DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention I and species 2 in the reply filed on 01/05/2026 is acknowledged.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The specification refers to elements 235 and 240 as the recess. It also refers to 235 as the trench. This confuses things when it comes to the claims as claim 4 states “wherein the trench is connected to the recess of the connection layer”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the part of a top surface of the connection layer is exposed by the antenna component (from claim 23), and “wherein a part of a top surface of the conductive element is exposed by the first portion and the second portion” (from claim 28) must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 32 recites “wherein the conductive element is in a ring shape in a top view”. This is not mentioned in the specification, the drawings, or the original claims. The only mention of a ring shape is in paragraph [0066], which refers to the shape of the recesses.
Claims 23 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 23 states “part of a top surface of the connection layer is exposed by the antenna component”. However, in every embodiment, the antenna component is not what exposes a top surface of the connection layer. The recess/trench is what exposes a top surface of the connection layer. It is unclear as to what the applicant is referring to in this claim, which makes the claim indefinite.
Claim 28 states “exposed by the first portion and the second portion”. However, there is a “first portion” and “second portion” of both the connection layer and conductive element. So, it is unclear if the claim is referring to the “first portion and the second portion” of the connection layer or the conductive element. Both options are not supported by the specification or the drawings, which further makes it unclear as to what exactly is being claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 21, 24, 26-27, 29, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Hsieh et al. (US 2023/0307849, hereby referred as Hsieh).
Regarding claim 1, Hsieh teaches the following:
an electronic device, comprising:
a circuit structure (element 10, figures 1-2); and
an antenna component (elements 401-405, figures 1-2) attached to the circuit structure by a connection layer (elements 200-220, figures 1-2),
wherein the connection layer includes a plurality of portions (elements CT1-CT3 separate element 220 into a plurality of portions spaced apart from each other, figures 1-2; alternatively, elements 210 and 220 can be construed as the plurality of portions spaced apart from each other) spaced apart from each other and configured to mitigate stress between the circuit structure and the antenna component (as shown in figures 1-2, paragraphs [0036]-[0038]).
Regarding claim 2, Hsieh as referred in claim 1 teaches the following:
wherein the connection layer has a recess (elements CT1-CT3 portion in layer 200, figures 1-2) separating the plurality of portions of the connection layer, the antenna component is separated into at least two antenna units (elements 402-405, figures 1-2) by the recess (as shown in figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 4, Hsieh as referred in claim 2 teaches the following:
wherein the antenna component (elements 401-405, figures 1-2) includes antenna units and a trench (elements CT1-CT3 portion in layer 220, figures 1-2) disposed between the antenna units and separating the antenna units, wherein the trench is connected to the recess of the connection layer (as shown in figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 21, Hsieh as referred in claim 2 teaches the following:
wherein a width of the recess (elements CT1-CT3 portion in layer 200, figures 1-2) is less than a width of one of the at least two antenna units (elements 402-405, figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 24, Hsieh as referred in claim 1 teaches the following:
wherein the plurality of portions of the connection layer includes a first portion (portion of element 220 overlapping elements the antenna elements 401-405, figures 1-2) connecting the antenna component and the circuit structure, and a second portion (portion of element 220 not overlapping elements the antenna elements 401-405, figures 1-2) connected to the circuit structure and spaced apart from the first portion.
Regarding claim 26, Hsieh as referred in claim 24 teaches the following:
wherein the second portion of the connection layer (portion of element 220 not overlapping elements the antenna elements 401-405, figures 1-2) surrounds the first portion of the connection layer (portion of element 220 overlapping elements the antenna elements 401-405, figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 27, Hsieh as referred in claim 24 teaches the following:
further comprising a conductive element (layer 210 shows various conductive elements, some of which overlap both the first portion and the second portion, specifically the conductive element to the right of element 212, figures 1-2, paragraph [0032]) including a first portion embedded in the first portion of the connecting layer (portion of conductive element to the right of element 212 that only overlaps the antenna 222, figure 1) and a second portion embedded in the second portion of the connecting layer (portion of conductive element to the right of element 212 that only does not overlap the antenna 402, figure 1).
Regarding claim 29, Hsieh as referred in claim 27 teaches the following:
wherein the conductive element partially overlaps the antenna component vertically (as shown in figure 1).
Regarding claim 31, Hsieh as referred in claim 27 teaches the electronic device with the exception for the following:
wherein the conductive element (the conductive element to the right of element 212, figures 1-2, paragraph [0032]) is configured to be a ground terminal (“to route signals, ground, and/or power throughout the package”, paragraph [0032]).
Claims 1 and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Arai (US 2022/0085502).
Regarding claim 1, Hsieh teaches the following:
an electronic device, comprising:
a circuit structure (element 10, figure 12, paragraph [0051]); and
an antenna component (elements 22, figure 12) attached to the circuit structure by a connection layer (elements M1 and portion of 21 below the antenna components, figure 12),
wherein the connection layer includes a plurality of portions (element S separates the connection layer into a plurality of portions spaced apart from each other, figures 1-2) spaced apart from each other and configured to mitigate stress between the circuit structure and the antenna component (as shown in figure 12).
Regarding claim 24, Hsieh as referred in claim 1 teaches the following:
wherein the plurality of portions of the connection layer (elements M1 and portion of 21 below the antenna components, figure 12) includes a first portion (portion that does not overlap area S, figure 12) connecting the antenna component (elements 22, figure 12) and the circuit structure (element 10, figure 12), and a second portion (portion that does overlap area S, figure 12) connected to the circuit structure (element 10, figure 12) and spaced apart from the first portion.
Regarding claim 25, Hsieh as referred in claim 24 teaches the following:
wherein a thickness of the first portion (portion that does not overlap area S, figure 12) is greater than a thickness of the second portion (portion that does overlap area S, figure 12).
Claims 1 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Haratani (US 2024/0055774).
Regarding claim 1, Hsieh teaches the following:
an electronic device, comprising:
a circuit structure (element 10, figures 3-8); and
an antenna component (elements 21-23 and 31-33, figures 3-8) attached to the circuit structure by a connection layer (elements 24a and 24b, figures 3-8),
wherein the connection layer includes a plurality of portions (elements 24a and 24b, figures 3-8) spaced apart from each other and configured to mitigate stress between the circuit structure and the antenna component (as shown in figures 3-8, paragraph [0055]).
Regarding claim 22, Hsieh as referred in claim 1 teaches the following:
wherein a thickness of the connection layer (elements 24a and 24b, figures 3-8) is less than a thickness of the antenna component (elements 21-23 and 31-33, figures 3-8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 30, and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Hsieh et al. (US 2023/0307849, hereby referred as Hsieh) in view of Slafer (US 2009/0136657).
Regarding claim 3, Hsieh as referred in claim 2 teaches the electronic device with the exception for the following:
further comprising a stop layer disposed on the circuit structure, wherein the stop layer is covered by the connection layer and exposed by the recess.
Slafer suggest the teachings of the use of stop layers to prevent over etching (paragraphs [0060] and [0094]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have Hsieh include a stop layer disposed on the circuit structure, wherein the stop layer is covered by the connection layer and exposed by the recess as suggested by the teachings of Slafer in order to prevent the recess from extending too far into the connection layer which would cause the recess to be too large and may weaken the integrity of the device (paragraphs [0060] and [0094]).
Regarding claim 30, Hsieh as referred in claim 27 teaches the electronic device with the exception for the following:
wherein the conductive element is free from electrical connection.
Slafer suggest the teachings of the use of stop layers, which are conductive elements free from electrical connection, to prevent over etching (paragraphs [0060] and [0094]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have Hsieh include a stop layer which is free from electrical connection as suggested by the teachings of Slafer in order to prevent the recess from extending too far which would cause the recess to be too large and may weaken the integrity of the device (paragraphs [0060] and [0094]).
Regarding claim 34, Hsieh as modified in claim 3 teaches the following:
wherein the antenna component (elements 401-405, figures 1-2) includes a lateral surface (the lateral surface of elements 401-405, figures 1-2) substantially perpendicular to a top surface of the stop layer (as explained in claim 3, the top surface of the stop layer would be perpendicular).
Claims 5 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsieh et al. (US 2023/0307849, hereby referred as Hsieh).
Regarding claim 5, Hseieh as referred in claim 1 teaches the electronic device with the exception for the following:
wherein the antenna component includes a first dielectric layer and the circuit structure includes a second dielectric layer, wherein a difference between a coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) of the connection layer and a CTE of the first dielectric layer is less than a difference between the CTE of the connection layer and a CTE of the second dielectric layer.
However, Hseieh does discuss the issue of a difference between a coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) of the various dielectric layers. Having different coefficient of thermal expansion is also well-known in the antenna and integrated circuit art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the antenna component of Hseieh to include a first dielectric layer and the circuit structure includes a second dielectric layer, wherein a difference between a coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) of the connection layer and a CTE of the first dielectric layer is less than a difference between the CTE of the connection layer and a CTE of the second dielectric layer as suggested by the teachings of Hseieh and well-known in the art as this can be used to further address the mismatch between the coefficients of thermal expansion to reduce the probability of warpage of the electronic device (paragraph [0036]).
Regarding claim 32, Hseieh as referred in claim 27 teaches the electronic device with the exception for the following:
wherein the conductive element is in a ring shape in a top view.
However, it is well-known in the antenna and circuit art that conductive elements can be various shapes, such as a rectangular, square, ring, etc.
It would have been obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the conductive element of Hseieh to be in a ring shape in a top view as well-known in the antenna and circuit art, and since applicant has not disclosed that the shape of the conductive element solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with a strip or rectangular shaped conductive element.
Claims 33 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsieh et al. (US 2023/0307849, hereby referred as Hsieh) in view of Tang et al. (US 2023/0282972, hereby referred as Tang).
Regarding claim 33, Hseieh as referred in claim 2 teaches the electronic device with the exception for the following:
wherein the recess has a step structure.
Tang suggests the teachings of wherein the recess (element 16, figure 1D) has a step structure.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the recess of Hseieh to have a step structure as suggested by the teachings of Tang in order to improve the shielding effect and improve the warpage status of the device (paragraphs [0050]-[0052]).
Regarding claim 35, Hseieh as referred in claim 4 teaches the following:
wherein the antenna component includes a plurality of antenna patterns,
Hseieh does not teach wherein the trench is configured to mitigate electromagnetic interference between the plurality of antenna patterns.
Tang suggests the teachings of wherein the trench is configured to mitigate electromagnetic interference between the plurality of antenna patterns.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the trench of Hseieh configured to mitigate electromagnetic interference between the plurality of antenna patterns as suggested by the teachings of Tang in order to reduce any interference between the adjacent antenna patterns which would improve the performance of the antennas (paragraph [0035]).
Additional Comments
Regarding recitations throughout the claims that an element is “configured to” perform a function, it is the position of the Office that such recitations are not positively recited structural limitations, and thus, only require the ability to so perform. In this case, the prior art references as applied herein are construed to at least possess such ability.
Conclusion
/AB SALAM ALKASSIM JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845