DETAILED ACTION
1. This communication is responsive to the Amendment filed 6/10/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silverstein et al. (US 2019/0024350) hereinafter Silverstein in view of Steele et al. (US 2015/0066609) hereinafter Steele.
In claim 1, Silverstein discloses “A system of home appliances, the system comprising:
a first water consuming bathroom device configured to receive a voice command from a user and configured to relay data to a centralized server (FIG. 1, [0026] These user interface features can include, for example, vocal alarms, voice setup instructions [0033] Smart water apparatuses 134 and 136 enable smart water conservation and further enable smart user interaction. Smart water apparatuses 134 and 136 may communicate with router 122, central panel 130 [0034] Central panel 130 can be part of a security system or other master control system of enclosure 100. Central panel 130 can monitor which occupant is entering a bathroom and can communicate that information to one or more smart water apparatuses contained in that bathroom. This enables the smart water apparatus to have knowledge of water usage preferences (e.g., desired water temperature, shower schedule, etc.) of that occupant [0036] Access to the Internet, for example, may enable networked devices such as system 105, thermostat 110, camera 132, or apparatus 134 to communicate with a device or server remote to enclosure 100. The remote server or remote device can host an account management program that manages various networked devices contained within enclosure 100)”.
Silverstein does not appear to explicitly disclose however, Steele discloses “a second water consuming bathroom device configured to receive instructions that are in response from the data relayed by the first water consuming bathroom device and provide a personalized setting at the second water consuming bathroom device in response to the instructions ([0053] a utility may be allocated in different portions according to a type of use, delivery device, and/or location of use. For example, water use from a bathroom faucet may be differentiated from water use from a shower head, e.g., via a flow meter or other suitable sensor or measurement device associated with each appliance in the bathroom, and allocated differently [0055] The method of measuring progress towards a goal, e.g., units of utility use, may be individualized and chosen to provide meaningful feedback to each person. The goal may be for a day, week, month, or any other suitable timeframe. Goals may be set individually, that is, a different goal for each person or account, or the goals may be set globally, the same for each person or account. For example, the goal(s) may be shared among two or more persons, or may be tailored and chosen to have a meaningful connection to each person [0057] For example, parents may wish to incent their children to take showers regularly and to brush their teeth. Usage of utilities to take a shower may be counted as credit for a child and progress toward meeting the child's goal. Taking a 5 minute shower may give the child credit toward a goal or may not count toward utilities used, but each minute beyond a limit, e.g., 5 minutes, such as greater than about 15 minutes, may be counted as utilities used and charged to the child's account to detract from progress toward the goal. This would incent children to bathe regularly but limit their use of resources, e.g., by encouraging them not to take 30 minute showers. Utilities used to brush teeth may not count towards utilities used or may be counted as credit when less than a limit, but leaving the water running while brushing teeth may be counted towards utilities used, e.g., debited or reflected as a negative value in a person's account. Thus, setting goals can be used to incent appropriate usage of utilities and to encourage or otherwise modify behavior [0058] each person may log-in to system 100, whereupon the person may be presented with his/her personalized goal, e.g., via a dashboard or other interface display associated with the person's account. Logging into system 100 may be accomplished by facial recognition, voice recognition, keyed inputs or other user input)”.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Silverstein and Steele, the suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to provide systems to control devices, monitor use of a utility and provide feedback related to the utility usage to encourage responsible usage of a utility (Abstract).
In claim 2, Silverstein teaches
The system of claim 1, wherein the voice command received at the first water consuming bathroom device includes a theme word to indicate the second water consuming bathroom device ([0048] For example, control circuitry 440 may enable more advanced user interface and communications functions. Circuitry 440 may use various computationally-intensive algorithms to sense patterns in user behavior, to discern whether the user is present, discern whether the user is using both hands, just one hand, the entire body, a toothbrush or a razor. Circuitry 440 may run algorithms for governing, for example, the color gradient of light 458 as a function of water temperature, water usage, or time remaining for a shower. Circuitry 440 may run algorithms for governing, for example, the content presented on a display. Circuitry 440 may run algorithms for governing, for example, the issuance of voice commands to users).
In claim 3, Silverstein teaches
The system of claim 1, further comprising: a third water consuming bathroom device configured to receive instructions that are in response from the data relayed by the first water consuming bathroom device and provide a personalized setting at the third water consuming bathroom device in response to the instructions ([0074] the water apparatus may be used to control the flow of water through a water network that may exist within a structure. For example, when the water apparatus runs water to “heat up the shower,” the water entering the drain may be re-routed to a destination other than the sewer or city drain. As a specific example, the drain water can be re-routed to a grey water tank, toilet or garden. When the desired temperature of water is reached (and soap might be added), the water system may cease re-directing the water and force it to flow into the sewer. If desired, the water system can re-direct the drain water based on different values of the drain water. For example, relatively hot and cold water may be directed to a toilet or grey water tank, but hot water may not be directed to a garden).
In claim 4, Silverstein teaches
The system of claim 3, wherein the voice command received at the first water consuming bathroom device includes a category to indicate the second water consuming bathroom device and the third water consuming bathroom device ([0109] similar controls are provided for other instruments, utilities, and devices in the house. For example, sinks, bathtubs, and showers can be controlled by smart spigots that recognize users as guests or as children and therefore prevent water from exceeding a designated temperature that is considered safe, the detection circuitry can detect whether the water is going to overflow in a tub or sink and automatically shutoff flow of water. In yet another embodiment, the smart water apparatus can automatically drain a tub when it senses that the occupant is no longer present or it may drain the tub based on user input (e.g., a spoken command to a central house control system or by pressing a button on a control panel)).
In claim 5, Silverstein teaches
The system of claim 1, wherein the first water consuming bathroom device and the second water consuming bathroom device are assigned according to a priority order algorithm ([0124] the various sensing systems shown in FIG. 14 can readily be implemented in conjunction with the shower control system 500 of FIG. 5 to provide particular advantageous scenarios. For example, the various smart-home occupancy and location sensors of FIG. 14 can be used to detect a person walking down a hallway and toward the bathroom during a particular morning hour of a particular day of the week in which it has been observed that the user statistically is likely to take a shower. This knowledge can be used to begin a pre-heating water flow even before the user has entered the bathroom and, if the person does enter the bathroom to take a shower, that much more time in water pre-heating has been saved).
In claim 6, Silverstein teaches
The system of claim 5, wherein the priority order algorithm includes order of connection, order of installation, order of user preference, order of manufacturer preferences, or user proximity preference ([0124] using a video camera placed in the hallway just outside the bathroom in combination with facial recognition, the identity of the person entering the bathroom can be determined. Responsive thereto, various presets, offsets, and preferences (e.g., preferred water temperature for that person) can be imputed by the shower control system 500).
In claim 7, Silverstein teaches
The system of claim 6, wherein the first water consuming bathroom device is associated with a first network address and the second water consuming bathroom device is associated with a second network address, wherein the priority order algorithm is based on the first network address and the second network address ([0074] the water apparatus may be used to control the flow of water through a water network that may exist within a structure. For example, when the water apparatus runs water to “heat up the shower,” the water entering the drain may be re-routed to a destination other than the sewer or city drain. As a specific example, the drain water can be re-routed to a grey water tank, toilet or garden. When the desired temperature of water is reached (and soap might be added), the water system may cease re-directing the water and force it to flow into the sewer. If desired, the water system can re-direct the drain water based on different values of the drain water. For example, relatively hot and cold water may be directed to a toilet or grey water tank, but hot water may not be directed to a garden) [0080] The network interface 1318 may include a component that enables the device 1310 to communicate between devices. As such, the network interface 1318 may enable the device 1310 to communicate with other devices 1310 via a wired or wireless network).
In claim 8, Silverstein teaches
The system of claim 6, further comprising: a presence sensor configured to detect a user in proximity to the first water consuming bathroom device or the second water consuming bathroom device, wherein the priority order algorithm is based on whether the user is detected in proximity to the first water consuming bathroom device or the second water consuming bathroom device ([0124] the various sensing systems shown in FIG. 14 can readily be implemented in conjunction with the shower control system 500 of FIG. 5 to provide particular advantageous scenarios. For example, the various smart-home occupancy and location sensors of FIG. 14 can be used to detect a person walking down a hallway and toward the bathroom during a particular morning hour of a particular day of the week in which it has been observed that the user statistically is likely to take a shower. This knowledge can be used to begin a pre-heating water flow even before the user has entered the bathroom and, if the person does enter the bathroom to take a shower, that much more time in water pre-heating has been saved).
In claim 9, Silverstein teaches
The system of claim 7, wherein the priority order algorithm reassigns the first water consuming bathroom device and the second water consuming bathroom device based on proximity ([0066] FIG. 9 includes an object's distance from the water apparatus waveform 910, a water flow rate waveform 920, and range detection waveform 930. At time, to, the object distance is considered to be at infinity. Consequently, the range detection is also at infinity and the water flow rate is at zero. At time, t1, the object has moved to within an intermediate distance between infinity and a minimum distance (shown as zero). At this intermediate distance, the range detection may exceed threshold, tu, but not exceed threshold, t2. At this ranging threshold, the water flow rate can be set to an intermediate flow rate, as shown in waveform 920. At time, t2, the object has moved to within a minimum distance (shown as zero). At this minimum distance, the range detection may exceed threshold, t2. At this ranging threshold, the water flow rate can be set to a maximum flow rate, as shown in waveform 920. At time, t3, the object has moved out of range to a distance considered as infinity. As a result, range detection also goes to infinity and the water flow rate returns to zero).
In claim 10, Silverstein teaches
The system of claim 1, wherein the first water consuming bathroom device includes a toilet, a faucet, or programmable shower ([0109] similar controls are provided for other instruments, utilities, and devices in the house. For example, sinks, bathtubs, and showers can be controlled by smart spigots that recognize users as guests or as children and therefore prevent water from exceeding a designated temperature that is considered safe, the detection circuitry can detect whether the water is going to overflow in a tub or sink and automatically shutoff flow of water. In yet another embodiment, the smart water apparatus can automatically drain a tub when it senses that the occupant is no longer present or it may drain the tub based on user input (e.g., a spoken command to a central house control system or by pressing a button on a control panel)).
In claim 11, Silverstein teaches
The system of claim 1, wherein the second water consuming bathroom device includes a bathtub sensory device, a bathtub level device, a toilet seat, or a shower ([0109] similar controls are provided for other instruments, utilities, and devices in the house. For example, sinks, bathtubs, and showers can be controlled by smart spigots that recognize users as guests or as children and therefore prevent water from exceeding a designated temperature that is considered safe, the detection circuitry can detect whether the water is going to overflow in a tub or sink and automatically shutoff flow of water).
In claim 12, Silverstein teaches
The system of claim 1, wherein the personalized setting includes a water temperature, a water pressure, a pulse series, or a water level ([0109] similar controls are provided for other instruments, utilities, and devices in the house. For example, sinks, bathtubs, and showers can be controlled by smart spigots that recognize users as guests or as children and therefore prevent water from exceeding a designated temperature that is considered safe, the detection circuitry can detect whether the water is going to overflow in a tub or sink and automatically shutoff flow of water).
Claims 13-20 are essentially same as claims 1-3, 5 and 7-12 and are rejected for the same reasons as applied hereinabove.
Response to Arguments
7. With respect to claims 1-20, upon further search and consideration a new ground of rejections is made in view of newly found prior art listed above.
Contact Information
/HUAWEN A PENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2169