DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-11, 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Yoon et al. (US. Pub: 2015/0236296 A1~hereinafter “Yoon”) of record.
Regarding claim 1, Yoon discloses (in at least fig. 2) a display device comprising: a substrate (210); a pixel electrode (220) disposed on the substrate; a common layer (242; i.e. the second layer) disposed on the pixel electrode; and a counter electrode (243; i.e. the third layer) disposed on the common layer, wherein a film density of the common layer (242) is in a range of about 3 g/cm.sup.3 to about 10 g/cm.sup.3 ([0061]; the density of Yb falls in the range).
Regarding claim 2, Yoon discloses (in at least fig. 2) the common layer (242) comprises ytterbium (Yb) ([0061]).
Regarding claim 4, Yoon discloses (in at least fig. 2) the counter electrode (243) comprises a silver (Ag)-based alloy or an aluminum (Al)-based alloy ([0061]).
Regarding claim 5, Yoon discloses (in at least fig. 2; [0061]) the Ag-based alloy or the Al-based alloy of the counter electrode is formed of Ag or Al ranging from about 95% to about 100%.
Regarding claim 6, Yoon discloses (in at least fig. 2; [0061]; [0070]) the counter electrode (243) comprises at least one selected from gold (Au), copper (Cu), magnesium (Mg), titanium (Ti), indium (In), nickel (Ni), carbon (C), palladium (Pd), fluorene (F), sodium (Na), silicon (Si), calcium (Ca), manganese (Mn), iron (Fe), cobalt (Co), zinc (Zn), gallium (Ga), germanium (Ge), molybdenum (Mo), tin (Sn), platinum (Pt), lead (Pb), ytterbium (Yb), lutetium (Lu), and protactinium (Pa).
Regarding claim 7, Yoon discloses (in at least fig. 2) the counter electrode (243) comprises oxygen (O) (see claim 10).
Regarding claim 8, Yoon discloses (in at least fig. 2) a thickness of the counter electrode (243) is in a range of about 5 nm to about 100 nm ([0064]).
Regarding claim 9, Yoon discloses (in at least fig. 2) a resistance of the counter electrode (243) is in a range of about 1 ohm/sq to about 20 ohm/sq ([0071]; table 1).
Regarding claim 10, Yoon discloses (in at least fig. 2) a first functional layer ([0058]-[0059] i.e. the hole transport layer) disposed on the pixel electrode; an emission layer ([0058]; i.e. the EML disposed on the first functional layer; and a second functional layer ([0058]; i.e. the electron transport layer) disposed on the emission layer.
Regarding claim 11, Yoon discloses (in at least fig. 2) a first mixed layer (244; [0070]) disposed between the second functional layer and the common layer.
Regarding claim 13, Yoon discloses (in at least fig. 2) a first buffer layer (241; [0072]) disposed under the common layer (243).
Regarding claim 14, Yoon discloses (in at least fig. 2) the first buffer layer (241) comprises metal oxide or metal halide ([0072]).
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-10 and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Mishima (US. Pub: 2019/0131558 A1) of record.
Regarding claim 1, Mishima discloses (in at least fig. 1) a display device comprising: a substrate (10); a pixel electrode (11) disposed on the substrate; a common layer (16) disposed on the pixel electrode (11); and a counter electrode (17) disposed on the common layer, wherein a film density of the common layer (16) is in a range of about 3 g/cm.sup.3 to about 10 g/cm.sup.3 (Yb film has a density in that range).
Regarding claim 2, Mishima discloses (in at least fig. 1) the common layer (16) comprises ytterbium (Yb).
Regarding claim 4, Mishima discloses (in at least fig. 1; [0038]) the counter electrode (17) comprises a silver (Ag)-based alloy or an aluminum (Al)-based alloy.
Regarding claim 5, Mishima discloses (in at least fig. 1; [0038]) the Ag-based alloy or the Al-based alloy of the counter electrode (17) is formed of Ag or Al ranging from about 95% to about 100%.
Regarding claim 6, Mishima discloses (in at least fig. 1; [0038]) the counter electrode (17) comprises at least one selected from gold (Au), copper (Cu), magnesium (Mg), titanium (Ti), indium (In), nickel (Ni), carbon (C), palladium (Pd), fluorene (F), sodium (Na), silicon (Si), calcium (Ca), manganese (Mn), iron (Fe), cobalt (Co), zinc (Zn), gallium (Ga), germanium (Ge), molybdenum (Mo), tin (Sn), platinum (Pt), lead (Pb), ytterbium (Yb), lutetium (Lu), and protactinium (Pa).
Regarding claim 7, Mishima discloses (in at least fig. 1; [0038]) the counter electrode (17) comprises oxygen (O).
Regarding claim 8, Mishima discloses (in at least fig. 1) a thickness of the counter electrode (17) is in a range of about 5 nm to about 100 nm ([0038]).
Regarding claim 9, Mishima discloses (in at least fig. 1) a resistance of the counter electrode (17) is in a range of about 1 ohm/sq to about 20 ohm/sq (this limitation does not structurally distinguish from the prior art as is required from an apparatus claim).
Regarding claim 10, Mishima discloses (in at least fig. 1) a first functional layer (13) disposed on the pixel electrode (11); an emission layer (14) disposed on the first functional layer; and a second functional layer (15) disposed on the emission layer.
Regarding claim 13, Mishima discloses (in at least figs. 1, 5 and 6) a first buffer layer (16B) disposed under the common layer (16D).
Regarding claim 14, Mishima discloses (in at least figs. 1, 5 and 6) the first buffer layer (16B) comprises metal oxide or metal halide (see figs. 5 and 6).
Regarding claim 15, Mishima discloses (in at least figs. 1, 5 and 6) a second buffer layer (17C; i.e. the capping layer) disposed on the counter electrode (17).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 12, 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. (US. Pub: 2015/0236296 A1~hereinafter “Yoon”) of record.
Regarding claim 3, Yoon does not expressly disclose the common layer comprises an ytterbium (Yb)-oxygen (O) bond.
However, Yoon discloses (in at least fig. 2) the common layer (242) comprises ytterbium (Yb) ([0061]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to consider forming the ytterbium common layer of Yoon with ytterbium (Yb)-oxygen (O) bond, since it has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported prima facie obviousness determination.
Regarding claim 12, Yoon discloses all the claimed limitations except for a second mixed layer disposed between the common layer and the counter electrode.
However, Yoon discloses (in at least fig. 2) a first mixed layer (244; [0070]) disposed between the second functional layer and the common layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to consider forming a second mixed layer in the device of Yoon between the common layer and the counter electrode, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claims 15 and 16, Yoon does not expressly disclose a second buffer layer disposed on the counter electrode and the second buffer layer comprises metal oxide or metal halide.
However, a first buffer layer (241; [0072]) disposed under the common layer (243) and the first buffer layer (241) comprises metal oxide or metal halide ([0072]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to consider forming a second buffer layer in the device of Yoon disposed on the counter electrode, wherein the second buffer layer comprises metal oxide or metal halide, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art.
Claim(s) 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. (US. Pub: 2015/0236296 A1~hereinafter “Yoon”) of record in view of Lee et al. (US. Pub: 2021/0066652 A1~hereinafter “Lee”) of record.
Regarding claim 17, Yoon does not expressly disclose a thin-film encapsulation layer disposed over the counter electrode, the thin-film encapsulation layer comprising: a first inorganic encapsulation layer, and a second inorganic encapsulation layer disposed on the first inorganic encapsulation layer; and a touch sensor layer disposed on the thin-film encapsulation layer, the touch sensor layer comprising: touch insulating layers, and conductive layers.
Lee discloses (in at least fig. 9) a display device comprised of, in part, a thin-film encapsulation layer (TFE) disposed over the counter electrode (123), the thin-film encapsulation layer (TFE) comprising: a first inorganic encapsulation layer (131; [0075]), and a second inorganic encapsulation layer (133; [0075]) disposed on the first inorganic encapsulation layer; and a touch sensor layer ([0061]) disposed on the thin-film encapsulation layer, the touch sensor layer comprising: touch insulating layers, and conductive layers (see fig. 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display device of Yoon with the thin-film encapsulation layer of Lee in order to provide suitable protection to the display device against moisture.
Regarding claim 18, Lee discloses (in at least fig. 9) the thin-film encapsulation layer (TFE) comprises an organic encapsulation layer (132; [0075]) disposed between the first inorganic encapsulation layer (131) and the second inorganic encapsulation layer (133).
Regarding claim 19, Lee discloses (in at least fig. 9) a first organic insulating layer (117; [0103]-[0104]) disposed between the substrate (101) and the pixel electrode (121).
Regarding claim 20, Yoon as modified by Lee does not expressly disclose a second organic insulating layer disposed between the substrate and the first organic insulating layer.
However, Lee discloses (in at least fig. 9) a second inorganic insulating layer (115; [0101]) disposed between the substrate (101) and the first organic insulating layer (117).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to consider forming the second insulating layer of Yoon as modified by Lee with organic material, since it has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination.
Conclusion
ELMITO BREVAL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/ELMITO BREVAL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875