DETAILED ACTION
This is response to Application 18/436,602 filed on 02/08/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending in the office action.
Drawings
New corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in this application because the drawings submitted on 06/21/2024, the details (letter/characters) are blurred (see fig. 1 and fig. 4-9B for example). Applicant is advised to employ the services of a competent patent draftsperson outside the Office, as the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office no longer prepares new drawings. The corrected drawings are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The requirement for corrected drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As per claim 1: recited “a die-to-die interconnect” and “a first module” and “second module” which are unclear the relationship between “a first module” and “second module” to die-to-die interconnection and also unclear how “a first module” and “second module” structure relationship such that the first module and the second module are located on the same die or different die. Application’s fig. 1 and paragraph [0029], described three main blocks 110, 140, and WCHB pipeline (including set of WCHB 120 and 130), but doubt the relationship of these blocks.
Claims 1, 11, and 20: recited “a first synchronous domain”, “a second synchronous domain”, and “a dual-rail quasi-delay-insensitive format” are not defined in the claims, the Application specification does not provide standard for ascertain the requisite degree of “synchronous” and “quasi-delay-insensitive”, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably appraised of the scope of claimed invention. Therefore, the phrase “a first synchronous domain”, “a second synchronous domain”, and “a dual-rail quasi-delay-insensitive format” are indefinite. In the other words, Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The term “synchronous domain” in claims 1, 11, and 20 are used by the claim to mean “clock signal,” while the accepted meaning is “clock signal.” The term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term.
For the broadest interpreted based on specification, there are number of blocks (at least 2 blocks) as delay/buffer/clock blocks may be located on a same die or on different die and are connected to each other to produce a difference clock signal.
Claims 2-10 and 12-19 are also rejected because are depended directly or indirectly from claim 1 and 11, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 10-12, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giaconi et al., (U.S. Pub. 2017/0126425) in view of Vivet et al., (A 4x4x2 Homogeneous Scalable 3D Network-on-Chip Circuit with 326 MFlit/s 0.66 pJ/b Robust and Fault Tolerant Asynchronous 3D Links, IEEE, January 2017, Vol., 52, pages 33-49).
As per claims 1 and 11: Giaconi teaches a device (‘425, fig. 1, 100) having Chronos Channel Interconnects to transmit data using delay insensitive (DI) and quasi-delay-insensitive (QDI) logic (‘425, the abstract) comprising:
a first module configured to convert data from a first synchronous domain (i.e., clock domain) to a dual-rail quasi-delay-insensitive (QDI) format (‘425, fig. 1, 110, par. [0040] – [0046], “clock domain A” and “synchronous data input” (par. [041]), the abstract and par. [0067], “a dual-rail QDI”); and
a second module configured to convert the data from the dual-rail quasi-delay-insensitive format to a second synchronous domain (‘425, fig. 1, 120, par. [0040] – [0046], “clock domain B” and “synchronous data output” (par. [0045]), the abstract and par. [0067], “a dual-rail QDI”).
Gaiconi does not teach a first die stacked with a second die; and a die-to-die interconnect connecting the first die and the second die.
Vevit teaches a 3D modular and scalable network-on-chip (NoC) architecture implemented (Vevit, page 33, the abstract and I. Introduction and State of the Art, col. 1, the 3D technology present a wide scope and defines a full set of different technology elements, such as Die-to-Die (D2D) assembly).
Vevit also teaches the NoC implemented using quasi-delay insentive (QDI) asynchronous logic (Vevit, page 35, col. 2) and the asynchronous pipeline stage (fig. 8) decouples the timing between the two circuit layers: from the bottom die router up to the top die router through the DFT stage and logical/physical interfaces (Vevit, page 38, col. 1, D. Asynchronous Pipe Parallel and fig. 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filling date of claimed invention to combine Vevit and Gaiconi to modify Gaiconi’s asynchronous communication between TX and RX blocks using Vevit’s 3D asynchronous links to connect the bottom die and the top die in 3D NoC (i.e., homogeneous stacking) to increase capacity as the same footprint and high-performance computing (Vevit, page 35, col. 1).
As per claims 2, 12, 20: Giaconi teaches a method for providing Chronos Channel Interconnects to transmit data using delay insensitive (DI) and quasi-delay-insensitive (QDI) logic (‘425, the abstract) comprising:
a first module configured to convert data from a first synchronous domain (i.e., clock domain) to a dual-rail quasi-delay-insensitive (QDI) format (‘425, fig. 1, 110, par. [0040] – [0046], “clock domain A” and “synchronous data input” (par. [041]), the abstract and par. [0067], “a dual-rail QDI”); and
a second module configured to convert the data from the dual-rail quasi-delay-insensitive format to a second synchronous domain (‘425, fig. 1, 120, par. [0040] – [0046], “clock domain B” and “synchronous data output” (par. [0045]), the abstract and par. [0067], “a dual-rail QDI”).
Gaiconi does not teach a first die stacked with a second die; and a die-to-die interconnect connecting the first die and the second die, and a hybrid bonding for coupling between the first module of the first die and the second module of the second die.
Vevit teaches a 3D modular and scalable network-on-chip (NoC) architecture implemented (Vevit, page 33, the abstract and I. Introduction and State of the Art, col. 1, the 3D technology present a wide scope and defines a full set of different technology elements, such as Die-to-Die (D2D) assembly, wafer bonding (i.e., hybrid bonding), as well as Face-to-Face (F2F)).
Vevit also teaches the NoC implemented using quasi-delay insentive (QDI) asynchronous logic (Vevit, page 35, col. 2) and the asynchronous pipeline stage (fig. 8) decouples the timing between the two circuit layers: from the bottom die router up to the top die router through the DFT stage and logical/physical interfaces (Vevit, page 38, col. 1, D. Asynchronous Pipe Parallel and fig. 8), using different 3D technology a hybrid bond for coupling between the first module of the first die and the second module of the second die (Vevit, page 33, I. Introduction and State of the Art, col. 1, the 3D technology present a wide scope and defines a full set of different technology elements, such as Die-to-Die (D2D) assembly, wafer bonding (i.e., hybrid bonding), as well as Face-to-Face (F2F))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filling date of claimed invention to combine Vevit and Gaiconi to modify Gaiconi’s asynchronous communication between TX and RX blocks using Vevit’s 3D asynchronous links to connect the bottom die and the top die in 3D NoC (i.e., homogeneous stacking) to increase capacity as the same footprint and high-performance computing (Vevit, page 35, col. 1).
As per claim 10: Gaiconi and Vevit teach wherein the first synchronous domain and the second synchronous domain are a same domain (‘425, fig. 2D, clockA (100MHz) and clockB (100MHz)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-9 and 13-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if claims 3/13 and/or 7/17 is/are rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art record does not teach the following limitations:
As per claims 3 and 13: wherein the first module comprises: a first bisynchronous First-In First-Out (FIFO) buffer; a first weak-conditioned half-buffer (WCHB) layer; and a first converter configured to read from the first bisynchronous FIFO buffer and write to the first WCHB layer.
As per claims 7 and 17: wherein the second module comprises: a second WCHB layer; a second bisynchronous FIFO buffer; and a second converter configured to read from the second WCHB layer and write to the second FIFO buffer.
Conclusion
NGHIA M. DOAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2851
/NGHIA M DOAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2851