DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 3-6, 9-12, and 14 are pending.
Claims 1, 3-6, and 10 are amended.
Claims 2, 7-8, and 13 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Applicant’s amendment of claim 10 to change the term “implemented in” to “formed in” overcomes the rejection of 04/08/2026 under 35 U.S.C. 112b. The rejection of claims 10-12 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments/Amendments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 4-6, filed 04/30/2026, with respect to the rejections of amended independent claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Specifically, the amendment of claim language to include “a p-type GaN material disposed over a front barrier layer and a gate electrode disposed over the p-type GaN material” overcomes the embodiment of the prior art rejection of record. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. Accordingly, the rejections of dependent claims 3-6, 9-12, and 14 are withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of an alternative embodiment of Okamoto et al. (US PGPub 2010/0320505).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Okamoto et al. (US PGPub 2010/0320505; herein known as Okamoto).
Regarding claim 1, Okamoto teaches (Fig. 9B) an enhancement mode gallium nitride (GaN) transistor ([0116]), comprising: a source (5, [0124]), a gate ([0125]) and a drain (6, [0123]), wherein the gate comprises a p-type GaN material (25, [0116]) disposed over a front barrier layer (4, [0121]) and a gate electrode (7, [0125]) disposed over the p-type GaN material (25, [0122]), and a hole collector electrode (8, [0126]), wherein the gate electrode (7, [0125]) and the hole collector electrode (8, [0126]) contact the p-type GaN material (25, [0116]) of the gate (see Figure), and wherein, when a negative voltage is applied to the hole collector electrode, holes accumulating in the p-type GaN material of the gate are removed. Application of a negative voltage to the hole collector electrode of Okamoto would switch the transistor to its “on” state, during which time the hole collector electrode, in contact with the p-type GaN material, would necessarily conduct holes from the p-type GaN material-of the gate and remove them from the device.
Regarding claim 3, Okamoto teaches (annotated Fig. 9B below) the enhancement mode GaN transistor of claim 1, wherein the hole collector electrode (8, [0126]) is laterally spaced (L1) from the gate electrode (7, [0125]) on a top surface of the p-type GaN material of the gate.
Regarding claim 4, Okamoto teaches (Fig. 9B) the enhancement mode GaN transistor of claim 3, wherein the hole collector electrode (8, [0126]) contacts the top surface of the p-type GaN material of the gate (4, [0122]). See Fig. 9B.
Regarding claim 5, Okamoto teaches (Fig. 9B) the enhancement mode GaN transistor of claim 3, wherein the hole collector electrode (8, [0121]) extends into a recess (28, [0121]) in the p-type GaN material (4, [0121]) of the gate ([0121]). See Fig. 9B.
Regarding claim 6, Okamoto teaches (Fig. 9B) the enhancement mode GaN transistor of claim 3, wherein the hole collector electrode (8, [0121]) extends completely through the GaN material (4, [0121]) of the gate. See Fig. 9B.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okamato as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Wu et al. (US PGPub 2014/0015066; known herein as Wu).
Regarding claim 9, Okamato teaches the enhancement mode GaN transistor of claim 1, and teaches wherein the hole collector electrode is electrically connected to a component providing a voltage ([0068]), and in order to function as a hole collector electrode as taught, the hole collector electrode of Okamato must inherently be electrically connected. Okamato does not explicitly teach a negative voltage generating circuit.
Wu teaches (Fig. 6) a negative voltage generating circuit ([0050]).
Because Okamato and Wu are directed toward enhancement mode GaN transistors, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Okamato and Wu to include a negative voltage generating circuit in order to induce electron recombination (Wu, [0062]).
Regarding claim 10, Okamato in view of Wu teaches the enhancement mode GaN transistor of claim 9, wherein the negative voltage generating circuit is formed in GaN and is integrated with the transistor. Wu teaches wherein the circuit components are part of a HEMT device. ([0003]).
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okamato in view of Wu, as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Ming et al. (US PGPub 2020/0052687; herein known as Ming).
Regarding claim 11, Okamatu in view of Wu teaches the enhancement mode GaN transistor of claim 10, but does not explicitly teach wherein the negative voltage generating circuit comprises a charge pump to generate the negative voltage.
Okamatu in view of Wu teaches a circuit capable of providing negative voltage to a HEMT.
Ming teaches a charge pump ([0069]) which provides voltage to a HEMT when a certain threshold voltage is exceeded ([0069]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the voltage source of Okamatu in view of Wu with the charge pump of Ming, for the predictable result of providing voltage to the GaN transistor. See MPEP 2143.I.B.
Regarding claim 12, Okamatu in view of Wu and Ming teaches wherein the negative voltage generating circuit comprises circuitry for sensing the negative voltage and activating the charge pump when needed (Ming, [0069)]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okamato as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Mandelli et al. (US PGPub 2019/0246051; herein known as Mandelli).
Regarding claim 14, Okamato teaches the enhancement mode GaN transistor of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the negative voltage is provided externally through an I/O terminal.
Mandelli teaches wherein the negative voltage ([0030]) is provided externally through an I/O terminal ([0027]; Pixel 300 is compatible with the image sensor 200, which contains I/O circuitry).
Because Okamato and Mandelli are both directed toward enhancement mode GaN transistors for hole collection, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Okamato and Mandelli to include wherein the negative voltage is provided externally through an I/O terminal in order to convey pixel signals to other circuitry for processing (Mandelli, [0027]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EMILY FARMER/Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/DAVIENNE N MONBLEAU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812