DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hoang et al. (Pub. No. US 2024/0147410).
Regarding claim 1. Hoang teaches an apparatus (Hoang, the Abstract, Fig. 1B), comprising:
at least one processor (Hoang, Fig. 1B, pp [40]-[41]); and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (Hoang, Fig. 1B, pp [40]-[41]), cause the apparatus at least to:
transmit, to a network node, first information for determining whether a positioning type of the apparatus is to be session-based or session-less (Hoang, pp [91]-[94]: a WTRU receives a configuration from at least one of a node, a WTRU (e.g., another WTRU), and/or a network, WTRU may determine one or more positioning methods to use, and the positioning procedure is the session-based or session-less procedure);
receive from the network node second information indicating a positioning type of the apparatus, wherein the type is one of a session-based positioning or a session-less positioning (Hoang, pp [91]-[94]: a WTRU receives a configuration from at least one of a node, a WTRU (e.g., another WTRU), and/or a network, WTRU may determine one or more positioning methods to use, and the positioning procedure is the session-based or session-less procedure); and
perform positioning according to the indicated positioning type of the apparatus (Hoang, pp [118]-[119]: performing positioning based on positioning types).
Regarding claim 11. Hoang teaches an apparatus (Hoang, the Abstract, Fig. 1B), comprising:
at least one processor (Hoang, Fig. 1B, pp [40]-[41]); and
at least one memory (Hoang, Fig. 1B, pp [40]-[41])storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (Hoang, Fig. 1B, pp [40]-[41]), cause the apparatus at least to:
receive, from a user equipment, first information for determining whether a positioning type of the user equipment is to be session-based or session-less (Hoang, pp [91]-[94]: a WTRU receives a configuration from at least one of a node, a WTRU (e.g., another WTRU), and/or a network, WTRU may determine one or more positioning methods to use, and the positioning procedure is the session-based or session-less procedure);
determine, based on said first information, whether the positioning type of the user equipment is to be session-based or session-less (Hoang, pp [91]-[94]: a WTRU receives a configuration from at least one of a node, a WTRU (e.g., another WTRU), and/or a network, WTRU may determine one or more positioning methods to use, and the positioning procedure is the session-based or session-less procedure); and
transmit, to the user equipment, second information indicating the positioning type of the user equipment, wherein the type is one of a session-based positioning or a session-less positioning (Hoang, pp [91]-[94]: a WTRU receives a configuration from at least one of a node, a WTRU (e.g., another WTRU), and/or a network, WTRU may determine one or more positioning methods to use, and the positioning procedure is the session-based or session-less procedure).
Regarding claim 12. Hoang teaches a method (Hoang, the Abstract), comprising:
transmitting to a network node, by an apparatus, first information for determining whether a positioning type of the apparatus is to be session-based or session-less (Hoang, pp [91]-[94]: a WTRU receives a configuration from at least one of a node, a WTRU (e.g., another WTRU), and/or a network, WTRU may determine one or more positioning methods to use, and the positioning procedure is the session-based or session-less procedure);
receiving by the apparatus, from the network node, second information indicating a positioning type of the apparatus, wherein the type is one of a session-based positioning or a session-less positioning (Hoang, pp [91]-[94]: a WTRU receives a configuration from at least one of a node, a WTRU (e.g., another WTRU), and/or a network, WTRU may determine one or more positioning methods to use, and the positioning procedure is the session-based or session-less procedure); and
performing, by the apparatus, positioning according to the indicated positioning type of the apparatus (Hoang, pp [118]-[119]: performing positioning based on positioning types).
Regarding claim 2. Hoang teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the stored instructions further cause, when executed by the at least one processor, the apparatus at least to:
initiate, based on determining that the type is the session-based positioning, positioning with one or more anchor user equipments (Hoang, [93]-[94]; Fig. 3, pp [139]-[140]).
Regarding claim 3. Hoang teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the stored instructions further cause, when executed by the at least one processor, the apparatus at least to:
initiate, based on determining that the type is the session-less positioning, positioning without bidirectional communication or without exchange of acknowledged signalling (Hoang, [93]-[94]; Fig. 3, pp [139]-[140]).
Regarding claim 4. Hoang teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein said first information indicates at least one of a positioning application, required positioning accuracy or a priority level of a positioning accuracy (Hoang, [89], [120]-[121]).
Regarding claim 5. Hoang teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein said first information comprises a set of parameters for assisting in determination on whether the positioning type of the apparatus is to be session-based or session-less (Hoang, [93]-[94]; Fig. 3, pp [139]-[140]).
Regarding claim 6. Hoang teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein said first information is transmitted in a positioning request and second information is received in a positioning response (Hoang, [93]-[94]; Fig. 3, pp [139]-[140]).
Regarding claim 7. Hoang teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein said first information is transmitted based on receiving a request from the network node (Hoang, pp [91]-[94]).
Regarding claim 8. Hoang teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the transmission of said first information is triggered by the apparatus without receiving a request from the network node (Hoang, pp [93]-[94]; Fig. 3, pp [139]-[140]).
Regarding claim 9. Hoang teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the stored instructions further cause, when executed by the at least one processor, the apparatus at least to:
receive, from the network node, an indication indicating that the apparatus is allowed to transmit a request for the positioning type of the apparatus (Hoang, pp [84]-[86]); and
transmit, to the network node, the request at least based on receiving the indication indicating that the apparatus is allowed to transmit the request (Hoang, pp [84]-[86]).
Regarding claim 10. Hoang teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the stored instructions further cause, when executed by the at least one processor, the apparatus at least to:
receive, from the network node, a triggering condition for determining when to trigger transmission of said first information (Hoang, pp [88]-[89], [113]); and
transmit, based on determining that the triggering condition is met, said first information to the network node (Hoang, pp [88]-[89], [113]).
Conclusion
/HUY C HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644