Detailed Action
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pat. No. 11309294 to Yu et al. (Yu).
Regarding Claim 1, Yu teaches an apparatus, comprising:
a structure wafer 110;
a first die bonded 120 to the structure wafer by a bonding layer 118;
a first metallization structure 140 disposed below and electrically coupled to the first die opposite the structure wafer;
fill material 130 disposed between the structure wafer and the first metallization structure, wherein the fill material embeds the first die;
a second metallization structure 161 disposed on top of the structure wafer, wherein the second metallization structure comprises a second plurality of inorganic dielectric layers, a second plurality of metal layers disposed in the second plurality of inorganic dielectric layers, and a second plurality of vias configured to couple adjacent metal layers of the second plurality of metal layers through the second plurality of inorganic dielectric layers, wherein the second plurality of inorganic dielectric layers comprises at least one of silicon (Si), gallium arsenide (GaAs), silicon germanium (SiGe), silicon oxide, or silicon nitride 10-11:46-5;
a second die disposed 162 on top of the second metallization structure and electrically coupled to the second metallization structure by a plurality of die connectors 167; and
a plurality of through-substrate vias 119/170 configured to electrically couple the first metallization structure to the second metallization structure.
Regarding Claim 5, Yu teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first metallization structure further comprises:
a first plurality of dielectric layers;
a first plurality of metal layers disposed in the first plurality of dielectric layers; and
a first plurality of vias configured to couple adjacent metal layers of the first plurality of metal layers through the first plurality of dielectric layers 6-7:62-2.
Regarding Claims 6-8, Yu teaches the apparatus of claim 5, wherein the first plurality of dielectric layers comprises: inorganic dielectric layers, silicon (Si), gallium arsenide (GaAs), or silicon germanium (SiGe) or organic dielectric layers 7:3-14.
Regarding Claims 12 and 13, Yu teaches the apparatus of claim 1 wherein least one of the first metallization structure or the second metallization structure further comprises:
one or more integrated passive devices 171 such as one or more capacitors; one or more inductors; or combinations thereof (mere examples of passive devices).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu in view of U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 20250246566 to Li
Regarding Claims 2 and 3, Yu teaches apparatus of claim 1, wherein the plurality of die connectors comprises solder balls or hybrid bonding.
However, in analogous art, Yu teaches in [0018] that wirebonds, solder balls and hybrid bonds are known variants in the art. See MPEP 2144.06-07.
Regarding Claim 14, Yu teaches the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising:
the fill material each comprise an organic material 6:28-44 but does not explicitly teach
an organic die underfill disposed between the second die and the second metallization structure.
However, Li teaches that flip-chip/ solder balls and wire bonding are obvious variants. Yu teaches an underfill 169 in a flip-chip configuration for the benefit of rigidity. Li is generally silent regarding the material therefor, but does state it is dispensable and curable and the person of ordinary skill may select amongst such materials, the vast majority of which are well-known to be organic.
Claims 9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu.
Regarding Claim 9, Yu teaches the apparatus of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach that the first plurality of dielectric layers comprises: fiberglass impregnated with resin (prepreg), Ajinomoto build-up film (ABF), or a resin coated copper (RCC) build-up film.
However, Yu teaches in 7:3-14 a non-exhaustive exemplary list of potential materials “or the like.” The person of ordinary skill having the benefit of Yu may readily chose similar materials such as those listed as they are very well known, well understood and readily available to meet application specific requirements.
Regarding Claim 15, Yu teaches the apparatus of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach that wherein the apparatus comprises at least one of: a music player, a video player, an entertainment unit; a navigation device, a communications device, a mobile device, a mobile phone, a smartphone, a personal digital assistant, a fixed location terminal, a tablet computer, a computer, a wearable device, a laptop computer, a server, an internet of things (IoT) device, or a device in an automotive vehicle.
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing and having the benefit of Yu to use it any such application.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EVREN SEVEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812