DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-17 in the reply filed on 08/12/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 7-9, 11-13, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ding (CN-113571848-A) (see translation).
Regarding claim 1, Ding discloses a battery cell, comprising: a housing, on which an opening is created (see e.g., Ding; figs. 7-8, [0046], regarding outer casing 200 having an opening for the sealing cap 100); an electrode assembly, accommodated in the housing (see e.g., Ding; figs. 7-8, [0044]-[0045], regarding core assembly 300 in the housing), wherein the electrode assembly comprises a body portion (see e.g., Ding; figs. 7-8, wherein the core assembly 300 is the body portion), a first tab (see e.g., Ding; figs. 2-5, [0043], [0044], regarding embodiment 1 and 2 which comprise a second tab 160), and a second tab (first tab 150); and the first tab and the second tab are of opposite polarities (see e.g., Ding; figs. [0041], regarding the connection of the tabs to different electrodes which means the tabs are of opposite polarity) and located on a same side of the body portion (see e.g., Ding; fig. 7, which shows the tabs 150 and 160 on the same side of the electrode core); an end cap, configured to fit and cover the opening (see e.g., Ding; figs. 1-5, [0041], [0044], regarding cover plate 110 in both embodiments) and be electrically connected to the first tab (see e.g., Ding; figs. 1-5, [0043], [0044], regarding cover plate 110 connected to second electrode through second tab 160); and an electrode terminal, dielectrically connected to the end cap (see e.g., Ding; figs. 3-5, [0045], [0049], regarding at least the second embodiment having electrode post 120, wherein an insulating seal 130 is provided between the post 120 and the cover plate 110), wherein the electrode terminal comprises a first recess (see e.g., Ding; figs. 3-5, which shows the recess in the post 120), the first recess is recessed toward the body portion from a side of the electrode terminal, the side being away from the body portion (see e.g., Ding; fig. 8, which shows the recess of the post 120 pointing toward the body of the battery, on the outside of the battery shell which corresponds with a side away from the body portion); the electrode terminal further comprises a first connecting portion; in a thickness direction of the end cap, the first connecting portion is located between the first recess and the second tab (see e.g., Ding; figs. 4-5, wherein the first connecting portion may be a body area of post 120); and the first connecting portion is configured to be connected to the second tab to implement electrical connection between the electrode terminal and the second tab (see e.g., Ding; [0045], regarding ensuring the connection between tab 150 and post 120).
Regarding claim 2, Ding discloses the battery cell according to claim 1, wherein the electrode terminal further comprises an abutment face oriented toward the body portion in the thickness direction (see e.g., Ding; fig. 8, which shows the post 120 oriented toward the body of the battery in a thickness direction, the bottom surface of the post 120 corresponding to an abutment face), the abutment face is configured to abut against the second tab (see e.g., Ding; [0045]), and the electrode terminal forms the first connecting portion between a bottom face of the first recess and the abutment face (see e.g., Ding; fig. 8, wherein the first connecting portion is a body portion of the terminal 120, which may include the flange of the post which is positioned between a bottom of the first recess and the bottom surface of the post 120).
Regarding claim 5, Ding discloses the battery cell according to claim 1, wherein the electrode terminal comprises: a terminal body, wherein the first connecting portion is formed on the terminal body (see e.g., Ding; figs. 4-5, wherein a body portion of terminal post 120 including the flange may correspond with the terminal body, wherein the connecting portion is part of the terminal body); a limiting structure, disposed on the terminal body, and configured to limit movement of the terminal body relative to the end cap in the thickness direction (see e.g., Ding; figs. 4-5, 8, wherein the flange of the terminal post 120 may correspond with a limiting structure).
Regarding claim 7, Ding disclose the battery cell according to claim 1, wherein the battery cell further comprises: an insulator, wherein at least a part of the insulator is located between the first tab and the second tab to isolate the first tab from the second tab (see e.g., Ding; figs. 5, 8, regarding the position of the insulating bracket 140 to isolate tab 160 from tab 150).
Regarding claim 8, Ding discloses the battery cell according to claim 7, wherein the insulator comprises: a first insulating portion, wherein at least a part of the first insulating portion is located between the first tab (160) and the second tab (150) to isolate the first tab from the second tab; and a second insulating portion, wherein at least a part of the second insulating portion is located between the electrode terminal (120) and the end cap (110) to isolate the electrode terminal from the end cap and implement insulated connection between the electrode terminal and the end cap (see e.g., Ding; fig. 8, [0044], [0051], regarding the configuration of the insulating bracket 140 such that part of the tab 160 passes through to connect with cover plate 110 and the other part to connect with the core assembly 300, and which shows the positioning of the insulating bracket 140 such the section of insulation between tabs 160 and 150 may correspond with a first insulating portion and the section of insulation between terminal 120 and cover 110 corresponds with a second insulating portion).
Regarding claim 9, Ding discloses the battery cell according to claim 8, wherein the first insulating portion and the second insulating portion are a structure formed in one piece (see e.g., Ding; figs. 5, 8, [0044], wherein insulating bracket 140 is described as one component).
Regarding claim 11, Ding discloses the battery cell according to claim 1, wherein the first tab is located on an outer peripheral side of the second tab, and an inner peripheral surface of the first tab is in clearance fit with an outer peripheral surface of the second tab (see e.g., Ding; figs. 4-5, 8, wherein the tab 160 may positioned to be on an outer peripheral side of tab 150, wherein a clearance fit exists between the tabs by at least the interposed insulating bracket 140, wherein clearance fit means that a clearance exists between the tabs as defined by the specification; the tabs are not directly touching as that would short circuit the battery).
Regarding claim 12, Ding discloses the battery cell according to claim 1, wherein the first tab and the second tab assume a ring structure (see e.g., Ding; fig. 4).
Regarding claim 13, Ding discloses the battery cell according to claim 1, wherein the end cap comprises a second recess, and the second recess is recessed toward the body portion from a side of the end cap, the side being away from the body portion (see e.g., Ding; fig. 4, wherein the cover 110 has a recessed area in the center of the ring, the recess is in the direction of the electrode body, the recess is on the outside of the electrode body which is a side away from the body portion); and wherein the end cap comprises a second connecting portion; and in the thickness direction of the end cap, the second connecting portion is located between the second recess and the first tab, and the second connecting portion is configured to be connected to the first tab (see e.g., Ding; [0044], fig. 4, 8, regarding how the electrode 160 corresponding to the first tab contacts the cover plate 110, the contact area, which is a inward facing section of the cover plate 110, corresponding to a second connecting portion which is between the recess and the tab 160).
Regarding claim 17, Ding discloses a method for manufacturing a battery cell (see e.g., Ding; [0047]-[0056], regarding the possible assembly process), comprising: providing a housing, wherein an opening is created on the housing (see e.g., Ding; figs. 7-8, [0046], regarding outer casing 200 having an opening for the sealing cap 100); providing an electrode assembly (see e.g., Ding; figs. 7-8, [0044]-[0045], regarding core assembly 300), wherein the electrode assembly comprises a body portion (see e.g., Ding; figs. 7-8, wherein the core assembly 300 is the body portion), a first tab (see e.g., Ding; figs. 2-5, [0043], [0044], regarding embodiment 1 and 2 which comprise a second tab 160), and a second tab (first tab 150); and the first tab and the second tab are of opposite polarities (see e.g., Ding; figs. [0041], regarding the connection of the tabs to different electrodes which means the tabs are of opposite polarity) and located on a same side of the body portion (see e.g., Ding; fig. 7, which shows the tabs 150 and 160 on the same side of the electrode core); providing an end cap (see e.g., Ding; figs. 1-5, [0041], [0044], regarding cover plate 110 in both embodiments) and an electrode terminal, wherein the electrode terminal is dielectrically connected to the end cap (see e.g., Ding; figs. 3-5, [0045], [0049], regarding at least the second embodiment having electrode post 120, wherein an insulating seal 130 is provided between the post 120 and the cover plate 110), the electrode terminal comprises a first recess (see e.g., Ding; figs. 3-5, which shows the recess in the post 120), and the electrode terminal comprises a first connecting portion (see e.g., Ding; figs. 4-5, wherein the first connecting portion may be a body area of post 120); letting the electrode assembly be accommodated in the housing (see e.g., Ding; fig. 8); letting the end cap fit and cover the opening (see e.g., Ding; fig. 8), so that the first recess is recessed toward the body portion from a side of the electrode terminal, the side being away from the body portion (see e.g., Ding; fig. 8, which shows the recess of the post 120 pointing toward the body of the battery, on the outside of the battery shell which corresponds with a side away from the body portion); and so that the first connecting portion is located between the first recess and the second tab (see e.g., Ding; figs. 4-5, wherein the first connecting portion may be a body area of post 120); connecting the end cap to the first tab to implement electrical connection between the end cap and the first tab (see e.g., Ding; [0044]); and connecting the first connecting portion to the second tab to implement electrical connection between the electrode terminal and the second tab (see e.g., Ding; [0045], regarding ensuring the connection between tab 150 and post 120).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 6, 10, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding (CN-113571848-A) (see translation).
Regarding claim 3, Ding discloses the battery cell according to claim 2. Ding further discloses wherein the end cap comprises an inner surface oriented toward the body portion in the thickness direction (see e.g., Ding; fig. 8, regarding end cap 110 having an inner surface facing the thickness direction).
In the second embodiment, Ding does not show an assembled diagram of the battery sealing cover in the figures. So, the specific embodiment of Ding as provided regarding claims 1 and 2 above do not specifically show that the abutment face is flush with the inner surface. However, in fig. 3, Ding provides an assembled diagram of the sealing assembly of the first embodiment. In this figure, a bottom surface of the post 120 may correspond with an abutment face, and the bottom surface is flush with an inner surface of the cover plate 110; that is, the surfaces are along the same plane in the horizontal direction. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the second embodiment as provided by Ding such that the abutment face is flush with the inner surface as provided by Ding in the first embodiment in order to guarantee lifespan and safety of batteries having a simple structure (see e.g., Ding; [0004]-[0005]), provide high-rate, large-capacity, minimalist battery sealing cover and assembly process, which has a simple structure and can achieve high-rate charging and discharging (see e.g., Ding; [0006]).
Regarding claim 6, Ding discloses the battery cell according to claim 5, wherein the limiting structure comprises a first limiting portion and a second limiting portion, and both the first limiting portion and the second limiting portion protrude from an outer peripheral surface of the terminal body (see e.g., Ding; figs. 4-5, wherein a left and right side of the flange of the terminal post 120 may correspond with a first limiting portion and a second limiting portion); and wherein the end cap comprises a stop portion (see e.g., Ding; figs. 4, 8, wherein a body portion of the sealing cap 110 may correspond with a stop portion); a through-hole is created on the stop portion (see e.g., Ding; fig. 4, regarding the electrode hole 113).
Ding does not explicitly show the fully assembled configuration of the second embodiment such that in the second embodiment, the terminal body is passed through and disposed in the through-hole; and in the thickness direction, the first limiting portion and the second limiting portion are located on two sides of the stop portion respectively to limit movement of the terminal body relative to the stop portion in the thickness direction. However, Ding shows and provides in embodiment 1 that the post 120 is passed through and disposed in the through-hole (see e.g., Ding; fig. 3, [0041], regarding post 120 inserted through electrode hole 113), and a first limiting portion and a second limiting portion are located on two sides of the stop portion respectively to limit movement of the terminal body relative to the stop portion in the thickness direction (see e.g., Ding; fig. 3, wherein a left and right side of the flange of post 120 corresponds to a first and second limiting portion, the portions are on two sides of the body of the cover 110 to thereby limit movement in the vertical direction of the figure corresponding to a thickness direction). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have assembled the second embodiment as provided by Ding in the same fashion as the first embodiment as provided by Ding such that the post passes through the through hole and the limiting portions are located on two sides of the stop portion in order to guarantee lifespan and safety of batteries having a simple structure (see e.g., Ding; [0004]-[0005]), provide high-rate, large-capacity, minimalist battery sealing cover and assembly process, which has a simple structure and can achieve high-rate charging and discharging (see e.g., Ding; [0006]).
Regarding claim 10, Ding discloses the battery cell according to claim 8. Ding does not show the assembled configuration of the second embodiment such that wherein, in the thickness direction, the first insulating portion abuts against the end cap (110) and the body portion (body of terminal 120). However, as shown in the first embodiment, the insulating portion (140) abuts against the end cap (110) and a body portion of terminal (120) via positioning protrusion 143 (see e.g., Ding; figs. 2-3, [0043]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the second embodiment of Ding to similarly have the first insulating portion abut against the end cap and body portion of the terminal as provided by Ding in the first embodiment in order to guarantee lifespan and safety of batteries having a simple structure (see e.g., Ding; [0004]-[0005]), provide high-rate, large-capacity, minimalist battery sealing cover and assembly process, which has a simple structure and can achieve high-rate charging and discharging (see e.g., Ding; [0006]).
Regarding claim 14, Ding discloses the battery cell according to claim 1. Ding discloses ensuring the connection between tab 150 and terminal post 120 (see e.g., Ding; [0045]). Ding does not explicitly disclose wherein the first connecting portion is welded to the second tab; and/or (interpreted as “or” according to BRI) the electrode terminal is welded to the first tab. However, Ding discloses that the connection between the cover plate 110 and the other tab 160 may be welded (see e.g., Ding; [0008], [0024]-[0025], [0042]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the laser welding method between the tab 160 and the cover 110 as provided by Ding to similarly weld the connection between the tab 150 and the terminal post 120 of Ding in order to provide a stronger bond, low resistance, ensure the connection can withstand a larger current value and enable high-rate charging and discharging (see e.g., Ding; [0042]).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding (CN-113571848-A) (see translation), and in further view of Zhao (CN-200953351-Y) (see translation).
Regarding claim 4, Ding discloses the battery cell according to claim 1.
Ding does not explicitly disclose wherein an injection port is created on the first connecting portion, and the injection port communicates with the first recess and an interior of the housing. However, Zhao discloses wherein an injection port is created on the first connecting portion (see e.g., Zhao; figs. 1-4, [0027]-[0032], regarding examples 1 and 2 which have an injection hole 4 and 40, respectively, wherein the injection hole is formed in provided on a body of conductive terminal 2 which may similarly correspond with a first connecting portion), and the injection port communicates with the first recess and an interior of the housing (see e.g., Zhao; figs. 1-4, [0027]-[0032], wherein the liquid injection hole 4 may similarly comprise a first recess at the top of the sealing assembly, and is a through threaded hole such that the first recess is in communication with the interior of the housing). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sealing assembly of Ding with the electrolyte injection hole provided by Zhao in order to properly seal the battery which effectively avoids battery leakage from impact or vibration (see e.g., Zhao; [0019]).
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding (CN-113571848-A) (see translation), and in further view of Mita (US-6340877-B1).
Regarding claim 15, Ding discloses the battery according to claim 1. Ding does not explicitly disclose a box, configured to accommodate the battery cell. However, Mita discloses a box shape configured to accommodate cylindrical battery cells (see e.g., Mita; fig. 1). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have accommodated the battery cells of Ding into a box as provided by Mita in order to provide driving power such as in electric or hybrid cars (see e.g., Mita; section 6 lines 26-35).
Regarding claim 16, modified Ding provides an electrical device, comprising the battery according to claim 15 (see above regarding claim 15).
Conclusion
/KEVIN SONG/Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728