DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 1, represented by figure 5, corresponding to claims 1-4, 7-15 and 17, in the reply filed on 07/09/2026, is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9, 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “the first blocking portion”. It is not clear which blocking portion from the plurality of the first blocking portion is the limitation referring to. Therefore, the claim is indefinite. For the purpose of examination claim 9 will be interpreted as: The display panel according to claim 8, wherein the plurality of first blocking portions are arranged side by side along the first direction and each first blocking portion of the plurality of first blocking portions is a strip and extends along the second direction.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “the first metal line” and “the first blocking portion”. It is not clear which first metal line and which first blocking portion from the plurality of the first meta lines and the firsts blocking portions, respectively, is the limitation referring to. Therefore, the claim is indefinite. For the purpose of examination claim 10 will be interpreted as: The display panel according to claim 7, wherein the array substrate comprises a first metal layer, the first blocking layer and the first metal layer are arranged in a same layer, the first metal layer comprises a plurality of first metal lines; an orthographic projection of the pixel electrode in the thickness direction of the display panel at least partially overlaps an orthographic projection of one of the first metal line of the plurality of first metal lines in the thickness direction of the display panel; the plurality of first metal lines are arranged side by side along the first direction; a first gap is provided between one of the first blocking portion of the plurality of first blocking portions and the one of the first metal line.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “the first blocking portion”. It is not clear which blocking portion from the plurality of the first blocking portion is the limitation referring to. Therefore, the claim is indefinite. For the purpose of examination claim 9 will be interpreted as: The display panel according to claim 7, wherein the array substrate further comprises a second blocking layer, the second blocking layer comprises a second blocking portion for blocking the laser light, an orthographic projection of one of the first blocking portion of the plurality of first blocking portions and the second blocking portion in the thickness direction of the display panel overlaps an orthographic projection of the second electrode in the thickness direction of the display panel, and the one of first blocking portion is closer to the second electrode layer than the second blocking portion in the thickness direction of the display panel; the second blocking layer is reused as an electrostatic shielding layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shim et al., (United States Patent Application Publication Number, US 2022/0140014 A1), hereinafter referenced as Shim.
Regarding claim 14, Shim teaches a display panel, comprising: an array substrate, wherein the array substrate comprises a first blocking layer (Fig.10, substrate #110 and blocking layer #400), and the first blocking layer comprises a first through hole (Fig.10, hole corresponding to opening TA); a first electrode layer located on a side of the array substrate, wherein the first electrode layer comprises a pixel electrode (Fig.10, element #221a); a pixel definition layer located on a side of the first electrode layer away from the array substrate, wherein the pixel definition layer comprises an isolation portion and a pixel opening surrounded by the isolation portion (Fig.10, element #119); a second electrode layer located on a side of the pixel definition layer away from the array substrate, wherein the second electrode layer comprises a second electrode and an opening (Fig.10, element #223a), the second electrode comprises a body portion and an edge portion arranged as extending from the body portion and toward the opening (Fig.10, the body portion is the horizontal portion on top of the pixel definition layer, and the edge potion is the sloped portion on the left side of the pixel isolation layer); wherein an orthographic projection of the first through hole in a thickness direction of the display panel overlaps an orthographic projection of the opening in the thickness direction of the display panel (Fig.10, the through hole and the opening are the same size and overlap in region TA), a distance between the edge portion and the first blocking layer in the thickness direction of the display panel is less than a distance between the body portion and the first blocking layer in the thickness direction of the display panel (Fig.10, the blocking layer is closer from the edge portion as compared to the body portion, portions as defined above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al., (Chinese Patent Publication Number, CN 114220930A) hereinafter referenced as Huang, in view of Cao et al., (Chinese Patent Publication Number, CN 112802975A) hereinafter referenced as Cao.
Regarding claim 1, Huang teaches a display panel, comprising: an array substrate (Fig.1, formed by elements #1 and #2); a first electrode layer located on a side of the array substrate and comprising a pixel electrode (Fig.1, element #411); a pixel definition layer located on a side of the first electrode layer away from the array substrate and comprising an isolation portion, a pixel opening defined by the isolation portion and an opening hole located at the isolation portion (Fig.1, element #3 has both a pixel opening and an opening hole), and at least a part of the array substrate exposed from the opening hole (Fig.1, pixel definition layer opening hole located on the right side of the figure exposes the substrate); a second electrode layer located on a side of the pixel definition layer away from the array substrate, the second electrode layer comprising a second electrode (Fig.1, element #412).
Huang does not teach the second electrode comprising an opening. Cao teaches the second electrode comprising an opening (Fig.5, element #220 comprises an opening, element #170). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Cao and disclose the second electrode comprising an opening. As disclosed by Cao, the opening of the second electrode can be filled with a conductor with better electrical conductivity (Fig.5, element #140) which is capable of transmitting a uniform driving signal across the entire area of the display (page 4, second to last paragraph).
Huang further teaches the second electrode comprising a body portion (Fig.1, top horizontal portion of element #412 located on the left side of the left pixel definition layer opening) and an edge portion extending from the body portion and toward the opening (Fig.1, sloped portion of element #412, extending from the top horizontal part to the bottom surface of the opening), and the edge portion contacts the at least a part of the array substrate exposed by the opening hole (Fig.1, the edge portion as defined above contacts the top surface of element #2).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Huang and Cao teaches the display panel of claim 1 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Huang teaches the display panel according to claim 1, wherein the opening hole of the pixel definition layer penetrates through the isolation portion (Fig.1, opening hole penetrates through element #3), and the edge portion is located within the opening hole and is adhered to the at least a part of the array substrate exposed from the opening hole (Fig.1, and the edge portion as defined in the rejection of claim 1 adheres to element #2 of the substrate).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Huang and Cao teaches the display panel of claim 1 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Huang teaches the display panel according to claim 1, wherein the array substrate comprises a planarization layer, at least a part of the planarization layer is exposed from the opening hole, and the edge portion contacts the at least a part of the planarization layer exposed from the opening hole (Fig.5, element #2) .
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Huang and Cao teaches the display panel of claim 1 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Cao further teaches a display device, comprising the display panel according to claim 1 (summary of the invention).
Claims 2, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang, in view of Cao and in view of Xu et al., (United States Patent Publication Number, US 2020/0106048 A1) hereinafter referenced as Xu.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Huang and Cao teaches the display panel of claim 1 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Huang teaches the body portion of the second electrode contacts the pixel definition layer (Fig.1, top horizontal portion of element #412 located on the left side of the left pixel definition layer opening) and the edge portion of the second electrode contacts the substrate (Fig.1, the edge portion as defined in the rejection of claim 1 contacts the top surface of element #2). Huang does not teach an adhesion force between the edge portion of the second electrode and the at least a part of the array substrate exposed from the opening hole is greater than an adhesion force between the body portion and the pixel definition layer; the pixel electrode is formed by a wet etching process.
Cao teaches the second electrode is made of a common metal (aluminum, page 3, paragraph 6), the pixel definition layer may include organic material (polyimide, page 4, paragraph 3) and the material of the top layer of the substrate includes an inorganic material (silicon nitride or silicon oxide, page 4, first paragraph). Xu teaches that the adhesion force between a conventional metal (second electrode, element #60 is made of metal) and an inorganic material (element #27 is made of silicon oxide or nitride, paragraph [0038], rows 1-3) is greater than the adhesion force between a conventional metal and an organic material (pixel definition layer, element #41 is made of polyimide, paragraph [0049], rows 11-13 and paragraph 6, rows 10-14). Therefore, since the body portion of the second electrode contacts the pixel definition layer which is made of organic material, and the edge portion of the second electrode is in contact with the substrate which is an inorganic material, the combination of Cao and Xu teaches an adhesion force between the edge portion of the second electrode and the at least a part of the array substrate exposed from the opening hole is greater than an adhesion force between the body portion and the pixel definition layer. It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Cao and Xu and disclose an adhesion force between the edge portion of the second electrode and the at least a part of the array substrate exposed from the opening hole is greater than an adhesion force between the body portion and the pixel definition layer. As disclosed by Xu, this mitigates the problem of easy peeling between film layers due to poor adhesion (paragraph [0006], rows 16-20).
The limitation “the pixel electrode is formed by a wet etching process” is being treated as a product by process, and as such only the structure is required to meet the limitations (MPEP 2113) .
Regarding claim 12, Huang teaches a display panel, comprising: an array substrate (Fig.1, formed by elements #1 and #2); a first electrode layer located on a side of the array substrate and comprising a pixel electrode (Fig.1, element #411); a pixel definition layer located on a side of the first electrode layer away from the array substrate and comprising an isolation portion and a pixel opening surrounded by the isolation portion (Fig.1, element #3); a second electrode layer located on a side of the pixel definition layer away from the array substrate and comprising a second electrode (Fig.1, element #412);
Huang does not teach the second electrode comprising an opening. Cao teaches the second electrode comprising an opening (Fig.5, element #220 comprises an opening, element #170). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Cao and disclose the second electrode comprising an opening. As disclosed by Cao, the opening of the second electrode can be filled with a conductor with better electrical conductivity (Fig.5, element #140) which is capable to transmit ad uniform driving signal across the entire area of the display (page 4, second to last paragraph).
Huang further teaches wherein the second electrode comprises a body portion (Fig.1, top horizontal portion of element #412 located on the left side of the left pixel definition layer opening) and an edge portion arranged as extending from the body portion and toward the opening (Fig.1, sloped portion of element #412, extending from the top horizontal part to the bottom surface of the opening), the body portion contacts the pixel definition layer (Fig.1, body portion as defined above contacts element #3), the edge portion contacts the array substrate or the pixel definition layer (Fig.1, the edge portion as defined above contacts the top surface of element #2).
Huang does not teach an adhesion force between the edge portion and the array substrate or the pixel definition layer is greater than an adhesion force between the body portion and the pixel definition layer. Cao teaches the second electrode is made of a common metal (aluminum, page 3, paragraph 6), the pixel definition layer may include organic material (polyimide, page 4, paragraph 3) and the material of the top layer of the substrate includes an inorganic material (silicon nitride or silicon oxide, page 4, first paragraph). Xu teaches that the adhesion force between a conventional metal (second electrode, element #60 is made of metal) and an inorganic material (element #27 is made of silicon oxide or nitride, paragraph [0038], rows 1-3) is greater than the adhesion force between a conventional metal and an organic material (pixel definition layer, element #41 is made of polyimide, paragraph [0049], rows 11-13 and paragraph 6, rows 10-14). Therefore, since the body portion of the second electrode contacts the pixel definition layer which is made of organic material, and the edge portion of the second electrode contacts the substrate which is an inorganic material, the combination of Cao and Xu teaches an adhesion force between the edge portion of the second electrode and the at least a part of the array substrate exposed from the opening hole is greater than an adhesion force between the body portion and the pixel definition layer. It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Cao and Xu and disclose an adhesion force between the edge portion and the array substrate or the pixel definition layer is greater than an adhesion force between the body portion and the pixel definition layer. As disclosed by Xu, this mitigates the problem of easy peeling between film layers due to poor adhesion (paragraph [0006], rows 16-20).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Huang, Cao and Xu teaches the display panel of claim 12 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Huang teaches the display panel according to claim 12, wherein the array substrate comprises a planarization layer (Fig.1, element #2), the pixel definition layer further comprises an opening hole located at the isolation portion, at least a part of the planarization layer is exposed by the opening hole (Fig.1, element #3 has an opening at the right side of the figure which exposes element #2) the edge portion contacts the at least a part of the planarization layer exposed by the opening hole (Fig.1, the edge portion as defined in the rejection of claim 12, contacts the top surface of element #2), and an adhesive force between the edge portion and the planarization layer is greater than the adhesive force between the body portion and the pixel definition layer (see rejection of claim 12).
Claims 7-9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang, in view of Cao, and in view of Ma et al., (United States Patent Publication Number, US 2022/0302420 A1,) hereinafter referenced as Ma.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Huang and Cao teaches the display panel of claim 1 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. The combination of Huang and Cao does not teach the display panel according to claim 1, wherein the array substrate comprises a first blocking layer, the first blocking layer comprises a plurality of first blocking portions for blocking laser light and a first through hole that allows the laser light to pass through; an orthographic projection of the first through hole in a thickness direction of the display panel overlaps an orthographic projection of the opening of the second electrode layer in the thickness direction of the display panel. Ma teaches wherein the array substrate comprises a first blocking layer (Fig.7, element #BL1), the first blocking layer comprises a plurality of first blocking portions for blocking laser light (Fig.5, the blocking portions are strips along vertical direction, with a width equal to the minimum horizontal width of the blocking layer BL), and a first through hole that allows the laser light to pass through (Fig.5, element #OPN); an orthographic projection of the first through hole in a thickness direction of the display panel overlaps an orthographic projection of the opening of the second electrode layer in the thickness direction of the display panel (Fig.11C, the orthographic projection of the through hole in element #BL1 overlaps with the an orthographic projection of the opening of second electrode, element #270). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Ma and disclose wherein the array substrate comprises a first blocking layer, the first blocking layer comprises a plurality of first blocking portions for blocking laser light and a first through hole that allows the laser light to pass through; an orthographic projection of the first through hole in a thickness direction of the display panel overlaps an orthographic projection of the opening of the second electrode layer in the thickness direction of the display panel. As disclosed by Ma, the blocking layer prevents the light from being diffracted around the opening thus preventing the deterioration of the display performance (paragraph [0084], rows 7-10).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Huang and Cao teaches the display panel of claim 1 as set forth in the obviousness rejection and the combination of Huang, Cao and Ma teaches the display panel of claim 7 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. The combination of Huang and Cao does not teach the display panel according to claim 7, wherein a plurality of pixel openings are distributed in an array along a first direction and a second direction, the first direction is a row direction, the second direction is a column direction, and the first direction is perpendicular to the second direction, the opening hole is arranged as extending along the second direction; and the opening hole is arranged between two adjacent columns of the pixel openings. Ma teaches a plurality of pixel openings are distributed in an array along a first direction and a second direction (Fig.5, pixel opening are distributed, along horizontal and vertical direction, each pixel area has a pixel opening, see Fig.7), the first direction is a row direction, the second direction is a column direction and the first direction is perpendicular to the second direction (Fig.5, horizontal and vertical directions are perpendicular, the display has rows and columns), the opening hole is arranged as extending along the second direction and the opening hole is arranged between two adjacent columns of the pixel openings (Fig.5 opening holes #OPN extend along vertical direction and are arranged between two columns). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Ma and disclose wherein a plurality of pixel openings are distributed in an array along a first direction and a second direction, the first direction is a row direction, the second direction is a column direction, and the first direction is perpendicular to the second direction, the opening hole is arranged as extending along the second direction; and the opening hole is arranged between two adjacent columns of the pixel openings. A display with pixel openings distributed in an array of rows and columns is well known in the art and the opening hole being arranged between two adjacent columns is a matter of design.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Huang and Cao teaches the display panel of claim 1 as set forth in the obviousness rejection and the combination of Huang, Cao and Ma teaches the display panel of claims 7 and 8 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Ma further teaches the display panel according to claim 8, wherein the plurality of first blocking portions are arranged side by side along the first direction and each first blocking portion of the plurality of first blocking portions is a strip and extends along the second direction (the first blocking portions as defined in the rejection of claim 7 are strips that extends along vertical direction). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Ma and disclose wherein the plurality of first blocking portions are arranged side by side along the first direction and each first blocking portion of the plurality of first blocking portions is a strip and extends along the second direction. As disclosed by Ma, the blocking portions prevent the light from entering the pixel areas and therefore need to be disposed under the pixel openings, which define the pixel array extending in both first and second direction.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Huang and Cao teaches the display panel of claim 1 as set forth in the obviousness rejection and the combination of Huang, Cao and Ma teaches the display panel of claim 7 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. The combination of Huang and Cao does not teach the display panel according to claim 7, wherein the array substrate further comprises a second blocking layer, the second blocking layer comprises a second blocking portion for blocking the laser light, an orthographic projection of the one of the first blocking portion of the plurality of first blocking portions and the second blocking portion in the thickness direction of the display panel overlaps an orthographic projection of the second electrode in the thickness direction of the display panel, and the one of first blocking portion is closer to the second electrode layer than the second blocking portion in the thickness direction of the display panel; the second blocking layer is reused as an electrostatic shielding layer. Ma teaches wherein the array substrate further comprises a second blocking layer (Fig.14, first blocking layer is element #BL1, second blocking layer is element #BL2) the second blocking layer comprises a second blocking portion for blocking the laser light (Fig.14, portion of element #BL2 below the first portions of element #BL1 as defined in the rejection of claim 7), an orthographic projection of the one of first blocking portion of the plurality of first blocking portions and the second blocking portion in the thickness direction of the display panel overlaps an orthographic projection of the second electrode in the thickness direction of the display panel (Fig.5, the orthographic projection of first blocking layer, #BL1 overlaps with the pixels and the metal lines, and so overlaps with the orthographic projection of the second electrode, the first and second blocking layers, #BL1 and #BL2, are aligned in the vertical direction, paragraph [0175], rows 5-10), and the one of first blocking portion is closer to the second electrode layer than the second blocking portion in the thickness direction of the display panel (Fig.14, element #BL1 Is closer to element #270 than element #BL2), the second blocking layer is reused as an electrostatic shielding layer (element #BL2 may include a metal and therefore can be used for electrostatic shielding, paragraph [0109], rows 4-6. The examiner notes that a recitation of the intended use of an element of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Ma and disclose wherein the array substrate further comprises a second blocking layer, the second blocking layer comprises a second blocking portion for blocking the laser light, an orthographic projection of the first blocking portion and the second blocking portion in the thickness direction of the display panel overlaps an orthographic projection of the second electrode in the thickness direction of the display panel, and the first blocking portion is closer to the second electrode layer than the second blocking portion in the thickness direction of the display panel; the second blocking layer is reused as an electrostatic shielding layer. As disclosed by Ma, the second blocking layer prevents visual recognition due to inflow of light from the lower portion of the substrate and prevents light leakage from the opening, thereby preventing performance deterioration due to unnecessary external light (paragraph [0107], rows 3-7).
Claims 7, 10, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang, in view of Cao and in view of Lei et al., (Chinese Patent Publication Number, CN-114267686-A) hereinafter referenced as Lei.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Huang and Cao teaches the display panel of claim 1 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. The combination of Huang and Cao does not teach the display panel according to claim 1, wherein the array substrate comprises a first blocking layer, the first blocking layer comprises a plurality of first blocking portions for blocking laser light and a first through hole that allows the laser light to pass through; an orthographic projection of the first through hole in a thickness direction of the display panel overlaps an orthographic projection of the opening of the second electrode layer in the thickness direction of the display panel. Lei teaches wherein the array substrate comprises a first blocking layer, the first blocking layer comprises a plurality of first blocking portions for blocking laser light (Fig.8, layer #Z1, that includes elements #Z13, #Z11), and a first through hole that allows the laser light to pass through (Fig.8, hole between elements #Z13 and #Z11); an orthographic projection of the first through hole in a thickness direction of the display panel overlaps an orthographic projection of the opening of the second electrode layer in the thickness direction of the display panel (Fig.8, the opening in the second electrode, element #303, overlaps the opening #TS of the blocking layer, page 6, paragraph 2, rows 7-8). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Lei and disclose wherein the array substrate comprises a first blocking layer, the first blocking layer comprises a plurality of first blocking portions for blocking laser light and a first through hole that allows the laser light to pass through; an orthographic projection of the first through hole in a thickness direction of the display panel overlaps an orthographic projection of the opening of the second electrode layer in the thickness direction of the display panel. The blocking layer prevents light from reaching the transistors thus preventing the generation of leakage current, and helps maintain accurate pixel control, leading to sharper images.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Huang and Cao teaches the display panel of claim 1 as set forth in the obviousness rejection and the combination of Huang, Cao and Lei teaches the display panel of claim 7 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. The combination of Huang and Cao does not teach the display panel according to claim 7, wherein the array substrate comprises a first metal layer, the first blocking layer and the first metal layer are arranged in a same layer, the first metal layer comprises a plurality of first metal lines; an orthographic projection of the pixel electrode in the thickness direction of the display panel at least partially overlaps an orthographic projection of one of the first metal line of the plurality of first metal lines in the thickness direction of the display panel; the plurality of first metal lines are arranged side by side along the first direction; a first gap is provided between one of the first blocking portion of the plurality of first blocking portions and the one of the first metal line. Lei teaches wherein the array substrate comprises a first metal layer, the first blocking layer and the first metal layer are arranged in a same layer, the first metal layer comprises a plurality of first metal lines (Fig.8, element #Z2 and the similar element on the left side of the figure); an orthographic projection of the pixel electrode in the thickness direction of the display panel at least partially overlaps an orthographic projection of one of the first metal line of the plurality of first metal lines in the thickness direction of the display panel (Fig.8, an orthographic projection of element #304 overlaps with the an orthographic projection of element #Z2); the plurality of first metal lines are arranged side by side along the first direction (Fig.2, elements #Z2 are arranged in area A2along the horizontal direction, which is the first direction); a first gap is provided between one of the first blocking portion of the plurality of first blocking portions and the one of the first metal line (Fig.8, a gap exists between elements #Z2 and #Z11 and #Z13). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Lei and disclose wherein the array substrate comprises a first metal layer, the first blocking layer and the first metal layer are arranged in a same layer, the first metal layer comprises a plurality of first metal lines; an orthographic projection of the pixel electrode in the thickness direction of the display panel at least partially overlaps an orthographic projection of one of the first metal line of the plurality of first metal lines in the thickness direction of the display panel; the plurality of first metal lines are arranged side by side along the first direction; a first gap is provided between one of the first blocking portion of the plurality of first blocking portions and the one of the first metal line. As disclosed by Lei, the metal lines can be connected to power traces, which helps eliminate static electricity that may damage the circuits (page 6, 2nd paragraph). Having the first blocking layer and the first metal layer arranged in a same layer reduces the manufacturing process steps and the costs associated with these steps.
Regarding claim 14, Huang teaches a display panel, comprising: an array substrate, wherein the array substrate comprises a first electrode layer located on a side of the array substrate (Fig.1, formed by elements #1 and #2), wherein the first electrode layer comprises a pixel electrode (Fig.1, element #411); a pixel definition layer located on a side of the first electrode layer away from the array substrate, wherein the pixel definition layer comprises an isolation portion and a pixel opening surrounded by the isolation portion (Fig.1, element #3, opening hole located on the right side of the figure) a second electrode layer located on a side of the pixel definition layer away from the array substrate, wherein the second electrode layer comprises a second electrode (Fig.1, element #412).
Huang does not teach the second electrode comprising an opening. Cao teaches the second electrode comprising an opening (Fig.5, element #220 comprises an opening, element #170). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Cao and disclose the second electrode comprising an opening. As disclosed by Cao, the opening of the second electrode can be filled with a conductor with better electrical conductivity than the second electrode (Fig.5, element #140) which is capable of transmitting a uniform driving signal across the entire area of the display (page 4, second to last paragraph).
Huang further teaches the second electrode comprises a body portion (Fig.1, top horizontal portion of element #412 located on the left side of the left pixel definition layer opening) and an edge portion arranged as extending from the body portion and toward the opening (Fig.1, sloped portion of element #412, extending from the top horizontal part to the bottom surface of the opening).
The combination of Huang and Cao does not teach a first blocking layer, and the first blocking layer comprises a first through hole; wherein an orthographic projection of the first through hole in a thickness direction of the display panel overlaps an orthographic projection of the opening in the thickness direction of the display panel. Lei teaches a first blocking layer (Fig.8, layer #Z1, that includes elements #Z13, #Z11), and the first blocking layer comprises a first through hole (Fig.8, hole between elements #Z13 and #Z11); wherein an orthographic projection of the first through hole in a thickness direction of the display panel overlaps an orthographic projection of the opening in the thickness direction of the display panel (Fig.8, the opening in the second electrode, element #303, overlaps the opening #TS of the blocking layer, page 6, paragraph 2, rows 7-8). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Lei and disclose wherein the array substrate comprises a first blocking layer, the first blocking layer comprises a plurality of first blocking portions for blocking laser light and a first through hole that allows the laser light to pass through; an orthographic projection of the first through hole in a thickness direction of the display panel overlaps an orthographic projection of the opening of the second electrode layer in the thickness direction of the display panel. The blocking layer prevents light that goes though the opening from reaching the transistors, thus preventing the generation of leakage current and helps maintain accurate pixel control, leading to sharper images.
Huang teaches the edge portion is closer to the array substrate in the thickness direction than the body portion (see the above mapping of the portions). Therefore, a distance in the thickness direction between the edge portion and a layer comprised by the array substrate (such as the blocking) is less than a distance between the body portion and a layer comprised by the array substrate (such as the blocking layer).
Regarding claim 15 the combination of Huang, Cao and Lei teaches the display panel of claim 14 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Huang further teaches the display panel according to claim 14, wherein the pixel definition layer further comprises an opening hole located at the isolation portion (Fig.1, element #3 has a hole to the right side of the figure), at least a part of the array substrate is exposed by the opening hole (Fig.1, the hole exposes the top surface of element #2), and the edge portion contacts the at least a part of the array substrate exposed by the opening hole (Fig.1, the edge portion, as defined in the rejection of claim 14, contacts the top surface of element #2).
Conclusion
/CRISTIAN A TIVARUS/Examiner, Art Unit 2899 /DALE E PAGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899