DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-4, and 16-18 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. & 112(b)
Rejection of claim 9 under 35 U.S.C. 12(b) is withdrawn.
Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. & 103
Applicant's arguments filed 04/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues the limitation of amended claim 5 "the first electrode and the second electrode are positioned to subject the charged radionuclides of the radioactive gas to an electric field between the first electrode and the second electrode so to attract the charged radionuclides of the radioactive gas to one of the first electrode and the second electrode, wherein the liquid of the liquid source is in a line of flight of the charged radionuclides of the radioactive gas towards the one of the first electrode and the second electrode" as amended claim 5 recites overcomes the prior art rejections. Applicants’ remarks are not persuasive given the amended limitation is optional. However, applicants amendment of claim 5, replacing “a radioactive gas” with “an emanating source of a radioactive gas that decays into charged radionuclides” broadens the scope of claim 5. Therefore, a new ground of rejection has been made. See rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-15 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites “optionally, a second gas outlet, and wherein the first electrode and the second electrode are positioned to subject the charged radionuclides of the radioactive gas to an electric field between the first electrode and the second electrode so to attract the charged radionuclides of the radioactive gas to one of the first electrode and the second electrode, wherein the liquid of the liquid source is in a line of flight of the charged radionuclides of the radioactive gas towards the one of the first electrode and the second electrode.” It is unclear if the wherein clause is optional. For the purposes of examination, the wherein clause will be interpreted to be optional.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-15 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, Xiang, et al. "Collection and charging characteristics of particles in an electrostatic precipitator with a wet membrane collecting electrode." Journal of Electrostatics 83 (2016): 28-34, hereinafter referred to as Wang, in view of “Aerosol-to-Liquid Particle Extraction System (ALPES).” Tech Briefs, Savannah River National Laboratory, February 1, 2018, hereinafter referred to as Savannah.
Regarding claim 5, Wang teaches an apparatus for the preparation and isolation of radionuclides, comprising an electric source, an emanation vessel and a collection vessel, wherein the emanation vessel is connected to the collection vessel or wherein the emanation vessel and the collection vessel are comprised in a singular vessel (Fig. 2 as annotated below),
a. wherein the emanation vessel comprises:
ii. optionally, a first gas inlet (Fig. 2 as annotated below),
b. wherein the collection vessel comprises:
i. a first electrode connected to the electric source (Fig. 2 as annotated below),
ii. a second electrode connected to the electric source (Fig. 2 as annotated below),
and iii. a liquid section containing a liquid (One of the collecting electrodes was a rigid carbon steel collecting electrode and the other was a wet membrane collecting electrode, which was a water penetrating polypropylene (Table 2). The water flow rate over the membranes was 2.5 L/(m·h)−1 per unit length in the direction of gas flow (Section 2.2, para. [0001])),
iv. optionally, a second gas outlet, and wherein the first electrode and the second electrode are positioned to subject the charged radionuclides of the radioactive gas to an electric field between the first electrode and the second electrode so to attract the charged radionuclides of the radioactive gas to one of the first electrode and the second electrode, wherein the liquid of the liquid source is in a line of flight of the charged radionuclides of the radioactive gas towards the one of the first electrode and the second electrode.
Wang fails to teach i. an emanating source of a radioactive gas that decays into charged radionuclides.
However, Savannah teaches i. a radioactive gas an emanating source of a radioactive gas that decays into charged radionuclides (The ALPES is designed to collect chemical agents; radioactive particles (para. [0004])).
Radioactive particles are an emanating source of radioactive gas that decay into charged radionuclides.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device described in Wang to include the teachings of Savannah by using the device described in Wang in the presence of radioactive particles. Savannah teaches collecting radioactive particles because these agents can be used in warfare and “tend to disperse widely in the air when released. Quickly collecting a concentrated sample of these agents is critical to detecting them before they reach harmful dose levels in the air (para. [0001]).”
Regarding claim 6, Wang teaches the apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the first electrode is placed outside the liquid section (Fig. 2 above).
Regarding claim 7, Wang teaches the apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the second electrode is placed in the liquid section (wet membrane collecting electrode, which was a water penetrating polypropylene (Table 2) (section 2.2, para. [0001])).
Regarding claim 8, Wang teaches the apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the second electrode is positioned in the liquid section such that the second electrode is immersed in a liquid in the liquid section (wet membrane collecting electrode, which was a water penetrating polypropylene (Table 2) (section 2.2, para. [0001])).
Regarding claim 9, Wang teaches the apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the second separated electrode is separated from the first electrode by a liquid in the liquid section (Fig. 2 above).
Regarding claim 10, Wang teaches the apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the first electrode and the second electrode are electrically isolated from each other (The distance between the discharge and collecting electrodes was 50 mm (section 2.2, para. [0001])).
Regarding claim 11, Wang teaches the apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the first electrode is isolated from/ is not in electrical contact with the second electrode (The distance between the discharge and collecting electrodes was 50 mm (section 2.2, para. [0001])).
Regarding claim 12, The apparatus according to claim 5 wherein the collection vessel further comprises a holding section connected to the liquid section (Fig. 2 as annotated above).
Regarding claim 13, Wang teaches the apparatus according to claim 12, wherein the holding section is configured to collect the radioactive gas for a time sufficient to yield charged daughter radionuclides (Fig. 2 above).
The only structure required by claim 13 is a chamber which can hold gas.
Regarding claim 14, Wang teaches the apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the second electrode is provided in, near or behind a liquid of the liquid section (wet membrane collecting electrode, which was a water penetrating polypropylene (Table 2) (section 2.2, para. [0001])).
Regarding claim 15, The apparatus according to claim 5, wherein at least one of the collection vessel and the holding section comprises a gas outlet (Fig. 2, Exhaust).
Regarding claim 19, Wang teaches wherein the emanation vessel is connected to the collection vessel (Fig. 2 above).
Regarding claim 20, Wang teaches the apparatus of claim 5, wherein the emanation vessel and the collection vessel form a singular vessel (Fig. 2 above).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICA JILLIAN EINHORN/Examiner, Art Unit 2881
/WYATT A STOFFA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881