DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed on 2/9/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 4, 6, 8 – 12, 15 – 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Keyser (US 7867023).
Regarding claim 1, Keyser teaches (figures 1 – 10) a system for housing a circuit board including pin connectors, the system comprising:
a case (26) configured to cover the circuit board (28), the case (26) defining an opening (32, 34, 36) arranged to permit access to the pin connectors (43) of the circuit board (28) and including a case coupling interface (54, 56) at the opening (32, 34, 36); and
a connector housing (12, 14, 16) including a pin interface (see figures 2 and 4) configured to receive the pin connectors (43) of the circuit board (28) and a connector housing coupling interface (50, 52) configured to cooperate with the case coupling interface (54, 56) to secure the connector housing (12, 14, 16) to the case (26) over the opening (32, 34, 36) and in cooperation with the pin connectors (43).
Regarding claim 2, Keyser teaches (figures 1 – 10) the system of claim 1, wherein the connector housing (12, 14, 16) defines a receptacle (see figure 1) configured to cooperate with a wiring connector (i.e. disclosed receptacle is capable of cooperating with a wiring connector).
Regarding claim 3, Keyser teaches (figures 1 – 10) the system of claim 2, wherein the pin interface (see figures 2 and 4) is accessible within the receptacle (see figures 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 4, Keyser teaches (figures 1 – 10) the system of claim 2, wherein the connector housing coupling interface (50, 52) is at an undersurface of the connector opposite to the receptacle (see 50 in figure 1).
Regarding claim 6, Keyser teaches (figures 1 – 10) the system of claim 1, wherein:
the connector housing coupling interface (50, 52) includes a locator pin (50, 52 are locator pins); and
the case coupling interface (54, 56) of the case (26) defines a pin receptable (54, 56 are pin receptacles) configured to receive the locator pin therein (i.e. see figure 5).
Regarding claim 8, Keyser teaches (figures 1 – 10) the system of claim 1, wherein the pin interface (see figures 2 and 4) of the connector housing (12, 14, 16) defines a plurality of apertures (see apertures accommodating pins 43 in figure 4), each one of the plurality of apertures (see apertures accommodating pins 43 in figure 4) is positioned and sized to receive one of the pin connectors (43) when the connector housing (12, 14, 16) is connected to the case (26).
Regarding claim 9, Keyser teaches (figures 1 – 10) the system of claim 8, wherein the plurality of apertures (see apertures accommodating pins 43 in figure 4) are arranged in rows and columns (see figure 2) corresponding to rows and columns of the pin connectors (43) of the circuit board (28).
Regarding claim 10, Keyser teaches (figures 1 – 10) the system of claim 1, wherein:
the connector housing (12) is a first connector housing and the pin interface is
a first pin interface (see figures 2 and 4) configured to receive the pin connectors in a first pin arrangement (i.e. pin arrangement that goes into 32);
the opening (32) of the case (26) is a first opening, the case (26) further defining a second opening (36) arranged to permit access to a second pin arrangement (i.e. pin arrangement that goes into 36) of the pin connectors (43) on the circuit board (28) that is different from the first pin arrangement (i.e. pin arrangement that goes into);
the system further includes a second connector housing (16) including a second pin interface (see figures 2, 3 and 4) configured to receive the pin connectors of the second pin arrangement (pin interface as seen in figures 2, 3 and 4; it is receiving pins 43), the second pin interface is different from the first pin interface (arrangement of pins that go through 12 and 16 is different; see figure 1);
the case coupling interface (54, 56) is a first case coupling interface and the connector housing coupling interface (50, 52) is a first connector housing coupling interface;
the case (26) includes a second case coupling interface (there are multiple 54, 56) at the second opening (36) that is the same as the first case coupling interface (54, 56; there are multiple 54, 56 that are the same in figure 1); and
the second connector housing (16) includes a second connector housing coupling interface (54, 56) that is the same as the first connector housing coupling interface (54, 56; there are multiple 54, 56 that are the same in figure 1).
Regarding claim 11, Keyser teaches (figures 1 – 10) the system of claim 1, wherein the connector housing (12, 14, 16) is one of a plurality of connector housings (i.e. see figure 1) each including the connector housing coupling interface (50, 52) and the pin interface (see figures 2 and 4); and
wherein the connector housing coupling interface (50, 52) of each one of the plurality of connector housings is the same (see figure 1), and the pin interface (see figures 2 and 4) of each one of the plurality of connector housings is different (pin interface of 12 and 16 is different, see figure 1).
Regarding claim 12, Keyser teaches (figures 1 – 10) a system for housing a circuit board including pin connectors, the system comprising:
a case (26) configured to cover the circuit board (28), the case (26) defining a first opening (32) arranged to permit access to a first pin arrangement (arrangement of pins that passes through 32) of the pin connectors (43) of the circuit board (28) and defining a second opening (36) arranged to permit access to a second pin arrangement (arrangement of pins that passes through 36) of the pin connectors (43) of the circuit board (28), the first pin arrangement and the second pin arrangement are different (see figure 1; arrangement of pins that go through 32 and 36 is different);
a first case coupling interface (54, 56) adjacent to the first opening (32) and a second case coupling interface (54, 56) adjacent to the second opening (36), the first case coupling interface and the second case coupling interface are the same (see figure 1; 54 and 56 are the same);
a first connector housing (12) including a first pin interface (see figures 2 and 4) configured to receive the first pin arrangement of the circuit board (12 is capable of receiving the first pin arrangement of the circuit board) and a first connector housing coupling interface (50) configured to cooperate with the first case coupling interface (54, 56); and
a second connector housing (16) including a second pin interface (see figures 2 and 4) configured to receive the second pin arrangement of the circuit board (16 is capable of receiving the second pin arrangement of the circuit board) and a second connector housing coupling interface (50) configured to cooperate with the second case coupling interface (54, 56),
wherein the first pin interface and the second pin interface are different (i.e. arrangement of pins that go through 12 and 16 is different; see figure 1), and the first connector housing coupling interface and the second connector housing coupling interface are the same (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 15, Keyser teaches (figures 1 – 10) the system of claim 12, wherein the first pin interface (see figures 2 and 4; pin interface of 12) defines a first plurality of apertures (see apertures accommodating pins 43 in figure 4) each positioned and sized to receive the pin connectors (43) of the first pin arrangement (arrangement of pins that go into 12), and the second pin interface (see figures 2 and 4; pin interface of 16) defines a second plurality of apertures (see apertures accommodating pins 43 in figure 4) each positioned and sized to receive the pin connectors (43) of the second pin arrangement (arrangement of pins that go into 16).
Regarding claim 16, Keyser teaches (figures 1 – 10) a system for housing a circuit board including pin connectors, the system comprising:
a case (26) configured to cover the circuit board (28), the case (26) defining an opening (32) arranged to permit access to the pin connectors of the circuit board (arrangement of pins that passes through 32) and including a case coupling interface (54, 56) at the opening (32); and
a plurality of connector housings (12, 14, 16) each including a pin interface (see figures 2, 3, and 4) and a connector housing coupling interface (50, 52), the pin interface (see figures 2, 3, and 4) of each one of the plurality of connector housings (12, 14, 16) is different (i.e. pin interface of 12 is different than pin interface of 16) and the connector housing coupling interface (50, 52) of each one of the plurality of connector housings is the same (see figure 1),
wherein the pin interface (see figures 2, 3, and 4) of at least one of the plurality of connector housings (12, 14, 16) is configured to receive the pin connectors of the circuit board arranged in a first pin arrangement (i.e. interfaces of housings 12, 14, 16 are capable of receiving pin connectors arranged in different arrangements).
Regarding claim 17, Keyser teaches (figures 1 – 10) the system of claim 16, the pin interface (see figures 2, 3, and 4) of at least one of the plurality of connector housings (12, 14, 16) is configured to receive the pin connectors of the circuit board arranged in a second pin arrangement that is different from the first pin arrangement (interface of 12 and interface of 16 receive different pin arrangements; see figures 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 18, Keyser teaches (figures 1 – 10) the system of claim 16, wherein each one of the plurality of connector housings (12, 14, 16) defines a receptacle (see figure 1) configured to cooperate with a connector of a wiring (i.e. disclosed receptacle is capable of cooperating with a wiring connector).
Regarding claim 19, Keyser teaches (figures 1 – 10) the system of claim 18, wherein the pin interface (see figures 2 and 4) is accessible within the receptacle (see figures 1 and 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 13, 14, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keyser (US 7867023) in view of Martin (US 20120276761).
Regarding claim 5, Keyser teaches (figures 1 – 10) the system of claim 1.
But Keyser does not explicitly disclose wherein: the connector housing coupling interface includes a clip; and the case coupling interface of the case defines a slot configured to receive and retain the clip to secure the connector housing to the case.
Martin teaches (figures 2 – 5) a connector wherein: the connector housing coupling interface (coupling interface of 302) includes a clip (114); and the case coupling interface (interface of 108) of the case (108) defines a slot (116) configured to receive and retain the clip to secure the connector housing to the case (¶0034).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Keyser with the connector as disclosed by Martin to provide the connector housing coupling interface including a clip; and the case coupling interface of the case defining a slot configured to receive and retain the clip to secure the connector housing to the case, to improve the connector’s durability during transport.
Regarding claim 13, Keyser teaches (figures 1 – 10) the system of claim 12, wherein the first connector housing coupling interface (50) and the second connector housing coupling interface (there are multiple interfaces 50) each include locator pins (50 are locator pins).
But Keyser does not explicitly disclose wherein the first connector housing coupling interface and the second connector housing coupling interface includes the clips.
Martin teaches (figures 2 – 5) a connector including the clips (114).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Keyser with the connector as disclosed by Martin to provide the clips because Martin demonstrates the use of clips to secure a connector housing. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to apply such clips to both coupling interfaces of Keyser to provide consistent and reliable retention across multiple interfaces, which represents a predictable use of prior art elements performing their known function.
Regarding claim 14, Keyser teaches (figures 1 – 10) the system of claim 13, wherein the first case coupling interface (54, 56) and the second case coupling interface (there are multiple 54, 56 in figure 1) each define receptacles (54, 56 are receptacles) configured to receive the locator pins (50 are locator pins).
But Keyser does not explicitly disclose slots configured to receive the clips.
Martin teaches (figures 2 – 5) a connector comprising slots (116) configured to receive the clips (114).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Keyser with the connector as disclosed by Martin to provide the slots configured to receive the clips because Martin demonstrates that clips are received within corresponding slots to facilitate secure engagement. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate such slots into the case coupling interfaces of Keyser to enable proper interaction with the clips already disclosed therein, thereby ensuring predictable and reliable coupling between components.
Regarding claim 20, Keyser teaches (figures 1 – 10) the system of claim 16, wherein: the connector housing coupling interface (50, 52) of each one of the plurality of connector housings includes (12, 14, 16) clips and locator pins (50 are locator pins), and the case coupling interface (54, 56) defines receptacles (54, 56 are receptacles configured to receive the locator pins (50 are locator pins).
But Keyser does not explicitly disclose slots configured to receive the clips.
Martin teaches (figures 2 – 5) a connector comprising slots (116) configured to receive the clips (114).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Keyser with the connector as disclosed by Martin to provide the slots configured to receive the clips because Martin demonstrates that clips are received within corresponding slots to facilitate secure engagement. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate such slots into the case coupling interfaces of Keyser to enable proper interaction with the clips already disclosed therein, thereby ensuring predictable and reliable coupling between components.
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keyser (US 7867023) in view of Yin (US 20140154929).
Regarding claim 7, Keyser teaches (figures 1 – 10) the system of claim 1.
But Keyser does not explicitly disclose wherein the connector housing coupling interface includes a tab configured to abut the case when the connector housing is mounted to the case.
Yin teaches (figures 5, 8 – 10) a connector wherein the connector housing coupling interface (32) includes a tab (3212) configured to abut the case when the connector housing is mounted to the case (i.e. see figure 9, 3212 abuts side wall 312).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Keyser with the connector housing assembly as disclosed by Yin to provide wherein the connector housing coupling interface includes a tab configured to abut the case when the connector housing is mounted to the case, to improve the mechanical stability of the connector.
Conclusion
/CARLOS E LOPEZ-PAGAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/TULSIDAS C PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834