DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-5 and 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zheng et al. (US Pub 2024/0179667).
As of claims 1, 9 and 14, Zheng discloses an apparatus comprising:
at least one processor (via a processor; see paragraph [0275]); and
at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus, which is configured to perform side link positioning with another apparatus (via a memory; see claim 17), at least to perform:
transmitting, to the other apparatus, an indication that a side link positioning reference signal (SL PRS) resource transmission, which the apparatus is configured to transmit, comprises at least one de-modulation reference signal (DMRS) symbol (see paragraph [0122], “ when the first resource is determined from the PSSCH resource set, in addition to the SL PRS, other information related to the SL PRS is further transmitted on the first resource, for example, at least one of PSSCH DMRS; first SCI used for the decoding of a PSSCH; second SCI used to indicate a transmission parameter and/or positioning information of the SL PRS; dedicated information, a MAC CE, and/or RRC signaling; data information indicating positioning information, and the like, so that the second terminal configured to receive the first resource may accurately learn a location and positioning information of the SL PRS”); and
generating a sequence of a SL PRS resource transmission comprising:
a SL PRS sequence; and a DMRS sequence comprising at least one DMRS symbol (via multiplexing the DMRS and SL PRS; see fig. 10; also see paragraph [0133]; and
transmitting the sequence of the SL PRS resource transmission at least to the other apparatus (see paragraph [0122], “ when the first resource is determined from the PSSCH resource set, in addition to the SL PRS, other information related to the SL PRS is further transmitted on the first resource, for example, at least one of PSSCH DMRS; first SCI used for the decoding of a PSSCH; second SCI used to indicate a transmission parameter and/or positioning information of the SL PRS; dedicated information, a MAC CE, and/or RRC signaling; data information indicating positioning information, and the like, so that the second terminal configured to receive the first resource may accurately learn a location and positioning information of the SL PRS”).
As of claims 4 and 10, Zheng discloses the step of transmitting the sequence of the SL PRS resource transmission on a shared resource pool (via transmitting the SL PRS and DMRS on the first resource; see fig. 10; also see paragraph [0115] and [0122]).
As of claims 5 and 13, Zheng discloses transmitting, to the other apparatus, an indication on a position of the at least one DMRS symbol in the sequence of the SL PRS resource transmission (via disclosing that the first SCI is used for decoding of a PSSCH; see paragraph [0115]).
As of claim 11, Zheng discloses performing a side link positioning measurement based on the SL PRS resource transmission (via second terminal performing side link positioning measurement; see paragraph [0122]).
As of claim 12, Zheng discloses combining the received DMRS sequence with the received SL PRS sequence to a combined SL PRS sequence; and determining position of the apparatus based on the combined SL PRS sequence (via determining position of the second terminal by combining the SL PRS and DMRS sequence; see paragraph [0122]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al. (US Pub 2024/0179667) in view of OPPO (Discussion of Potential salutation for SL positioning, R1-2206289, as presented in the IDS).
As of claims 6-7, Zheng discloses all the limitation of the claimed invention as mentioned in claim 1 above, however it does not explicitly disclose that the DMRS sequence and the SL PRS sequence are generated using same or similar sequence initialization equation and the DMRS sequence and the SL PRS sequence are generated using a DMRS sequence initialization equation.
Oppo discloses that the it is known in the art that the DMRS and SL PRS are generated using a same or similar sequence initialization equation (see section 2.2, pages 3-4).
From the teaching of Oppo it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the system of Zheng to generate DMRS and SLPRS sequence as taught by Oppo in order to facilitate easier tracking of channel characteristics.
As of claim 8, Zheng discloses that the DMRS sequence is generated using a first identity value and the SL PRS sequence is generated using a second identity value (Zheng discloses that the SP PRS sequence initialization ID is determined based on CRC information of the first stage SCI (see paragraph [0141]). Zheng further discloses that the need to reduce interference to the SL PRS (see paragraph [0050]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to utilize different ID to the generation of the DMRS sequence to reduce the interference.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/NABIL H SYED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686