DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 11, 16, and 19-20 are amended. Claims 1-20 are present for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 10-11, filed August 04, 2026, with respect to the objection to the specification have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection to the specification of May 08, 2026 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 11-13, filed August 04, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Zhang (US 2022/0037352 A1).
In the interest of compact prosecution, the Examiner suggests the Applicant more clearly define the positioning of the hydrogen-containing insulation portion in combination with the plurality of gate contact portions (e.g. the hydrogen-containing insulation portion is positioned such that a portion of the hydrogen-containing insulation portion laterally overlaps the plurality of gate contact portions). The Examiner is available at the number below for an interview to discuss ideas at the Applicant’s convenience.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu (US 2022/0344244 A1) in view of Kim (US 2021/0407968 A1), and further in view of Zhang (US 2022/0037352 A1).
Claim 1, Ryu discloses a semiconductor device (semiconductor device 100, [0021], Figs. 1-3B) including a cell array region (semiconductor device 100 includes a first region MCA which is a cell array region, hereinafter, cell array region MCA, [0029], Figs. 1 and 2A) and a connection region (semiconductor device 100 includes a second region SA which is a connection region, hereinafter, connection region SA, [0029], Figs. 1 and 2A), comprising:
a gate stacking structure (stack structure ST is a gate stacking structure, hereinafter, gate stacking structure ST, [0028], Fig. 2A) that includes a plurality of gate electrodes (gate stacking structure ST includes a plurality of gate electrodes 130, [0028], Fig. 2A) and a plurality of interlayer insulation layers (gate stacking structure ST includes a plurality of interlayer insulation layers 120, [0028], Fig. 2A) that are alternately stacked (plurality of gate electrodes 130 and plurality of interlayer insulation layers 120 are alternately stacked within the gate stacking structure ST, [0028], Figs. 1 and 2A), the gate stacking structure ST extends in a first direction (i.e. X direction) (gate stacking structure ST extends in the X direction, [0036], Figs. 1 and 2A) and is separated by a plurality of separation structures (gate stacking structure ST is separated by a plurality of string separation regions SS which are a plurality of separation structures, hereinafter, plurality of separation structures SS, [0028], Figs. 1 and 2A) in a second direction (i.e. Y direction) that crosses the first direction (i.e. X direction) (gate stacking structure ST is separated by a plurality of separation structures SS in the Y direction that crosses the X direction, [0036], Figs. 1 and 2A);
a channel structure (channel structures CH, [0028], Figs. 1 and 2A) penetrating the gate stacking structure ST in the cell array region MCA (channel structures CH , [0028], Figs. 1 and 2A);
a plurality of gate contact portions (contact plugs 160g/160c are a plurality of gate contact portions, hereinafter, plurality of gate contact portions 160g/160c, [0028], Figs. 1 and 2A) penetrating the gate stacking structure ST in the connection region SA (plurality of gate contact portions 160g/160c penetrate the gate stacking structure ST in the connection region SA, [0028], Figs. 1 and 2A), the plurality of gate contact portions 160g/160c are electrically connected to the plurality of gate electrodes 130, respectively (plurality of gate contact portions 160g/160c are electrically connected to the plurality of gate electrodes 130, respectively, [0028], Figs. 1 and 2A); and
an insulation layer (base layer 110 is formed of at least one of an insulating material, hereinafter, insulation layer 110, [0058], Figs. 1, 2A, and 5A-5B) covering at least the gate stacking structure ST (insulation layer 110 covering at least the gate stacking structure ST, [0058], Figs. 1, 2A, and 5A-5B).
Ryu does not explicitly disclose wherein the insulation layer comprises a base insulation portion and a hydrogen-containing insulation portion, and the hydrogen-containing insulation portion includes a hydrogen-containing portion having a different material from a material of the base insulation portion, the hydrogen-containing portion including hydrogen.
However, Kim discloses wherein the insulation layer (Kim, upper insulating structure 294 is an insulation layer, hereinafter, insulation layer 294, [0083], Figs. 2A and 3A; Ryu, insulation layer 110, [0058], Figs. 1, 2A, and 5A-5B) comprises a base insulation portion (Kim, insulation layer 294 comprises a barrier capping layer 295 is a base insulation portion, hereinafter, base insulating portion 295, [0083], Figs. 2A and 3A; Ryu, insulation layer 110, [0058], Figs. 1, 2A, and 5A-5B) and a hydrogen-containing insulation portion (Kim, insulation layer 294 comprises the second upper insulating layer 293, hereinafter, hydrogen-containing insulation portion 293, [0083], Figs. 2A and 3A; Ryu, insulation layer 110, [0058], Figs. 1, 2A, and 5A-5B), and the hydrogen-containing insulation portion includes a hydrogen-containing portion having a different material from a material of the base insulation portion, the hydrogen-containing portion including hydrogen (Kim, hydrogen-containing insulation portion 293 includes a hydrogen-containing portion (i.e. silicon further including hydrogen) having a different material from a material of the base insulation portion 295 (i.e. silicon nitride-based material), [0041], Figs. 2A and 3A; Ryu, insulation layer 110, [0058], Figs. 1, 2A, and 5A-5B). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Kim, including the specific material of an insulation layer further including both a base insulation portion and hydrogen-containing insulation portion, to the teachings of Ryu.
The motivation to do so is that the combination yields the predictable results of allowing for the selection of a known material based on its suitability for the intended use as forming hydrogen diffusion paths through which hydrogen diffuses enables improved functionality as a high-capacity data processing semiconductor memory device (Kim, [0083] – [0084]). Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). See also MPEP 2144.07.
Kim/Ryu does not explicitly disclose the hydrogen-containing insulation portion is positioned such that a portion of the hydrogen-containing insulation portion laterally overlaps at least one of the channel structure or the plurality of gate contact portions.
However, Zhang (US 2022/0037352 A1) discloses the hydrogen-containing insulation portion is positioned such that a portion of the hydrogen-containing insulation portion laterally overlaps at least one of the channel structure or the plurality of gate contact portions (hydrogen-containing insulation portion 130 is positioned such that a portion of the hydrogen-containing insulation portion 130 laterally overlaps at least one of the channel structure 124 or the plurality of gate contact portions, [0048], Figs. 1B and 2H; Kim, hydrogen-containing insulation portion 293 includes a hydrogen-containing portion (i.e. silicon further including hydrogen) having a different material from a material of the base insulation portion 295 (i.e. silicon nitride-based material), [0041], Figs. 2A and 3A; Ryu, insulation layer 110, [0058], Figs. 1, 2A, and 5A-5B). The combination to position the hydrogen-containing insulation portion such that a portion of the hydrogen-containing insulation portion laterally overlaps the channel structure as it would enable the hydrogen or its isotope can diffuse during the later thermal processes, from the hydrogen-rich insulating structure to the polysilicon semiconductor channels to form hydrogen-rich semiconductor channels, thereby curing the defects of the polysilicon and adjusting the wafer stress and as a result, memory cell performance can be improved, and the production yield can be increased (Zhang, [0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to position the hydrogen-containing insulation portion such that a portion of the hydrogen-containing insulation portion laterally overlaps the channel structure to enable the hydrogen or its isotope to diffuse during the later thermal processes, from the hydrogen-rich insulating structure to the polysilicon semiconductor channels to form hydrogen-rich semiconductor channels, thereby curing the defects of the polysilicon and adjusting the wafer stress and as a result, memory cell performance can be improved, and the production yield can be increased (Zhang, [0027]).
Claim 2, Ryu/Kim/Zhang discloses the semiconductor device (Ryu, semiconductor device 100, [0021], Figs. 1-3B; Kim, Figs. 1-2A and 3A; Zhang, Figs. 1A and 2H) of claim 1.
Ryu/Kim/Zhang does not explicitly disclose wherein the hydrogen-containing portion includes a silicon nitride containing hydrogen.
However, Ryu/Kim discloses wherein the hydrogen-containing portion includes a silicon containing hydrogen (Kim, hydrogen-containing insulation portion 293 includes a hydrogen-containing portion (i.e. silicon further including hydrogen), [0041], Figs. 2A and 3A; Ryu, insulation layer 110, [0058], Figs. 1, 2A, and 5A-5B; Zhang, Figs. 1A and 2H). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Kim, including the specific material of an insulation layer further including both a base insulation portion and hydrogen-containing insulation portion, to the teachings of Ryu.
The motivation to do so is that the combination yields the predictable results of allowing for the selection of a known material based on its suitability for the intended use as forming hydrogen diffusion paths through which hydrogen diffuses enables improved functionality as a high-capacity data processing semiconductor memory device (Kim, [0083] – [0084]). Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). See also MPEP 2144.07.
Claim 3, Ryu/Kim/Zhang discloses the semiconductor device (Ryu, semiconductor device 100, [0021], Figs. 1-3B; Kim, Figs. 1-2A and 3A; Zhang, Figs. 1A and 2H) of claim 1.
Ryu/Kim/Zhang discloses wherein the base insulation portion includes a silicon oxide, a silicon oxynitride, a material with lower permittivity than silicon oxide, or a combination thereof (Kim, base insulation portion 295 includes (i.e. silicon nitride-based material), [0041], Figs. 2A and 3A; Ryu, insulation layer 110, [0058], Figs. 1, 2A, and 5A-5B; Zhang, Figs. 1A and 2H). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Kim, including the specific material of an insulation layer further including both a base insulation portion and hydrogen-containing insulation portion, to the teachings of Ryu.
The motivation to do so is that the combination yields the predictable results of allowing for the selection of a known material based on its suitability for the intended use as forming hydrogen diffusion paths through which hydrogen diffuses enables improved functionality as a high-capacity data processing semiconductor memory device (Kim, [0083] – [0084]). Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). See also MPEP 2144.07.
Claim 4, Ryu/Kim/Zhang discloses the semiconductor device (Ryu, semiconductor device 100, [0021], Figs. 1-3B; Kim, Figs. 1-2A and 3A; Zhang, Figs. 1A and 2H) of claim 1.
Ryu/Kim/Zhang discloses wherein the hydrogen-containing insulation portion (Kim, hydrogen-containing insulation portion 293, [0083], Figs. 2A and 3A; Ryu, insulation layer 110, [0058], Figs. 1, 2A, and 5A-5B; Zhang, Figs. 1A and 2H) is disposed in the connection region and is not disposed in the cell array region (Kim, hydrogen-containing insulation portion 293 is disposed in the connection region 299p and is not disposed in the cell array region MCA, [0083], Figs. 2A and 3A; Ryu, insulation layer 110, [0058], Figs. 1, 2A, and 5A-5B; Zhang, Figs. 1A and 2H).
Claim 5, Ryu/Kim/Zhang discloses the semiconductor device (Ryu, semiconductor device 100, [0021], Figs. 1-3B; Kim, Figs. 1-2A and 3A; Zhang, Figs. 1A and 2H) of claim 1.
Ryu/Kim/Zhang discloses wherein:
the hydrogen-containing insulation portion has a width larger than a width of at least one of the plurality of separation structures (Kim, hydrogen-containing insulation portion 293 has a width larger than a width of at least one of the plurality of separation structures 110s, [0083], Figs. 2A and 3A; Ryu, insulation layer 110, [0058], Figs. 1, 2A, and 5A-5B; Zhang, Figs. 1A and 2H); or
the hydrogen-containing insulation portion includes a portion between the plurality of separation structures (Kim, hydrogen-containing insulation portion 293 includes a portion between the plurality of separation structures 110s, [0083], Figs. 2A and 3A; Ryu, insulation layer 110, [0058], Figs. 1, 2A, and 5A-5B; Zhang, Figs. 1A and 2H).
Claim 6, Ryu/Kim/Zhang discloses the semiconductor device (Ryu, semiconductor device 100, [0021], Figs. 1-3B; Kim, Figs. 1-2A and 3A; Zhang, Figs. 1A and 2H) of claim 1.
Ryu/Kim/Zhang discloses wherein, a width of at least a portion of the hydrogen-containing insulation portion in the second direction is greater than or equal to about 50% of a width between the plurality of separation structures in the second direction (Kim, a width of at least a portion of the hydrogen-containing insulation portion 293 in the Y direction is greater than or equal to about 50% of a width between the plurality of separation structures 110s in the Y direction, [0083], Figs. 2A and 3A; Ryu, insulation layer 110, [0058], Figs. 1, 2A, and 5A-5B; Zhang, Figs. 1A and 2H).
Claim 7, Ryu/Kim/Zhang discloses the semiconductor device (Ryu, semiconductor device 100, [0021], Figs. 1-3B; Kim, Figs. 1-2A and 3A; Zhang, Figs. 1A and 2H) of claim 1.
Ryu/Kim/Zhang discloses further comprising a dummy structure (Ryu, dummy vertical structure DS is a dummy structure, hereinafter, dummy structure DS, [0028], Figs. 1-2A; Kim, dummy pattern layer 213, Figs. 2A and 3A; Zhang, Figs. 1A and 2H) penetrating the insulation layer and the gate stacking structure in the connection region (Ryu, dummy structure DS penetrates the insulation layer 110 and the gate stacking structure ST in the connection region SA, [0028], Figs. 1-2A; Kim, Figs. 2A and 3A; Zhang, Figs. 1A and 2H),
wherein the hydrogen-containing insulation portion has a larger width than a width of the dummy structure (Kim, hydrogen-containing insulation portion 293 has a larger width than a width of the dummy structure, [0083], Figs. 2A and 3A; Ryu, insulation layer 110 has a larger width than a width of the dummy structure 213, [0058], Figs. 1, 2A, and 5A-5B; Zhang, Figs. 1A and 2H).
Claim 8, Ryu/Kim/Zhang discloses the semiconductor device (Ryu, semiconductor device 100, [0021], Figs. 1-3B; Kim, Figs. 1-2A and 3A; Zhang, Figs. 1A and 2H) of claim 1.
Ryu/Kim/Zhang discloses wherein, in the second direction (Y direction), at least a portion of the hydrogen-containing insulation portion is disposed over a region where the plurality of gate contact portions are disposed (Kim, at least a portion of the hydrogen-containing insulation portion 293 is disposed over a region where the plurality of gate contact portions 260 are disposed, [0050], Figs. 2A and 3A; Ryu, insulation layer 110, [0058], Figs. 1, 2A, and 5A-5B; Zhang, Figs. 1A and 2H),
a region where a plurality of dummy structures are disposed (Kim, at least a portion of the hydrogen-containing insulation portion 293 is disposed over a region where the plurality of dummy structures 213 are disposed, [0050], Figs. 2A and 3A; Ryu, dummy structure DS, [0058], Figs. 1, 2A, and 5A-5B; Zhang, Figs. 1A and 2H), or
a region where at least one of the plurality of gate contact portions and at least one of the plurality of dummy structures are disposed (Kim, at least a portion of the hydrogen-containing insulation portion 293 is disposed over a region where the plurality of gate contact portions 260 and a plurality of dummy structures 213are disposed, [0050], Figs. 2A and 3A; Ryu, insulation layer 110, [0058], Figs. 1, 2A, and 5A-5B; Zhang, Figs. 1A and 2H).
Claim 9, Ryu/Kim/Zhang discloses the semiconductor device (Ryu, semiconductor device 100, [0021], Figs. 1-3B; Kim, Figs. 1-2A and 3A; Zhang, Figs. 1A and 2H) of claim 1.
Ryu/Kim/Zhang discloses wherein the hydrogen-containing insulation portion (Kim, hydrogen-containing insulation portion 293, [0083], Figs. 2A and 3A; Ryu, insulation layer 110, [0058], Figs. 1, 2A, and 5A-5B; Zhang, Figs. 1A and 2H) is disposed between adjacent separation structures among the plurality of separation structures in the second direction (Kim, hydrogen-containing insulation portion 293 is disposed between adjacent separation structures 110s among the plurality of separation structures 110s in the Y direction, [0083], Figs. 2A and 3A; Ryu, insulation layer 110, [0058], Figs. 1, 2A, and 5A-5B; Zhang, Figs. 1A and 2H).
Claim 10, Ryu/Kim/Zhang discloses the semiconductor device (Ryu, semiconductor device 100, [0021], Figs. 1-3B; Kim, Figs. 1-2A and 3A; Zhang, Figs. 1A and 2H) of claim 1.
Ryu/Kim/Zhang discloses wherein the hydrogen-containing insulation portion passes through at least one of the plurality of separation structures and is disposed over a plurality of memory cell blocks in the second direction (Kim, hydrogen-containing insulation portion 293 passes through at least one of the plurality of separation structures 110s and is disposed over a plurality of memory cell blocks MCA in the Y direction, [0083], Figs. 2A and 3A; Ryu, insulation layer 110, [0058], Figs. 1, 2A, and 5A-5B).
Claim 11, Ryu/Kim/Zhang discloses the semiconductor device (Ryu, semiconductor device 100, [0021], Figs. 1-3B; Kim, Figs. 1-2A and 3A; Zhang, Figs. 1A and 2H) of claim 1.
Ryu/Kim/Zhang discloses wherein:
a plurality of pad regions (Kim, gate pads GP are a plurality of pad regions, hereinafter, plurality of pad regions GP, [0050], Fig. 2A; Ryu, plurality of pad regions, [0034], Fig. 2A; Zhang, Figs. 1A and 2H) that the plurality of gate electrodes (Kim, plurality of gate electrodes 227, [0072], Fig. 2A; Ryu, plurality of gate electrodes 130, [0028], Fig. 2A; Zhang, Figs. 1A and 2H) and the plurality of gate contact portions (Kim, plurality of gate contact structures 260, [0049], Fig. 2A; Ryu, plurality of gate contact portions 160g/160c, [0028], Figs. 1 and 2A; Zhang, Figs. 1A and 2H) are respectively connected thereto are disposed in the connection region (Kim, plurality of pad regions GP, [0050], Fig. 2A; Ryu, plurality of gate electrodes 227 and plurality of gate contact structures 260 of the plurality of pad regions are respectively connected thereto are disposed in the connection region SA, [0034], Fig. 2A; Zhang, Figs. 1A and 2H);
at least one of the plurality of pad regions comprises a first pad portion (Kim, plurality of pad regions GP comprises a first pad portion, [0050], Fig. 2A; Ryu, plurality of pad regions comprises an upper contact 172 which is a first pad portion, hereinafter, first pad portion 172, [0034], Fig. 2A; Zhang, Figs. 1A and 2H) having a first length in the first direction (Kim, plurality of pad regions GP comprises a first pad portion, [0050], Fig. 2A; Ryu, first pad portion 172 has a first length in the X direction, [0051], Fig. 2A; Zhang, Figs. 1A and 2H) and a second pad portion (Kim, plurality of pad regions GP comprises a second pad portion, [0050], Fig. 2A; Ryu, plurality of pad regions comprises an upper contact 172 which is a second pad portion, hereinafter, second pad portion 174, [0034], Fig. 2A; Zhang, Figs. 1A and 2H) having a second length greater than the first length in the first direction (Kim, plurality of pad regions GP comprises a second pad portion, [0050], Fig. 2A; Ryu, second pad portion 174 has a second length greater than the first length in the X direction, [0034], Fig. 2A; Zhang, Figs. 1A and 2H); and
the hydrogen-containing insulation portion (Kim, hydrogen-containing insulation portion 293, [0083], Figs. 2A and 3A; Ryu, insulation layer 110, [0058], Figs. 1, 2A, and 5A-5B; Zhang, Figs. 1A and 2H) includes a body portion in the second pad portion (Kim, hydrogen-containing insulation portion 293 further includes first insulating structure 130 and second insulating structure 275 and includes a body portion in the second pad portion 271, [0083], Figs. 2A and 3A; Ryu, insulation layer 110, [0058], Figs. 1, 2A, and 5A-5B; Zhang, Figs. 1A and 2H).
Claim 12, Ryu/Kim/Zhang discloses the semiconductor device (Ryu, semiconductor device 100, [0021], Figs. 1-3B; Kim, Figs. 1-2A and 3A; Zhang, Figs. 1A and 2H) of claim 11.
Ryu/Kim/Zhang discloses wherein the hydrogen-containing insulation portion further comprises an extension portion extending in the first direction in the first pad portion and having a width that is less than a width of the body portion (Kim, hydrogen-containing insulation portion 293 further comprises an extension portion extending in the X direction in the first pad portion 283c and having a width that is less than a width of the body portion, [0083], Figs. 2A and 3A; Ryu, insulation layer 110, [0058], Figs. 1, 2A, and 5A-5B; Zhang, Figs. 1A and 2H).
Claim 13, Ryu/Kim/Zhang discloses the semiconductor device (Ryu, semiconductor device 100, [0021], Figs. 1-3B; Kim, Figs. 1-2A and 3A; Zhang, Figs. 1A and 2H) of claim 1.
Ryu/Kim/Zhang discloses wherein the hydrogen-containing insulation portion (Kim, hydrogen-containing insulation portion 293, [0083], Figs. 2A and 3A; Ryu, insulation layer 110, [0058], Figs. 1, 2A, and 5A-5B; Zhang, Figs. 1A and 2H) comprises:
a first portion on the gate stacking structure (Kim, hydrogen-containing insulation portion 293 comprises a first portion on the gate stacking structure 221, [0083], Figs. 2A and 3A; Ryu, gate stacking structure ST, [0028], Fig. 2A; Zhang, Figs. 1A and 2H); and
a second portion including a penetrating portion penetrating the gate stacking structure and a horizontal portion disposed between the plurality of gate electrodes (Kim, hydrogen-containing insulation portion 293 comprises a penetrating portion penetrating the gate stacking structure 221 and a horizontal portion disposed between the plurality of gate electrodes 227, [0083], Figs. 2A and 3A; Ryu, insulation layer 110, [0058], Figs. 1, 2A, and 5A-5B; Zhang, Figs. 1A and 2H).
Claim 14, Ryu/Kim/Zhang discloses the semiconductor device (Ryu, semiconductor device 100, [0021], Figs. 1-3B; Kim, Figs. 1-2A and 3A; Zhang, Figs. 1A and 2H) of claim 13.
Ryu/Kim/Zhang discloses wherein:
the hydrogen-containing portion is disposed in the first portion (Kim, hydrogen-containing insulation portion 293 is disposed in the first portion, [0083], Figs. 2A and 3A; Ryu, gate stacking structure ST, [0028], Fig. 2A; Zhang, Figs. 1A and 2H); and
the hydrogen-containing insulation portion further includes a barrier portion forming the second portion (Kim, hydrogen-containing insulation portion 293 further includes a barrier portion 295 forming the second portion, [0083], Figs. 2A and 3A; Ryu, gate stacking structure ST, [0028], Fig. 2A; Zhang, Figs. 1A and 2H) and having a material different from the material of the hydrogen-containing portion (Kim, barrier portion 295 has a material different from the material of the hydrogen-containing portion 293, [0042], Figs. 2A and 3A; Ryu, gate stacking structure ST, [0028], Fig. 2A; Zhang, Figs. 1A and 2H).
Claim 15, Ryu/Kim/Zhang discloses the semiconductor device (Ryu, semiconductor device 100, [0021], Figs. 1-3B; Kim, Figs. 1-2A and 3A; Zhang, Figs. 1A and 2H) of claim 14.
Ryu/Kim/Zhang discloses wherein:
the barrier portion is disposed on a bottom surface and lateral side surfaces of the first portion (Kim, barrier portion 295 is disposed on a bottom surface and lateral side surfaces of the first portion, [0042], Figs. 2A and 3A; Ryu, gate stacking structure ST, [0028], Fig. 2A; Zhang, Figs. 1A and 2H); and
the hydrogen-containing portion is disposed on the barrier portion in the first portion (Kim, hydrogen-containing portion 293 is disposed on the barrier portion 295 in the first portion, [0042], Figs. 2A and 3A; Ryu, gate stacking structure ST, [0028], Fig. 2A; Zhang, Figs. 1A and 2H).
Claim 16, Ryu discloses a semiconductor device (semiconductor device 100, [0021], Figs. 1-3B) including a cell array region (semiconductor device 100 includes a first region MCA which is a cell array region, hereinafter, cell array region MCA, [0029], Figs. 1 and 2A) and a connection region (semiconductor device 100 includes a second region SA which is a connection region, hereinafter, connection region SA, [0029], Figs. 1 and 2A), comprising:
a gate stacking structure (stack structure ST is a gate stacking structure, hereinafter, gate stacking structure ST, [0028], Fig. 2A) that includes a plurality of gate electrodes (gate stacking structure ST includes a plurality of gate electrodes 130, [0028], Fig. 2A) and a plurality of interlayer insulation layers (gate stacking structure ST includes a plurality of interlayer insulation layers 120, [0028], Fig. 2A) that are alternately stacked (plurality of gate electrodes 130 and plurality of interlayer insulation layers 120 are alternately stacked within the gate stacking structure ST, [0028], Figs. 1 and 2A);
a channel structure (channel structures CH, [0028], Figs. 1 and 2A) penetrating the gate stacking structure ST in the cell array region MCA (channel structures CH , [0028], Figs. 1 and 2A); and
an insulation layer (base layer 110 is formed of at least one of an insulating material, hereinafter, insulation layer 110, [0058], Figs. 1, 2A, and 5A-5B) that is disposed in the connection region SA (insulation layer 110 is disposed in the connection region SA, [0058], Figs. 1, 2A, and 5A-5B) and covering at least the gate stacking structure ST (insulation layer 110 covering at least the gate stacking structure ST, [0058], Figs. 1, 2A, and 5A-5B).
Ryu does not explicitly disclose wherein the insulation layer comprises a hydrogen-containing insulation portion including a hydrogen-containing portion having a material that is different from an insulating material disposed in the cell array region, the hydrogen-containing portion including hydrogen, and the insulation layer further comprises a base insulation portion including a material that is different from the material of the hydrogen-containing portion.
However, Kim discloses wherein the insulation layer (Kim, upper insulating structure 294 is an insulation layer, hereinafter, insulation layer 294, [0083], Figs. 2A and 3A; Ryu, insulation layer 110, [0058], Figs. 1, 2A, and 5A-5B) comprises a hydrogen-containing insulation portion (Kim, insulation layer 294 comprises the second upper insulating layer 293, hereinafter, hydrogen-containing insulation portion 293, [0083], Figs. 2A and 3A; Ryu, insulation layer 110, [0058], Figs. 1, 2A, and 5A-5B) including a hydrogen-containing portion having a different material from a material of the base insulation portion, the hydrogen-containing portion including hydrogen (Kim, hydrogen-containing insulation portion 293 includes a hydrogen-containing portion (i.e. silicon further including hydrogen) having a different material from a material of the base insulation portion 295 (i.e. silicon nitride-based material), [0041], Figs. 2A and 3A; Ryu, insulation layer 110, [0058], Figs. 1, 2A, and 5A-5B), and a base insulation portion (Kim, insulation layer 294 comprises a barrier capping layer 295 is a base insulation portion, hereinafter, base insulating portion 295, [0083], Figs. 2A and 3A; Ryu, insulation layer 110, [0058], Figs. 1, 2A, and 5A-5B) including a material that is different from the material of the hydrogen-containing portion (Kim, hydrogen-containing insulation portion 293 includes a hydrogen-containing portion (i.e. silicon further including hydrogen) having a different material from a material of the base insulation portion 295 (i.e. silicon nitride-based material), [0041], Figs. 2A and 3A; Ryu, insulation layer 110, [0058], Figs. 1, 2A, and 5A-5B). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Kim, including the specific material of an insulation layer further including both a base insulation portion and hydrogen-containing insulation portion, to the teachings of Ryu.
The motivation to do so is that the combination yields the predictable results of allowing for the selection of a known material based on its suitability for the intended use as forming hydrogen diffusion paths through which hydrogen diffuses enables improved functionality as a high-capacity data processing semiconductor memory device (Kim, [0083] – [0084]). Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). See also MPEP 2144.07.
Kim/Ryu does not explicitly disclose the hydrogen-containing insulation portion is positioned such that a portion of the hydrogen-containing insulation portion laterally overlaps at least one of the channel structure.
However, Zhang (US 2022/0037352 A1) discloses the hydrogen-containing insulation portion is positioned such that a portion of the hydrogen-containing insulation portion laterally overlaps at least one of the channel structure (hydrogen-containing insulation portion 130 is positioned such that a portion of the hydrogen-containing insulation portion 130 laterally overlaps at least one of the channel structure 124 or the plurality of gate contact portions, [0048], Figs. 1B and 2H; Kim, hydrogen-containing insulation portion 293 includes a hydrogen-containing portion (i.e. silicon further including hydrogen) having a different material from a material of the base insulation portion 295 (i.e. silicon nitride-based material), [0041], Figs. 2A and 3A; Ryu, insulation layer 110, [0058], Figs. 1, 2A, and 5A-5B). The combination to position the hydrogen-containing insulation portion such that a portion of the hydrogen-containing insulation portion laterally overlaps the channel structure as it would enable the hydrogen or its isotope can diffuse during the later thermal processes, from the hydrogen-rich insulating structure to the polysilicon semiconductor channels to form hydrogen-rich semiconductor channels, thereby curing the defects of the polysilicon and adjusting the wafer stress and as a result, memory cell performance can be improved, and the production yield can be increased (Zhang, [0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to position the hydrogen-containing insulation portion such that a portion of the hydrogen-containing insulation portion laterally overlaps the channel structure to enable the hydrogen or its isotope to diffuse during the later thermal processes, from the hydrogen-rich insulating structure to the polysilicon semiconductor channels to form hydrogen-rich semiconductor channels, thereby curing the defects of the polysilicon and adjusting the wafer stress and as a result, memory cell performance can be improved, and the production yield can be increased (Zhang, [0027]).
Claim 17, Ryu/Kim/Zhang discloses the semiconductor device (Ryu, semiconductor device 100, [0021], Figs. 1-3B; Kim, Figs. 1-2A and 3A; Zhang, Figs. 1A and 2H) of claim 16.
Ryu/Kim/Zhang does not explicitly disclose wherein the hydrogen-containing portion includes a silicon nitride containing hydrogen.
However, Ryu/Kim/Zhang discloses wherein the hydrogen-containing portion includes a silicon containing hydrogen (Kim, hydrogen-containing insulation portion 293 includes a hydrogen-containing portion (i.e. silicon further including hydrogen), [0041], Figs. 2A and 3A; Ryu, insulation layer 110, [0058], Figs. 1, 2A, and 5A-5B; Zhang, Figs. 1A and 2H). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Kim, including the specific material of an insulation layer further including both a base insulation portion and hydrogen-containing insulation portion, to the teachings of Ryu.
The motivation to do so is that the combination yields the predictable results of allowing for the selection of a known material based on its suitability for the intended use as forming hydrogen diffusion paths through which hydrogen diffuses enables improved functionality as a high-capacity data processing semiconductor memory device (Kim, [0083] – [0084]). Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). See also MPEP 2144.07.
Claim 18, Ryu/Kim/Zhang discloses the semiconductor device (Ryu, semiconductor device 100, [0021], Figs. 1-3B; Kim, Figs. 1-2A and 3A; Zhang, Figs. 1A and 2H) of claim 16.
Ryu/Kim/Zhang discloses wherein the base insulation portion includes a silicon oxide, a silicon oxynitride, a material with lower permittivity than silicon oxide, or a combination thereof (Kim, base insulation portion 295 includes (i.e. silicon nitride-based material), [0041], Figs. 2A and 3A; Ryu, insulation layer 110, [0058], Figs. 1, 2A, and 5A-5B; Zhang, Figs. 1A and 2H). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Kim, including the specific material of an insulation layer further including both a base insulation portion and hydrogen-containing insulation portion, to the teachings of Ryu.
The motivation to do so is that the combination yields the predictable results of allowing for the selection of a known material based on its suitability for the intended use as forming hydrogen diffusion paths through which hydrogen diffuses enables improved functionality as a high-capacity data processing semiconductor memory device (Kim, [0083] – [0084]). Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). See also MPEP 2144.07.
Claim 19, Ryu/Kim/Zhang discloses the semiconductor device (Ryu, semiconductor device 100, [0021], Figs. 1-3B; Kim, Figs. 1-2A and 3A; Zhang, Figs. 1A and 2H) of claim 16.
Ryu/Kim discloses wherein the hydrogen-containing insulation portion (Kim, hydrogen-containing insulation portion 293, [0083], Figs. 2A and 3A; Ryu, insulation layer 110, [0058], Figs. 1, 2A, and 5A-5B) is disposed between adjacent separation structures of the plurality of separation structures (gate stacking structure ST is separated by a plurality of string separation regions SS which are a plurality of separation structures, hereinafter, plurality of separation structures SS, [0028], Figs. 1 and 2A) in a second direction (i.e. Y direction) (gate stacking structure ST is separated by a plurality of separation structures SS in the Y direction, [0036], Figs. 1 and 2A), or passes through at least one of the plurality of separation structures and is disposed over a plurality of memory cell blocks in the second direction (Kim, hydrogen-containing insulation portion 293 passes through at least one of the plurality of separation structures 110s and is disposed over a plurality of memory cell blocks MCA in the Y direction, [0083], Figs. 2A and 3A; Ryu, insulation layer 110, [0058], Figs. 1, 2A, and 5A-5B).
Kim/Ryu does not explicitly disclose wherein the gate stacking structure extends in a first direction and is separated by a plurality of separation structures in a second direction that crosses the first direction.
However, Zhang discloses wherein the gate stacking structure extends in a first direction and is separated by a plurality of separation structures in a second direction that crosses the first direction (Zhang, gate stacking structure 116 extends in a first direction (i.e. x-direction) and is separated by a plurality of separation structures 118 in a second direction (i.e. y-direction) that crosses the first direction (i.e. x-direction), [0053], Fig. 1A; Kim, hydrogen-containing insulation portion 293 passes through at least one of the plurality of separation structures 110s and is disposed over a plurality of memory cell blocks MCA in the Y direction, [0083], Figs. 2A and 3A; Ryu, insulation layer 110, [0058], Figs. 1, 2A, and 5A-5B). The combination to position the gate stacking structure and separate it by a plurality of separation structures as it would enable the hydrogen or its isotope can diffuse during the later thermal processes, from the hydrogen-rich insulating structure to the polysilicon semiconductor channels to form hydrogen-rich semiconductor channels, thereby curing the defects of the polysilicon and adjusting the wafer stress and as a result, memory cell performance can be improved, and the production yield can be increased (Zhang, [0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to position the hydrogen-containing insulation portion such that a portion of the hydrogen-containing insulation portion laterally overlaps the channel structure to enable the hydrogen or its isotope to diffuse during the later thermal processes, from the hydrogen-rich insulating structure to the polysilicon semiconductor channels to form hydrogen-rich semiconductor channels, thereby curing the defects of the polysilicon and adjusting the wafer stress and as a result, memory cell performance can be improved, and the production yield can be increased (Zhang, [0027]).
Claim 20, Ryu discloses an electronic system (data storage system 2000 is an electronic system, hereinafter, electronic system 2000, [015], Figs. 1, 2A, and 18) comprising:
a main substrate (main board 2001 and package substrate 2100 are main substrates, hereinafter, main substrate 2001/2100, [0105], Figs. 1, 2A, and 18);
a semiconductor device (semiconductor chips 2200 are equivalent to the semiconductor device 100, hereinafter, semiconductor device 100/2200, [0109], Figs. 1 2A, and 18) on the main substrate (semiconductor device 100/2200 is on the main substrate 2001/2100, [0109], Figs. 1 2A, and 18); and
a controller (controller 2002, [0107], Fig. 18) that is electrically connected with the semiconductor device 100/2200 on the main substrate 2001/2100 (controller 2002 is electrically connected with the semiconductor device 100/2200 on the main substrate 2001/2100, [0107], Fig. 18),
wherein the semiconductor device 100/2200 comprises a cell array region (semiconductor device 100 includes a first region MCA which is a cell array region, hereinafter, cell array region MCA, [0029], Figs. 1 and 2A) and a connection region (semiconductor device 100 includes a second region SA which is a connection region, hereinafter, connection region SA, [0029], Figs. 1 and 2A),
the semiconductor device 100 comprises:
a gate stacking structure (stack structure ST is a gate stacking structure, hereinafter, gate stacking structure ST, [0028], Fig. 2A) that includes a plurality of gate electrodes (gate stacking structure ST includes a plurality of gate electrodes 130, [0028], Fig. 2A) and a plurality of interlayer insulation layers (gate stacking structure ST includes a plurality of interlayer insulation layers 120, [0028], Fig. 2A) that are alternately stacked (plurality of gate electrodes 130 and plurality of interlayer insulation layers 120 are alternately stacked within the gate stacking structure ST, [0028], Figs. 1 and 2A), the gate stacking structure ST extends in a first direction (i.e. X direction) (gate stacking structure ST extends in the X direction, [0036], Figs. 1 and 2A) and is separated by a plurality of separation structures (gate stacking structure ST is separated by a plurality of string separation regions SS which are a plurality of separation structures, hereinafter, plurality of separation structures SS, [0028], Figs. 1 and 2A) in a second direction (i.e. Y direction) that crosses the first direction (i.e. X direction) (gate stacking structure ST is separated by a plurality of separation structures SS in the Y direction that crosses the X direction, [0036], Figs. 1 and 2A);
a channel structure (channel structures CH, [0028], Figs. 1 and 2A) penetrating the gate stacking structure ST in the cell array region MCA (channel structures CH , [0028], Figs. 1 and 2A);
a plurality of gate contact portions (contact plugs 160g/160c are a plurality of gate contact portions, hereinafter, plurality of gate contact portions 160g/160c, [0028], Figs. 1 and 2A) penetrating the gate stacking structure ST in the connection region SA (plurality of gate contact portions 160g/160c penetrate the gate stacking structure ST in the connection region SA, [0028], Figs. 1 and 2A), the plurality of gate contact portions 160g/160c are electrically connected to the plurality of gate electrodes 130, respectively (plurality of gate contact portions 160g/160c are electrically connected to the plurality of gate electrodes 130, respectively, [0028], Figs. 1 and 2A); and
an insulation layer (base layer 110 is formed of at least one of an insulating material, hereinafter, insulation layer 110, [0058], Figs. 1, 2A, and 5A-5B)ST (insulation layer 110 covering at least the gate stacking structure ST, [0058], Figs. 1, 2A, and 5A-5B).
Ryu does not explicitly disclose wherein the insulation layer comprises a base insulation portion and a hydrogen-containing insulation portion, and the hydrogen-containing insulation portion includes a hydrogen-containing portion having a different material from a material of the base insulation portion, the hydrogen-containing portion including hydrogen.
However, Kim discloses wherein the insulation layer (Kim, upper insulating structure 294 is an insulation layer, hereinafter, insulation layer 294, [0083], Figs. 2A and 3A; Ryu, insulation layer 110, [0058], Figs. 1, 2A, and 5A-5B) comprises a base insulation portion (Kim, insulation layer 294 comprises a barrier capping layer 295 is a base insulation portion, hereinafter, base insulating portion 295, [0083], Figs. 2A and 3A; Ryu, insulation layer 110, [0058], Figs. 1, 2A, and 5A-5B) and a hydrogen-containing insulation portion (Kim, insulation layer 294 comprises the second upper insulating layer 293, hereinafter, hydrogen-containing insulation portion 293, [0083], Figs. 2A and 3A; Ryu, insulation layer 110, [0058], Figs. 1, 2A, and 5A-5B), and the hydrogen-containing insulation portion includes a hydrogen-containing portion having a different material from a material of the base insulation portion, the hydrogen-containing portion including hydrogen (Kim, hydrogen-containing insulation portion 293 includes a hydrogen-containing portion (i.e. silicon further including hydrogen) having a different material from a material of the base insulation portion 295 (i.e. silicon nitride-based material), [0041], Figs. 2A and 3A; Ryu, insulation layer 110, [0058], Figs. 1, 2A, and 5A-5B). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Kim, including the specific material of an insulation layer further including both a base insulation portion and hydrogen-containing insulation portion, to the teachings of Ryu.
The motivation to do so is that the combination yields the predictable results of allowing for the selection of a known material based on its suitability for the intended use as forming hydrogen diffusion paths through which hydrogen diffuses enables improved functionality as a high-capacity data processing semiconductor memory device (Kim, [0083] – [0084]). Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). See also MPEP 2144.07.
Kim/Ryu does not explicitly disclose the hydrogen-containing insulation portion is positioned such that a portion of the hydrogen-containing insulation portion laterally overlaps at least one of the channel structure.
However, Zhang (US 2022/0037352 A1) discloses the hydrogen-containing insulation portion is positioned such that a portion of the hydrogen-containing insulation portion laterally overlaps at least one of the channel structure (hydrogen-containing insulation portion 130 is positioned such that a portion of the hydrogen-containing insulation portion 130 laterally overlaps at least one of the channel structure 124 or the plurality of gate contact portions, [0048], Figs. 1B and 2H; Kim, hydrogen-containing insulation portion 293 includes a hydrogen-containing portion (i.e. silicon further including hydrogen) having a different material from a material of the base insulation portion 295 (i.e. silicon nitride-based material), [0041], Figs. 2A and 3A; Ryu, insulation layer 110, [0058], Figs. 1, 2A, and 5A-5B). The combination to position the hydrogen-containing insulation portion such that a portion of the hydrogen-containing insulation portion laterally overlaps the channel structure as it would enable the hydrogen or its isotope can diffuse during the later thermal processes, from the hydrogen-rich insulating structure to the polysilicon semiconductor channels to form hydrogen-rich semiconductor channels, thereby curing the defects of the polysilicon and adjusting the wafer stress and as a result, memory cell performance can be improved, and the production yield can be increased (Zhang, [0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to position the hydrogen-containing insulation portion such that a portion of the hydrogen-containing insulation portion laterally overlaps the channel structure to enable the hydrogen or its isotope to diffuse during the later thermal processes, from the hydrogen-rich insulating structure to the polysilicon semiconductor channels to form hydrogen-rich semiconductor channels, thereby curing the defects of the polysilicon and adjusting the wafer stress and as a result, memory cell performance can be improved, and the production yield can be increased (Zhang, [0027]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chen (US 2014/0264925 A1) discloses an insulation layer 240/246 further including a base insulation portion and a hydrogen-containing insulation portion (i.e. hydrogenated silicon and silicon oxide) (etch stop layer 240 and insulation layer 244, [0070], Figs. 12, 12A-12B)
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHEVY J BOEGEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/William B Partridge/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812