DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 12-14, 16-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Braunisch(USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 2008/0150125, hereinafter Braunisch) in view of Panella (USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 2003/0193791, hereinafter Panella) and Su (USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 2003/0207326, hereinafter Su).
Re claim 1 Braunisch discloses a computing system comprising: a board assembly including a die(108/126) and a circuit board(104) electrically coupled to a first side(top/bottom) of the die(108/126); and a thermal dissipation assembly(118/202/116) thermally and electrically coupled to a second side(top/bottom) of the die(108/126), wherein the thermal dissipation assembly(118/202/116) is further electrically coupled to the voltage regulator.
Braunisch does not disclose a plurality of voltage regulators; wherein the thermal dissipation assembly(118/202/116) is further electrically coupled to the voltage regulator; wherein:the thermal dissipation assembly includes a vapor chamber;the computer system further comprises a plurality of copper plates thermally coupled to the vapor chamber; andindividual copper plates of the plurality of copper plates are electrically coupled to one or more individual voltage regulators of the plurality of voltage regulators to provide dedicated power delivery rails from the plurality of voltage regulators to a package substrate containing the die.
Panella disclose a voltage regulator(38 of Panella)[0257];
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Panella to the teachings of Braunisch in order to increases in the functionality and performance of integrated circuit (IC) devices while minimizing the size, weight, defects and cost of the IC devices[0004, Panella]. In doing so, wherein the thermal dissipation assembly(118/202/116) is further electrically coupled to the voltage regulator(38 of Panella).
Braunisch does not disclose wherein:the thermal dissipation assembly includes a vapor chamber;the computer system further comprises a plurality of copper plates thermally coupled to the vapor chamber; andindividual copper plates of the plurality of copper plates are electrically coupled to one or more individual voltage regulators of the plurality of voltage regulators to provide dedicated power delivery rails from the plurality of voltage regulators to a package substrate containing the die.
Su disclose wherein:the thermal dissipation assembly includes a vapor chamber[0057,0081];the computer system further comprises a plurality of copper plates [0077,0088] thermally coupled to the vapor chamber; andindividual copper plates of the plurality of copper plates are electrically coupled to one or more individual voltage regulators[0092] of the plurality of voltage regulators(260/355) to provide dedicated power delivery rails[0101] from the plurality of voltage regulators to a package substrate containing the die.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Su to the teachings of Braunisch in order to minimize laborious, expensive, inefficient and time-consuming process [0005, Su].
Re claim 2 Braunisch and Panella and Su disclose the computing system of claim 1, wherein the thermal dissipation assembly(118/202/116) provides a power delivery path from the voltage regulator(38 of Panella) to the second side(top/bottom) of the die(108/126).
Re claim 3 Braunisch and Panella and Su disclose the computing system of claim 2, wherein the thermal dissipation assembly(118/202/116) further provides a ground connection from the second side(top/bottom) of the die(108/126) to the voltage regulator(38 of Panella).
Re claim 4 Braunisch and Panella and Su disclose the computing system of claim 1, wherein the circuit board(104) provides a ground connection from the first side(top/bottom) of the die(108/126) to the voltage regulator(38 of Panella).
Re claim 5 Braunisch and Panella and Su disclose the computing system of claim 1, wherein the voltage regulator(38 of Panella) is mounted to the thermal dissipation assembly(118/202/116) or the circuit board(104).
Re claim 6 Braunisch and Panella and Su disclose the computing system of claim 1, further comprising a regulator board electrically coupled to the thermal dissipation assembly(118/202/116), wherein the voltage regulator(38 of Panella) is mounted to the regulator board.
Re claim 7 Braunisch and Panella and Su disclose the computing system of claim 1, further comprising: a plurality of signal contacts electrically coupled to the circuit board(104); and a package substrate(106/102) electrically coupled to the plurality of signal contacts and the first side(top/bottom) of the die(108/126); wherein the voltage regulator(38 of Panella) is mounted to the package substrate(106/102).
Re claim 8 Braunisch and Panella and Su disclose the computing system of claim 1, wherein the second side(top/bottom) of the die(108/126) includes a plurality of power contacts.
Re claim 12 Braunisch and Panella and Su disclose the computing system of claim 10, wherein a first end of the respective copper plates(plated copper)[0017] includes a pogo pin electrically coupled to the package substrate(106/102), and wherein a second end of the respective copper plates(plated copper)[0017] includes a spring clip that mates with a terminal of a charge storage device associated with the voltage regulator(38 of Panella).
Re claim 13 Braunisch and Panella and Su disclose the computing system of claim 10, further comprising: a thermally conductive adhesive positioned between the thermal dissipation assembly(118/202/116) and the plurality of copper plates(plated copper)[0017]; or a copper pedestal positioned between the vapor chamber and the second side(top/bottom) of the die(108/126).
Re claim 14 Braunisch discloses in Fig 1, rotated 180 degrees, an apparatus comprising: a board assembly including a die(108/126) and a circuit board(104) electrically coupled to a first side(top/bottom) of the die(108/126); a thermal dissipation assembly(118/202/116); and a plurality of copper plates(plated copper)[0017] and a package substrate(106/102) containing the die(108/126), wherein the plurality of copper plates(plated copper)[0017] are further thermally coupled to the thermal dissipation assembly(118/202/116).
Braunisch does not disclose wherein the circuit board(104) includes a plurality of voltage regulators; and a plurality of copper plates(plated copper)[0017] electrically coupled to the plurality of voltage regulators , and include at least one individual copper plate coupled to multiple voltage regulators of the plurality of voltage regulators, and individual copper plates of the plurality of copper plates provide power delivery rails from the voltage regulator to the package substrate.
Panella disclose wherein the circuit board(114)[0257] includes a voltage regulator(38 of Panella);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Panella to the teachings of Braunisch in order to increases in the functionality and performance of integrated circuit (IC) devices while minimizing the size, weight, defects and cost of the IC devices[0004, Panella]. In doing so, a thermal dissipation assembly(118/202/116); and a plurality of copper plates(plated copper)[0017] electrically coupled to the voltage regulator(38 of Panella) and a package substrate(106/102) containing the die(108/126),
Braunisch and Panella does not disclose a plurality of voltage regulators; and a plurality of copper plates(plated copper)[0017] electrically coupled to the plurality of voltage regulators, and include at least one individual copper plate coupled to multiple voltage regulators of the plurality of voltage regulators, and individual copper plates of the plurality of copper plates provide power delivery rails from the voltage regulator to the package substrate.
Su disclose a plurality of voltage regulators(260/355); and a plurality of copper plates [0077,0088] electrically coupled to the plurality of voltage regulators(260/355) , and include at least one individual copper plate coupled to multiple voltage regulators of the plurality of voltage regulators[0092], and individual copper plates of the plurality of copper plates provide power delivery rails[0101] from the voltage regulator to the package substrate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Su to the teachings of Braunisch in order to minimize laborious, expensive, inefficient and time-consuming process [0005, Su].
Re claim 16 Braunisch and Panella and Su disclose the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the respective copper plates(plated copper)[0017] include a pogo pin electrically coupled to the package substrate(106/102).
Re claim 17 Braunisch and Panella and Su disclose the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the respective copper plates(plated copper)[0017] include a spring clip that mates with a terminal of a charge storage device associated with the voltage regulator(38 of Panella).
Re claim 18 Braunisch and Panella and Su disclose the apparatus of claim 14, further comprising a thermally conductive adhesive positioned between the thermal dissipation assembly(118/202/116) and the plurality of copper plates(plated copper)[0017].
Re claim 19 Braunisch and Panella and Su disclose the apparatus of claim 14, further comprising a copper pedestal positioned between the thermal dissipation assembly(118/202/116) and a second side(top/bottom) of the die(108/126).
Re claim 20 Braunisch and Panella and Su disclose the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the thermal dissipation assembly(118/202/116) includes a vapor chamber.
Re claim 21 Braunisch and Panella and Su disclose the computing system of claim 1, wherein: at least one of the individual copper plates(plated copper)[0017] includes a common portion and multiple fingers that extend from the common portion; andeach of the multiple fingers is electrically coupled to a respective voltage regulator of the plurality of voltage regulators.
Re claim 22 Braunisch and Panella and Su disclose the computing system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of copper plates(plated copper)[0017] have a thermal conductivity that improves a cooling capability of the vapor chamber.
Re claim 23 Braunisch and Panella and Su disclose the computing system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of copper plates(plated copper)[0017] are contained within a perimeter of the vapor chamber.
Re claim 24 Braunisch and Panella and Su disclose the apparatus of claim 14, wherein: the at least one individual copper plate(plated copper)[0017] includes a common portion and multiple fingers that extend from the common portion; and each of the multiple fingers is electrically coupled to a respective voltage regulator of the multiple voltage regulators.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8, 12-14, 16-24 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICIA D VALENZUELA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812