DETAILED ACTION
Table of Contents
I. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 3
II. Election/Restrictions 3
III. Drawings 3
IV. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 4
A. Claims 11 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2024/0379782 (“Hsu”). 4
B. Claims 11 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2024/0290864 (“Ho”). 7
V. Allowable Subject Matter 9
VI. Pertinent Prior Art 11
Conclusion 12
[The rest of this page is intentionally left blank.]
I. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
II. Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention group II, claims 11-20, in the reply filed on 06/16/2026 is acknowledged.
III. Drawings
The drawings are objected to because they fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(3) which requires the minimum size of the text for reference characters be a minimum of 1/8th inch. Currently, the text size is about 1/16th inch. In addition, at least reference characters 702 and 704 are illegible as they are black text on dark grey background.
IV. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A. Claims 11 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2024/0379782 (“Hsu”).
With regard to claim 11, Hsu discloses,
11. A method comprising:
[1] forming a set of trenches 250 in a semiconductor structure 204/205 [¶¶ 14-16, 25; Figs. 5C, 6C];
[2] forming a first inner spacer [e.g. 255 on left sidewall of 210' on either gate stack 240 in Fig. 6C] and a second inner spacer [e.g. 255 on right sidewall of 210' on either gate stack 240 in Fig. 6C] in the set of trenches 250 [¶ 25];
[3a] forming a third inner spacer [e.g. 255 on left sidewall of 210 directly above 210' on either gate stack 240 in Fig. 6C] and a fourth inner spacer [e.g. 255 on right sidewall of 210 directly above 210' on either gate stack 240 in Fig. 6C] in the set of trenches 250 [¶ 25],
[3b] wherein the third inner spacer is disposed on the first inner spacer [as shown in Fig. 6C], and
[3c] wherein the fourth inner spacer is disposed on the second inner spacer [as shown in Fig. 6C]; and
[6a] forming a backside source/drain contact 282 in the set of trenches 250 [¶¶ 45-48; Figs. 19B and 20A-20B],
[6b] wherein an upper surface of the backside source/drain contact 282 is disposed above a bottom surface of the first inner spacer or the second inner spacer [see explanation below and annotated Fig. 20B], and
[6c] wherein the upper surface of the backside source/drain contact 282 is disposed below an upper surface of the third inner spacer or the fourth inner spacer [see explanation below and annotated Fig. 20B].
NOTE: Hsu shows the backside as the upper surface in Figs. 19B and 20A-20B, as explicitly stated in Fig. 20A. Features [6b] and [6c] of claim 11 have been interpreted by rotating Fig. 20B of Hsu by 180° in the plane of the page so that the backside becomes the lower surface, as consistent with the configuration of Figs. 1A-1C of the Instant Application, showing the backside as the lower surface. In addition, Fig. 20 of Hsu has been reproduced below, inverted and with annotations showing the inner spacers 255 relative to the backside source/drain contact 282.
As shown, the upper (curved) surface of 282 is (1) above the bottom surfaces of the first and second inner spacers 255, as required by feature [6b] and (2) below the upper surfaces of the third and fourth inner spacers 255, as required by feature [6c].
(Annotated version of Fig. 20B of Hsu)
This is all of the limitations of claim 11.
With regard to claim 15, Hsu further discloses,
15. The method of claim 11, further comprising:
[1] depositing a high-k 349 metal 340/350 gate material between the first inner spacer and the second inner spacer 255 [¶ 36; labeled in Fig. 13D and shown but not labeled in Fig. 20B]; and
[2] depositing the high-k metal gate material between the third inner spacer and the fourth inner spacer 255 [¶ 36; labeled in Fig. 13D and shown but not labeled in Fig. 20B].
B. Claims 11 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2024/0290864 (“Ho”).
With regard to claim 11, Ho discloses, generally in Figs. 17 through 24A,
11. A method comprising:
[1] forming a set of trenches 46A, 46B in a semiconductor structure 12/12'/22' [¶¶ 70, 73-74, 80; Figs. 18, 22];
[2] forming a first inner spacer [142A in Figs. 19-20 (¶¶ 75-77)] and a second inner spacer [142B in Figs. 21-23 (¶¶ 75-77)] in the set of trenches 46A, 46B [¶ ;
[3a] forming a third inner spacer [54 contacting 142A] and a fourth inner spacer [54 contacting 142B] in the set of trenches 46A, 46B,
[3b] wherein the third inner spacer [142B in Figs. 21-23 (¶¶ 75-77)] is disposed on the first inner spacer [142A in Figs. 19-20 (¶¶ 75-77)], and
[3c] wherein the fourth inner spacer [54 contacting 142B] is disposed on the second inner spacer [142B in Figs. 21-23 (¶¶ 75-77)]; and
[6a] forming a backside source/drain contact 134 in the set of trenches 46A, 46B [¶¶ 64, 85],
[6b] wherein an upper surface of the backside source/drain contact is disposed above a bottom surface of the first inner spacer [142A in Figs. 19-20 (¶¶ 75-77)] or the second inner spacer [142B in Figs. 21-23 (¶¶ 75-77)], and
[6c] wherein the upper surface of the backside source/drain contact is disposed below an upper surface of the third inner spacer [142A in Figs. 19-20 (¶¶ 75-77)] or the fourth inner spacer [54 contacting 142B].
NOTE: Ho shows the backside as the upper surface in Figs. 24A. Features [6b] and [6c] of claim 11 have been interpreted by rotating Fig. 24A of Ho by 180° in the plane of the page so that the backside becomes the lower surface, as consistent with the configuration of Figs. 1A-1C of the Instant Application, showing the backside as the lower surface. In addition, Fig. 24A of Ho has been reproduced below, inverted and with annotations showing the inner spacers 142A, 142B, 54 relative to the backside source/drain contact 134. Note, in addition, that the structure assigned reference character 16' in Fig. 24A is composed of 142A and 142B (Ho: ¶ 83)
As shown, the upper surface of 134 is (1) above the bottom surfaces of the first and second inner spacers 16'(142A/142B), as required by feature [6b] and (2) below the upper surfaces of the third and fourth inner spacers 54, as required by feature [6c].
(Annotated version of Fig. 24A of Ho)
This is all of the limitations of claim 11.
With regard to claim 15, Ho further discloses,
15. The method of claim 11, further comprising:
[1] depositing a high-k [78 (¶ 46)] metal [80L (¶¶ 47-48)] gate material between the first inner spacer [142A in Figs. 19-20 (¶¶ 75-77)] and the second inner spacer [142B in Figs. 21-23 (¶¶ 75-77)]; and
[2] depositing the high-k [78 (¶ 46)] metal [80L (¶¶ 47-48)] gate material between the third inner spacer 54 and the fourth inner spacer 54.
V. Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-14 and 16-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 12 reads,
12. The method of claim 11, wherein the semiconductor structure includes:
[1] a silicon substrate;
[2] a first sacrificial layer disposed on the silicon substrate, wherein the first sacrificial layer includes SiGe25%;
[3] a silicon layer disposed on the first sacrificial layer;
[4] a silicon etch stop layer disposed on the silicon layer, wherein the silicon etch stop includes SiGe55%;
[5] a second sacrificial layer disposed on the silicon etch stop;
[6] a first nanosheet layer disposed on the second sacrificial layer;
[7] a third sacrificial layer disposed on the first nanosheet layer;
[8] a second nanosheet layer disposed on the third sacrificial layer;
[9] a fourth sacrificial layer disposed on the second nanosheet layer; and
[10] a third nanosheet layer disposed on the fourth sacrificial layer.
With regard to claim 12, Hsu further discloses,
12. The method of claim 11, wherein the semiconductor structure includes:
[1] a silicon substrate 202 [¶ 14: “carrier 202 may be part of a silicon wafer”];
[2] a first sacrificial layer 203 disposed on the silicon substrate 202, wherein the first sacrificial layer includes … [an insulator, e.g. SiO2 (¶ 14)];
[3] a silicon layer 204 disposed on the first sacrificial layer 203 [¶ 14: “the semiconductor layer 204 can be silicon”];
[4] … [not taught] …
[5] … [not taught] …
[6] a first nanosheet layer 215 disposed on the second sacrificial layer;
[7] a third sacrificial layer 210 disposed on the first nanosheet layer;
[8] a second nanosheet layer 215 disposed on the third sacrificial layer;
[9] a fourth sacrificial layer 210 disposed on the second nanosheet layer; and
[10] a third nanosheet layer 215 disposed on the fourth sacrificial layer.
Hsu does not disclose that the first sacrificial layer 203 is SiGe 25% as required by feature [2] or either of features [4] and [5].
With regard to claim 12, Ho further discloses, generally in Fig. 18,
12. The method of claim 11, wherein the semiconductor structure includes:
[1] a silicon substrate 12 [¶¶ 70, 17];
[2] … [not taught] …
[3] … [not taught] …
[4] a silicon etch stop layer 24B disposed on the silicon …[substrate 12]…, wherein the silicon etch stop includes SiGe55% [¶ 71; ¶ 35: “In some embodiments where the dummy nanostructures 24B are formed of germanium or silicon germanium with a high germanium atomic percentage, …”];
[5] a second sacrificial layer 24A disposed on the silicon etch stop 24B;
[6] a first nanosheet layer 26L disposed on the second sacrificial layer 24A;
[7] a third sacrificial layer 24A disposed on the first nanosheet layer 26L;
[8] a second nanosheet layer 26L disposed on the third sacrificial layer 24A;
[9] a fourth sacrificial layer 24A disposed on the second nanosheet layer 26L; and
[10] a third nanosheet layer 26L disposed on the fourth sacrificial layer 24A.
Thus, Ho does not disclose the layers of the substrate required by features [2] ad [3].
In the context of the process, the prior art does not reasonably teach or suggest—in the context of the claims—the semiconductor structure including the limitations recited in features [2], [4], or [5] or in [2] or [3].
Claims 13, 14, and 16-20 would be allowable for including the same allowable limitations by depending from claim 12, either directly or indirectly.
VI. Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2025/0212455 (“Liu”) is cited for disclosing at least all of the limitations of claim 11 for similar reasons to those explained above in the rejection over Hsu. See Figs. 24-27 and associated text.
US 2025/0194154 (“Qin”) is cited for disclosing at least all of the limitations of claim 11. See at least Figs. 10A-10C through 12A-12C for the first through fourth inner spacer formation and Figs. 14A-14C through 17A-17C for the backside source/drain contact, as well as the associated text.
US 2021/0043727 (“Frougier”) is cited for disclosing a process of forming vertically- stacked, directly-contacting inner spacer pairs, e.g. 121(=141/142a). See Figs. 1A, 2A, and 3, for structural variations and Figs. 4 through 19 for the process, as associated text. However, no backside source/drain contact is formed.
Conclusion
Signed,
/ERIK KIELIN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2814