Detailed Action
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species IA in the reply filed on 05/05/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi et al. (US 20170178978 A1, herein after Choi).
Examiner’s note for the effective filing date: Instant application has CIP priority dates from multiple parent applications. However, the claim 1 appears the first in the parent application 16036359 which has a filing date of 07/16/2018.
As a result, the examiner would take 07/16/2018 as the effective filing date for the claim 1.
As to claim 1, Choi teaches an apparatus for a processing chamber, comprising:
a chuck (abstract and [0026]) and at least one of a showerhead (25a in FIG.2); and
at least one of the chuck, the showerhead having at least one optical fiber in contact therewith (FIG.2), the at least one optical fiber having Fiber Bragg Grating sensors (40 in FIG. 2 and 40, 41 in FIG.3 and [0042]);
wherein at least one of the Fiber Bragg Grating sensors is configured to provide strain-related information ([0046]).
As to claim 2, Choi teaches the apparatus according to claim 1.
Choi further teaches at least another one of the Fiber Bragg Grating sensors is configured to provide temperature-related information ([0045-47]).
As to claim 3, Choi teaches the apparatus according to claim 2.
Choi further teaches the Fiber Bragg Grating sensors are each configured for a different center frequency for modulation thereof ([0045]).
As to claim 5, Choi teaches the apparatus according to claim 3.
Choi further teaches the at least one optical fiber is disposed in a spiral or spiral-like pattern (FIG. 4).
As to claim 6, Choi teaches the apparatus according to claim 1.
Choi further teaches the at least one of the Fiber Bragg Grating sensors configured to provide strain-related information ([0046]) is directly bonded to the showerhead (FIG. 2 and 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi in view of Parkhe (US 20170303338 A1 hereinafter Parkhe).
As to claim 4, tChoi teaches the apparatus according to claim 3.
However, Choi does not explicitly disclose a base and a puck of the chuck respectively include a first optical fiber and a second optical fiber of the at least one optical fiber.
Parkhe teaches a base (232) and a puck (235) of the chuck (106B in FIG. 2) respectively include a first optical fiber (236) and a second optical fiber of the at least one optical fiber (244 fiber guide passes multiple optical fibers).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the apparatus of Boyd by having a base and a puck of the chuck respectively include a first optical fiber and a second optical fiber of the at least one optical fiber for the benefit including an optimal construction of FBG sensing channels through out the sample holder.
Citation of Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Boyd (US 20170350688 A1) teaches an apparatus for a processing chamber, comprising:
a chuck ([0057]) and at least one of a showerhead ([0011]) or a lid (face plate 118, [0027]); and
at least one of the chuck, the showerhead, or the lid having at least one optical fiber in contact therewith ([0048] 170 includes fiber optic based sensor),;
wherein at least one of the Fiber sensors is configured to provide strain-related information ([0048] measuring deflections).
Conclusion
/SUNGHEE Y GRAY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2886