CTNF 18/435,559 CTNF 79206 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim (s) 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 ( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by CHOI et al. (US 2021/0306979 A1) . Regarding claims 1 and 10, CHOI et al. teach an apparatus comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (see pars. 0007-0008), cause the apparatus at least to: determine a local oscillator in the apparatus that is used to perform at least one downlink positioning reference signal (PRS) measurement and at least one uplink sounding reference signal (SRS) transmission (see pars. 0020-0021, 0024-0025, and 0033: ("enabling the source node and/or target node to identify "switching" criteria to consider when deciding whether to switch from SS-based positioning to RTT-based positioning or vice versa"), [0034]-[0036], [0040] ("Another switching criterion may comprise a determination of whether the local oscillator of the source node or target node has been recently synchronized or initialized" and "the functionality at block 410 of obtaining switching criteria information may comprise obtaining information regarding whether the respective local oscillator of a source node or target node has been synchronized or initialized within a threshold amount of time before RTT positioning or SS positioning is to take place"); Figs. 2, 4; a positioning reference signal from a source node (which according to paragraph [0025] is typically a node having a known position, e.g., a road side unit, RSU) to a target node (having an unknown position, e.g., a mobile device or a vehicle) corresponds to a downlink positioning signal (PRS); a positioning reference signal from the target node to the source node corresponds to an uplink sounding reference signal (SRS); and transmit local oscillator information comprising at least one identifier associated with the determined local oscillator to a first network entity (see par. 0027: "PRS ID, resource ID"), [0033] (especially: "this indication may be included in pre-PRS messages"), [0040] (especially: "obtaining switching criteria information may comprise obtaining information regarding whether the respective local oscillator of a source node or target node has been synchronized or initialized within a threshold amount of time before RTT positioning or SS positioning is to take place"), [0046] (especially: "the functionality at block 410 of obtaining switching criteria information performed at the source node may involve receiving information from the target node" and "in some embodiments, the target node may perform a method similar to method 400 of FIG. 4 to determine whether to use RTT positioning or SS positioning, and provide an indication to the source node"), [0054] (especially: "whether the respective local oscillator of the first sidelink-enabled device, the second sidelink-enabled device, or both, has been synchronized or initialized within a threshold amount of time before positioning of the selected positioning type is to take place"); Figs. 2, 4, 6; CHOI discloses an embodiment where a target node (e.g., a mobile device or a vehicle) transmits information of its local oscillator to another network entity (the source node); CHOI discloses also an alternative embodiment where a source node (e.g., a RSU) transmits information of its local oscillator to another network entity (the target node); at least PRS ID and/or resource ID corresponds to an identifier. Regarding claim 11, CHOI et al. teach an apparatus comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: receive from a user equipment and a network node (see par. 0053, par. 0061 and figs. 6-7: a sidelink-enabled device (e.g., a target node and/or source node), a sidelink-enabled device (e.g., a V2X-enabled device); V2X vehicle A 780 may communicate, using V2X or other wireless communication transceiver over link 723, with V2X or otherwise communication-transceiver-enabled vehicle B 790; vehicle A 780 may also communicate with vehicle B 790 through a network, for example, via wireless signals 722/724 to/from base station 720 and/or via wireless signals 732 to/from an access point 730, or via one or more communication-enabled RSU(s) 725, any of which may relay communication, information and/or convert protocols for use by other vehicles, such as vehicle B 790, particularly in an embodiment where vehicle B 790 is not capable of communicating directly with vehicle A 780 in a common protocol), respectively: a first local oscillator information comprising at least one first identifier associated with a first determined local oscillator in the user equipment (see par. 0027: "PRS ID, resource ID"), [0033] (especially: "this indication may be included in pre-PRS messages"), [0040] (especially: "obtaining switching criteria information may comprise obtaining information regarding whether the respective local oscillator of a source node or target node has been synchronized or initialized within a threshold amount of time before RTT positioning or SS positioning is to take place"), [0046] (especially: "the functionality at block 410 of obtaining switching criteria information performed at the source node may involve receiving information from the target node" and "in some embodiments, the target node may perform a method similar to method 400 of FIG. 4 to determine whether to use RTT positioning or SS positioning, and provide an indication to the source node"), [0054] (especially: "whether the respective local oscillator of the first sidelink-enabled device, the second sidelink-enabled device, or both, has been synchronized or initialized within a threshold amount of time before positioning of the selected positioning type is to take place"); Figs. 2, 4, 6; CHOI discloses an embodiment where a target node (e.g., a mobile device or a vehicle) transmits information of its local oscillator to another network entity (the source node); CHOI discloses also an alternative embodiment where a source node (e.g., a RSU) transmits information of its local oscillator to another network entity (the target node); at least PRS ID and/or resource ID corresponds to an identifier, and a second local oscillator information comprising at least one second identifier associated with a second determined local oscillator in the network node (see par. 0027: "PRS ID, resource ID"), [0033] (especially: "this indication may be included in pre-PRS messages"), [0040] (especially: "obtaining switching criteria information may comprise obtaining information regarding whether the respective local oscillator of a source node or target node has been synchronized or initialized within a threshold amount of time before RTT positioning or SS positioning is to take place"), [0046] (especially: "the functionality at block 410 of obtaining switching criteria information performed at the source node may involve receiving information from the target node" and "in some embodiments, the target node may perform a method similar to method 400 of FIG. 4 to determine whether to use RTT positioning or SS positioning, and provide an indication to the source node"), [0054] (especially: "whether the respective local oscillator of the first sidelink-enabled device, the second sidelink-enabled device, or both, has been synchronized or initialized within a threshold amount of time before positioning of the selected positioning type is to take place"); Figs. 2, 4, 6; CHOI discloses an embodiment where a target node (e.g., a mobile device or a vehicle) transmits information of its local oscillator to another network entity (the source node); CHOI discloses also an alternative embodiment where a source node (e.g., a RSU) transmits information of its local oscillator to another network entity (the target node); at least PRS ID and/or resource ID corresponds to an identifier; and based upon at least the received first local oscillator information and the second local oscillator information, determine a round trip time for the user equipment (see par. 0040: the functionality at block 410 of obtaining switching criteria information may comprise obtaining information regarding whether the respective local oscillator of a source node or target node has been synchronized or initialized within a threshold amount of time before RTT positioning or SS positioning is to take place). Regarding claim 2, CHOI et al. also teach wherein the at least one memory and the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus at least to: receive a request from the first network entity to use a same local oscillator for both the downlink PRS measurements and the uplink SRS transmissions (see par. 0027 and fig. 2: The first phase of RTT-based positioning 200-A comprises the sending of “pre-PRS” messages in preparation for the subsequent transmission of the PRS signals. A first pre-PRS message 210 is transmitted from the source node and received by the target node. This can convey information about the PRS message (e.g., a PRS ID, resource ID, or the like) from the source node to the target node. A second pre-PRS message 220, sent from the target node to the source node, may comprise an acknowledgment of receipt of the pre-PRS message 210 by the target node. Pre-PRS messages 210 and 220 may be sent via radiofrequency (RF) spectrum licensed for ITS communications). Regarding claim 12, CHOI et al. also teach transmitting a request to use the same local oscillator for both downlink measurements and uplink transmissions (see par. 0027 and fig. 2: The first phase of RTT-based positioning 200-A comprises the sending of “pre-PRS” messages in preparation for the subsequent transmission of the PRS signals. A first pre-PRS message 210 is transmitted from the source node and received by the target node. This can convey information about the PRS message (e.g., a PRS ID, resource ID, or the like) from the source node to the target node. A second pre-PRS message 220, sent from the target node to the source node, may comprise an acknowledgment of receipt of the pre-PRS message 210 by the target node. Pre-PRS messages 210 and 220 may be sent via radiofrequency (RF) spectrum licensed for ITS communications). Regarding claim 3, CHOI et al. also teach wherein the request comprises one or more of at least an identifier of the same local oscillator (LO ID), at least one downlink PRS measurement, at least one positioning reference signal resource identifier, or at least one sounding reference signal resource identifier (see par. 0040: he functionality at block 410 of obtaining switching criteria information may comprise obtaining information regarding whether the respective local oscillator of a source node or target node has been synchronized or initialized within a threshold amount of time before RTT positioning or SS positioning is to take place). Regarding claim 5, CHOI et al. also teach receiving the at least one downlink positioning reference signal (PRS) from a second network entity; and transmit a report comprising the downlink carrier phase measurement to the first network entity (see par. 0025, par. 0072, fig.2, and fig. 7). Regarding claim 6, CHOI et al. also teach the apparatus comprises a user equipment; the first network entity comprises a location management function; and the second network entity comprises a radio network node or an anchor user equipment (see par. 0025, par. 0072, fig.2, and fig. 7). Regarding claim 7, CHOI et al. also teach wherein if the second network entity is an anchor user equipment, communicate at least one of a sidelink positioning reference signal or the sounding reference signal via a sidelink interface between the anchor user equipment and the user equipment (see par. 0025, par. 0072, fig.2, and fig. 7). Regarding claim 8, CHOI et al. also teach determine a local oscillator partially based on an antenna or antenna panel and radio frequency chain used for the SRS transmission (see par. 0086: sidelink-enabled device 900 (e.g., vehicle 780) may communicate, via wireless transceiver(s) 930 and wireless antenna(s) 932 with other vehicles (e.g., vehicle 790) and/or wireless communication networks by communicating using wireless signals over a wireless communication link with a remote wireless transceiver, which may integrated into another vehicle 790, RSU(s) 725, mobile device 700, a base station 720 (e.g., a NodeB, eNodeB, or gNodeB), or wireless access point 730). Regarding claim 9, CHOI et al. also teach transmit local oscillator information whether the same oscillator was used for downlink measurements and uplink transmissions (see par. 0025, par. 0040, and fig. 2) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHOI et al. (US 2021/0306979 A1) in view of REN et al. (US 2026/0095883 A1) . Regarding claim 4, CHOI et al. do not mention when the apparatus does not use the same local oscillator for both the downlink PRS measurements and the uplink SRS transmissions, report to the first network entity different identifiers of corresponding different local oscillators, wherein one identifier is configured for the downlink PRS measurements and another identifier is configured for the uplink SRS transmissions, respectively. REN et al. teach when the apparatus does not use the same local oscillator for both the downlink PRS measurements and the uplink SRS transmissions, report to the first network entity different identifiers of corresponding different local oscillators, wherein one identifier is configured for the downlink PRS measurements and another identifier is configured for the uplink SRS transmissions, respectively (see par. 0224: based on the signaling process between the UE and the network side, assuming that the UE needs to report its capability to estimate a Doppler frequency offset and/or oscillator frequency offset, accordingly, the network side can determine, based on the positioning capability of the UE, configuration information of a DL PRS and/or UL SRS and notify the UE, and request the UE, based on the positioning capability of the UE, to report positioning measurement quantities). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective the filling date of claimed invention (AIA) to modify the limitation “when the apparatus does not use the same local oscillator for both the downlink PRS measurements and the uplink SRS transmissions, report to the first network entity different identifiers of corresponding different local oscillators, wherein one identifier is configured for the downlink PRS measurements and another identifier is configured for the uplink SRS transmissions, respectively” of REN et al. to the apparatus of CHOI et al. in order to achieve positioning of any one of two ends of an established sidelink relative to the other end, thereby realizing a fast positioning solution for sidelink scenarios . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 13-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Regarding claim 13, the prior art of record does not mention transmitting a first request to the user equipment to use a same first local oscillator for both downlink positioning reference signal (PRS) measurements and at least one sounding reference signal (SRS) transmissions to the network node; and transmit a second request to the network node to use a same second local oscillator for both downlink PRS transmissions to the user equipment and uplink SRS measurements of the user equipment, as specified in claim 13. Therefore, it is objected. Claims 14-20 depend on claim 13. Therefore, they are objected. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DAVID Q NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-7844. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 7:00 AM - 3:00 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jinsong Hu can be reached at 5712723965. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /DAVID Q NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643 Application/Control Number: 18/435,559 Page 2 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 18/435,559 Page 3 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 18/435,559 Page 4 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 18/435,559 Page 5 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 18/435,559 Page 6 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 18/435,559 Page 7 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 18/435,559 Page 8 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 18/435,559 Page 9 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 18/435,559 Page 10 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 18/435,559 Page 11 Art Unit: 2643