DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species I in the reply filed on 5/12/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Species I, II, and III are related by the common elements and separate searches would likely identify the same references. This is not found persuasive because Species I, II, and III disclose mutually exclusive limitations and cannot be used together.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
It is noted that elected claims 4 and 14 read on non-elected Species. Therefore, claims 4 and 14 have been withdrawn from further examination.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: “a substrate” in line 3 should be corrected as --[[a]]the substrate--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: “a substrate” in line 9 should be corrected as --[[a]]the substrate--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kurita et al (US 2005/0180737 A1).
Regarding claim 1¸ Kurita et al (‘737) discloses a support assembly (fig1A) for supporting a substrate in a processing station, comprising:
a housing 102 (para[0026], fig1A) including a bore 105 (para[0027], fig1C), a groove 107 (para[0027], fig1C) formed on an exterior surface of the housing 102 (fig1C), and a plurality of windows (figA below, an open end portion of the groove adjacent to the bore) disposed in the groove 107 that intersect the bore 105 (figsA, 1D);
a pin 120 (para[0026]) disposed in the bore 105 (figs1A,1D) and moveable between a retracted position and an extended position, wherein the pin 120 includes a shaft (fig1A) including a plurality of bearing surfaces (exterior surfaces);
a plurality of bearing elements 112 (para[0028]) at least partially disposed in a corresponding window of the plurality of windows (figsA,1D), wherein each bearing element 112 includes an outer surface configured to engage a corresponding bearing surface of the shaft (fig1D), wherein the plurality of bearing elements 112 and bearing surfaces cooperate to maintain an angular orientation of the pin as the pin moves between the retracted position and the extended position; and
a retaining member 114 (para[0028]) disposed in the groove (figA).
Regarding claim 7, Kurita et al discloses the support assembly of claim 1, wherein the pin 120 includes a head 120A (fig1A) that extends beyond a periphery of the shaft (fig1A), the head 120A comprising a support surface (a top planar surface) configured to engage a bottom edge of the substrate.
Regarding claim 9¸ Kurita et al discloses the support assembly of claim 1, wherein a lower end of the shaft of the pin 120 is connected to a pin lift assembly (para[0047], “a lift assembly”) configured to move the pin 120 between the extended position and the retracted position (para[0047]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurita et al (US 2005/0180737 A1) in view of Mochizuki (US 2003/0026646 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Kurita et al discloses the support assembly of claim 1, wherein the plurality of bearing elements 112 comprises four bearing elements (figs1C,1D) arranged in a square configuration. However, Kurita et al does not explicitly disclose that the plurality of bearing surfaces comprise four flat bearing surfaces. Mochizuki (‘646) teaches that it is known to use a set of flat bearing surfaces and flat bearing elements (fig15) or a set of curved bearing surfaces and curved bearing elements (fig6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kurita et al to use a set of flat bearing surfaces and flat bearing elements, as taught by Mochizuki, to use bearing surfaces and bearing elements that correspond to each other.
Regarding claim 4, Kurita et al discloses the support assembly of claim 1, however, Kurita et al does not explicitly disclose that the plurality of bearing surfaces comprise four flat bearing surfaces. Mochizuki (‘646) teaches that it is known to use a set of flat bearing surfaces and flat bearing elements (fig15) or a set of curved bearing surfaces and curved bearing elements (fig6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kurita et al to use a set of flat bearing surfaces and flat bearing elements, as taught by Mochizuki, to use bearing surfaces and bearing elements that correspond to each other. Also, it is held that the configuration of the claimed structure was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant (MPEP 2144.04 IV. B.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kurita et al to use triangular configuration instead of a square configuration, as a change of a shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04 IV. B.).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurita et al (US 2005/0180737 A1) in view of Cho et al (US 2019/0043744 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Kurita et al discloses the support assembly of claim 1, wherein the pin 120 is formed from a ceramic material (para[0036],[0037]). However, Kurita et al does not explicitly disclose that the housing and the rollers of the bearing elements are also formed from a ceramic material. Cho et al (‘744) teaches a use of a housing 210 (para[0035], fig2), a pin 205 (para[0035], fig2), and rollers 230 (para[0035], fig2), used in a support assembly, formed from a ceramic material (para[0035]) to make the housing, the pin, and the rollers to be made of an inert material that is not reactive with process gases or plasma (para[0035]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kurita et al to form a housing from a ceramic material, as taught by Cho et al, as a ceramic material is an inert material that is not reactive with process gases or plasma (para[0035]).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurita et al (US 2005/0180737 A1) in view of Or et al (US 2004/0045509 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Kurita et al discloses the support assembly of claim 1, however, does not explicitly disclose that the housing includes a shoulder. Or et al (‘509) teaches that a housing can have either a shoulder (a protruding portion, fig3) at an upper end of a housing 202 (fig3) or no shoulder at the upper end of the housing 202 (fig2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kurita et al to use a shoulder, as taught by Or et al, depending on a configuration of a support 110 (figs1-3).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurita et al (US 2005/0180737 A1) in view of Cho et al (US 2019/0043744 A1) and Or et al (US 2004/0045509 A1).
Regarding claim 11¸ Kurita et al (‘737) discloses a support assembly (fig1A) for supporting a substrate in a processing station, comprising:
a housing 102 (para[0026], fig1A) including a bore 105 (para[0027], fig1C), a groove 107 (para[0027], fig1C) formed on an exterior surface of the housing 102 (fig1C), and a plurality of windows (figA above, an open end portion of the groove adjacent to the bore) disposed in the groove 107 that intersect the bore 105 (figsA, 1D);
a ceramic pin 120 (para[0026],[0036]) disposed in the bore 105 (figs1A,1D) and moveable between a retracted position and an extended position, wherein the ceramic pin 120 includes a shaft (fig1A) including a plurality of bearing surfaces (exterior surfaces) and a head 120A comprising a support surface (a top planar surface) configured to engage a bottom edge of the substrate;
a plurality of bearing elements 112 (para[0028]) at least partially disposed in a corresponding window of the plurality of windows (figsA,1D), wherein each bearing element 112 includes a roller 112 (para[0028]) with an outer surface configured to engage a corresponding bearing surface of the shaft (fig1D), wherein the plurality of bearing elements 112 and bearing surfaces cooperate to maintain the support surface in alignment with the bottom edge of the substrate as the ceramic pin 120 moves between the retracted position and the extended position; and
a retaining member 114 (para[0028]) disposed in the groove (figA).
However, Kurita et al does not explicitly disclose that the housing and the rollers of the bearing elements are also formed from a ceramic material, and a use of a shoulder of the housing.
Cho et al (‘744) teaches a use of a housing 210 (para[0035], fig2), a pin 205 (para[0035], fig2), and rollers 230 (para[0035], fig2), used in a support assembly, formed from a ceramic material (para[0035]) to make the housing, the pin, and the rollers to be made of an inert material that is not reactive with process gases or plasma (para[0035]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kurita et al to form a housing from a ceramic material, as taught by Cho et al, as a ceramic material is an inert material that is not reactive with process gases or plasma (para[0035]).
Or et al (‘509) teaches that a housing can have either a shoulder (a protruding portion, fig3) at an upper end of a housing 202 (fig3) or no shoulder at the upper end of the housing 202 (fig2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kurita et al to use a shoulder, as taught by Or et al, depending on a configuration of a support 110 (figs1-3).
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of over Kurita et al (US 2005/0180737 A1), Cho et al (US 2019/0043744 A1), and Or et al (US 2004/0045509 A1) in further view of Mochizuki (US 2003/0026646 A1).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Kurita et al, Cho et al, and Or et al teaches the support assembly of claim 11. Kurita et al further discloses wherein the plurality of bearing elements 112 comprises four bearing elements (figs1C,1D) arranged in a square configuration. However, Kurita et al does not explicitly disclose that the plurality of bearing surfaces comprise four flat bearing surfaces. Mochizuki (‘646) teaches that it is known to use a set of flat bearing surfaces and flat bearing elements (fig15) or a set of curved bearing surfaces and curved bearing elements (fig6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kurita et al to use a set of flat bearing surfaces and flat bearing elements, as further taught by Mochizuki, to use bearing surfaces and bearing elements that correspond to each other.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Kurita et al, Cho et al, and Or et al teaches the support assembly of claim 11, however, does not explicitly teach that the plurality of bearing surfaces comprise four flat bearing surfaces. Mochizuki (‘646) teaches that it is known to use a set of flat bearing surfaces and flat bearing elements (fig15) or a set of curved bearing surfaces and curved bearing elements (fig6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kurita et al to use a set of flat bearing surfaces and flat bearing elements, as further taught by Mochizuki, to use bearing surfaces and bearing elements that correspond to each other. Also, it is held that the configuration of the claimed structure was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant (MPEP 2144.04 IV. B.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kurita et al to use triangular configuration instead of a square configuration, as a change of a shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04 IV. B.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Dubost et al (US 2006/0016398 A1), Yang (US 2009/0279814 A1), Polyak (US 2011/0014396 A1), Hou et al (US 2013/0101241 A1), Hao et al (US 2018/0114716 A1), Wise (2,907,610), and Graae et al (3,887,247) teach similar support assemblies and/or bearing elements.
/SEAHEE HONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723