DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-24 in the reply filed on 4/14/2026 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/7/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-10, 12-16 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Marimuthu et al. US 2019/0088603.
Re claim 1, Marimuthu teaches a semiconductor package (330, fig5, [70]), comprising:
a semiconductor chip (124, fig5, [70]) comprising multiple radio frequency channels (124 for RF process connected with antenna 352, fig5, [35, 70]);
a signal port (174 connected with 360/212A in 340/342, fig3e, 3h and 5, [51, 70]) arranged external to the semiconductor chip (124, fig5, [70]) and associated with one of the multiple radio frequency channels (132 of 124, fig3h, [36]); and
a shielding structure (174 around 360/212A in 340/342, fig3h and 5, [51, 70]) at least partially surrounding the signal port (174 connected with 360/212A in 340/342, fig3h and 5, [70]) when viewed in a first direction (fig5),
wherein the shielding structure is configured to reduce a propagation of an interference signal at least from or to the signal port in a second direction (second direction extend in plane of fig5) perpendicular to the first direction (Z, fig5) ("[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). Marimuthu teaches the device with the same structure of the claimed device and manner of operating the device does not differentiate apparatus claim from the prior art.).
Re claim 2, Marimuthu teaches the semiconductor package of claim 1, further comprising: an encapsulation material (190 and 170, fig3h, [48]) at least partially encapsulating the semiconductor chip (124, fig3h, [70]), wherein the shielding structure (174 around 360/212A in 340/342, fig3h and 5, [51, 70]) is arranged in the encapsulation material and is configured to reduce the propagation of the interference signal through the encapsulation material in the second direction.
Re claim 3, Marimuthu teaches the semiconductor package of claim 1, further comprising: a ball grid array substrate (200 with 206, fig3h, [61, 62]), wherein the shielding structure is arranged in the ball grid array substrate and is configured to reduce the propagation of the interference signal through the ball grid array substrate in the second direction.
Re claim 4, Marimuthu teaches the semiconductor package of claim 1, wherein the shielding structure comprises an electrically conductive material (conductive via 174 filled with Cu around 360/212A in 340/342, fig3h and 5, [45, 70]).
Re claim 5, Marimuthu teaches the semiconductor package of claim 1, wherein the shielding structure is formed by one or multiple three-dimensional metal components (conductive via 174 around 360/212A in 340/342, fig3h and 5, [45, 70]).
Re claim 6, Marimuthu teaches the semiconductor package of claim 5, wherein the one or multiple three-dimensional metal components comprise at least one of a metal via (conductive via 174 filled with Cu around 360/212A in 340/342, fig3h and 5, [45, 70]), a metal strip, a metal bar, a metal wall, or a metal mesh.
Re claim 9, Marimuthu teaches the semiconductor package of claim 1, wherein the shielding structure is configured to provide an electrical shielding between the signal port and an adjacent signal port associated with a further radio frequency channel of the multiple radio frequency channels ("[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). Marimuthu teaches the device with the same structure of the claimed device and manner of operating the device does not differentiate apparatus claim from the prior art.).
Re claim 10, Marimuthu teaches the semiconductor package of claim 1, wherein the signal port comprises a ground line portion (174 connected with ground plane 350/202B on the back, fig3i,3h and 5, [60, 70]) at least partially surrounding a signal line portion (174 connected with 360/212A in region between 202B, fig3i, 3h and 5).
Re claim 12, Marimuthu teaches the semiconductor package of claim 1, further comprising: an electrical redistribution layer (210 and 214, fig3h, [53) comprising a signal line (212A/360, fig3e, 3h and 5), wherein the signal line provides an electrical connection between the signal port (174 connected with 360/212A in 340/342, fig3e, 3h and 5, [70]) and the semiconductor chip (124, fig5, [70]), and wherein the shielding structure (174 around 360/212A in 340/342, fig3h and 5, [51, 70]) at least partially surrounds the signal line (212A/360, fig3e, 3h and 5).
Re claim 13, Marimuthu teaches the semiconductor package of claim 12, wherein: the shielding structure exclusively surrounds the signal port (174 surround 174 connected with 360/212A, fig 3h and 5), or the shielding structure exclusively surrounds the signal port and the signal line.
Re claim 14, Marimuthu teaches the semiconductor package of claim 1, wherein the shielding structure is electrically connected to a non-floating electrical potential (174 around 360/212A in 340/342 coupled to ground reference voltage signal, fig3h and 5, [70]).
Re claim 15, Marimuthu teaches the semiconductor package of claim 12, wherein the shielding structure is electrically connected to a ground metallization of the electrical redistribution layer (174 around 360/212A in 340/342 coupled to ground reference voltage signal, fig3h and 5, [70]).
Re claim 16, Marimuthu teaches the semiconductor package of claim 1, further comprising: an external connection element (212A/360, fig3h and 5, [51, 70]) configured to mechanically and electrically connect the semiconductor package (124, fig5, [70]) to a printed circuit board (340/342, fig5, [70]), wherein the external connection element (212A/360, fig3h and 5, [51, 70]) at least partially overlaps the shielding structure when viewed in the first direction (174 around 360/212A in 340/342, fig3h and 5, [51, 70]).
Re claim 23, Marimuthu teaches the semiconductor package of claim 1, wherein the signal port and the shielding structure are laterally displaced to the semiconductor chip when viewed in the first direction (fig5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marimuthu et al. US 2019/0088603 in view of Ebefors et al. US 2015/0255344.
Re claim 7, Marimuthu does not explicitly show the semiconductor package of claim 1, wherein the shielding structure comprises a semiconductor material.
Ebefors teaches a method of forming TSV by forming a poly-silicon layer (22, fig5, [68]) followed by filling the hole with metal (28, fig7, [72]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Marimuthu and Ebefors to form via 174 with the method of Ebefors. The motivation to do so is to fill high aspect ratio via hole with cost effective process and improve wetting capability during metal filling process (Ebefors, [52]).
Re claim 8, Marimuthu teaches the semiconductor package of claim 7, wherein the semiconductor material comprises multiple trenches filled with a mold compound (Marimuthu, epoxy of 172 between 174 with poly silicon in region 342/340, fig3h).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11, 17-22 and 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim.
Specifically, the limitations are material to the inventive concept of the application in hand to improved isolation properties between the individual radar signal channels.
Conclusion
/XIAOMING LIU/Examiner, Art Unit 2812