Election/Restrictions
Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/4/2026. Applicant has elected Group II and Species i, corresponding to claims 1-13 and 15-23.
Invention Group I and Species ii, corresponding to claims 14 and 24-25, are withdrawn from further consideration.
Information Disclosure Statements
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted recently have been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The specification submitted 2/8/2024 has been accepted by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings submitted on 2/8/2024 have been accepted by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jeong (US # 20220223783).
Regarding Claim 1, Jeong ‘783 teaches a magnetoresistive random-access memory cell (see Fig. 2B and corresponding text), comprising:
a substrate (201);
a seed layer (204) outward of the substrate ([0048], 28, 38);
a resistive layer (220) outward of the seed layer;
an ultra-thin templating layer (210B), outward of the resistive layer, comprising a binary alloy ([0036]) having an alternating layer lattice structure, the ultra-thin templating layer having a thickness of 7-30 Angstroms ([0036]); and
a Heusler layer (230) located outward of the ultra-thin templating layer, the Heusler layer comprising a Heusler compound and exhibiting perpendicular magnetic anisotropy (PMA) ([0027, 35, 55]).
Regarding Claim 2, Jeong ‘783 teaches the magnetoresistive random-access memory cell of Claim 1, wherein the Heusler layer is located directly on the ultra-thin templating layer and the ultra-thin templating layer is located directly on the resistive layer (shown in Fig. 2B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong (US # 20220223783) in view of Filippou (US # 20230413681).
Regarding Claim 21, Jeong ‘783 teaches a magnetoresistive random-access memory cells, as explained in the claim 1 rejection.
Although Jeong ‘783 discloses much of the claimed invention, it does not explicitly teach the memory array comprising a plurality of bit lines and a plurality of complementary bit lines forming a plurality of bit line-complementary bit line pairs;
a plurality of word lines intersecting the plurality of bit line pairs at a plurality of cell locations;
a plurality of magnetoresistive random-access memory cells located at each of the plurality of cell locations, each of the magnetoresistive random-access memory cells being electrically connected to a corresponding bit line and selectively interconnected to a corresponding one of the complementary bit lines under control of a corresponding one of the word lines.
Nonetheless the prior art at the time the application was filed renders such non-explicit feature differences obvious, as explained below.
For example, Filippou ‘681 is in the same or analogous field, and it teaches a memory array (500; Fig. 5 and see corresponding text) comprising a plurality of bit lines (510) and a plurality of complementary bit lines (512) forming a plurality of bit line-complementary bit line pairs;
a plurality of word lines (508) intersecting the plurality of bit line pairs at a plurality of cell locations (504);
a plurality of magnetoresistive random-access memory cells (502) located at each of the plurality of cell locations, each of the magnetoresistive random-access memory cells being electrically connected to a corresponding bit line (shown) and selectively interconnected to a corresponding one of the complementary bit lines under control of a corresponding one of the word lines (shown via transistor 506).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that placing the memory cells of Jeong ‘783 within the architecture suggested by Filippou ‘681 would be obvious. Specifically, the modification suggested by Filippou ‘681 would be to employ a memory array comprising a plurality of bit lines and a plurality of complementary bit lines forming a plurality of bit line-complementary bit line pairs; a plurality of word lines intersecting the plurality of bit line pairs at a plurality of cell locations; a plurality of magnetoresistive random-access memory cells located at each of the plurality of cell locations, each of the magnetoresistive random-access memory cells being electrically connected to a corresponding bit line and selectively interconnected to a corresponding one of the complementary bit lines under control of a corresponding one of the word lines. The rationale for this obvious modification is that this circuit array is standard architecture for all STT-MRAM and would function predictably with the cells of Jeong ‘783. This would have been apparent to a person having ordinary skill in the art in reading both references because the existence and benefits of these architectures are well known in the art (see MPEP 2144.01).
Regarding Claim 22, this recitation is rejected for the same essential reasons as claim 2.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-13, 15-20, and 23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claim 3, although the prior art shows substantial features of the claimed invention, the prior art reviewed by the examiner neither teaches nor reasonably suggests all the claimed limitations, including a nitride layer, outward of the substrate, and having a nitride layer thickness less than 20 Angstroms.
Claims 4-13 and 15-20 are dependent upon claim 3.
Regarding Claim 23, although the prior art shows substantial features of the claimed invention, the prior art reviewed by the examiner neither teaches nor reasonably suggests all the claimed limitations, including a nitride layer, outward of the substrate, and having a nitride layer thickness less than 20 Angstroms.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER A JOHNSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899