Claim Objections
Claims 1, 8, and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities: each of these claims recites predicting body movements based on “the conditional inputs, emotional state of the speaker, and textual input.” Although the Examiner can understand the meaning, scope, and intention of this phrase, it should be amended to clearly recite the antecedent basis for the emotional state and the textual input. For example, this phrase should be amended to read --the conditional inputs, the emotional state of the speaker, and the textual input--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0203099), referred herein as Hwang, in view of Wang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0267916), referred herein as Wang.
Regarding claim 1, Hwang teaches one or more processors, comprising circuitry to use one or more neural networks (figs 1 and 15-17, processor 180, neural network portions 530, 630, 730, and 820) to:
obtain one or more conditional inputs (figs 15-17, inputs 516/730; paragraphs 280 and 281; paragraphs 291 and 292), audio data of speech (figs 15-17, audio input 518/820; paragraphs 280 and 281; paragraph 295), and a textual input (paragraphs 188 and 190; paragraphs 280 and 281; paragraph 296), at least one of the one or more conditional inputs comprising 3D position data or depth information of one or more features of an object (paragraphs 280 and 281; paragraphs 291 and 292);
determine an expression of a speaker of the speech represented by the audio data (paragraph 220; paragraph 253);
predict based, at least in part, on the conditional inputs, the expression of the speaker, and the textual input, one or more body movements and facial expressions of an object when pronouncing the textual input (paragraphs 188 and 190; paragraphs 222 and 255; paragraphs 280 and 281; paragraph 297); and
generate, based on the one or more predicted body movements and predicted facial expressions, a 3D model of the object that depicts the object performing the one or more body movements while pronouncing the textual input and with facial expressions that correspond to the expression (figs 15-17, model generator 530; paragraphs 220 and 222; paragraphs 253 and 255; paragraphs 284 and 299).
Hwang teaches determining expressions based on the text, audio data of speech, and 3D position data, as shown above. However, Hwang does not explicitly teach determining an emotional state, which is reflected in the 3D model.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Wang teaches a system comprising neural networks configured to obtain a textual input and audio data of speech, and predict 3D model animation based, at least in part, on the textual input and the audio data of speech (paragraphs 15, 19, and 27; paragraphs 46 and 48; paragraph 70), and further configured to predict an emotional state of a speaker in order to animate the 3D model to pronounce the textual input such that it that corresponds to the emotional state (paragraph 45; paragraphs 52 and 53; paragraph 58).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the text input and emotional state determination of Wang with the text, audio data, and 3D position data processing of Hwang because this helps ensure that the emotional context of input text is accurately reflected in the animation, thereby improving the quality of the 3D model generation while retaining the speed and efficiency of its generation (see, for example, Wang, paragraphs 15 and 54).
Regarding claim 2, Hwang in view of Wang teaches the one or more processors of claim 1, wherein the one or more predicted body movements of the object comprises one or more motions of limbs of the object and the one or more predicted facial expression of the object comprises one or more motions of features of a face of the object (Hwang, fig 17; paragraphs 182 and 188; paragraphs 252, 253, and 260; paragraphs 291 and 297).
Regarding claim 3, Hwang in view of Wang teaches the one or more processors of claim 1, wherein the one or more neural networks comprise a second portion to generate the one or more predicted body movements (Hwang, fig 17, neural network portion 730/530; paragraph 284; paragraphs 291 and 292; paragraph 299), and a first portion to generate the one or more predicted facial expressions based, at least in part, on the audio data of speech (Hwang, fig 17, neural network portion 630/530; paragraph 284; paragraphs 289 and 290; paragraph 299).
Regarding claim 5, Hwang in view of Wang teaches the one or more processors of claim 1, wherein the one or more predicted body movements and facial expressions of the object indicate body language, conveying the emotional state of the speaker of the speech represented by the audio data, through motion of limbs and the facial expressions of the object (Hwang, paragraphs 220 and 253; paragraphs 284 and 299; Wang, paragraph 45; paragraphs 52 and 53; paragraph 58; the motivation to combine is similar to that discussed above in the rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 6, Hwang in view of Wang teaches the one or more processors of claim 1, wherein the object is an avatar of one or more portions of a human (Hwang, fig 17; paragraphs 284, 297 and 299; paragraphs 324-326).
Regarding claim 7, Hwang in view of Wang teaches the one or more processors of claim 1, wherein the audio data comprises one or more utterances of speech and the one or more conditional inputs correspond to the one or more utterances of speech (Hwang, paragraphs 280 and 281; paragraphs 291 and 292; paragraphs 295 and 297).
Regarding claims 8-10 and 12-14, the limitations of these claims substantially correspond to the limitations of claims 1-3 and 5-7, respectively; thus they are rejected on similar grounds as their corresponding claims.
Regarding claims 15-17, 19, and 20, the limitations of these claims substantially correspond to the limitations of claims 1-3, 5, and 6, respectively; thus they are rejected on similar grounds as their corresponding claims.
Claims 4, 11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang, in view of Wang, and further in view of Li et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0153184), referred herein as Li.
Regarding claim 4, Hwang in view of Wang teaches the one or more processors of claim 1, wherein the one or more conditional inputs are generated by one or more neural networks and indicate the 3D position data or depth information of the object corresponding to the one or more predicted body movements and facial expressions of the object (Hwang, paragraphs 253 and 255; paragraphs 280 and 281; paragraphs 289 and 291).
Hwang in view of Wang does not teach an input comprising a heatmap.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Li teaches a system comprising circuits to use one or more neural networks to generate motions of an avatar object based on input motion and audio (fig 5; paragraph 56, lines 1-4; paragraph 58, lines 1-22; paragraph 64, the last 5 lines), wherein heatmaps are input that indicate a position of the object (paragraph 61, lines 1-5 and the last 8 lines; paragraph 62, lines 1-6 and the last 8 lines).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the heatmap body position indication of Li with the body position processing of Hwang in view of Wang because this provides highly accurate body position identification that is efficient enough to perform in real-time, while still reducing processing resource requirements (see, for example, Li, paragraph 21, lines 1-10 and the last 5 lines; paragraph 62, the last 2 lines).
Regarding claims 11 and 18, the limitations of each of these claims substantially correspond to the limitations of claim 4; thus they are rejected on similar grounds.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art rejections have been fully considered, but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection presented above.
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Choe (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0378965); Electronic apparatus and method for controlling functions in the electronic apparatus using a bio-metric sensor.
Harazi (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0252972); Emotion-based text to speech.
Tiwari (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0070399); Multi-level emotional enhancement of dialogue.
Nandwana (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0087596); Artificial latency for moderating voice communication.
Harpale (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2025/0029305); Rendering XR avatars based on acoustical features.
Groves (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0038205); Systems, apparatuses, and/or methods for real-time adaptive music generation.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DAVID T. WELCH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2613
/DAVID T WELCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2613