DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/20/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1, 3-7, 9-10 applicant appears to be arguing that the prior art does not teach ZnSnO however amended claims 1, 3-7, and 9-10 were amended to remove ZnSnO in one instance. Vikor as previously cited already teaches the prescribed thickness Niobium Oxide and can be substituted for essentially titanium oxide [0196] with overlapping thicknesses (see claim 1).
The rejection of claims 2 and 20 has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,3-7, 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Vikor US 2014/0227500.
Regarding claim 1, Vikor teaches a coated article comprising: a substrate (figs 5b glass substrate 1); a first dielectric layer (niobium oxide layer 2 [0123]) over at least a portion of the substrate, the first dielectric layer consists essentially of ZnSnO or TiO2 ([0164][0196]) and has a thickness in the range of 80 nm to 161 nm [0021] a second dielectric layer (silicon oxide layer 3 [0124]) over at least a portion of the first dielectric layer, wherein the second dielectric layer comprises SiAlO ([0154]) and has a thickness in the range of 26 nm to 138 nm [0021]; a third dielectric layer (niobium oxide layer 4 [0125]) over at least a portion of the second dielectric layer, wherein the third dielectric layer consists essentially of ZnSnO or TiO2 ([0164][0196]) and has a thickness in the range of 37 nm to 112 nm (claim 14) a fourth dielectric layer (silicon oxide layer 5 [0126]) over at least a portion of the third dielectric layer, wherein the fourth dielectric layer comprises SiAlO ([0154]) and has a thickness in range of 67nm to 101 nm [0149] and a protective layer (niobium oxide layer 6) over at least a portion of the fourth dielectric layer, the protective layer comprises ZnSnO or TiO2 ([0164]) has a thickness in range of 3nm to 61 nm (claim 16).
MPEP 2144.05 states: I. OVERLAPPING, APPROACHING, AND SIMILAR RANGES, AMOUNTS, AND PROPORTIONS
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of "about 1-5%" while the claim was limited to "more than 5%." The court held that "about 1-5%" allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (Claim reciting thickness of a protective layer as falling within a range of "50 to 100 Angstroms" considered prima facie obvious in view of prior art reference teaching that "for suitable protection, the thickness of the protective layer should be not less than about 10 nm [i.e., 100 Angstroms]." The court stated that "by stating that ‘suitable protection’ is provided if the protective layer is ‘about’ 100 Angstroms thick, [the prior art reference] directly teaches the use of a thickness within [applicant’s] claimed range."). See also In re Bergen, 120 F.2d 329, 332, 49 USPQ 749, 751-52 (CCPA 1941) (The court found that the overlapping endpoint of the prior art and claimed range was sufficient to support an obviousness rejection, particularly when there was no showing of criticality of the claimed range).
Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of "having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium" as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium. "The proportions are so close that prima facie one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties."). See also Warner-Jenkinson Co., Inc. v. Hilton Davis Chemical Co., 520 U.S. 17, 41 USPQ2d 1865 (1997) (under the doctrine of equivalents, a purification process using a pH of 5.0 could infringe a patented purification process requiring a pH of 6.0-9.0); In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%); In re Scherl, 156 F.2d 72, 74-75, 70 USPQ 204, 205-206 (CCPA 1946) (prior art showed an angle in a groove of up to 90° and an applicant claimed an angle of no less than 120°); In re Becket, 88 F.2d 684 (CCPA 1937) ("Where the component elements of alloys are the same, and where they approach so closely the same range of quantities as is here the case, it seems that there ought to be some noticeable difference in the qualities of the respective alloys."); In re Dreyfus, 73 F.2d 931, 934, 24 USPQ 52, 55 (CCPA 1934)(the prior art, which taught about 0.7:1 of alkali to water, renders unpatentable a claim that increased the proportion to at least 1:1 because there was no showing that the claimed proportions were critical); In re Lilienfeld, 67 F.2d 920, 924, 20 USPQ 53, 57 (CCPA 1933)(the prior art teaching an alkali cellulose containing minimal amounts of water, found by the Examiner to be in the 5-8% range, the claims sought to be patented were to an alkali cellulose with varying higher ranges of water (e.g., "not substantially less than 13%," "not substantially below 17%," and "between about 13[%] and 20%"); K-Swiss Inc. v. Glide N Lock GmbH, 567 Fed. App'x 906 (Fed. Cir. 2014)(reversing the Board's decision, in an appeal of an inter partes reexamination proceeding, that certain claims were not prima facie obvious due to non-overlapping ranges); In re Brandt, 886 F.3d 1171, 1177, 126 USPQ2d 1079, 1082 (Fed. Cir. 2018)(the court found a prima facie case of obviousness had been made in a predictable art wherein the claimed range of "less than 6 pounds per cubic feet" and the prior art range of "between 6 lbs./ft3 and 25 lbs./ft3" were so mathematically close that the difference between the claimed ranges was virtually negligible absent any showing of unexpected results or criticality.).
"[A] prior art reference that discloses a range encompassing a somewhat narrower claimed range is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness." In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003). See also In re Harris, 409 F.3d 1339, 74 USPQ2d 1951 (Fed. Cir. 2005) (claimed alloy held obvious over prior art alloy that taught ranges of weight percentages overlapping, and in most instances completely encompassing, claimed ranges; furthermore, narrower ranges taught by reference overlapped all but one range in claimed invention). However, if the reference’s disclosed range is so broad as to encompass a very large number of possible distinct compositions, this might present a situation analogous to the obviousness of a species when the prior art broadly discloses a genus. Id. See also In re Baird, 16 F.3d 380, 383, 29 USPQ2d 1550, 1552 (Fed. Cir. 1994) ("[a] disclosure of millions of compounds does not render obvious a claim to three compounds, particularly when that disclosure indicates a preference leading away from the claimed compounds."); MPEP § 2144.08; and subsection III.D below for an additional discussion on consideration of prior art disclosures of a broad range.
A range can be disclosed in multiple prior art references instead of in a single prior art reference depending on the specific facts of the case. Iron Grip Barbell Co., Inc. v. USA Sports, Inc., 392 F.3d 1317, 1322, 73 USPQ2d 1225, 1228 (Fed. Cir. 2004). The patent claim at issue was directed to a weight plate having 3 elongated openings that served as handles for transporting the weight plate. Multiple prior art patents each disclosed weight plates having 1, 2 or 4 elongated openings. 392 F.3d at 1319, 73 USPQ2d at 1226. The court stated that the claimed weight plate having 3 elongated openings fell within the "range" of the prior art and was thus presumed obvious. 392 F.3d at 1322, 73 USPQ2d at 1228. The court further stated that the "range" disclosed in multiple prior art patents is "a distinction without a difference" from previous range cases which involved a range disclosed in a single patent since the "prior art suggested that a larger number of elongated grips in the weight plates was beneficial… thus plainly suggesting that one skilled in the art look to the range appearing in the prior art." Id.
Regarding claim 3, Vikor teaches the coated article of claim 1, wherein the first dielectric layer has a thickness in the range of 90 nm to 150 nm [0140]
Regarding claim 4, Vikor teaches the coated article of claim 1, wherein the second dielectric layer has a thickness in the range of 28 nm to 127 nm [0140].
Regarding claim 5, Vikor teaches the coated article of claim 1, wherein the third dielectric layer has a thickness in the range of 40 nm to 105 nm (claim 14).
Regarding claim 6, Vikor teaches the coated article of claim 1, wherein the fourth dielectric layer has a thickness in the range of 73 nm to 94 nm (see claim 15).
Regarding claim 7, Vikor teaches the protective layer as a thickness in range of 4 nm to 57 nm (claim 16)
Regarding claim 9, Vikor teaches the coated article of claim 1, wherein the thickness of the second dielectric layer [0124] has a thickness range that is less than half of the thickness of the fourth dielectric layer [0126].
Regarding claim 10, Vikor teaches the coated article of claim 1, wherein the thickness of the fourth dielectric layer has a thickness range that is thicker [0126] than the thickness of the second dielectric layer [0124].
Claim(s) 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vikor US 2014/0227500 in view of Weller US 2017/0177935.
Regarding claims 11-14, Vikor teaches he coated article of claim 1. Vikor does not teach wherein the coated article has a light reflectance of at least 50% in the visible light spectrum ; the coated article has a light reflectance range of 50% to 70%; the coated article has a color reflectance of L* value in the range of 70 to 90; wherein the coated article has a color transmittance of L* value in the range of 60 to 70.
Weller teaches a coated article wherein the coated article has a light reflectance of at least 50% in the visible light spectrum [0037] ; the coated article has a light reflectance range of 50% to 70% [0037]; the coated article has a color reflectance of L* value in the range of 70 to 90 (table 3); wherein the coated article has a color transmittance of L* value in the range of 60 to 70 (Table 3) to achieve industry standard reflectance [0033] and offer neutral color appearance [0033]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vikor in view of Weller to achieve industry standard reflectance and neutral color appearance.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 and 15-19 and 20 are allowed.
Claim is 2 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/PHU VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871