47] Such identification may be implemented by correlating the current proximate traffic information to previously stored proximate traffic information based on., column 4 Database 120 is coupled to processing unit 110 and can be a memory device (e.g., non-volatile memory, disk, drive, tape, optical storage device, mass storage device, etc.) that stores digital landing, waypoint, target location, and terrain data as either absolute coordinate data or as a function of aircraft position that enables the construction of a synthetic or enhanced representation of the aircraft operating environment) (see column 2 storing the flight information for each of the proximate aircraft; receiving second messages with flight information from at least a portion of the other aircraft during a second time period; comparing the flight information from the second messages with the flight information from the first messages to identify missing flight information in the second time period, the missing flight information being associated with at least a first aircraft of the other aircraft; and generating an annunciation based on the missing flight information for the first aircraft.)
augmenting, by the supervisor computer system(See Maji an own-ship aircraft includes an ADS-B unit ) , a radio transmission by the first aircraft with the air traffic information obtained from the aircraft traffic information source to obtain augmented data for the first aircraft; (see Maji claim 1 a database coupled to the ADS-B unit and configured to store at least a portion of the flight information associated with the other aircraft over the plurality of time periods) (See regarding augmented data column 4 Database 120 can additionally include other types of navigation and/or operational information relating to the evaluation and display of information., column 5 the ADS-B unit 170 includes a transponder that automatically and periodically transmits messages that include state vector data (e.g., flight information) for the broadcasting aircraft., column 8 The stored proximate traffic information may include a record or entry that includes, for example, the aircraft ID, position, altitude, track, and time stamp to indicate the time at which the message was received, column 8 a zone or range area outline 435 surrounding the icon 415 may be provided to give the operator of the own-ship additional information about the possible location of the missing proximate traffic.) and
displaying, by the supervisor computer system, one or more other aircraft icons on a display of the supervisor computer system, (see Maji column 7 lines 25-27 In FIG. 3, the traffic display 300 is centered on the own-ship aircraft, represented by symbol or icon 302), wherein each of the other aircraft icons is indicative of at least one of the position of one of the other aircraft, the identifier of one of the other aircraft, or the intent of one of the other aircraft, wherein an aircraft icon representing the first aircraft is associated with the augmented data for the first aircraft. (see Maji claim 17 updating the symbology based on the updated information about the first aircraft.).
Regarding claim 2. Maji teaches wherein the air traffic information is obtained from the aircraft traffic information source via a first wireless transceiver, (see Maji column 6 lines 60-67 The aircraft system 100 may further receive traffic information from additional or other sources, including a traffic collision avoidance system (TCAS), a traffic information service broadcast (TIS-B) and/or an automatic dependent surveillance rebroadcast (ADS-R), which may be received and/or processed with the communication unit 160, flight management system 140, and/or the processing unit 110. This information may also be provided to the traffic unit 112.), internet connection, or surveillance data provider, wherein the air traffic information is indicative of positioning of at least one of the other aircraft over a period of time (see Maji column 1 lines 21-25 The positions of the traffic relative to the aircraft may be determined based on Automatic Dependent Surveillance-Broadcast (ADS-B) messages received by the aircraft.; column 1 lines 45-50 In accordance with an exemplary embodiment, an aircraft system for an own-ship aircraft includes an Automatic Dependent Surveillance-Broadcast (ADS-B) unit configured to receive ADS-B messages with flight information from other aircraft over a plurality of time periods );
Regarding claim 3. Maji teaches wherein the air traffic information comprises Automatic Dependent Surveillance - Broadcast (ADS-B) data or other surveillance/position system data. (see Maji column 1 lines 45-49 In accordance with an exemplary embodiment, an aircraft system for an own-ship aircraft includes an Automatic Dependent Surveillance-Broadcast (ADS-B) unit configured to receive ADS-B messages with flight information).
Regarding claim 4. Maji teaches wherein ADS-B data comprises at least one of a global positioning system (GPS) location (see Maji column 4 lines 23 to 28In accordance with an exemplary embodiment, an aircraft system for an own-ship aircraft includes an Automatic Dependent Surveillance-Broadcast (ADS-B) unit configured to receive ADS-B messages with flight information), an altitude, or a ground speed (see Maji column 5 lines 22-32 As previously noted, the ADS-B unit 170 is coupled to the processing unit 110. Generally, ADS-B unit 170 functions as part of a cooperative surveillance mechanism for air traffic management and related applications. In one exemplary embodiment, the ADS-B unit 170 includes a transponder that automatically and periodically transmits messages that include state vector data (e.g., flight information) for the broadcasting aircraft. Such aircraft state vectors may include, as examples, aircraft position, airspeed, altitude).
Regarding claim 5. Maji teaches wherein correlating is performed by matching at least a portion of the other aircraft identifier in the one or more text strings (see Maji column 5 lines 17-21 As described below, the communication unit 160 may exchange automated or selected messages with air traffic control about traffic, either as text-based messages, voice communications), and the air traffic information (See Maji column 6 lines 60-64 The aircraft system 100 may further receive traffic information from additional or other sources, including a traffic collision avoidance system (TCAS), a traffic information service broadcast (TIS-B)).
Regarding claim 6. Maji teaches accessing aircraft performance data for one of the other aircraft based on the air traffic information (see Maji column 4 lines 57-62 The flight management system 140 may also identify optimized speeds, distance remaining, time remaining, cross track deviation, navigational performance parameters, and other travel parameters.); determining movement of the one of the other aircraft based on the aircraft performance data (see Maji column 6 lines 1-5 the system 100 is particularly suitable for monitoring, evaluating, and presenting air traffic information to the operator during flight. During operation, the traffic unit 112 of the processing unit 110 may determine or otherwise receive the current position and energy parameters (e.g., altitude, track, etc.) of the aircraft); determining an updated position of the one of the other aircraft based on the movement (See Maji claim 8 The aircraft system of claim 7, wherein the communication unit is configured to receive the updated information from air traffic control, wherein the processing unit is configured to update a position of the second icon on the traffic display based on the updated information, and wherein the processing unit is further configured to update or remove the outline of the zone area surrounding the second icon on the traffic display.); and displaying the updated position of the one of the other aircraft on the display (see Maji column 11 lines 9-12 In step 255, the updated information from air traffic control may be presented to the operator. Reference is briefly made to FIG. 5, which corresponds to a traffic display 500 that has been updated relative to the traffic display 400 in FIG. 4.).
Regarding claim 13. Maji teaches A system (see Maji Abstract The system further includes a database configured to store at least a portion of the flight information associated with the other aircraft over the plurality of time periods) for providing status information of other aircraft in a vicinity of an supervisor monitored aircraft, the system comprising: a radio receiver operable to receive radio transmissions broadcast on one or more aviation communication frequencies (see Maji column 4 lines 36-40 The flight management system 140 supports navigation, flight planning, and other aircraft control functions, as well as provides real-time data and/or information regarding the operational status of the aircraft.);
a display (see Maji column 1 lines 15-20 As a result, such displays have become effective visual tools for controlling aircraft, reducing pilot workload, increasing situational awareness, and improving overall flight safety);
at least one processor (See Maji column 3 lines 26-28 The processing unit 110 may be a computer processor associated the various aircraft functions discussed below ); and a tangible memory device storing non-transitory instructions executable by the at least one processor to cause the at least one processor to (See Maji column 3 lines 47-52 Depending on the embodiment, the processing unit 110 may be implemented or realized with a general purpose processor, a content addressable memory, a digital signal processor):
display supervisor monitored aircraft icon on the display to represent positioning of the supervisor monitored aircraft within the vicinity of the supervisor monitored aircraft (See Maji column 7 lines 25-30 In FIG. 3, the traffic display 300 is centered on the own-ship aircraft, represented by symbol or icon 302. One or more range rings 304 may be depicted to provide a distance or timing context. As shown, the traffic display 300 also includes symbology (e.g., in the form of a chevron or diamond icon)); receive radio transmissions broadcast by the other aircraft in the vicinity of the supervisor monitored aircraft (See Maji column 5 lines 7-13 The communication unit 160 may be any suitable device for sending and receiving information to and from the system 100. In some embodiments, communication unit 160 may be configured to receive radio frequency transmissions, satellite communication transmissions,) ; process the radio transmissions to generate one or more text strings corresponding to audio content of the radio transmissions(see Maji column 5 lines 20-223The communication unit 160 may interpret received communications and present this information to the processing unit 110.);; process the one or more text strings to determine, for each of one or more of the other aircraft in the vicinity of the supervisor monitored aircraft(see Maji column 5 lines 17-21 As described below, the communication unit 160 may exchange automated or selected messages with air traffic control about traffic, either as text-based messages, voice communications), at least one of an identifier of the other aircraft, a position of the other aircraft, or an intent of the other aircraft; and
receive, by the supervisor computer system, air traffic information for at least one of the other aircraft in the vicinity of the supervisor monitored aircraft obtained from an aircraft traffic information source; (See Maji [column 4 lines 8-22] Data in the database 120 may be uploaded prior to flight or received from external sources, such as an airport and other aircraft trans missions and/or onboard sensors, see [column 6, lines 6-8] The traffic unit 112 may also receive ADS-B messages from other aircraft (e.g., via the ADS-B unit 170). )
correlate, by the supervisor computer system, the radio transmissions broadcast by the other aircraft with the air traffic information to identify a first aircraft among the other aircraft associated with data among the air traffic information; (See Maji [Column 8, lines 21-47] Such identification may be implemented by correlating the current proximate traffic information to previously stored proximate traffic information based on.)
augment, by the supervisor computer system, a radio transmission by the first aircraft with the air traffic information obtained from the aircraft traffic information source to obtain augmented data for the first aircraft; (see Maji claim 1 a database coupled to the ADS-B unit and configured to store at least a portion of the flight information associated with the other aircraft over the plurality of time periods), result is used to improving overall flight safety(see Maji column 1)
display one or more other aircraft icons on a display (see Maji column 7 lines 25-27 In FIG. 3, the traffic display 300 is centered on the own-ship aircraft, represented by symbol or icon 302), wherein each of the other aircraft icons is indicative of at least one of the position of the other aircraft, the identifier of the other aircraft, or the intent of the other aircraft, wherein an aircraft icon representing the first aircraft is associated with the augmented data for the first aircraft. (see Maji claim 17 updating the symbology based on the updated information about the first aircraft.).
Regarding claim 14. Maji teaches receive the air traffic information for at least one of the other aircraft in the vicinity of the operator controlled (see Maji column 1 lines 20-23 As one example, a traffic display presents the operator with the relative positions of other aircraft in the vicinity of the aircraft during flight) aircraft obtained from an aircraft traffic information source via a first wireless transceiver(see Maji column 6 lines 60-67 The aircraft system 100 may further receive traffic information from additional or other sources, including a traffic collision avoidance system (TCAS), a traffic information service broadcast (TIS-B) and/or an automatic dependent surveillance rebroadcast (ADS-R), which may be received and/or processed with the communication unit 160, flight management system 140, and/or the processing unit 110. This information may also be provided to the traffic unit 112. or internet connection, wherein the air traffic information is indicative of positioning of at least one of the other aircraft over a period of time(see Maji column 1 lines 21-25 The positions of the traffic relative to the aircraft may be determined based on Automatic Dependent Surveillance-Broadcast (ADS-B) messages received by the aircraft.; column 1 lines 45-50 In accordance with an exemplary embodiment, an aircraft system for an own-ship aircraft includes an Automatic Dependent Surveillance-Broadcast (ADS-B) unit configured to receive ADS-B messages with flight information from other aircraft over a plurality of time periods ).
Regarding claim 15. Maji teaches wherein the air traffic information comprises Automatic Dependent Surveillance - Broadcast (ADS-B) data or other surveillance/position system data. (see Maji column 1 lines 45-49 In accordance with an exemplary embodiment, an aircraft system for an own-ship aircraft includes an Automatic Dependent Surveillance-Broadcast (ADS-B) unit configured to receive ADS-B messages with flight information).
Regarding claim 16. Maji teaches wherein ADS-B data comprises at least one of a global positioning system (GPS) location(see Maji column 4 lines 23 to 28In accordance with an exemplary embodiment, an aircraft system for an own-ship aircraft includes an Automatic Dependent Surveillance-Broadcast (ADS-B) unit configured to receive ADS-B messages with flight information), an altitude, or a ground speed see Maji column 5 lines 22-32 As previously noted, the ADS-B unit 170 is coupled to the processing unit 110. Generally, ADS-B unit 170 functions as part of a cooperative surveillance mechanism for air traffic management and related applications. In one exemplary embodiment, the ADS-B unit 170 includes a transponder that automatically and periodically transmits messages that include state vector data (e.g., flight information) for the broadcasting aircraft. Such aircraft state vectors may include, as examples, aircraft position, airspeed, altitude).
Regarding claim 17. Maji teaches wherein the correlation of one of the other aircraft icons with one of the other aircraft in the vicinity of the operator controlled aircraft correlating is accomplished via matching at least a portion of the other aircraft identifier in the one or more text strings(see Maji column 5 lines 17-21 As described below, the communication unit 160 may exchange automated or selected messages with air traffic control about traffic, either as text-based messages, voice communications), and the air traffic information(See Maji column 6 lines 60-64 The aircraft system 100 may further receive traffic information from additional or other sources, including a traffic collision avoidance system (TCAS), a traffic information service broadcast (TIS-B)).
Regarding claim 18. Maji teaches wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the at least one processor to: access aircraft performance data for one of the other aircraft based on the air traffic information(see Maji column 4 lines 57-62 The flight management system 140 may also identify optimized speeds, distance remaining, time remaining, cross track deviation, navigational performance parameters, and other travel parameters.); determine movement of the one of the other aircraft based on aircraft performance data for the other aircraft(see Maji column 6 lines 1-5 the system 100 is particularly suitable for monitoring, evaluating, and presenting air traffic information to the operator during flight. During operation, the traffic unit 112 of the processing unit 110 may determine or otherwise receive the current position and energy parameters (e.g., altitude, track, etc.) of the aircraft); determine an updated position of the one of the other aircraft based on the movement(See Maji claim 8 The aircraft system of claim 7, wherein the communication unit is configured to receive the updated information from air traffic control, wherein the processing unit is configured to update a position of the second icon on the traffic display based on the updated information, and wherein the processing unit is further configured to update or remove the outline of the zone area surrounding the second icon on the traffic display.); and display the updated position of the one of the other aircraft on the display(see Maji column 11 lines 9-12 In step 255, the updated information from air traffic control may be presented to the operator. Reference is briefly made to FIG. 5, which corresponds to a traffic display 500 that has been updated relative to the traffic display 400 in FIG. 4.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over US 9530323 B1 to Maji et al. (herein after “Maji”) in view of KR 20080066676 A to Ramer et al. (hereon after “Ramer”).
Regarding claim 7, Maji remains apply as claim 1. However, Maji does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein processing the one or more text strings comprises performing a keyword search. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Ramer teaches wherein processing the one or more text strings comprises performing a keyword search (see Ramer para [0004] In an embodiment, the query entry system (120) of the mobile communication device (102) allows the user to provide a query input as a text string.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Maji’s aircraft systems and methods to m0nitor proximate traffic with Ramer’s the one or more text strings comprises performing a keyword search to increase the likelihood of content and user interaction (see Ramer para[0007]).
Regarding claim 19, Maji remains apply as claim 13. However, Maji does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein processing of the one or more text strings comprises performing a keyword search. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Ramer teaches wherein processing the one or more text strings comprises performing a keyword search (see Ramer para [0004] In an embodiment, the query entry system (120) of the mobile communication device (102) allows the user to provide a query input as a text string.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Maji’s aircraft systems and methods to m0nitor proximate traffic with Ramer’s the one or more text strings comprises performing a keyword search to increase the likelihood of content and user interaction (see Ramer para[0007]).
Claims 8,10,20 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over US 9530323 B1 to Maji et al. (herein after “Maji”) in view of US 20040122567 A1 to Chad Gaier (herein after “Gaier”).
Regarding claim 8, Maji remains apply as claim 1. However, Maji does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach further comprising displaying one or more aircraft pattern segments on the display for an airport. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Gaier teaches further comprising displaying one or more aircraft pattern segments on the display for an airport. (see Gaier claim 7 a program residing in memory and being executed by the processor for directing course changes on the display or to the autopilot or both, the program comprising: (4.a) determining the holding pattern segment A, B, or C on which the aircraft is currently located, that is, on segment A between (TP3) and the (EP) or on segment B between the (EP) and the (SP) or on C between the (SP) and (TP3); and (4.a.1) if on segment A,).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Maji’s aircraft systems and methods to m0nitor proximate traffic with Gaier’s displaying one or more aircraft pattern segments on the display for an airport to providing flight path information for exiting an aircraft flight holding pattern is an abbreviated but legal manner (see Gaier para[0001]).
Regarding claim 10, Maji remains apply as claim 1. Maji teaches wherein an intent of the other aircraft includes at least one of an entry into an airport traffic pattern. However, Maji does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach a departure from an airport traffic pattern. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Gaier teaches a departure from an airport traffic pattern (see Gaier para[0005] local Air Traffic Control (ATC) released aircraft 14 from holding pattern 10, aircraft 14 proceeded to FP 12 and turned onto exit path 32 originating at FP 12, heading toward waypoint 34 and its next destination, as for example, the local airport landing pattern or another location designated by the ATC. ).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Maji’s aircraft systems and methods to m0nitor proximate traffic with Gaier’s displaying one or more aircraft pattern segments on the display for an airport to providing flight path information for exiting an aircraft flight holding pattern is an abbreviated but legal manner (see Gaier para[0001]).
Regarding claim 20, Maji remains apply as claim 13. However, Maji does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the at least one processor to display one or more aircraft pattern segments on the display for an airport. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Gaier teaches wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the at least one processor to display one or more aircraft pattern segments on the display for an airport. (see Gaier claim 7 a program residing in memory and being executed by the processor for directing course changes on the display or to the autopilot or both, the program comprising: (4.a) determining the holding pattern segment A, B, or C on which the aircraft is currently located, that is, on segment A between (TP3) and the (EP) or on segment B between the (EP) and the (SP) or on C between the (SP) and (TP3); and (4.a.1) if on segment A).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Maji’s aircraft systems and methods to m0nitor proximate traffic with Gaier’s displaying one or more aircraft pattern segments on the display for an airport to providing flight path information for exiting an aircraft flight holding pattern is an abbreviated but legal manner (see Gaier para[0001]).
Regarding claim 22, Maji remains apply as claim 13. However, Maji does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein an intent of the other aircraft includes at least one of an entry into an airport traffic pattern. However, Maji does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach a departure from an airport traffic pattern. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Gaier teaches a departure from an airport traffic pattern (see Gaier para[0005] local Air Traffic Control (ATC) released aircraft 14 from holding pattern 10, aircraft 14 proceeded to FP 12 and turned onto exit path 32 originating at FP 12, heading toward waypoint 34 and its next destination, as for example, the local airport landing pattern or another location designated by the ATC. ).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Maji’s aircraft systems and methods to m0nitor proximate traffic with Gaier’s displaying one or more aircraft pattern segments on the display for an airport to providing flight path information for exiting an aircraft flight holding pattern is an abbreviated but legal manner (see Gaier para[0001]).
Claims 9 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over US 9530323 B1 to Maji et al. (herein after “Maji”) in view of US 8700236 B1 to Eric Berman (herein after “Berman”).
Regarding claim 9, Maji remains apply as claim 1. However, Maji does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein an intent of the other aircraft includes at least one of a full stop landing, a touch and go landing, or a go-around. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Berman teaches wherein an intent of the other aircraft includes at least one of a full stop landing, a touch and go landing, or a go-around. (see Berman column 19 lines 50 -57 Finally, other numbers are checked in FIG. 18 to ensure consistency (1804). For example, if the flight specifies full stop landings, touch-and-golandings, and total landings, then the total landings count should not be less than the sum of the full-stop and touch-and-go landings. Of these checks illus trated in FIG. 18, only (1801) is critical.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Maji’s aircraft systems and methods to m0nitor proximate traffic with Berman’s an intent of the other aircraft includes at least one of a full stop landing, a touch and go landing, or a go-around to maintaining an online flight logbook to help track flying activities for a pilot, and more particularly, to systems and methods for recording and publishing related flight information (see Berman para[0002]).
Regarding claim 21, Maji remains apply as claim 13. However, Maji does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein an intent of the other aircraft includes at least one of a full stop landing, a touch and go landing, or a go-around. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Berman teaches wherein an intent of the other aircraft includes at least one of a full stop landing, a touch and go landing, or a go-around. (see Berman column 19 lines 50 -57 Finally, other numbers are checked in FIG. 18 to ensure consistency (1804). For example, if the flight specifies full stop landings, touch-and-golandings, and total landings, then the total landings count should not be less than the sum of the full-stop and touch-and-go landings. Of these checks illus trated in FIG. 18, only (1801) is critical.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Maji’s aircraft systems and methods to monitor proximate traffic with Berman’s an intent of the other aircraft includes at least one of a full stop landing, a touch and go landing, or a go-around to maintaining an online flight logbook to help track flying activities for a pilot, and more particularly, to systems and methods for recording and publishing related flight information (see Berman para[0002]).
Claims 11 ,23 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over US 9530323 B1 to Maji et al. (herein after “Maji”) in view of CN 209126987U to Zhao (herein after “Zhao”).
Regarding claim 11, Maji remains apply as claim 1. Maji teaches wherein an intent of the other aircraft includes at least one of a positional report (See Maji column 9 lines 45-52 In particular, the traffic display 400 may include an area 420 with a text-based message 424, 425 for each aircraft of the missing proximate traffic. Each message 424, 425 may include the aircraft identification, the last reported position, the last reported altitude, the last reported track, and/or the time elapsed since the most recent messages from the other aircraft.), or air traffic control (see Maji column 2 lines 52-56 the systems and methods may send a message to air traffic control regarding the missing traffic, ). However, Maji does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach holding, maneuvering, slow flight. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Zhao teaches holding, maneuvering, slow flight (see Zhao para[0048] they have the disadvantages of short range, slow flight speed, small fuselage and small load capacity), or other communication of intent for informing local air traffic, airport tower (See Zhao para[00480] The air curtain jets inside the runway are protective gas devices, which are switched with the operation and control inside the aircraft carrier, or the operation and control systems of each airport tower.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Maji’s aircraft systems and methods to monitor proximate traffic with Zhao’s aircraft systems and methods to monitor proximate traffic with holding, maneuvering, slow flight or other communication of intent for informing local air traffic, airport tower or air traffic control to safely achieve strong takeoff or strong arrested descent. (see Zhao para[0480]).
Regarding claim 23, Maji remains apply as claim 13. Maji teaches wherein an intent of the other aircraft includes at least one of a positional report (See Maji column 9 lines 45-52 In particular, the traffic display 400 may include an area 420 with a text-based message 424, 425 for each aircraft of the missing proximate traffic. Each message 424, 425 may include the aircraft identification, the last reported position, the last reported altitude, the last reported track, and/or the time elapsed since the most recent messages from the other aircraft.), or air traffic control (see Maji column 2 lines 52-56 the systems and methods may send a message to air traffic control regarding the missing traffic, ). However, Maji does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach holding, maneuvering, slow flight. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Zhao teaches holding, maneuvering, slow flight (see Zhao para[0048] they have the disadvantages of short range, slow flight speed, small fuselage and small load capacity), or other communication of intent for informing local air traffic, airport tower (See Zhao para[00480] The air curtain jets inside the runway are protective gas devices, which are switched with the operation and control inside the aircraft carrier, or the operation and control systems of each airport tower.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Maji’s aircraft systems and methods to monitor proximate traffic with Zhao’s aircraft systems and methods to monitor proximate traffic with holding, maneuvering, slow flight or other communication of intent for informing local air traffic, airport tower or air traffic control to safely achieve strong takeoff or strong arrested descent. (see Zhao para[0480]).
Regarding claim 25, Maji remains apply as claim 13. Nevertheless, Zhao same field of endeavor teaches wherein the supervisor monitored aircraft is an autonomous aircraft(see Zhao small Aircraft or drone ultra-short take-off)
, and wherein the system is configured to monitor flight of multiple autonomous aircraft including the supervisor monitored aircraft (see Zhao A multi-mode air supply source for the take-off and landing of a mother aircraft).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Maji’s aircraft systems and methods to monitor proximate traffic with Zhao’s aircraft systems and methods to monitor proximate traffic with holding, maneuvering, slow flight or other communication of intent for informing local air traffic, airport tower or air traffic control to safely achieve strong takeoff or strong arrested descent. (see Zhao para[0480]).
Claims 12 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over US 9530323 B1 to Maji et al. (herein after “Maji”) in view of WO 2016172260 A1 to Woodman et al. (herein after “Woodman”).
Regarding claim 12, Maji remains apply as claim 1. However, Maji does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach further comprising: quantifying, for each of the other aircraft in the vicinity of the supervisor monitored aircraft, a relative chance of needing to alter a current flight path of the supervisor monitored aircraft based on a determined flight trajectory and/or intent of the other aircraft. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Woodman teaches further comprising: quantifying, for each of the other aircraft in the vicinity of the operator controlled aircraft, a relative chance of needing to alter a current flight path of the operator controlled aircraft based on a determined flight trajectory and/or intent of the other aircraft (see Woodman para [0130] Continuing with the route check module 730, it also can be configured to alter or provide recommendations to alter the route plan to remove conditions in the flight plan path that may not be conducive for the aerial vehicle 110 to fly through.), and determining, for each of the other aircraft in the vicinity of the supervisor monitored aircraft, whether the relative chance of needing to alter the current flight path of the operator controlled aircraft is below a threshold, wherein the display of the other aircraft icons for the other aircraft for which the relative chance of needing to alter the current flight path of the supervisor monitored aircraft is below the threshold is deemphasized (lit yellow when just below that threshold see para[0074]) compared to the display of the other aircraft icons for the other aircraft for which the relative chance of needing to alter the current flight path of the supervisor monitored aircraft is above the threshold (see Woodman para[0074] The LED also can provide visual indicators corresponding to aerial vehicle 110 operation in flight, for example, if it is in an override mode on return path (e.g., lit yellow) or has a battery power level below a predefined threshold (e.g., lit green when above a first threshold,).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Maji’s aircraft systems and methods to monitor proximate traffic with Woodman’s a relative chance of needing to alter a current flight path of the operator-controlled aircraft based on a determined flight trajectory and/or intent of the other aircraft to remove conditions in the flight plan path that may not be conducive for the aerial vehicle to fly (see Woodman para[0130]).
Regarding claim 24, Maji remains apply as claim 13. However, Maji does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach further comprising: quantifying, for each of the other aircraft in the vicinity of the supervisor monitored aircraft, a relative chance of needing to alter a current flight path of the supervisor monitored aircraft based on a determined flight trajectory and/or intent of the other aircraft. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Woodman teaches further comprising: quantifying, for each of the other aircraft in the vicinity of the supervisor monitored aircraft, a relative chance of needing to alter a current flight path of the supervisor monitored aircraft (see Woodman para [0130] Continuing with the route check module 730, it also can be configured to alter or provide recommendations to alter the route plan to remove conditions in the flight plan path that may not be conducive for the aerial vehicle 110 to fly through.), and determining, for each of the other aircraft in the vicinity of the supervisor monitored aircraft, whether the relative chance of needing to alter the current flight path of the supervisor monitored aircraft is below a threshold, wherein the display of the other aircraft icons for the other aircraft for which the relative chance of needing to alter the current flight path of the supervisor monitored is below the threshold is deemphasized (lit yellow when just below that threshold see para[0074]) compared to the display of the other aircraft icons for other aircraft for which the relative chance of needing to alter the current flight path of the supervisor monitored aircraft is above the threshold (see Woodman para[0074] The LED also can provide visual indicators corresponding to aerial vehicle 110 operation in flight, for example, if it is in an override mode on return path (e.g., lit yellow) or has a battery power level below a predefined threshold (e.g., lit green when above a first threshold,).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Maji’s aircraft systems and methods to monitor proximate traffic with Woodman’s a relative chance of needing to alter a current flight path of the operator-controlled aircraft based on a determined flight trajectory and/or intent of the other aircraft to remove conditions in the flight plan path that may not be conducive for the aerial vehicle to fly (see Woodman para[0130]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NAZIA AFRIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/SCOTT A BROWNE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666