DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (Claims 1-6) in the reply filed on June 3, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 7-20 have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kanna (JP-2007165371, hereafter Kanna).
Regarding claim 1, Kanna discloses a semiconductor device comprising: a semiconductor element (20, Fig. 6) having a first face (20 top), a second face (25, par. 0013) located on an opposite side to the first face, and a side face (20 side) located between the first face and the second face; a first electrode layer (20 top) provided on the first face of the semiconductor element; and a second electrode layer (26, Fig. 6, par. 0014) provided on the second face of the semiconductor element, wherein an outer edge portion on the second face is more rounded compared to an outer edge portion on the first face, and a thickness of the second electrode layer gradually decreases as the second electrode layer extends closer to the side face (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 2, Kanna discloses a device wherein the second electrode layer (26) coats the outer edge portion on the second face (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 3, Kanna discloses a device wherein in a plane parallel to the first face (20 top, Fig. 6), the second electrode layer (26) does not extend outward from the side face (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 4, Kanna discloses a device wherein in a plane parallel to the first face (20 top, Fig. 6), the second electrode layer (26) does not extend outward from the side face (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 5, Kanna discloses a device wherein in the outer edge portion on the second face (25, Fig. 6), the second electrode layer (26) is curved from the second face along the side face (20 side) toward the first face (20 top) (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 6, Kanna discloses a device wherein in the outer edge portion on the second face (25), the second electrode layer (26) is curved from the second face along the side face (20 side) toward the first face (20 top) (Fig. 6).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tsuma (20230154987), pertaining to all claims;
Kurosawa (20040130004), pertaining to claim 1.
/C.M.B./ Examiner, Art Unit 2817 /MARLON T FLETCHER/ Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817