DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are pending.
Claim(s) 1, 13 and 20 is/are independent.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) is acknowledged. The prior-filed application is U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/484,038 (filed on 2/9/2023).
Information Disclosure Statement
The references cited in the information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 4/11/2024 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a detection unit configured to detect…” in Claim 1,
“the controller is configured to: obtain…activate…detect…and activate…” in Claim 1,
“the controller is configured to: determine…and activate…” in Claim 6, and
“the controller is configured to charge…” in Claims 11 and 12.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 3 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3 recites “and/or”, and it should be “at least one of A and B”, where A and B are the elements on which the “and/or” is operating.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-7, 9-10, 13-17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Deivasigamani et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 8,498,523) (hereinafter “Deivasigamani”).
Regarding claim 1 and corresponding claims 13 and 20, Deivasigamani teaches a water heating system (Fig. 1, 4, 5 - - water heater 2 is used as a water heating system)
comprising: a water heater connected with a utility energy source; (Col. 21 Line 63 – Col. 22 Line 11 - - utility natural gas service is used)
a battery connected with the water heater, (Col. 17 Lines 30-44 - - battery is connected to water heater)
wherein the battery is configured to provide energy to the water heater; (Col. 17 Lines 30-44 - - battery acts as a secondary onboard energy source)
a detection unit configured to detect water demand associated with the water heating system; (Col. 9 Lines 18-43 - - water demand is detected, as well as amount of water demanded measured)
and a controller communicatively coupled with the water heater, the battery, and the detection unit, (Fig. 1-5 - - controller 38 is connected to water heater 2 and detection units/sensors/switches; Col. 17 Lines 30-44 - - battery automatically provides energy as backup, i.e. controller controls battery to provide power in the event of power disruption)
wherein the controller is configured to: obtain, from the detection unit, the water demand; (Col. 9 Lines 18-43 - - water demand is detected, as well as amount of water demanded measured; Fig. 1-5 - - controller 38 obtains information from detection units/sensors/switches)
activate, based on the water demand, the water heater in a first operation mode; (Col. 8 Lines 4-14 - - water heating element(s) is turned on, i.e. activated, based on water demand, which is a first mode of operation; Col. 14 Lines 1-20 - - mode of operation for a first demand point is used using burner 34 of primary heating element)
detect, by the detection unit, a trigger event; (Col. 8 Lines4-14 - - leakage can be detected to trigger a response)
and activate, based on the trigger event, the water heater in a second operation mode. (Col. 8 Lines 4-14 - - activating associated alarms or alerts can be a second operation mode in response to the trigger event)
Regarding claim 3, Deivasigamani teaches wherein the water heater is a tankless water heater configured to heat water by using energy drawn from the utility energy source and/or the energy drawn from the battery. (Col. 7 Line 60 – Col. 8 Line 3 - - tankless water heater is used to heat water using energy; Col. 21 Line 63 – Col. 22 Line 11 - - utility natural gas service is used; Col. 17 Lines 30-44 - - battery acts as a secondary onboard energy source)
Regarding claim 5 and corresponding claims 14 and 15, Deivasigamani teaches wherein the water demand is associated with at least one of: a water flow rate from the water heating system or a desired temperature of output water from the water heating system. (Col. 9 Lines 18-29 - - water demand is associated with flow rate as well as maintaining a desired outlet temperature)
Regarding claim 6 and corresponding claim 16, Deivasigamani teaches wherein the controller is configured to: determine that the water demand is less than a predefined threshold; (Col. 15 Lines 37-44 - - sensor detection is less than detection threshold, i.e. predefined)
and activate, based on the water demand being less than the predefined threshold, the water heater in the first operation mode, (Col. 15 Lines 37-44 - - primary heating element including burner 34 is used in the first operation mode)
wherein the water heater is configured to heat water by using energy drawn from only the utility energy source in the first operation mode. (Col. 17 Lines 30-44 - - secondary energy source is used only in the event of power loss, i.e. water is heated using only utility energy source in first operation mode)
Regarding claim 7 and corresponding claim 17, Deivasigamani teaches wherein detecting the trigger event comprises determining that the water demand is greater than the predefined threshold. (Col. 12 Line 59 – Col. 13 Line 16, Col. 14 Lines 49-61 - - buffer tank is used when sudden increase in water demand occurs, i.e. greater than predefined threshold)
Regarding claim 9, Deivasigamani teaches wherein detecting the trigger event comprises determining a disruption in energy supply from the utility energy source. (Col. 17 Lines 30-44 - - battery automatically provides energy as backup, i.e. controller controls battery to provide power in the event of power disruption)
Regarding claim 10, Deivasigamani teaches wherein the water heater is configured to heat water by using energy drawn from the battery in the second operation mode. (Col. 17 Lines 30-44 - - battery automatically provides energy as backup, i.e. controller controls battery to provide power in the event of power disruption)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4, 8, 11-12 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deivasigamani in view of King et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0121260) (hereinafter “King”).
Regarding claim 2, Deivasigamani teaches a heating element, (Fig. 3 - - heating element is used)
But Deivasigamani does not explicitly teach wherein the utility energy source provides a first amount of current to the heating element,
wherein the first amount of current is less than a second amount of current required for operation of the heating element,
wherein the battery is charged using the utility energy source,
and wherein the battery is used to provide the second amount of current for operation of the heating element.
However, King teaches wherein the utility energy source provides a first amount of current to the heating element, (Fig. 2 - - grid, i.e. utility, provides first amount of current to consumption device; Para. 72 - - consumption device can be heating element of water heater)
wherein the first amount of current is less than a second amount of current required for operation of the heating element, (Fig. 2 - - grid can deliver less than the required amount, in which case storage device or generation device can supplement)
wherein the battery is charged using the utility energy source, (Fig. 2 - - storage device, i.e. battery, is connected to grid via controller to be charged)
and wherein the battery is used to provide the second amount of current for operation of the heating element. (Fig. 2 - - storage device, i.e. battery, can provide supplemental power to heating element of consumption device)
Deivasigamani and King are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and/or functional similarities. They both contain powering of water heaters using battery and utility/grid.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above limitation(s) as taught by Deivasigamani, by incorporating the above limitation(s) as taught by King.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to manage distribution of electrical power, as suggested by King (Para. 3).
Regarding claim 4, Deivasigamani teaches the limitations of the base claim(s).
But Deivasigamani does not explicitly teach wherein the water heater is connected with the utility energy source via a circuit breaker.
However, King teaches wherein the water heater is connected with the utility energy source via a circuit breaker. (Para. 67, 128 - - circuit breaker is used)
Deivasigamani and King are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and/or functional similarities. They both contain powering of water heaters using battery and utility/grid.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above limitation(s) as taught by Deivasigamani, by incorporating the above limitation(s) as taught by King.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to manage distribution of electrical power, as suggested by King (Para. 3).
Regarding claim 8 and corresponding claim 18, Deivasigamani teaches the limitations of the base claim(s).
But Deivasigamani does not explicitly teach wherein the water heater is configured to heat water by using energy drawn from the utility energy source and the battery in the second operation mode.
However, King teaches wherein the water heater is configured to heat water by using energy drawn from the utility energy source and the battery in the second operation mode. (Fig. 2 - - consumption device, i.e. water heater, is connected to both grid, i.e. utility, and storage device, i.e. battery, thus being in second operation mode when drawing power from both of these)
Deivasigamani and King are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and/or functional similarities. They both contain powering of water heaters using battery and utility/grid.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above limitation(s) as taught by Deivasigamani, by incorporating the above limitation(s) as taught by King.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to manage distribution of electrical power, as suggested by King (Para. 3).
Regarding claim 11 and corresponding claim 19, Deivasigamani teaches the limitations of the base claim(s).
But Deivasigamani does not explicitly teach wherein the controller is configured to charge the battery by using energy from the utility energy source.
However, King teaches wherein the controller is configured to charge the battery by using energy from the utility energy source. (Fig. 2 - - storage device, i.e. battery, is connected to grid, i.e. utility energy source, via controller for charging)
Deivasigamani and King are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and/or functional similarities. They both contain powering of water heaters using battery and utility/grid.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above limitation(s) as taught by Deivasigamani, by incorporating the above limitation(s) as taught by King.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to manage distribution of electrical power, as suggested by King (Para. 3).
Regarding claim 12, Deivasigamani teaches the limitations of the base claim(s).
But Deivasigamani does not explicitly teach wherein the controller is configured to charge the battery by using energy from a renewable energy source.
However, King teaches wherein the controller is configured to charge the battery by using energy from a renewable energy source. (Fig. 2 - - storage device, i.e. battery, is connected to generation device, i.e. renewable energy source, via controller for charging)
Deivasigamani and King are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and/or functional similarities. They both contain powering of water heaters using battery and utility/grid.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above limitation(s) as taught by Deivasigamani, by incorporating the above limitation(s) as taught by King.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to manage distribution of electrical power, as suggested by King (Para. 3).
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Pub. No. 2008/0197205 by Ene et al., which discloses tank-tankless water heater (Title/Abstract).
U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0042635 by Nelson et al., which discloses heat pump water heater in conjunction with gas water heater (Title/Abstract).
Conclusion
/SAAD M KABIR/
Examiner, Art Unit 2119
/MOHAMMAD ALI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2119