DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
1. This Office Action is in response to Amendment filed on date: 11/26/2025.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claims 1-5, 9, and 16-20 have been amended.
Claims 1, 16 and 20 are independent claims.
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant's arguments, see in pages 8-12 in the submitted Remarks, filed on 11/26/2025, with respect to the rejection on claims 1-20 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Objection
3. Claims 1, 16 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, line 10, “the device” should be changed to --- the device under test --.
Regarding claim 16, line 12, “the device” should be changed to --- the device under test --.
Regarding claim 20, line 6, “the device” should be changed to --- the device under test --.
Examiner Notes
4. Examiner cites particular paragraphs, columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-2, 5-8, 14-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kvarnstrand et al. (US. Pub. 2020/0341044; hereinafter “Kvarnstrand”) in view of Haehlke et al. (US. Pub. 2024/0329109; hereinafter “Haehlke”) and further in view of Paulsen et al. (U.S. Pub. 2019/0235003; hereinafter “Paulsen”). Regarding claim 1, Kvarnstrand discloses, in Figs. 1-7, an apparatus (a test apparatus 1 in Fig. 1) comprising: a chamber (a chamber 2) that includes a plurality of interior sides (interior sides of the chamber, see Figs. 1-2 and 4); a plurality of antennas (a plurality of antennas 5) coupled to the plurality of interior sides (Figs. 2 and 4 show the antennas 5 secured on interior sidewalls), wherein the plurality of antennas (5) are configured to receive radiation emitted by a device under test (the antennas 5 connected to a measuring instrument 11 of a controller 10 and configured to measure radio frequency emission from a DUT 3, see at least in [0039, 62]); and a controller (a controller 10) communicatively coupled to the plurality of antennas (see Fig. 1 and [0060-62]), wherein the controller is configured to: direct the plurality of antennas to perform a measurement during an ambient scan of the radiation emitted by the device to extract data (see at least in [0062, 81-83]); and obtain measurements of the radio frequency emissions in radiation from the DUT based on a search of the data extracted during the ambient scan (see at least in [0039, 62] and claim 28). Kvarnstrand does not explicitly specify that the controller is configured to obtain measurements of spurious emissions in the radiation.
Haehlke discloses, in Fig. 1, a spurious emission measurement 10 for performing a spurious emission measurements, comprising a measurement and analyzing circuit 20 and an anechoic chamber 12 encompasses measurement antennas 18 and a device under test 14, wherein the a measurement and analyzing circuit 20 configured to obtain measurements of spurious emissions in the radiation (see at least in claim 1 and [0017-21]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the test system of Kvarnstrand by having the controller configured to obtain measurements of spurious emissions in the radiation as taught by Haehlke, for purpose of enables reducing a measurement time required for performing a spurious emission measurement and reaching the measurement points of the three-dimensional measurement grid.
The combination of Kvarnstrand and Haehlke does not explicitly specify that the
controller is configured to direct one or more antennas of the plurality of antennas to perform a
horizontally polarized pass and a vertically polarized pass.
Paulsen discloses, in Fig. 2A, a test system (100) comprising a test chamber (102), an antenna testing controller (104), a measurement antennas (108-1 and 108-2), and a device under test (106), wherein the controller is configured to direct one or more antennas of the plurality of antennas to perform a horizontally polarized pass and a vertically polarized pass during an ambient scan of the radiation emitted by the device under test (see [0082] and also see [0042]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the test system of Kvarnstrand and Haehlke by having that the controller is configured to direct one or more antennas of the plurality of antennas to perform a horizontally polarized pass and a vertically polarized pass as taught by Haehlke, for purpose of allowing an antenna array testing method that is accurate, relatively fast and efficient by allowing for determining the radiation pattern of phased antenna array in about seven seconds instead of hours. The increased testing speed allows for using relatively smaller number of testing systems or testing equipment to test a given number of phased antenna arrays, and thus reducing the testing space used. The reduction in testing equipment used reduces the testing cost and so does the reduction of testing space since anechoic chambers are very costly and their cost increases with their size.
Regarding claim 5, Kvarnstrand and Haehlke and Paulsen disclose the apparatus of claim 1, Kvarnstrand further teaches comprising a switching device (13 in Fig. 6) configured to: selectively activate at least one of the plurality of antennas; and selectively deactivate at least one other of the plurality of antennas (see [0038, 72, 80]).
Regarding claim 6, Kvarnstrand and Haehlke and Paulsen disclose the apparatus of claim 5, wherein the switching device (a switching device 13 of Kvarnstrand) is configured to enable the at least one of the plurality of antennas (antennas 5 of Kvarnstrand, see 0038, 72, 80) to take one or more of the measurements of the spurious emissions (using the measurement antenna to measure the spurious emission, in view of Haehlke see [0017-21]).
Regarding claim 7, Kvarnstrand and Haehlke and Paulsen disclose the apparatus of claim 1, Kvarnstrand further teaches comprising a movable platform (a moveable holder 9) configured to secure the device under test (the DUT 3) in place relative to the plurality of antennas (see Figs. 1-2 and 6).
Regarding claim 8, Kvarnstrand and Haehlke and Paulsen disclose the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the movable platform (a moveable holder 9 of Kvarnstrand) is further configured to rotate the device under test (see [0065] of Kvarnstrand) to enable the plurality of antennas (the measurement antenna 5 of Kvarnstrand) to take the measurements of the spurious emissions from different angles (using the measurement antenna to measure the spurious emission, in view of Haehlke see [0017-21]).
Regarding claim 14, Kvarnstrand and Haehlke and Paulsen disclose the apparatus of claim 1, Kvarnstrand further teaches wherein the chamber comprises a door (25 in Fig. 2) and forms a full enclosure when the door is closed (see Fig. 2 and [0073]).
Regarding claim 15, Kvarnstrand and Haehlke disclose the apparatus of claim 1, Haehlke further teaches wherein the controller is configured to determine whether the radiation emitted by the device under test complies with a threshold of spurious emissions (see at least in claim 1 and [0017-21]).
Regarding claim 16, Kvarnstrand discloses a system (a test apparatus 1 in Fig. 1) comprising: a device under test (a DUT 3); a chamber (a chamber 2) that includes a plurality of interior sides (interior sides of the chamber, see Figs. 1-2 and 4) and houses the device under test (see Fig. 1); a plurality of antennas (a plurality of antennas 5) coupled to the plurality of interior sides (Figs. 2 and 4 show the antennas 5 secured on interior sidewalls), wherein the plurality of antennas (5) are configured to receive radiation emitted by the device under test (the antennas 5 connected to a measuring instrument 11 of a controller 10 and configured to measure radio frequency emission from a DUT 3, see at least in [0039, 62]); and a controller (a controller 10) communicatively coupled to the plurality of antennas (see Fig. 1 and [0060-62]), wherein the controller (10) is configured to: direct the plurality of antennas to perform a measurement during an ambient scan of the radiation emitted by the device to extract data (see at least in [0062, 81-83]); and obtain measurements of the radio frequency emissions in radiation from the DUT based on a search of the data extracted during the ambient scan (see at least in [0039, 62] and claim 28). Kvarnstrand does not explicitly specify that the controller is configured to obtain measurements of spurious emissions in the radiation.
Haehlke discloses, in Fig. 1, a spurious emission measurement 10 for performing a spurious emission measurements, comprising a measurement and analyzing circuit 20 and an anechoic chamber 12 encompasses measurement antennas 18 and a device under test 14, wherein the a measurement and analyzing circuit 20 configured to obtain measurements of spurious emissions in the radiation (see at least in claim 1 and [0017-21]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the test system of Kvarnstrand by having the controller configured to obtain measurements of spurious emissions in the radiation as taught by Haehlke, for purpose of enables reducing a measurement time required for performing a spurious emission measurement and reaching the measurement points of the three-dimensional measurement grid.
The combination of Kvarnstrand and Haehlke does not explicitly specify that the
controller is configured to direct one or more antennas of the plurality of antennas to perform a
horizontally polarized pass and a vertically polarized pass.
Paulsen discloses, in Fig. 2A, a test system (100) comprising a test chamber (102), an antenna testing controller (104), a measurement antennas (108-1 and 108-2), and a device under test (106), wherein the controller is configured to direct one or more antennas of the plurality of antennas to perform a horizontally polarized pass and a vertically polarized pass during an ambient scan of the radiation emitted by the device under test (see [0082] and also see [0042]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the test system of Kvarnstrand and Haehlke by having that the controller is configured to direct one or more antennas of the plurality of antennas to perform a horizontally polarized pass and a vertically polarized pass as taught by Haehlke, for purpose of allowing an antenna array testing method that is accurate, relatively fast and efficient by allowing for determining the radiation pattern of phased antenna array in about seven seconds instead of hours. The increased testing speed allows for using relatively smaller number of testing systems or testing equipment to test a given number of phased antenna arrays, and thus reducing the testing space used. The reduction in testing equipment used reduces the testing cost and so does the reduction of testing space since anechoic chambers are very costly and their cost increases with their size.
Regarding claim 20, Kvarnstrand discloses, in Figs. 1-7, a method comprising: positioning a device under test (a DUT 3) on a platform inside a chamber (a chamber 2, see Fig. 1); directing the device under test (3) to emit radiation (radio frequency emission from a DUT 3, see at least in [0039, 62]); receiving the radiation via a plurality of antennas coupled to interior sides of the chamber (the antennas 5 connected to a measuring instrument 11 of a controller 10 and configured to measure radio frequency emission from a DUT 3, see at least in [0039, 62]); directing, via a controller (a controller 10), the plurality of antennas to perform a measurement during an ambient scan of the radiation emitted by the device to extract data (see at least in [0062, 81-83]); and obtaining measurements of the radio frequency emissions in radiation from the DUT via a controller (a controller 10), based on a search of the data extracted during the ambient scan to determine whether the radiation emitted by the device under test complies with a threshold (see at least in [0039, 62] and claim 28).
Kvarnstrand does not explicitly specify that the controller is configured to obtain measurements of spurious emissions in the radiation to determine whether the radiation emitted by the device under test complies with a threshold.
Haehlke discloses, in Fig. 1, a spurious emission measurement 10 for performing a spurious emission measurements, comprising a measurement and analyzing circuit 20 and an anechoic chamber 12 encompasses measurement antennas 18 and a device under test 14, wherein the a measurement and analyzing circuit 20 configured to obtain measurements of spurious emissions in the radiation to determine whether the radiation emitted by the device under test complies with a threshold (see at least in claim 1 and [0017-21]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the test system of Kvarnstrand by having the controller configured to obtain measurements of spurious emissions in the radiation to determine whether the radiation emitted by the device under test complies with a threshold as taught by Haehlke, for purpose of enables reducing a measurement time required for performing a spurious emission measurement and reaching the measurement points of the three-dimensional measurement grid.
The combination of Kvarnstrand and Haehlke does not explicitly specify that the
controller is configured to direct one or more antennas of the plurality of antennas to perform a
horizontally polarized pass and a vertically polarized pass.
Paulsen discloses, in Fig. 2A, a test system (100) comprising a test chamber (102), an antenna testing controller (104), a measurement antennas (108-1 and 108-2), and a device under test (106), wherein the controller is configured to direct one or more antennas of the plurality of antennas to perform a horizontally polarized pass and a vertically polarized pass during an ambient scan of the radiation emitted by the device under test (see [0082] and also see [0042]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the test system of Kvarnstrand and Haehlke by having that the controller is configured to direct one or more antennas of the plurality of antennas to perform a horizontally polarized pass and a vertically polarized pass as taught by Haehlke, for purpose of allowing an antenna array testing method that is accurate, relatively fast and efficient by allowing for determining the radiation pattern of phased antenna array in about seven seconds instead of hours. The increased testing speed allows for using relatively smaller number of testing systems or testing equipment to test a given number of phased antenna arrays, and thus reducing the testing space used. The reduction in testing equipment used reduces the testing cost and so does the reduction of testing space since anechoic chambers are very costly and their cost increases with their size.
7. Claims 1, 3, 5-6 and 16, 18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jing et al. (US. Pub. 2017/0373773; hereinafter “Jing”) in view of Haehlke and further in view of Paulsen. Regarding claim 1, Jing discloses, in Figs. 1-5, an apparatus (a test apparatus as shown in Fig. 1) comprising: a chamber (an anechoic chamber 104) that includes a plurality of interior sides (interior sides of the chamber 104, see Fig. 1); a plurality of antennas (multiple antennas 112) coupled to the plurality of interior sides (Fig.1 shows that the antennas 112 attached on interior sides of the chamber 104), wherein the plurality of antennas (122) are configured to receive radiation emitted by a device under test (a test instrument connected to probe antennas 121 via a switch network, wherein the test instrument selectively activates transmission channels connected to the probe antennas 121 of the selected configuration of probe antennas 121 while measuring amplitude values or emission power received from the DUT 105 of respective signals transmitted by the probe antennas 121 and received by the antenna ports 121 of the DUT 105, the test instrument using the reported received power and relative phase values and the measured amplitude values to construct the radiation channel matrix …. See at least in claims 3-4, 6); and
a controller (a computer 110) communicatively coupled to the plurality of antennas (121), wherein the controller is configured to: direct the plurality of antennas to perform a measurement during an ambient scan of the radiation emitted by the device to extract data (see at least in [0045-47]); and obtain measurements of the radio frequency emissions in radiation from the DUT based on a search of the data extracted during the ambient scan (0045-47] and claim 3-6).
Jing does not explicitly specify that the controller is configured to obtain measurements of spurious emissions in the radiation.
Haehlke discloses, in Fig. 1, a spurious emission measurement 10 for performing a spurious emission measurements, comprising a measurement and analyzing circuit 20 and an anechoic chamber 12 encompasses measurement antennas 18 and a device under test 14, wherein the a measurement and analyzing circuit 20 configured to obtain measurements of spurious emissions in the radiation (see claim 1 and [0017-21]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the test system of Jing by having the controller configured to obtain measurements of spurious emissions in the radiation as taught by Haehlke, for purpose of enables reducing a measurement time required for performing a spurious emission measurement and reaching the measurement points of the three-dimensional measurement grid.
The combination of Jing and Haehlke does not explicitly specify that the
controller is configured to direct one or more antennas of the plurality of antennas to perform a
horizontally polarized pass and a vertically polarized pass.
Paulsen discloses, in Fig. 2A, a test system (100) comprising a test chamber (102), an antenna testing controller (104), a measurement antennas (108-1 and 108-2), and a device under test (106), wherein the controller is configured to direct one or more antennas of the plurality of antennas to perform a horizontally polarized pass and a vertically polarized pass during an ambient scan of the radiation emitted by the device under test (see [0082] and also see [0042]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the test system of Jing and Haehlke by having that the controller is configured to direct one or more antennas of the plurality of antennas to perform a horizontally polarized pass and a vertically polarized pass as taught by Haehlke, for purpose of allowing an antenna array testing method that is accurate, relatively fast and efficient by allowing for determining the radiation pattern of phased antenna array in about seven seconds instead of hours. The increased testing speed allows for using relatively smaller number of testing systems or testing equipment to test a given number of phased antenna arrays, and thus reducing the testing space used. The reduction in testing equipment used reduces the testing cost and so does the reduction of testing space since anechoic chambers are very costly and their cost increases with their size.
Regarding claim 3 and similarly claim 18, Jing and Haehlke and Paulsen disclose the apparatus of claim 2, Jing further teaches wherein: the plurality of interior sides comprises a ceiling and a plurality walls, the plurality of interior walls comprises a first interior wall, a second interior wall, and a third interior wall; and wherein the plurality of antennas comprises an antenna coupled to the ceiling and additional antennas comprise a first antenna secured to the first interior wall, a second antenna secured to the second interior wall, and a third antenna secured to the third interior wall (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Jing and Haehlke and Paulsen disclose the apparatus of claim 2, Jing further teaches comprising a switching device (103 in Fig. 6) configured to: selectively activate at least one of the plurality of antennas; and selectively deactivate at least one other of the plurality of antennas (see [0034, 36, 45-46] and claim 2).
Regarding claim 6, Jing and Haehlke and Paulsen disclose the apparatus of claim 5, wherein the switching device (a switching device 103 of Jing) is configured to enable the at least one of the plurality of antennas (antennas 112 of Jing, see [0034, 36, 45-46] and claim 2) to take one or more of the measurements of the spurious emissions (using the measurement antenna to measure the spurious emission, in view of Haehlke see [0017-21]).
Regarding claim 16, Jing discloses, in Figs. 1-5, a system (a test apparatus as shown in Fig. 1) comprising: a device under test (DUT 105); a chamber (an anechoic chamber 104) that includes a plurality of interior sides (interior sides of the chamber 104, see Fig. 1) and houses the device under test (see Fig. 1); a plurality of antennas (multiple antennas 112) coupled to the plurality of interior sides (Fig.1 shows that the antennas 112 attached on interior sides of the chamber 104), wherein the plurality of antennas (112) are configured to receive radiation emitted by the device under test (a test instrument connected to probe antennas 121 via a switch network, wherein the test instrument selectively activates transmission channels connected to the probe antennas 121 of the selected configuration of probe antennas 121 while measuring amplitude values or emission power received from the DUT 105 of respective signals transmitted by the probe antennas 121 and received by the antenna ports 121 of the DUT 105, the test instrument using the reported received power and relative phase values and the measured amplitude values to construct the radiation channel matrix …. See at least in claims 3-4, 6); and
a controller (a computer 110) communicatively coupled to the plurality of antennas (see Fig. 1 and [0060-62]), wherein the controller (110) is configured to: direct the plurality of antennas to perform a measurement during an ambient scan of the radiation emitted by the device to extract data (see at least in [0045-47]); and obtain measurements of the radio frequency emissions in radiation from the DUT based on a search of the data extracted during the ambient scan (see at least in [0045-47] and claims3-6).
Jing does not explicitly specify that the controller is configured to obtain measurements of spurious emissions in the radiation.
Haehlke discloses, in Fig. 1, a spurious emission measurement 10 for performing a spurious emission measurements, comprising a measurement and analyzing circuit 20 and an anechoic chamber 12 encompasses measurement antennas 18 and a device under test 14, wherein the a measurement and analyzing circuit 20 configured to obtain measurements of spurious emissions in the radiation (see claim 1 and [0017-21]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the test system of Jing by having the controller configured to obtain measurements of spurious emissions in the radiation as taught by Haehlke, for purpose of enables reducing a measurement time required for performing a spurious emission measurement and reaching the measurement points of the three-dimensional measurement grid.
The combination of Jing and Haehlke does not explicitly specify that the
controller is configured to direct one or more antennas of the plurality of antennas to perform a
horizontally polarized pass and a vertically polarized pass.
Paulsen discloses, in Fig. 2A, a test system (100) comprising a test chamber (102), an antenna testing controller (104), a measurement antennas (108-1 and 108-2), and a device under test (106), wherein the controller is configured to direct one or more antennas of the plurality of antennas to perform a horizontally polarized pass and a vertically polarized pass during an ambient scan of the radiation emitted by the device under test (see [0082] and also see [0042]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the test system of Jing and Haehlke by having that the controller is configured to direct one or more antennas of the plurality of antennas to perform a horizontally polarized pass and a vertically polarized pass as taught by Haehlke, for purpose of allowing an antenna array testing method that is accurate, relatively fast and efficient by allowing for determining the radiation pattern of phased antenna array in about seven seconds instead of hours. The increased testing speed allows for using relatively smaller number of testing systems or testing equipment to test a given number of phased antenna arrays, and thus reducing the testing space used. The reduction in testing equipment used reduces the testing cost and so does the reduction of testing space since anechoic chambers are very costly and their cost increases with their size.
Regarding claim 20, Jing discloses, in Figs. 1-5, a method comprising: positioning a device under test (a DUT 105) on a platform inside a chamber (an anechoic chamber 104, see Fig. 1); directing the device under test (105) to emit radiation (emitted power radiation from the DUT, See at least in claims 3-4, 6); receiving the radiation via a plurality of antennas (multiple antennas 112) coupled to interior sides of the chamber (Fig.1 shows that the antennas 112 attached on interior sides of the chamber 104); and
directing, via a controller (a computer 110), the plurality of antennas to perform a measurement during an ambient scan of the radiation emitted by the device to extract data (see at least in [0045-47]); and obtaining measurements of the radio frequency emissions in radiation from the DUT via a controller (110), based on a search of the data extracted during the ambient scan to determine whether the radiation emitted by the device under test complies with a threshold (see at least in [0045-47] and claims 3-6).
Jing does not explicitly specify that the controller is configured to obtain measurements of spurious emissions in the radiation to determine whether the radiation emitted by the device under test complies with a threshold.
Haehlke discloses, in Fig. 1, a spurious emission measurement 10 for performing a spurious emission measurements, comprising a measurement and analyzing circuit 20 and an anechoic chamber 12 encompasses measurement antennas 18 and a device under test 14, wherein the a measurement and analyzing circuit 20 configured to obtain measurements of spurious emissions in the radiation to determine whether the radiation emitted by the device under test complies with a threshold (see at least in claim 1 and [0017-21]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the test system of Jing by having the controller configured to obtain measurements of spurious emissions in the radiation to determine whether the radiation emitted by the device under test complies with a threshold as taught by Haehlke, for purpose of enables reducing a measurement time required for performing a spurious emission measurement and reaching the measurement points of the three-dimensional measurement grid.
The combination of Jing and Haehlke does not explicitly specify that the
controller is configured to direct one or more antennas of the plurality of antennas to perform a
horizontally polarized pass and a vertically polarized pass.
Paulsen discloses, in Fig. 2A, a test system (100) comprising a test chamber (102), an antenna testing controller (104), a measurement antennas (108-1 and 108-2), and a device under test (106), wherein the controller is configured to direct one or more antennas of the plurality of antennas to perform a horizontally polarized pass and a vertically polarized pass during an ambient scan of the radiation emitted by the device under test (see [0082] and also see [0042]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the test system of Jing and Haehlke by having that the controller is configured to direct one or more antennas of the plurality of antennas to perform a horizontally polarized pass and a vertically polarized pass as taught by Haehlke, for purpose of allowing an antenna array testing method that is accurate, relatively fast and efficient by allowing for determining the radiation pattern of phased antenna array in about seven seconds instead of hours. The increased testing speed allows for using relatively smaller number of testing systems or testing equipment to test a given number of phased antenna arrays, and thus reducing the testing space used. The reduction in testing equipment used reduces the testing cost and so does the reduction of testing space since anechoic chambers are very costly and their cost increases with their size.
8. Claims 3 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kvarnstrand in view of Haehlke and further in view of Foegelle (US. Pat. 8412112; hereinafter “Foegelle”). Regarding claim 3 and similarly claim 18, taking claim 3 as an example, Kvarnstrand and Haehlke disclose the apparatus of claim 2, wherein: the plurality of interior sides comprises a ceiling and a plurality of interior wall, the plurality of interior walls comprises a first interior wall, a second interior wall, and a third interior wall (three sidewalls in Fig. 2); and wherein the plurality of antennas comprises an antenna coupled to the ceiling and additional antennas (5) comprise a first antenna (5) secured to the first interior wall (such as 9 antennas 5 are provided on a backwall, see Fig. 2), except for explicitly specifying that a second antenna secured to the second interior wall, and a third antenna secured to the third interior wall.
However rearranging positions of the antennas 5 so that each of first, second and third sidewalls of the chamber 2 having at least one measurement antenna 5 is a known practice in the art and the specific arranged locations of antennas would simply be a matter of inventor design choice. Foegelle discloses a test system comprising a DUT 102 arranged in an anechoic chamber 104 and a plurality of test antennas 106 secured to first, second and third sidewalls of the chamber 104 (see Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the test system of Kvarnstrand and Haehlke by having the antennas comprise a first antenna secured to the first interior wall, a second antenna secured to the second interior wall, and a third antenna secured to the third interior wall, as taught by Foegelle in order to meet the system design and specification requirement.
7. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kvarnstrand in view of Haehlke and further in view of Abadie et al. (US. Pub. 2019/0335346; hereinafter “Abadie”). Regarding claim 9, Kvarnstrand and Haehlke disclose the apparatus of claim 1, except for specifying that wherein the plurality of antennas are configured to collectively take the measurements of the spurious emissions across a range of frequencies that includes at least 1 gigahertz frequency and 21 gigahertz frequency.
Abadie discloses a test apparatus (Fig. 1) comprising a DUT 100 positioned in a test chamber 50 and a measurement antenna 20 positioned above the DUT 100 and connected to a controller 30, wherein the antenna 30 configured to identify and take the measurement of the spurious emission across a frequency range from megahertz to multiple gigahertz (see [0014]).
effectively perform two-dimensional or three-dimensional measurement of the spurious emissions.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the plurality of antennas in the test system of Kvarnstrand and Haehlke for taking the measurements of the spurious emissions across a range that includes at least 1 gigahertz and 21 gigahertz, as taught by Abadie for purpose of providing the system effectively perform two-dimensional or three-dimensional measurement of the spurious emissions
9. Claims 10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kvarnstrand in view of Haehlke and further in view of Bartko et al. (US. Pub. 2018/0321292; hereinafter “Bartko”).
Regarding claim 10, Kvarnstrand and Haehlke disclose the apparatus of claim 1, except for explicitly specifying that further comprising a control interface secured to an external surface of the chamber, wherein the control interface is communicatively coupled to at least one of: the plurality of antennas; or the controller.
Bartko discloses a portable anechoic test chamber (100 in Fig. 1) comprising a control interface secured to an external surface of the chamber, wherein the control interface is communicatively coupled to at least one of: the plurality of antennas; or the controller (see [0054]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the test system of Kvarnstrand and Haehlke by having a control interface secured to an external surface of the chamber, wherein the control interface is communicatively coupled to at least one of: the plurality of antennas or the controller, as taught by Bartko in order to meet the system design specification requirement.
Regarding claim 13, Kvarnstrand and Haehlke disclose the apparatus of claim 1, except for explicitly specifying that further comprising a mobility feature configured to enable the chamber to move throughout a facility.
Bartko discloses a portable anechoic test chamber (100 in Fig. 1) comprising lockable wheels (538, 539 in Fig. 5) configured to enable the chamber to move throughout a facility (see [0107].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the test system of Kvarnstrand and Haehlke by having a mobility feature configured to enable the chamber to move throughout a facility, as taught by Bartko in order to meet the system design specification requirement.
10. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kvarnstrand in view of Haehlke and further in view of Mow et al. (US. Pub. 2011/0084887; hereinafter “Mow”).
Regarding claim 11, Kvarnstrand and Haehlke disclose the apparatus of claim 1, except for explicitly specifying that further comprising radiation-absorbent material that covers a floor of the chamber.
Mow discloses a test chamber (30 in Fig. 3) comprising radiation-absorbent material (32) that covers a floor of the chamber (see Fig. 3)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the test system of Kvarnstrand and Haehlke by having radiation-absorbent material that covers a floor of the chamber, as taught by Mow in order to meet the system design specification requirement.
10. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kvarnstrand in view of Haehlke and further in view of Ruelle (US. Pat. 5532704; hereinafter “Ruelle”).
Regarding claim 12, Kvarnstrand and Haehlke disclose the apparatus of claim 1, except for specifying that further comprising one or more beams composed of radiation-absorbent material coupled to the plurality of interior sides, wherein the plurality of antennas are secured to the one or more beams.
Ruelle discloses, in Figs. 2 and 9, a chamber (100) comprising one or more beams (beams 131 in Figs. 2 and 9) composed of radiation-absorbent material coupled to the plurality of interior sides (interior sidewalls of the chamber 100), wherein the plurality of antennas (antennas 50-51) are secured to the one or more beams (see Figs. 2 and 9).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the test system of Kvarnstrand and Haehlke by one or more beams composed of radiation-absorbent material coupled to the plurality of interior sides, wherein the plurality of antennas are secured to the one or more beams, as taught by Ruelle in order to meet the system design specification requirement.
Allowable Subject Matter
11. Claims 2, 4, 17, 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Prior Art of Record
12. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Abadie (U.S Pub. 2021/0258084) discloses a method of measuring a total radiated power of a DUT (see specification for more details).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THANG X LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858
12/27/2025