CTNF 18/438,195 CTNF 86585 DETAILED ACTION This office action is in response to application filed 2/9/2024. Claims 1 – 20 are pending. Priority is claimed to Indian application IN202341008712 (filed on 2/10/2023). Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1 – 6, 9 – 15 and 18 – 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krishnan et al (US 20210382449, prior art part of IDS dated 5/7/2024, hereinafter Krishnan) , in view of Majewski et al (US 20210389968, hereinafter Majewski) . As per claim 1, Krishnan discloses: A building device gateway of a building, comprising: one or more processors coupled to a non-transitory memory, the one or more processors configured to: (Krishnan figure 15) execute a building device interface that communicates, via an interface implemented by the building device interface, with one or more building devices of the building to control or collect data from the one or more building devices; (Krishnan [0049]: “The edge controller 54 may be considered as being configured to control a building control device such as the building control device 40 (or one of the building management system components 18). The edge controller 54 may be considered as including control logic 56 that is configured to at least selectively provide closed loop control of one or more functions of a building control device.”) execute a processing container that processes the data from the one or more building devices; and implement a virtual communication bus that facilitates communication between the building device interface and the processing container. (Krishnan [0049]: “The edge controller 54 may be configured to be in operative communication with a virtual container or a virtual machine 58 over a network 60, sometimes via a gateway 22 or the like. The edge controller 54 is configured to receive and execute control commands that are generated by the virtual container or the virtual machine 58.”’ [0043]: “The virtual controller 32 includes a virtual container or a virtual machine 36 that includes control logic 38. The control logic 38 generates control commands for controlling the building control device 40 at the building site 42.”. Examiner notes that the virtual controller 32 is mapped to the claimed processing container.) Krishnan did not explicitly disclose: wherein the building device interface comprises a building device interface container; However, Majewski teaches: wherein the building device interface comprises a building device interface container; (Majewski figure 16 and [0115]: “the edge gateway controller 300 may be considered as a “blank slate” that is capable of running any of a variety of different Docker containers (or virtual machines) that are customized to the site 272.”) It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Majewski into that of Krishnan in order to have the building device interface comprises a building device interface container. Krishnan [0049] teaches having an edge controller be the interface to the building devices. Majewski [0036] teaches the edge controller may support “containerized packages which enables the edge controller to be on-boarded remotely within a few minutes of effort hours, irrespective of the diverse and complex subsystems of the facility to which the edge controller is to be integrated”. One of ordinary skill can easily see that virtualization of the edge controller is merely claiming the combination of well known and used concept in the field to achieve predictable results of improve the efficiency of the edge controller through virtualization and is therefore rejected under 35 USC 103. As per claim 2, the combination of Krishnan and Majewski further teach: The building device gateway of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive an update to one or more of the building device interface container or the processing container; and modify one or more of the building device interface container or the processing container according to the update. (Krishnan [0042]) As per claim 3, the combination of Krishnan and Majewski further teach: The building device gateway of claim 1, wherein the virtual communication bus comprises a virtual Internet protocol (IP) network. (Majewski [0052]) As per claim 4, the combination of Krishnan and Majewski further teach: The building device gateway of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute a cloud communication container that communicates data transmitted via the virtual communication bus to or from a cloud computing system. (Majewski [0047] and [0058]) As per claim 5, the combination of Krishnan and Majewski further teach: The building device gateway of claim 4, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute a cloud proxy container that formats data transmitted via the virtual communication bus according to a standard format of the cloud computing system. (Majewski [0052] – [0053]) As per claim 6, the combination of Krishnan and Majewski further teach: The building device gateway of claim 5, wherein the cloud proxy container is further configured to periodically transmit the formatted data to the cloud computing system. (Krishnan [0065]: periodic message.) As per claim 9, the combination of Krishnan and Majewski further teach: The building device gateway of claim 1, wherein the processing container comprises one or more of a graphical user interface container, an analytical engine container, an edge management container, or a logs management container. (Krishnan [0049]: “The edge controller 54 may be configured to be in operative communication with a virtual container or a virtual machine 58 over a network 60, sometimes via a gateway 22 or the like. The edge controller 54 is configured to receive and execute control commands that are generated by the virtual container or the virtual machine 58.”’ [0043]: “The virtual controller 32 includes a virtual container or a virtual machine 36 that includes control logic 38. The control logic 38 generates control commands for controlling the building control device 40 at the building site 42.”) As per claim 10, it is the method variant of claim 1 and is therefore rejected under the same rationale. As per claim 11, it is the method variant of claim 2 and is therefore rejected under the same rationale. As per claim 12, it is the method variant of claim 3 and is therefore rejected under the same rationale. As per claim 13, it is the method variant of claim 4 and is therefore rejected under the same rationale. As per claim 14, it is the method variant of claim 5 and is therefore rejected under the same rationale. As per claim 18, it is the method variant of claim 9 and is therefore rejected under the same rationale. As per claim 19, it is the non-transitory computer-readable medium variant of claim 1 and is therefore rejected under the same rationale. (Majewski [0145]) As per claim 20, it is the non-transitory computer-readable medium variant of claim 2 and is therefore rejected under the same rationale . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 7, 8, 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krishnan and Majewski , in view of Malladi et al (US 20210326128, prior art part of IDS dated 5/7/2024, hereinafter Malladi) . As per claim 7, the combination of Krishnan and Majewski did not teach: The building device gateway of claim 1, wherein the virtual communication bus is configured to receive and transmit one or more messages identifying one or more topics. However, Malladi teaches: The building device gateway of claim 1, wherein the virtual communication bus is configured to receive and transmit one or more messages identifying one or more topics. (Malladi [0082] and [0175]) It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Duraisingh into that of Krishnan and Majewski in order to have the virtual communication bus is configured to receive and transmit one or more messages identifying one or more topics. Krishnan [0049] teaches having virtual container interfaces with an edge controller to control the building devices. Malladi [0082] and [0175] teaches message passing through topic subscription can greatly increase the efficiency of the message delivery system, and thus applicants have merely claimed the combination of well known and used concept in the field to achieve predictable results passing message to and from appropriate parties and is therefore rejected under 35 USC 103. As per claim 8, the combination of Krishnan and Majewski further teach: The building device gateway of claim 7, wherein the processing container comprises a configuration that subscribes the processing container to a subset of the one or more topics. (Malladi [0082] and [0175]) As per claim 16, it is the method variant of claim 7 and is therefore rejected under the same rationale. As per claim 17, it is the method variant of claim 8 and is therefore rejected under the same rationale . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Park et al (US 20220222056) teaches “implement a software gateway configured to receive one or more messages from building equipment, receive, based on the one or more messages, one or more software updates for the software gateway, wherein the one or more software updates are updates for communicating with the building equipment, communicate with the building equipment based on the one or more software updates and receive data describing the building equipment, and cause a configuration image to be generated for the software gateway based on the data describing the building equipment, the configuration image indicating a configuration of the software gateway for performing one or more gateway services.”; Galvez et al (USPAT 11567466) teaches “The gateway components can facilitate communication with a cloud platform and facilitate communication with a physical building device. The building system can identify a computing system of the building that is in communication with the physical building device. The physical building device can store one or more data samples. The building system can deploy the gateway components to the computing system responsive to identifying that the computing system is in communication with the physical building device. The gateway components can cause the computing system to communicate with the physical building device to receive the one or more data samples and cause the computing system to communicate the one or more data samples to the cloud platform.”; Gavin et al (US 20180313564) teaches “connecting a building device to a server includes a building network device including a processing circuit configured to receive one or more point identifier values from the building device via a building network. Each of the one or more point identifier values identifies a data point of the building device. The processing circuit is configured to receive one or more rules for generating a communication model for the building device from one or more memory devices. The processing circuit is configured to generate the communication model for the building device based on the received one or more point identifier values and the received one or more rules, receive, via the building network, data for the data points from the building device, and send, via the second network, the received data for the data points to corresponding data points on the server based on the communication model.” Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CHARLES M SWIFT whose telephone number is (571)270-7756. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday: 9:30 AM - 7PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, April Blair can be reached at 5712701014. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /CHARLES M SWIFT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2196 Application/Control Number: 18/438,195 Page 2 Art Unit: 2196 Application/Control Number: 18/438,195 Page 3 Art Unit: 2196 Application/Control Number: 18/438,195 Page 4 Art Unit: 2196 Application/Control Number: 18/438,195 Page 5 Art Unit: 2196 Application/Control Number: 18/438,195 Page 6 Art Unit: 2196 Application/Control Number: 18/438,195 Page 7 Art Unit: 2196 Application/Control Number: 18/438,195 Page 8 Art Unit: 2196 Application/Control Number: 18/438,195 Page 9 Art Unit: 2196 Application/Control Number: 18/438,195 Page 10 Art Unit: 2196 Application/Control Number: 18/438,195 Page 11 Art Unit: 2196