DETAILED ACTION
Claim 19 is canceled. Claim 18 is amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong (US20250088926) in view of Abraham et al. (US20240147334).
Regarding claim 1, Hong teaches A method for a user equipment (UE) ([0100] “the UE may receive an RRC message from a base station or a TRP”) connected with a source distributed unit (DU) of a source cell in a wireless network ([0148] “Further, the MAC entity of the base station is the same in the intra DU cell change scenario. When the L1/L2 signaling-based LTM operation is performed in the intra CU (Intra DU), it may be possible to transmit and receive data”), comprising:
receiving, by the UE, a cell switch command from the wireless network ([0103] “The UE may perform the step of receiving a medium access control control element (MAC CE) indicating to perform an LTM operation to the target cell (S820)”, [0108] “Through the MAC CE, the UE should obtain information about the target cell to instruct to perform an LTM operation and to perform the cell change”, (Examiner’s note: cell change== cell switch)),
wherein the cell switch command indicates a layer-1/layer-2 triggered mobility (LTM) to switch a UE serving cell from the source cell to a target cell ([0106] “when the base station determines to change the cell of the corresponding UE based on the L1 measurement result information received from the UE”, [0108] “Through the MAC CE, the UE should obtain information about the target cell to instruct to perform an LTM operation and to perform the cell change”, (Examiner’s note: cell change== cell switch);
performing a partial MAC reset for a cell switch procedure by LTM based on the cell switch command ([0109] “The UE may perform a cell change operation to a target cell based on the MAC CE and may perform the step of controlling to perform a preset MAC reset operation for an LTM operation (S830)”, (Examiner’s Note: preset MAC reset == partial MAC reset), wherein the partial MAC reset keeps a set of MAC procedures without resetting, and wherein the set of MAC procedures comprises a logical channel prioritization procedure ([0115] “the preset MAC reset operation for the LTM operation may include an operation of maintaining a logical channel Bj parameter value. For example, the preset MAC reset operation for the LTM operation does not include the step of changing the logical channel Bj parameter value to 0, but includes an operation of maintaining the logical channel Bj parameter value set before the MAC reset”), a buffer status reporting procedure ([0114] “According to another embodiment, the preset MAC reset operation for the LTM operation may include an operation of maintaining the BSR when there is a triggered buffer status report (BSR). In other words, if the BSR is triggered, the preset MAC reset operation for the LTM operation may maintain the BSR rather than canceling the BSR”),
and switching the UE serving cell to the target cell upon a success of the cell switch procedure by LTM ([0121] “Through the above-described operations, the UE may quickly perform the cell change operation at the L1/L2 level”, (Examiner’s Note: above described operations is the LTM cell switch procedures, once they are done the UE perform the cell change to target cell described in L1).
Hong does not explicitly teach a recommended bit rate query procedure, and a positioning measurement gap activation/deactivation request procedure.
Abraham teaches a recommended bit rate query procedure, and a positioning measurement gap activation/deactivation request procedure ([0155] “Further, the LTM controller (240) performs the MAC operation including the complete MAC reset and the partial MAC reset. In an example, the MAC operation can be, for example, but not limited to the cancelation of the UL MAC procedure. The UL MAC procedure includes the triggered scheduling request procedure, the triggered buffer status reporting procedure, the triggered power headroom reporting procedure, the triggered consistent LBT failure, the triggered BFR, the triggered side-link buffer status reporting procedure, the triggered pre-emptive buffer status reporting procedure, the triggered timing advance reporting procedure, the triggered recommended bit rate query procedure, the triggered configured uplink grant confirmation, the triggered configured side-link grant confirmation, the triggered desired guard symbol query, the triggered positioning measurement gap activation request procedure, the triggered positioning measurement gap deactivation request procedure, the triggered Small SDT procedure, and the reset of all counters of a beam failure indication or the consistent listen before transmission failure”, (Examiner’s Note: the MAC operation is partial MAC reset, during the MAC reset the device can chose to cancel the reset for the MAC procedures”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hong, to incorporate Abraham. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow improvement to the system connection.
Regarding claim 2, Hong teaches wherein the cell switch procedure by LTM is for an intra-DU cell switch ([0148] “Further, the MAC entity of the base station is the same in the intra DU cell change scenario. When the L1/L2 signaling-based LTM operation is performed in the intra CU (Intra DU), it may be possible to transmit and receive data”).
Regarding claim 3, Hong teaches wherein the partial MAC reset is always performed for the cell switch procedure by LTM, triggered by configuration from the wireless network through radio resource control (RRC) message, or triggered by indication in the cell switch command ([0106] “when the base station determines to change the cell of the corresponding UE based on the L1 measurement result information received from the UE”, [0108] “Through the MAC CE, the UE should obtain information about the target cell to instruct to perform an LTM operation and to perform the cell change”, (Examiner’s note: cell change== cell switch).
Regarding claim 4, Hong teaches wherein the partial MAC rest further comprising stopping an ongoing random access procedure ([0277] “ MAC reset operation for the LTM operation may include an operation of stopping the random access procedure when there is an ongoing random access procedure”), canceling triggered procedures of a power headroom reporting ([0152] “If any, cancel the triggered power headroom reporting procedure”), canceling triggered beam failure recovery (BFR) procedures ([0278] “ canceling the triggered beam failure recovery (BFR) and resetting the beam failure instance (BFI) counter value”),
Hong does not teach cancel the triggered power headroom reporting procedure.
Abraham teaches cancel the triggered power headroom reporting procedure ([0155] “The UL MAC procedure includes the triggered scheduling request procedure, the triggered buffer status reporting procedure, the triggered power headroom reporting procedure, the triggered consistent LBT failure”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hong, to incorporate Abraham. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow improvement to the system connection.
Regarding claim 5, Hong teaches wherein the partial MAC reset further comprising stopping a scheduling request (SR) procedure towards the source cell ([0175] “As another example, during the LTM operation or during any period defined in the corresponding handover, if any, the triggered scheduling request procedure/triggered buffer state reporting procedure/triggered power headroom reporting procedure/triggered BFR/triggered Configured uplink grant confirmation may be maintained”).
Regarding claim 18, Hong teaches A user equipment (UE) ([0100] “the UE may receive an RRC message from a base station or a TRP”), comprising: a transceiver that transmits and receives radio frequency (RF) signal in a wireless network ([0270] “ the controller 1410 controls the operation of measuring the channel state for the serving cell or the candidate target cell using the candidate target cell configuration information. The transmitter 1420 transmits the measured channel state or channel quality information to the base station based on the information for transmission of the measurement result included in the candidate target cell configuration information”, [0271] “urther, the receiver 1430 may receive instruction information instructing to perform the LTM operation included in the MAC CE”));
a command module that receives a cell switch command from the wireless network, wherein the cell switch command indicates a layer-1/layer-2 triggered mobility (LTM) to switch a UE serving cell from a source cell to a target cell ([0106] “when the base station determines to change the cell of the corresponding UE based on the L1 measurement result information received from the UE”, [0108] “Through the MAC CE, the UE should obtain information about the target cell to instruct to perform an LTM operation and to perform the cell change”, (Examiner’s note: cell change== cell switch);
a partial reset module that performs a partial MAC reset for a cell switch procedure by LTM based on the cell switch command ([0109] “The UE may perform a cell change operation to a target cell based on the MAC CE and may perform the step of controlling to perform a preset MAC reset operation for an LTM operation (S830)”, (Examiner’s Note: preset MAC reset == partial MAC reset);
wherein the partial MAC reset keeps a set of MAC procedures without resetting, and wherein the set of MAC procedures comprises a logical channel prioritization procedure ([0115] “the preset MAC reset operation for the LTM operation may include an operation of maintaining a logical channel Bj parameter value. For example, the preset MAC reset operation for the LTM operation does not include the step of changing the logical channel Bj parameter value to 0, but includes an operation of maintaining the logical channel Bj parameter value set before the MAC reset”), a buffer status reporting procedure ([0114] “According to another embodiment, the preset MAC reset operation for the LTM operation may include an operation of maintaining the BSR when there is a triggered buffer status report (BSR). In other words, if the BSR is triggered, the preset MAC reset operation for the LTM operation may maintain the BSR rather than canceling the BSR”), a recommended bit rate query procedure, and a positioning measurement gap activation /deactivation request procedure;
and a cell switch controller that switches the UE serving cell to the target cell upon a success of the cell switch procedure by LTM ([0262] “and a controller 1410 performing a cell change operation to the target cell based on the MAC CE while controlling to perform a preset MAC reset operation for the LTM operation”, [0121] “Through the above-described operations, the UE may quickly perform the cell change operation at the L1/L2 level”, (Examiner’s Note: above described operations is the LTM cell switch procedures, once they are done the UE perform the cell change to target cell described in L1).
Hong does not explicitly teach a recommended bit rate query procedure, and a positioning measurement gap activation/deactivation request procedure.
Abraham teaches a recommended bit rate query procedure, and a positioning measurement gap activation/deactivation request procedure ([0155] “Further, the LTM controller (240) performs the MAC operation including the complete MAC reset and the partial MAC reset. In an example, the MAC operation can be, for example, but not limited to the cancelation of the UL MAC procedure. The UL MAC procedure includes the triggered scheduling request procedure, the triggered buffer status reporting procedure, the triggered power headroom reporting procedure, the triggered consistent LBT failure, the triggered BFR, the triggered side-link buffer status reporting procedure, the triggered pre-emptive buffer status reporting procedure, the triggered timing advance reporting procedure, the triggered recommended bit rate query procedure, the triggered configured uplink grant confirmation, the triggered configured side-link grant confirmation, the triggered desired guard symbol query, the triggered positioning measurement gap activation request procedure, the triggered positioning measurement gap deactivation request procedure, the triggered Small SDT procedure, and the reset of all counters of a beam failure indication or the consistent listen before transmission failure”, (Examiner’s Note: the MAC operation is partial MAC reset, during the MAC reset the device can chose to cancel the reset for the MAC procedures”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hong, to incorporate Abraham. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow improvement to the system connection.
Regarding claim 20, Hong teaches wherein the partial MAC reset keeps one or more Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) processes initiated by the source cell for the cell switch procedure ([0171] “The corresponding procedure may add the HARQ entity for the target cell/candidate cell/second TRP/second TRP-associated cell/non-serving cell. Alternatively, the corresponding procedure may add a cell for the target cell/candidate cell/second TRP/second TRP-associated cell/non-serving cell”, [0172] “ the MAC entity of the source cell/first TRP/first TRP-associated cell/serving cell may not be reset. The corresponding MAC entity configuration may be maintained. The MAC entity for the target cell/candidate cell/second TRP/second TRP-associated cell/non-serving cell may be established”)
Claim(s) 7-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong in view of Abraham in further in view of Lin et al. (US20250261048).
Regarding claim 7, Hong A method for a user equipment (UE) ([0100] “the UE may receive an RRC message from a base station or a TRP”) connected with a source cell in a wireless network ([0148] “Further, the MAC entity of the base station is the same in the intra DU cell change scenario. When the L1/L2 signaling-based LTM operation is performed in the intra CU (Intra DU), it may be possible to transmit and receive data”), comprising:
receiving, by the UE, a cell switch command from the wireless network ([0103] “The UE may perform the step of receiving a medium access control control element (MAC CE) indicating to perform an LTM operation to the target cell (S820)”, [0108] “Through the MAC CE, the UE should obtain information about the target cell to instruct to perform an LTM operation and to perform the cell change”, (Examiner’s note: cell change== cell switch)),
wherein the cell switch command initiates a cell switch procedure by layer-1/layer-2 triggered mobility (LTM) to switch a UE serving cell from the source cell to a target cell ([0106] “when the base station determines to change the cell of the corresponding UE based on the L1 measurement result information received from the UE”, [0108] “Through the MAC CE, the UE should obtain information about the target cell to instruct to perform an LTM operation and to perform the cell change”, (Examiner’s note: cell change== cell switch);
keeping one or more Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) processes initiated by the source cell during a MAC reset for the cell switch procedure ([0109] “The UE may perform a cell change operation to a target cell based on the MAC CE and may perform the step of controlling to perform a preset MAC reset operation for an LTM operation (S830)”, (Examiner’s Note: preset MAC reset == partial MAC reset), [0170] “when the corresponding procedure performs an LTM operation through the same MAC entity, the data processing procedure-related parameter may not be reset (maintained)”), [0172] “ the MAC entity of the source cell/first TRP/first TRP-associated cell/serving cell may not be reset. The corresponding MAC entity configuration may be maintained. The MAC entity for the target cell/candidate cell/second TRP/second TRP-associated cell/non-serving cell may be established”);
and associating one or more HARQ entities of the source cell to one or more component carriers (CCs) of the target cell ([0171] “The corresponding procedure may add the HARQ entity for the target cell/candidate cell/second TRP/second TRP-associated cell/non-serving cell. Alternatively, the corresponding procedure may add a cell for the target cell/candidate cell/second TRP/second TRP-associated cell/non-serving cell”, [0037] “the cell may refer to coverage of a signal transmitted from a transmission/reception point, a component carrier having coverage of a signal transmitted from a transmission/reception point (or a transmission point), or a transmission/reception point itself”)
Hong, Abraham does not explicitly teach associating one or more HARQ entities of the source cell to one or more component carriers (CCs) of the target cell after switching the UE serving cell to the target cell.
Lin teaches associating one or more HARQ entities of the source cell to one or more component carriers (CCs) of the target cell after switching the UE serving cell to the target cell ([0214] “After completing partially resetting MAC, the terminal accesses the target cell. In some embodiments, in a case where the target cell is configured with CG, to prevent the data cached in the HARQ buffer from being overwritten”, [0246] “Illustratively, HPID #1 is configured to be associated with CG resources, and the corresponding HARQ buffer contains cached data. After the handover is completed”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hong, Abraham to incorporate Lin. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow reuse of HARQ.
Regarding claim 8, Hong does not teach wherein a code block/code block group (CB/CBG) of a same transport block (TB) from the source cell and the target cell are associated to a same HARQ process when the UE is configured non-carrier aggregation (non-CA) or when CA is configured and Pcell change while there is no secondary cell (SCell) change for the cell switch procedure.
Lin teaches wherein a code block/code block group (CB/CBG) of a same transport block (TB) from the source cell and the target cell are associated to a same HARQ process when the UE is configured non-carrier aggregation (non-CA) or when CA is configured and Pcell change while there is no secondary cell (SCell) change for the cell switch procedure ([0299] “The third signaling is used to instruct the UE to switch to the target cell/cell group. The third signaling is carried in at least one of the MAC CE or the DCI. The first HARQ entity is at least one of the HARQ entity corresponding to the PCell or the HARQ entity corresponding to the SCell. In some embodiments, the SCell is not released and remains active before and after the handover”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hong, to incorporate Lin. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow reuse of HARQ.
Regarding claim 9, Hong does not teach wherein a TB received from the source cell and the target cell is combined for downlink (DL) HARQ process and no HARQ soft buffer flushing during the cell switch procedure.
Lin teaches wherein a TB received from the source cell and the target cell is combined for downlink (DL) HARQ process and no HARQ soft buffer flushing during the cell switch procedure([0213-214] “For example, the second serving cell is the source primary cell (source PCell) before the handover, and this cell is marked as serving cell 1. After receipt of the first signaling, by partially resetting MAC, the terminal retains the data of the HARQ entity corresponding to serving cell 1 in the HARQ buffer… After completing partially resetting MAC, the terminal accesses the target cell. In some embodiments, in a case where the target cell is configured with CG, to prevent the data cached in the HARQ buffer from being overwritten, the terminal may suspend use of the CG for new data transmission”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hong, to incorporate Lin. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow reuse of HARQ.
Regarding claim 10, Hong does not teach wherein the UE keeps a value of new data indication (NDI) of an uplink (UL) HARQ process during the cell switch procedure.
Lin teaches wherein the UE keeps a value of new data indication (NDI) of an uplink (UL) HARQ process during the cell switch procedure ([0048] “set the NDIs for all uplink hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) processes to the value 0, [0213-214] “For example, the second serving cell is the source primary cell (source PCell) before the handover, and this cell is marked as serving cell 1. After receipt of the first signaling, by partially resetting MAC, the terminal retains the data of the HARQ entity corresponding to serving cell 1 in the HARQ buffer… After completing partially resetting MAC, the terminal accesses the target cell. In some embodiments, in a case where the target cell is configured with CG, to prevent the data cached in the HARQ buffer from being overwritten, the terminal may suspend use of the CG for new data transmission”, (Examiner’s Note:since the HARQ isnt reset the NDI doesn’t get changed to 0, and is maintained in the cache).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hong, to incorporate Lin. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow reuse of HARQ.
Regarding claim 11, Hong teaches wherein the UE deactivates a configured scheduling of the one or more HARQ processes for the cell switch procedure upon detecting at least one conditions comprising reception of the cell switch command, an explicit indication for configured scheduling deactivation in a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) or in a MAC control element (CE) ([0152] “ when the cell change/handover is triggered/initiated/executed/applied based on L1L2 signaling/execution indication information/TCI state/execution condition/event/related procedure/operation, when the execution condition is met by evaluating the execution condition/event configured in the UE, when the specific procedure/operation (e.g., measurement, event detection, condition satisfaction, TCI state update application, etc.) is performed in the UE according to reception of L1/L2 signaling and for the corresponding configuration, when L1/L2 signaling … Set NDIs for uplink HARQ process to 0, If there is an ongoing random access procedure, stop it”, [0007] “ receiving a medium access control control element (MAC CE) indicating to perform the LTM operation to a target cell, and performing a cell change operation to the target cell based on the MAC CE while controlling to perform a preset MAC reset operation for the LTM operation”).
Regarding claim 12, Hong teaches further comprising obtaining association information to associate the one or more HARQ entities of the source cell to one or more CCs of the target cell, and wherein CA is configured for the UE with a source primary cell (PCell) and one or more source secondary cells (SCells) for a source cell group and the target cell is configured with a target PCell and one or more target SCells for a target cell group ([0171] “the corresponding procedure may include an HARQ entity for the source cell and an HARQ entity for the target cell separately (when the LTM operation is performed through the same MAC entity). The corresponding procedure may add the HARQ entity for the target cell/candidate cell/second TRP/second TRP-associated cell/non-serving cell. Alternatively, the corresponding procedure may add a cell for the target cell/candidate cell/second TRP/second TRP-associated cell/non-serving cell. For example, the corresponding procedure may add a cell configuration for the corresponding target cell/candidate cell/second TRP/second TRP-associated cell to the cell group configuration. As another example, the corresponding procedure may include information for indicating that the corresponding cell is the target cell/candidate cell/second TRP/second TRP-associated cell in the SCell configuration and configure/indicate the same to the UE. As another example, the corresponding procedure may add a cell configuration for the target cell/candidate cell/second TRP/second TRP-associated cell to the corresponding MAC configuration (e.g., MAC-CellGroupConfig)”).
Regarding claim 13, Hong teaches wherein the association information is the linkage between CCs of the source cell group and the target cell group when the target PCell is a source SCell, and wherein the UE associates one or more HARQ entities to corresponding target CCs based on the linkage (([0171] “the corresponding procedure may include an HARQ entity for the source cell and an HARQ entity for the target cell separately (when the LTM operation is performed through the same MAC entity). The corresponding procedure may add the HARQ entity for the target cell/candidate cell/second TRP/second TRP-associated cell/non-serving cell. Alternatively, the corresponding procedure may add a cell for the target cell/candidate cell/second TRP/second TRP-associated cell/non-serving cell… [0196] “As another example, the corresponding candidate/target cell configuration may include one or more pieces of information among the cell group configuration (CellGroupConfig), the special cell configuration (SpCellConfig), information for identifying the corresponding cell (e.g., PCI, PCI index, serving cell index, arbitrary cell identifier, ID, configuration identification information, or TCI state ID associated with the corresponding cell”)).
Regarding claim 14, Hong does not teach wherein the associate information is derived from the HARQ processes ID mapping information between the source cell and the target cell received from the wireless network.
Lin teaches wherein the associate information is derived from the HARQ processes ID mapping information between the source cell and the target cell received from the wireless network ([0246] “HPID #1 is configured to be associated with CG resources, and the corresponding HARQ buffer contains cached data. After the handover is completed, the UE reinitializes the CG resources of serving cell #2 and reuses the CG resources associated with HPID to retransmit the data in the HARQ buffer”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hong, to incorporate Lin. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow reuse of HARQ.
Regarding claim 15, Hong does not teach wherein the HARQ process ID mapping information is received by a radio resource control (RRC) message or a MAC control element (CE).
Lin teaches wherein the HARQ process ID mapping information is received by a radio resource control (RRC) message ([0124] “The first serving cell is indicated by at least one of the upper layer or the LTM handover command. Illustratively, the upper layer includes the RRC layer.
Retaining data of an HARQ entity corresponding to a second serving cell in an HARQ buffer”) or a MAC control element (CE).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hong, to incorporate Lin. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow reuse of HARQ.
Regarding claim 16, Hong teaches wherein the UE derives the association information based on the difference of current slot/symbol/SFN ([0258] “When the UE transmits the PUCCH having the HARQ ACK information corresponding to the PDSCH carrying the corresponding activation MAC CE/indication/instruction in slot n, the mapping between the TCI state and the codepoint of the corresponding field included in the DCI may be applied in a specific application time calculated using the parameter indicated by the base station after the corresponding slot n”).
Regarding claim 17, Hong teaches does not teach wherein the one or more HARQ processes are performed by a dynamic scheduling or a configured scheduling.
Lin teaches wherein the one or more HARQ processes are performed by a dynamic scheduling or a configured scheduling ([0273] “he terminal may perform data retransmission based on the dynamic scheduling of the target cell to prevent the data in the HARQ buffer from being overwritten.”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hong, to incorporate Lin. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow reuse of HARQ.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong in view of Abraham further in view of Wang et al. (US20200084790).
Regarding claim 6, Hong, Abraham does not teach comprising triggering an SR procedure by a pending BSR procedure toward the target cell when the UE switches to the target cell.
Wang teaches comprising triggering an SR procedure by a pending BSR procedure toward the target cell when the UE switches to the target cell ([0097] “As a third alternative, the information may be carried by an existing MAC CE (e.g., BSR) in message 3. The BSR may comprise the buffer status for the LCHs which have triggered pending SRs”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Hong,Abraham to incorporate Wang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow improvement in effectiveness of processing SR.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s Argument 1
Abraham teaches exactly the opposite: with MAC reset, the procedures of a recommended bit rate query procedure, and a positioning measurement gap activation /deactivation request procedure are not
maintained but being reset. Specifically, Abraham identifies the recommended bit rate query procedure and the positioning measurement gap activation/deactivation request procedure in the context of cancellation of UL MAC procedures.
The issue is not whether Hong's disclosure is broad enough to permit additional MAC procedures to exist in an LTM implementation. The issue is whether the cited art teaches or suggests the claimed disposition of those procedures during partial MAC reset-namely, keeping the recommended bit rate query procedure and the positioning measurement gap activation/deactivation request procedure without resetting.
Examiner’s Response 1
The combination of Hong and Abraham teaches wherein the partial MAC reset keeps a set of MAC procedures without resetting, and wherein the set of MAC procedures comprises a logical channel prioritization procedure, a buffer status reporting procedure, a recommended bit rate query procedure, and a positioning measurement gap activation /deactivation request procedure.
More specifically, Hong is relied upon to show preset reset == partial reset that show performing a reset which keeps for example in [0115] and [0114] BSR and Bj parameter values for logical channel which could be interpreted as a logical channel proiorization procedure and a buffer status reporting procedure which is further defined in the claims on what part of the procedure.
Abraham is relied upon to show a recommended bit rate query procedure, and a positioning measurement gap activation /deactivation request procedure. Abraham shows during a partial reset which include a recommended bit rate query procedure, and a positioning measurement gap activation /deactivation request procedure which is shown in [0155].
([0155] “Further, the LTM controller (240) performs the MAC operation including the complete MAC reset and the partial MAC reset. In an example, the MAC operation can be, for example, but not limited to the cancelation of the UL MAC procedure. The UL MAC procedure includes the triggered scheduling request procedure, the triggered buffer status reporting procedure, the triggered power headroom reporting procedure, the triggered consistent LBT failure, the triggered BFR, the triggered side-link buffer status reporting procedure, the triggered pre-emptive buffer status reporting procedure, the triggered timing advance reporting procedure, the triggered recommended bit rate query procedure, the triggered configured uplink grant confirmation, the triggered configured side-link grant confirmation, the triggered desired guard symbol query, the triggered positioning measurement gap activation request procedure, the triggered positioning measurement gap deactivation request procedure, the triggered Small SDT procedure, and the reset of all counters of a beam failure indication or the consistent listen before transmission failure”).
More specifically, in Abraham shows triggered scheduling request procedure, the triggered recommended bit rate query procedure, triggered positioning measurement gap activation request procedure, the triggered positioning measurement gap deactivation request procedure relate to MAC procedures. In [0155] the MAC procedures are not reset, according to [0155] during a partial MAC reset, only “ the reset of all counters of a beam failure indication or the consistent listen before transmission failure.”.
The combination of Hong and Abraham show wherein the partial MAC reset keeps a set of MAC procedures without resetting, and wherein the set of MAC procedures comprises a logical channel prioritization procedure, a buffer status reporting procedure, a recommended bit rate query procedure, and a positioning measurement gap activation /deactivation request procedure.
Applicant Argument 2
Lin teaches caching/retaining data within a HARQ buffer corresponding to a serving cell that remains unchanged and active before and after handover. Caching data within a static, active carrier configuration (Lin) is technically distinct from dynamically remapping and binding an active source HARQ entity over to a new target cell's component carriers.
Lin merely teaches a scenario where a terminal retains data within a HARQ buffer for a secondary serving cell (SCell) that remains active and structurally unchanged during a primary cell switch . Lin does not teach, suggest, or provide any mechanism for dynamically remapping, linking, or associating an active source HARQ entity over to a new target cell's component carriers.
Examiner’s Response 2
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Hong in view of Abraham further in view of Lin teaches associating one or more HARQ entities of the source cell to one or more component carriers (CCs) of the target cell after switching the UE serving cell to the target cell.
Lin is relied upon to show associating one or more HARQ entities of the source cell to one or more component carriers (CCs) of the target cell after switching the UE serving cell to the target cell ([0214] “After completing partially resetting MAC, the terminal accesses the target cell. In some embodiments, in a case where the target cell is configured with CG, to prevent the data cached in the HARQ buffer from being overwritten”, [0246] “Illustratively, HPID #1 is configured to be associated with CG resources, and the corresponding HARQ buffer contains cached data. After the handover is completed”).
Lin specifically in [0246] shows associated with CG resources.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.T.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411