DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a stage on which a substrate and a coating layer on the substrate are seated, and which moves in a first direction; a body on the stage; a light-emitting element in a center of the body, and emitting light onto the stage” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract does not capture the arrangement of elements shown in the figures. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the specification recites has the light irradiation module 100 may include a stage ST and a body 110. This phrasing does not accurately describe what is shown in the drawings. The drawings show the light irradiation module 100 is opposite the stage ST.
The specification should be reviewed and appropriate correction(s) is required to properly capture what is shown in the drawings.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
light emitting element in claims 1 and 17;
moving unit in claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regards to claims 1 and 17, the recitations of “a body on the stage” together with “a light-emitting element in a center of the body, and emitting light onto the stage”, “print head on the stage” and “light irradiation module on the stage” are unclear as to how the light-emitting element which part of the body on the stage and also emit light onto the stage.
While the specification may support the current claim language, the drawings show the body 110 with the light-emitting element 120 is opposite the stage ST with the substrate WS. For purposes of compact prosecution, the arrangement of element(s) shown in the figure will be addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noro (US 2009/0251520) in view of Murayama (US 2019/0093872).
In regards to claims 1 and 16-17, Noro teaches a printer (1, printer device) comprising:
a drum unit (30, stage) on which a sheet (S, substrate) is seated, and which moves in a rotational/first direction (fig. 1-3; para. 50-51);
a ultraviolet irradiation unit (50, light irradiation module) opposite the drum unit, and irradiating the drum unit with light (fig. 1-3, 5; para. 48, 54); and
a head unit (40, print head) opposite the drum unit and behind the light irradiation module in the first direction, and applying an ink (coating solution) onto the sheet to form a coating layer (fig. 1-4; para. 52-53);
wherein the light irradiation module includes:
a irradiation section carriage (51, body) opposite the drum unit (fig. 2-3, 5; para. 54);
a light-emitting elements (LEDs) are centered on the irradiation section carriage, and emitting light onto the stage (fig. 2-3, 5-6; para. 60-62);
a suction port (55a, suction tube) adjacent to the light-emitting elements in an axial or irradiation/second direction crossing the first direction (fig. 6-7, 8, 11; para. 70);
a duct (55) is connected to the suction port (fig. 6-7, 8, 11; para. 70).
Noro does not explicitly teach a suction pump is connected to the duct, and supplying a negative pressure having an absolute value proportional to an intensity of the light to the suction tube.
However, Murayama teaches a light source device (100) comprising a blower (91) that sucks air via a pipe (92) that is connected to a housing (10) of the light source device. Murayama teaches the air is provided to reduce the temperature gradient among the plurality of light emitting elements (equivalent to supplying a negative pressure having an absolute value proportional to an intensity of the light to the suction tube) (fig. 1-5; para. 8, 26, 30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the blower connected to the pipe of Murayama onto the duct of Noro because Murayama teaches it will equalize temperatures of a plurality of light emitting elements (para. 6).
In regards to claims 2 and 19, Noro and Murayama as discussed, where Noro teaches the suction ports comprises a first suction port adjacent to a first side of the light-emitting element in the second direction and a second suction port adjacent to a second side of the light-emitting element in the second direction (fig. 6, 11).
In regards to claim 4, Noro and Murayama as discussed, where Noro teaches a controller (10) which controls the ultraviolet irradiation unit, controls flow of air (fig. 1; para. 47-48, 56, 73-76) and capable of the process of transmitting an output signal related to the negative pressure and proportional to an input signal to the suction pump, based on the input signal received from the light-emitting element.
In regards to claim 18, Noro and Murayama as discussed, where Noro teaches the head unit is spaced apart from the ultraviolet irradiation unit by a distance (fig. 2-3).
Noro and Murayama does not explicitly teach the print head is spaced apart from the light irradiation module along the first direction is about 200 millimeters or less.
However, where in the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges in the distance between the head unit and the ultraviolet irradiation unit of 0.1 to 200 millimeters will involve only routine skill in the art, absence a showing of criticality (MPEP 2144.05 II).
In regards to claim 20, Noro and Murayama as discussed, but do not explicitly teach the process result of a thickness of the coating layer increases, an absolute value of the negative pressure provided by the suction pump increases.
It has been held that claims directed to apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. Also, a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim (MPEP214/2115). As Noro and Murayama teaches the structural limitations of the claim, one would be capable of the claimed process of adjusting the suction pump speed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5-6 and 7-15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Binu Thomas/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717