Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim (US 20130009286 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a semiconductor package (Fig. 10), comprising: a substrate (110); a seed layer (142) on the substrate; and a wiring pad (comprises 144d, 150d, and 160) on the seed layer, wherein the wiring pad includes: a pad portion (150d); and a capping layer (144d) on the seed layer and covering the pad portion, wherein a bottom surface of the pad portion is in contact with a top surface of the seed layer, and wherein a width of a top surface of the pad portion is greater than a width of the bottom surface of the pad portion (Shown).
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses wherein the capping layer is in contact with the top surface of the seed layer (Shown in Fig. 10), and a width of a top surface of the wiring pad is greater than a width of a bottom surface of the wiring pad (Fig. 10 shows top surface of 160 having a width greater than bottom surface of 150d).
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses wherein the pad portion has a first lateral surface and a second lateral surface that are opposite to each other, wherein the capping layer has: a first width in a horizontal direction on the first lateral surface of the pad portion, the horizontal direction being parallel to a top surface of the substrate; and a second width in the horizontal direction on the second lateral surface of the pad portion, wherein the first width and the second width are the same as each other at the same height in a vertical direction from the top surface of the substrate, the vertical direction being perpendicular to the top surface of the substrate (See attached figure).
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses wherein a lateral surface of the pad portion is inclined at a first angle with respect to the top surface of the seed layer, wherein the first angle is an acute angle (See attached figure).
Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses wherein the capping layer has: an inner lateral surface in contact with the lateral surface of the pad portion; and an outer lateral surface opposite the inner lateral surface with a thickness of the capping layer therebetween, wherein the outer lateral surface of the capping layer is inclined at a second angle with respect to the top surface of the seed layer, wherein
the second angle is an acute angle (See attached figure).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 6, the prior art of record fails to disclose wherein the first angle and the second angle are each in a range of about 45 degrees to about 90 degrees.
Regarding claim 7, the prior art of record fails to disclose wherein the first angle and the second angle are different from each other.
Conclusion
/S.J.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/MARLON T FLETCHER/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817