DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
This office action is responsive to the Application No.: 18/438,898 filed on 02/12/2024 (Priority Date: 02/13/2023).
This action has been made NON-FINAL.
Examiner Remarks
In the spirit of compact prosecution, Applicant is requested to contact the Examiner for an interview to discuss the inventive concepts of the instant application. Applicant may optionally amend the claims to further direct the claims toward a particular inventive concept described in the specification without an interview.
Additionally, the prior art rejection (if applicable) cites particular paragraphs, columns, and/or line numbers in the references for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/25/2025; 08/15/2024; 04/29/2024 is being considered by the examiner. A signed IDS is hereby attached.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 and 24-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 and 24 recites “determining …”. However, the is silent in providing exactly how the determination is made. Therefore, this claim is rendered as indefinite
Claims 1 and 24 recites “which needs to be applied to triangles”. The use of the term “needs to be” indicates that the action may or may not execute. Therefore, this claim limitation is rendered as indefinite. The examiner suggests for the claim to recite more definite claim language such as “which is applied to triangles”.
Claim 16 and 39 recites “determining …”. However, the is silent in providing exactly how the determination is made. Therefore, this claim is rendered as indefinite.
The dependent claims are rejected for depending upon rejected base claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16 and 24-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hemmer, US 20230386091.
Claim 1:
Hemmer discloses a computer-implemented method of performing progressive mesh compression of computer-generated three-dimensional models (See Hemmer Figure 3; Title; Abstract; Technical Field; Summary of Invention; Paragraph 0004), the method comprising:
obtaining an initial mesh (See Hemmer Paragraph 0035; 00391; 0076) for a three-dimensional model (See Hemmer Paragraph 00352; 0039; 0076);
encoding the initial mesh (See Hemmer Paragraphs 0028-0029; 0031; 0069; 0084-0087) into an intermediate symbol stream (See Hemmer 0108-0109; 0118);
determining that a subsequent mesh has vertices which is a superset of the vertices (See Hemmer Paragraphs 0039-00413) of at least one mesh adjacent the subsequent mesh (See Hemmer Paragraph 00414);
responsive to determining that the subsequent mesh is a superset of at least one mesh adjacent the subsequent mesh (See Hemmer Paragraph 00415), determining operators which need to be applied to triangles, edges, or vertices of the subsequent mesh (See Hemmer Figure 3; Paragraphs 0076; 0085-0087; 0097-01006), wherein applying the operators in sequence to the subsequent mesh produces a progressive mesh (See Hemmer Figure 3; Paragraphs 0076; 0085-0087; 0097-01007);
and encoding the operators to the subsequent mesh in sequence (See Hemmer Paragraphs 00048; 0076; 0085-0087; 0097-0100) into the intermediate symbol stream (See Hemmer 0108-0109; 0118).
Claim 2:
Hemmer discloses wherein the triangles of the subsequent mesh are traversed in an order derived from the subsequent mesh (See Hemmer Paragraphs 0041; 01539).
Claim 3:
Hemmer discloses wherein the initial mesh is compressed using an existing compression method (See Hemmer Paragraphs 0145; 0153; 0159; 0164), and wherein the triangles of the subsequent mesh are traversed in an order (See Hemmer Paragraphs 0041; 015310) based on the existing compression method (See Hemmer Paragraphs 0145; 0153; 0159; 0164).
Claim 4:
Hemmer discloses wherein at least one of the operators (See Hemmer Paragraphs 000411; 0076; 0085-0087; 0097-0100) includes adding quantization bits for a vertex of a triangle of the subsequent mesh (See Hemmer Paragraph 0152).
Claim 5:
Hemmer discloses wherein at least one of the operators (See Hemmer Paragraphs 000412; 0076; 0085-0087; 0097-0100) includes adding a vertex or moving a vertex (See Hemmer Paragraph 011213).
Claim 6:
Hemmer discloses encoding coordinates of an added or moved vertex (See Hemmer Paragraph 011214) as a difference between the coordinates of the added or moved vertex and predicted coordinates calculated using a prediction function (See Hemmer Paragraph 011215).
Claim 7:
Hemmer discloses wherein an (X,Y) coordinate pair of the predicted coordinates is calculated based on a normal map using a previous mesh (See Hemmer Paragraph 011216-011317; 0143).
Claim 8:
Hemmer discloses wherein the (X,Y) coordinate pair of the predicted coordinates is identified based on a local maximum of the normal map (See Hemmer Paragraph 0112-0113; 0143).
Claim 9:
Hemmer discloses wherein an (X,Y) coordinate pair of the predicted coordinates is calculated based on a center of a triangle of the subsequent mesh (See Hemmer Paragraph 011218-0113; 0143).
Claim 10:
Hemmer discloses wherein at least one of the operators includes adding multiple vertices (See Hemmer Figure 3; Paragraphs 0076; 0085-0087; 0097-010019), wherein the method further comprises encoding coordinates (See Hemmer Paragraphs 0118-0123) of each added vertex (See Hemmer Paragraph 011220) as a difference between the coordinates of the added vertex and predicted coordinates (See Hemmer Paragraph 0112-011321), wherein the predicted coordinates are determined by splitting a triangle (See Hemmer Paragraphs 0107-0109) into two or more sub-triangles and using (X,Y) coordinates for centers of each of the two or more sub-triangles (See Hemmer Paragraphs 0107-0109) as the predicted coordinates (See Hemmer Paragraph 0112-011322).
Claim 11:
Hemmer discloses wherein a Z-coordinate of the predicted coordinates is calculated based on a three-dimensional spline over existing vertices of the subsequent mesh (See Hemmer Paragraph 0112-011323).
Claim 12:
Hemmer discloses wherein a Z-coordinate of the predicted coordinates is calculated using Bezier triangles and/or N-patches (See Hemmer Paragraphs 0032; 0052; 0082).
Claim 13:
Hemmer discloses wherein a Z-coordinate of the predicted coordinates is calculated based on a normal map (See Hemmer Paragraph 0112-011324).
Claim 14:
Hemmer discloses encoding the operators applied to the subsequent mesh using at least one entropy encoding method (See Hemmer Paragraphs 0118-0123).
Claim 15:
Hemmer discloses wherein the at least one entropy encoding method (See Hemmer Paragraphs 0118-0123) comprises Huffman encoding, arithmetic coding, or one of the asymmetric numeral systems (ANS) family of entropy encoding methods (See Hemmer Paragraphs 0118-0123 Note: Hemmer’s teachings in Paragraphs 0118-0123 is equivalent to the Applicant’s recitation of “arithmetic coding”).
Claim 16:
Hemmer discloses determining that a second subsequent mesh is not a superset of at least one mesh adjacent the second subsequent mesh (See Hemmer Paragraph 004125); and responsive to determining that the second subsequent mesh is not a superset of at least one mesh adjacent the second subsequent mesh (See Hemmer Paragraph 004126), encoding the second subsequent mesh (See Hemmer Paragraphs 0118-0123) using a non-incremental mesh compression method (See Hemmer Paragraphs 0145; 0153; 0159; 0164).
Claims 24-39:
Claims 24-39 are rejected on the same basis as claims 1-16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hemmer, US 20230386091 in view of CHEN, 20230298271.
Claim 17:
Hemmer failed to explicitly disclose an Edgebreaker compression method. However, CHEN discloses this feature in paragraph 0050. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Hemmer by the teachings of CHEN to enable improved compressions methods such as Edgebreaker compression to generate an integrated mesh model, more effectively (See CHEN Abstract).
As modified:
The combination of Hemmer and CHEN discloses wherein the non-incremental mesh compression method comprises an Edgebreaker compression method (See CHEN Paragraph 0050).
Claim 40:
Claim 40 is rejected on the same basis as claim 17.
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20200265552 discloses a cost-driven framework for progressive compression of textured meshes within the electronic environment.
Contact Information
/SHEREE N BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2612 January 27, 2026
1 Paragraph 0039 of Hemmer recites “The first mesh data 132 represents the triangular mesh that defines the geometry of the approximation to the surface. The mesh includes vertices, edges connecting the vertices, and triangular faces defined by the edges. As shown in FIG. 1, the first mesh data 134 includes vertex position data 135, connectivity data 136, and edge data 137.”
2 Paragraph 0035 of Hemmer recites “compress data associated with a triangular mesh representing a three-dimensional object.”
3 Paragraph 0039 of Hemmer recites “The mesh includes vertices, edges connecting the vertices, and triangular faces defined by the edges.”
4 Paragraph 0041 of Hemmer recites “adjacency of the mesh.”
5 Paragraph 0041 of Hemmer recites “adjacency of the mesh.”
6 Paragraph 0098 of Hemmer recites “mesh decimation operations are performed using batches of independent edge collapse operators sorted in a priority queue.”
7 Paragraph 0098 of Hemmer recites “mesh decimation operations are performed using batches of independent edge collapse operators sorted in a priority queue.”
8 Paragraph 0004 of Hemmer recites “encoding operations on the respective mesh LODs of a sequence of LODs of the plurality to produce a sequence of single-rate encoded mesh LODs, the single-rate encoded mesh LODs, when combined with an encoding of corresponding texture image LODs, forming an efficient compression of the data.”
9 Paragraph 0153 of Hemmer recites “The triplets are arranged in an order for traversal of the mesh. Such triplets then provide an ordering of the triangular faces for traversal and an orientation of each triangular face.”
10 Paragraph 0153 of Hemmer recites “The triplets are arranged in an order for traversal of the mesh. Such triplets then provide an ordering of the triangular faces for traversal and an orientation of each triangular face.”
11 Paragraph 0004 of Hemmer recites “encoding operations on the respective mesh LODs of a sequence of LODs of the plurality to produce a sequence of single-rate encoded mesh LODs, the single-rate encoded mesh LODs, when combined with an encoding of corresponding texture image LODs, forming an efficient compression of the data.”
12 Paragraph 0004 of Hemmer recites “encoding operations on the respective mesh LODs of a sequence of LODs of the plurality to produce a sequence of single-rate encoded mesh LODs, the single-rate encoded mesh LODs, when combined with an encoding of corresponding texture image LODs, forming an efficient compression of the data.”
13 Paragraph 0112 of Hemmer recites “… relocating each vertex to the center of a smaller cell in a denser lattice. Predicting the new locations may be accomplished by generating a distance to a centroid of neighboring vertices of a cell of a parent lattice”
14 Paragraph 0112 of Hemmer recites “… relocating each vertex to the center of a smaller cell in a denser lattice. Predicting the new locations may be accomplished by generating a distance to a centroid of neighboring vertices of a cell of a parent lattice”
15 Paragraph 0112 of Hemmer recites “… relocating each vertex to the center of a smaller cell in a denser lattice. Predicting the new locations may be accomplished by generating a distance to a centroid of neighboring vertices of a cell of a parent lattice”
16 Paragraph 0112 of Hemmer recites “… relocating each vertex to the center of a smaller cell in a denser lattice. Predicting the new locations may be accomplished by generating a distance to a centroid of neighboring vertices of a cell of a parent lattice”
17 Paragraph 0113 of Hemmer discloses “The UV texture atlas coordinates may be predicted similarly to a parallelogram prediction, which uses the XYZ and UV coordinates of the triangle vertices to predict new texture coordinates.”
18 Paragraph 0112 of Hemmer recites “… relocating each vertex to the center of a smaller cell in a denser lattice. Predicting the new locations may be accomplished by generating a distance to a centroid of neighboring vertices of a cell of a parent lattice”
19 Paragraph 0098 of Hemmer recites “mesh decimation operations are performed using batches of independent edge collapse operators sorted in a priority queue.”
20 Paragraph 0112 of Hemmer recites “… relocating each vertex to the center of a smaller cell in a denser lattice. Predicting the new locations may be accomplished by generating a distance to a centroid of neighboring vertices of a cell of a parent lattice”
21 Paragraph 0113 of Hemmer discloses “The UV texture atlas coordinates may be predicted similarly to a parallelogram prediction, which uses the XYZ and UV coordinates of the triangle vertices to predict new texture coordinates.”
22 Paragraph 0113 of Hemmer discloses “The UV texture atlas coordinates may be predicted similarly to a parallelogram prediction, which uses the XYZ and UV coordinates of the triangle vertices to predict new texture coordinates.”
23 Paragraph 0113 of Hemmer discloses “The UV texture atlas coordinates may be predicted similarly to a parallelogram prediction, which uses the XYZ and UV coordinates of the triangle vertices to predict new texture coordinates.”
24 Paragraph 0113 of Hemmer discloses “The UV texture atlas coordinates may be predicted similarly to a parallelogram prediction, which uses the XYZ and UV coordinates of the triangle vertices to predict new texture coordinates.”
25 Paragraph 0041 of Hemmer recites “adjacency of the mesh.”
26 Paragraph 0041 of Hemmer recites “adjacency of the mesh.”