Double Patenting
Claim 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1- of U.S. Patent No 12574493. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
Claims 1-5 are obvious over Claim 1-5 of U.S. Patent No 12574493
Claims 6 is obvious over Claim 7 of U.S. Patent No 12574493
Claims 7 is obvious over Claim 8 of U.S. Patent No 12574493
Claims 8 is obvious over Claim 9 of U.S. Patent No 12574493
Claims 12 is obvious over Claim 10 of U.S. Patent No 12574493
Claims 13 is obvious over Claim 11 of U.S. Patent No 12574493
Claims 14-17 is obvious over Claim 14-17 of U.S. Patent No 12574493
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US 20190294109) in view of Hong et al (US 20140160178)
Regarding Claim 1,
Lee et al discloses (Fig. 1-2) a display device comprising: at least one spatial light modulator ([0055],[0064-0066]) displaying an extended reality content image (Fig. 1-2); a surface light source device (110) located behind the at least one spatial light modulator (200) and providing image display light of a first resolution to the at least one spatial light modulator as background light (Fig. 2, element 10) ; and at least one image transmission member (300) forming a display path of the extended reality content image (Fig. 2-3 [0055][0064-0066]).
Lee et al does not disclose wherein the surface light source device comprises an organic light emitting display unit in which a plurality of sub-light emitting pixels performing surface light emission are arranged and an emission driving circuit driving the plurality of sub-light emitting pixels, and each of the plurality of sub-light emitting pixels comprises a plurality of pixel drivers and a light emitting element.
Hong et al discloses (Fig. 1-2,4-5, abstract, [006][0010-0011],[0024-0025],[0033-0034],[0040]) wherein the surface light source device comprises an organic light emitting display unit in which a plurality of sub-light emitting pixels performing surface light emission are arranged and an emission driving circuit driving the plurality of sub-light emitting pixels, and each of the plurality of sub-light emitting pixels comprises a plurality of pixel drivers and a light emitting element.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Chen et al to include Hong et al’s (Fig. 1-2,4-5, abstract, [006][0010-0011],[0024-0025],[0033-0034],[0040]) wherein the surface light source device comprises an organic light emitting display unit in which a plurality of sub-light emitting pixels performing surface light emission are arranged and an emission driving circuit driving the plurality of sub-light emitting pixels, and each of the plurality of sub-light emitting motivated by the desire to enhance display picture quality.
Regarding Claim 2,
In addition to Lee et al and Hong et al, the emission driving circuit generates gate control signals and analog image signals for driving the plurality of sub-light emitting pixels at a same timing in units of at least one frame, the display device supplies the gate control signals to a first gate driver in units of at least one frame, and the display device supplies the analog image signals simultaneously to the plurality of sub-light emitting pixels. (Fig. 1-2,4-5, abstract, [006][0010-0011],[0024-0025],[0033-0034],[0040])
Claim(s) 4,16,17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US 20190294109) and of Hong et al (US 20140160178) in view of Gliik et al (US 20180203231)
Regarding Claim 4,16,
Lee et al and Hong et al discloses everything as disclosed above.
Lee et al and Hong et al does not disclose wherein the light emitting element is included in each of the plurality of sub-light emitting pixels and is formed in the organic light emitting display unit in at least one or a combination of different shapes comprising: a sector shape, a triangular shape, a rhombus shape, a quadrangular shape, a circular shape, a semicircular shape, and an elliptical shape.
Gliik et al discloses ([0032]) wherein the light emitting element is included in each of the plurality of sub-light emitting pixels and is formed in the organic light emitting display unit in at least one or a combination of different (any shapes) shapes comprising: a sector shape, a triangular shape, a rhombus shape, a quadrangular shape, a circular shape, a semicircular shape, and an elliptical shape.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Chen et al and Hong et al to include Gliik et al’s the light emitting element is included in each of the plurality of sub-light emitting pixels and is formed in the organic light emitting display unit in at least one or a combination of different shapes comprising: a sector shape, a triangular shape, a rhombus shape, a quadrangular shape, a circular shape, a semicircular shape, and an elliptical shape.
Regarding Claim 17,
The combination of Lee et al, Hong et al, and Gliiet et al discloses the emission driving circuit generates gate control signals and analog image signals for driving the plurality of sub-light emitting pixels at a same timing in units of at least one frame, the display device supplies the gate control signals are supplied to a first gate driver in units of at least one frame, and the display device supplies the analog image signals simultaneously the plurality of sub-light emitting pixels.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3,5-15,18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/LUCY P CHIEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871