DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
In the communication filed on 02/07/2024 claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 6, and 16 are independent.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 2 replace “batter” with --battery-- to improve reading comprehension. For examination purposes below “batter” will be interpreted as “battery”, however, appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-10, 14-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lacaux et al. (USPGPN 20220094297; identified by the applicant in the Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) and cited in the European Search Opinion).
With respect to independent claim 1, Lacaux teaches an assembly for an aircraft (Figs. 1-2; propulsor 2), the assembly comprising an aircraft electrical distribution bus (Figs. 1-2; bus 4); a battery (Figs. 1-2; battery 18) including a plurality of battery strings (Fig. 1; battery modules 24 connected as battery strings) and a main battery contactor (Fig. 2; battery contactors 48).
Lacaux teaches the plurality of battery strings electrically connected in parallel (Fig. 1; the battery module strings 24 electrically connected in parallel), each battery string including a string contactor (Fig. 1; contactors 8), the string contactor positionable in a closed string position or an open string position (it is well known that contactors may be switched between a closed or open position), the string contactor in the closed string position configured to direct electrical power from the respective battery string to the aircraft electrical distribution bus (Fig. 1; when the string contactors 8 are in the closed position then the power flows from the respective battery string 24 to the bus 4), the string contactor in the open string position configured to electrically isolate the respective battery string from the aircraft electrical distribution bus (Fig. 1; when the string contactors 8 are in the open position then the respective battery string 24 is electrically isolated from the bus 4).
Lacaux teaches the main battery contactor electrically connected in series with the string contactor of each battery string (Figs. 1-2; the battery contactor 48 connected in series with the string contactor 8 of each battery string 24), the main battery contactor positionable in a closed battery position or an open battery position (it is well known that contactors may be switched between a closed or open position), the main battery contactor in the closed battery position configured to direct electrical power from the battery to the aircraft electrical distribution bus (Figs. 1-2; when the bus contactor 48 is in the closed position then the power flows from the battery pack 18 to the bus 4), the main battery contactor in the open battery position configured to electrically isolate the battery from the aircraft electrical distribution bus (Figs. 1-2; when the bus contactor 48 is in the open position then the battery pack 18 is electrically isolated from the bus 4).
Lacaux teaches a battery monitoring system in signal communication with the string contactor of each battery string (Fig. 1; battery management system 22 in signal communication with the string contactor 8 of each battery string 24), the battery monitoring system configured to control a position of the string contactor of each battery string in the closed string position or the open string position (¶[55]; “...the switching states of selected contactors 8 may be controlled by the battery management system 22...”), wherein control of a position of the main battery contactor in the closed battery position and the open battery position is independent of the battery monitoring system (¶[62]; “The electric propulsion controller 12 is also configured to control the states of the battery contactors 48...” which is understood by one of ordinary skill in the art to be independent of the battery management system 22).
With respect to claim 5, Lacaux teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Lacaux teaches wherein each battery string includes a plurality of battery modules electrically connected in series (Fig. 1; battery modules 24 are connected in series forming battery strings).
With respect to independent claim 6, Lacaux teaches a method for operating a battery assembly for an aircraft (Figs. 1-2; propulsor 2), the method comprising supplying electrical power to an aircraft electrical distribution bus with a battery (Figs. 1-2; electrical power is supplied to bus 4 with battery 18), the battery including a plurality of battery strings and a main battery contactor (Figs. 1-2; battery 18 includes battery modules 24 connected as battery strings and a battery contactor 48), each battery string including a string contactor electrically connected in series with the main battery contactor (Figs. 1-2; each battery string includes a contactor 8 electrically connected in series with the battery contactor 48).
Lacaux teaches detecting a fault in the battery or the aircraft electrical distribution bus, and opening the main battery contactor, in response to the detected fault, with the string contactor for each battery string of the plurality of battery strings remaining in the closed string position (¶[67]; a bus fault 3 is detected causing the bus contactors 20 (e.g., battery contactors 48) to open while the string contactors 8 are not opened thus remaining in the closed position).
With respect to claim 7, Lacaux teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 6. Further, Lacaux teaches comprising opening the string contactor of each battery string subsequent to opening the main battery contactor (¶[55]; “...open in response to detection of a fault condition (e.g., a short circuit) in one of the battery strings”).
With respect to claim 8, Lacaux teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 6. Further, Lacaux teaches wherein the string contactor of each battery string is positionable in a closed string position or an open string position and a position of the string contactor of each battery string in the closed string position or the open string position is controlled by a battery monitoring system of the battery assembly (¶[55]; “...the switching states of selected contactors 8 may be controlled by the battery management system 22...”).
With respect to claim 9, Lacaux teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 8. Further, Lacaux teaches wherein the main battery contactor is positionable in a closed battery position or an open battery position and a position of the main battery contactor in the closed battery position and the open battery position is controlled independent of the battery monitoring system (¶[62]; “The electric propulsion controller 12 is also configured to control the states of the battery contactors 48...” which is understood by one of ordinary skill in the art to be independent of the battery management system 22).
With respect to claim 10, Lacaux teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 6. Further, Lacaux teaches wherein the plurality of battery strings are electrically connected in parallel (Fig. 1; the battery module strings 24 electrically connected in parallel).
With respect to claim 14, Lacaux teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 6. Further, Lacaux teaches wherein detecting the fault includes detecting the fault in a first battery string of the plurality of battery strings (¶[55]; “...in response to detection of a fault condition (e.g., a short circuit) in one of the battery strings”).
With respect to claim 15, Lacaux teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 6. Further, Lacaux teaches wherein detecting the fault includes detecting the fault in the aircraft electrical distribution bus (¶[66-67]).
With respect to independent claim 16, Lacaux teaches an assembly for an aircraft (Figs. 1-2; propulsor 2), the assembly including an aircraft electrical distribution bus (Figs. 1-2; bus 4).
Lacaux teaches an aircraft propulsion system including a rotational assembly, the rotational assembly including a rotatable shaft and an electric motor, the electric motor connected in electrical communication with the aircraft electrical distribution bus and configured to selectively drive the rotatable shaft (Fig. 1; the propulsor 2 includes propeller blades 36 including a propeller shaft 34 and an AC motor 30 in electrical communication with the bus 4 configured to selectively drive the propeller shaft 34).
Lacaux teaches a battery (Figs. 1-2; battery 18) including a plurality of battery strings (Fig. 1; battery modules 24 connected as battery strings) and a main battery contactor (Fig. 2; battery contactors 48).
Lacaux teaches each battery string including a string contactor (Fig. 1; contactors 8), the string contactor positionable in a closed string position or an open string position (it is well known that contactors may be switched between a closed or open position), and the main battery contactor electrically connected in series with the string contactor of each battery string (Figs. 1-2; the battery contactor 48 connected in series with the string contactor 8 of each battery string 24), the main battery contactor positionable in a closed battery position or an open battery position (it is well known that contactors may be switched between a closed or open position).
Lacaux teaches a battery monitoring system in signal communication with the string contactor of each battery string (Fig. 1; battery management system 22 in signal communication with the string contactor 8 of each battery string 24), the battery monitoring system configured to control a position of the string contactor of each battery string in the closed string position or the open string position (¶[55]; “...the switching states of selected contactors 8 may be controlled by the battery management system 22...”), wherein control of a position of the main battery contactor in the closed battery position and the open battery position is independent of the battery monitoring system (¶[62]; “The electric propulsion controller 12 is also configured to control the states of the battery contactors 48...” which is understood by one of ordinary skill in the art to be independent of the battery management system 22).
With respect to claim 17, Lacaux teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 16. Further, Lacaux teaches wherein the rotational assembly further includes a propeller, the electric motor configured to selectively drive the propeller via the rotatable shaft (Fig. 1; propeller 32 is driven by the AC motor 30 via the propeller shaft 34).
With respect to claim 19, Lacaux teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 16. Further, Lacaux teaches comprising a controller connected in signal communication with the main battery contactor, the controller configured to control the position of the main battery contactor independent of the battery monitoring system (¶[62]; “The electric propulsion controller 12 is also configured to control the states of the battery contactors 48...” which is understood by one of ordinary skill in the art to be independent of the battery management system 22).
With respect to claim 20, Lacaux teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 19. Further, Lacaux teaches wherein the battery monitoring system and the controller are configured to sequentially control the position of the string contactor of each battery string and the position of the main battery contactor, respectively, for a start sequence or a shutdown sequence for the battery (¶[55] “...the switching states of selected contactors 8 may be controlled by the battery management system 22...” and ¶[62] “...electric propulsion controller 12 is also configured to control the states of the battery contactors 48...” provide independent control of the string contactors 8 and the battery contactor 48 for starting and shutting down the battery 18).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lacaux et al. (USPGPN 20220094297).
With respect to claims 2-4 and 11-13, Lacaux teaches the invention as discussed above respectively in claims 1 and 6. Applicant does not disclose a criticality for wherein the string contactor of each battery string is configured as a normally-open string contactor, wherein the string contactor of each battery string is configured as a normally-closed string contactor, or wherein the main battery contactor is configured as a normally-open string contactor. As such, it would have been obvious to select one of these contactor configurations depending on the operational circumstances of the overall battery system. The advantage of this being the system may be configured with precise control thus improving safety, efficiency, and cost-effectiveness.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lacaux et al. (USPGPN 20220094297) and further in view of Matsumoto et al. (USPGPN 20220289395).
With respect to claim 18, Lacaux teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 16. However, Lacaux fails to explicitly teach the limitations of claim 18.
Matsumoto teaches wherein the propulsion system includes a gas turbine engine (Fig. 3; gas turbine engine 60), the gas turbine engine including the rotational assembly a second rotational assembly, and a generator, the generator connected in electrical communication with the aircraft electrical distribution bus (Fig. 3; generator 50 provides power to the electrical bus), the second rotational assembly including a second rotatable shaft, a bladed turbine rotor, and a bladed compressor rotor, the second rotatable shaft interconnecting the bladed turbine rotor and the bladed compressor rotor, the bladed turbine rotor configured to drive the generator via the second rotatable shaft (¶[58]).
A gas turbine engine is used as a prime mover for supplying power to the battery system. As such, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Matsumoto’s gas turbine engine to McLean’s aircraft battery system. The advantage being that the aircraft battery system may be charged by the gas turbine engine or the gas turbine engine may provide flight power to the aircraft when the battery system is in a low state of charge (see ¶[15] of Matsumoto).
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The additional prior art identified by the applicant in the Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) were considered by the examiner, however, for examination purposes were not relied upon for citation purposes.
McLean et al. (USPGPN 20220029431) describes a reconfigurable battery system, especially for aircraft, that can keep operating even when a battery module degrades or fails. The battery is built from multiple modules connected in series to form a string, and each module can be electrically inserted into or bypassed from the string.
Conclusion
/FRANK ALEXIS SILVA/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859