DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-9, in the reply filed on September 28, 2026, is acknowledged. Claims 10-12, are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U. S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0311635 (hereinafter referred to as Chen).
Chen, in the abstract, [0024], [0035], discloses an exposure process (patterning process) performed on a photoresist layer in a lithography tool (exposure apparatus). Chen, in [0033]-[0037], discloses coating a substrate with a photoresist layer, and conducting an exposure process (first divisional exposure) via a reticle on the photoresist layer to produce line and spaces (line and space pattern from the reticle) and in figures 7A to 7B, discloses after the first exposure process, moving or shifting the reticle to a distance that is less than the first linewidth (below the linewidth of the mask 641) and performing exposure (second divisional exposure) on the already first exposed photoresist layer such that the first exposure portion (spatial distribution ) overlaps a second exposure portion. Chen, in [0035], discloses that the exposure results in a printing of exposure lines with a space in between them i.e., the exposure amount is at least equal to threshold energy (claim 1). Chen in [0045], discloses that the alignment offset (shift in the reticle position relative to the substrate) can be at least about 20% of the linewidth of the mask pattern (minimum offset is less than a multiple of the minimum printable space) (claim 3). Chen, in [0007], and [0032], discloses that the lithography apparatus can be an immersion lithography apparatus and the exposure in the apparatus uses 193nm wavelengths (ArF). Chen, in [0033], discloses that the width of the CD to be produced in the photoresist is less than 47nm and up to about 32nm and includes claimed linewidth and space width of 40nm wherein the exposure is not using a reduction exposure apparatus i.e., the same pitch in the mask/reticle is printed onto the photoresist (claim 4). Chen, in [0024], discloses that after the photoresist layer is exposed twice it is developed to form the photoresist pattern (lines) and Chen, in [0033], discloses that the photoresist pattern can have a width of about 32nm (claim 5). Chen, in [0035], discloses 65nm half pitch producing lines and spaces in the first exposure and Chen in [0045], discloses using minimum offset to perform second exposure using reticle so as to reduce the linewidth to less than 1/3rd of the space width and suggests that the linewidth of the photoresist pattern can be ~20nm while maintaining the space width larger to about 60nm such that the space width is larger than the linewidth (claim 6). Chen, in [0024], discloses developing the photoresist to form the photoresist pattern. Chen, in [0033], discloses that the photoresist layer can have a thickness of about 100nm (which constitutes the height of the photoresist pattern formed be about 100nm) and the linewidth of the photoresist pattern can be 32nm (Chen in [0030], discloses that one of the feature dimension can be 32nm) i.e., the aspect ratio of the photoresist pattern developed is 100nm/32nm and is less than 4 (claim 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, and 8-9, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U. S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0311635 (hereinafter referred to as Chen) in view of U. S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0174853 (hereinafter referred to as Shen) and U. S. Patent Application Publication No. 2006/0040213 (hereinafter referred to as Aizenberg).
Chen, is discussed in paragraph no. 4, above.
Chen in [0035], discloses that the exposed photoresist results in the printing lines i.e., the exposure energy is at least at the threshold dosage (energy). Chen in [0024], discloses that the exposed photoresist is developed to form the photoresist pattern.
The difference between the claims and Chen is that Chen does not disclose that the first exposure energy (or exposure dosage) or the second exposure energy or its cumulative is the at the claimed levels of the threshold energy or higher than exposure threshold as recited in claims 2, 8-9.
Shen, in [0064], and [0065], discloses that the resist layer is exposed at a first portion and subsequently at a second portion at an energy dosage that is above the exposure threshold.
Aizenberg, in [0041], [0066]-[0068], and I figure 13, discloses that the photoresist for each exposure is subjected to above threshold dose of exposure energy and in figure 13 illustrates above threshold to be far greater than 100% exposure energy and includes the claimed amount both individual exposure threshold and cumulative exposure threshold.
Therefore, it would be obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Chen by using above threshold energy doses in both the first and second exposures as taught by Shen or Aizenberg because Chen teaches the complete exposure of the exposed regions i.e., at least threshold energy dosage, and Shen, in [0060], teaches that exceeding the exposure threshold in each of the two exposures results in the developed pattern having the desired shape (rectangular in Shen) and enables the refining of the profile of the resist pattern developed, and Aizenberg, in [0066], and [0067], discloses that above exposure threshold dosages results in desired polymerization and crosslinking after curing (for negative resist) and desired solubility changes in the photoresist and avoids insufficient polymerization in regions that are desired to be formed as patterns upon development.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Daborah Chacko-Davis whose telephone number is (571) 272-1380. The examiner can normally be reached on 9:30AM-6:00PM EST Mon-Fri. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Sally A. Merkling can be reached on (571) 272-6297. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-272-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/DABORAH CHACKO-DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737 October 15, 2026.