DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-10 and 15-20 are pending. Claims 11-14 are withdrawn.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/21/2024 and 11/24/2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 11-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made to Group I without traverse in the reply filed on 07/16/2026.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an information module” and “an identification module” in claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Deogun et al. (US 20260238555, Deogun hereinafter).
As to claim 1: Deogun discloses a method for a user equipment (UE) using artificial intelligence-machine learning (AI-ML) model in a wireless network comprising:
receiving, by the UE, an AI-ML model from an AI server in the wireless network (see at least paragraphs [0251]-[0255], The UE 3 is to acquire the AI/ML model from an AI/ML server.), wherein the UE is connected with a radio access network (RAN) node of the wireless network (see at least Fig. 13, UE is connected to RAN);
obtaining related model information of the AI-ML model (see at least paragraph [0373], the base station 5 may also be configured to transmit, to the UE 3, a request for information regarding the AI/ML models that the UE 3 is using.); and
providing the related model information of the received AI-ML model to the wireless network (see at least paragraphs [0372]-[0373], the UE 3 may transmit, to the base station 5, an AI/ML model ID, AI/ML model version number, and/or the use case or feature for which the AI/ML model has been activated.).
As to claim 2: Deogun discloses the method of claim 1. Deogun further discloses wherein the UE receives the AI-ML model and the related model information of the AI-ML model together from the AI server (see at least paragraph [0255], the base station 5 may provide an indication of model versions of the supported AI/ML models in the information broadcast.).
As to claim 3: Deogun discloses the method of claim 2. Deogun further discloses wherein the UE receives the related model information of the AI-ML model from a network function (NF) or a network server (see at least paragraph [0373], the base station 5 may also be configured to transmit, to the UE 3, a request for information regarding the AI/ML models that the UE 3 is using.).
As to claim 4: Deogun discloses the method of claim 2. Deogun further discloses wherein the UE receives related model information of the AI-ML model from the RAN node (see at least paragraph [0373], the base station 5 may also be configured to transmit, to the UE 3, a request for information regarding the AI/ML models that the UE 3 is using.).
As to claim 5: Deogun discloses the method of claim 1. Deogun further discloses wherein the UE receives the AI-ML model from the AI server through a user-plane (UP) traffic with the related model information of the AI-ML model then starts performing model identification (see at least paragraph [0362] Transmission of the AI/ML model to the UE 3 may be via RRC transmissions or user plane (UP) transmission.).
As to claim 6: Deogun discloses the method of claim 1. Deogun further discloses wherein the UE obtains the related model information of the AI-ML model to perform at least one model identification procedure comprising a UE-vendor specific procedure and a chipset specific procedure (see at least paragraph [0296], vendor specific).
As to claim 7: Deogun discloses the method of claim 6. Deogun further discloses where the UE provides the related model information of the received AI-ML model to the RAN node through a radio resource control (RRC) procedure (see at least paragraph [0290], the UE 3 may transmit an RRC message to the base station 5 that includes an indication of an AI/ML model ID of an AI/ML model stored at the UE 3).
As to claim 8: Deogun discloses the method of claim 6. Deogun further discloses wherein the UE provides the related model information of the received AI-ML model to a core network (CN) node through a Non-Access-Stratum (NAS) procedure (see at least paragraph [0253], the AI/ML model could be transmitted to the UE 3 via the AMF 10-1 (using corresponding NAS signaling).).
As to claim 9: Deogun discloses the method of claim 1. Deogun further discloses wherein the AI-ML model is identified by a model ID (see at least paragraphs [0372]-[0373], the UE 3 may transmit, to the base station 5, an AI/ML model ID, AI/ML model version number, and/or the use case or feature for which the AI/ML model has been activated.).
As to claim 10: Deogun discloses the method of claim 9. Deogun further discloses further comprising: receiving a model index for each configured AI-ML model from the RAN node during RRC connection, and wherein each model index is mapped to at least one model ID identifying an AI-ML model (see at least paragraph [0264], The AI/ML SIB may include the model IDs of the supported (or ‘available’) AI/ML models.).
As to claim 15: Deogun discloses a user equipment (UE), comprising:
a transceiver that transmits and receives radio frequency (RF) signal in a wireless network (see at least paragraph [0378], transceiver circuit to transmit and receive signals);
an artificial intelligence-machine learning (AI-ML) model receiver that receives an AI-ML model from an AI server in the wireless network (see at least paragraphs [0251]-[0255], The UE 3 is to acquire the AI/ML model from an AI/ML server.), wherein the UE is connected with a radio access network (RAN) node of the wireless network (see at least Fig. 13, UE is connected to RAN);
an information module that obtains related model information of the AI-ML model (see at least paragraph [0373], the base station 5 may also be configured to transmit, to the UE 3, a request for information regarding the AI/ML models that the UE 3 is using.); and
an identification module that provides the related model information of the received AI-ML model to the wireless network (see at least paragraphs [0372]-[0373], the UE 3 may transmit, to the base station 5, an AI/ML model ID, AI/ML model version number, and/or the use case or feature for which the AI/ML model has been activated.).
As to claim 16: Deogun discloses the UE of claim 15. Deogun further discloses wherein the UE receives AI-ML model and the related model information of the AI-ML model together from the AI server (see at least paragraph [0255], the base station 5 may provide an indication of model versions of the supported AI/ML models in the information broadcast.).
As to claim 17: Deogun discloses the UE of claim 16. Deogun further discloses wherein the UE receives related model information of the AI-ML model through a network function (NF), a network server, or the RAN node (see at least paragraph [0373], the base station 5 may also be configured to transmit, to the UE 3, a request for information regarding the AI/ML models that the UE 3 is using.).
As to claim 18: Deogun discloses the UE of claim 16. Deogun further discloses wherein the UE obtains the related model information of the AI-ML model to perform at least one model identification procedure comprising a UE-vendor specific procedure and a chipset specific procedure (see at least paragraph [0296], vendor specific).
As to claim 19: Deogun discloses the UE of claim 18. Deogun further discloses where the UE provides the related model information of the received AI-ML model to the RAN node through a radio resource control (RRC) procedure or to a core network (CN) node through a Non-Access-Stratum (NAS) procedure (see at least paragraph [0253], the AI/ML model could be transmitted to the UE 3 via the AMF 10-1 (using corresponding NAS signaling).).
As to claim 20: Deogun discloses the UE of claim 15. Deogun further discloses wherein the AI-ML model is identified by a model ID (see at least paragraphs [0372]-[0373], the UE 3 may transmit, to the base station 5, an AI/ML model ID, AI/ML model version number, and/or the use case or feature for which the AI/ML model has been activated.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cheng et al. (US 20260052073) discloses RRC Procedure Design For Wireless AI/ML.
Geng, Tingting (US 20250330844) discloses Information Transmission Method And Communication Apparatus.
Roy et al. (US 20240107597) discloses Enhancing Wireless Communications Efficiency In 5G/6G Networks Through AI/ML Model Management And Deployment.
Kumar et al. (US 20230093963) discloses Artificial Intelligence Based Enhancements For Idle And Inactive State Operations.
/K. J./
Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/RICKY Q NGO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2464