DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kawaguchi (US PGPub No. 2019/0277570).
Regarding claim 1, Kawaguchi discloses a honeycomb structure (hollow pillar shaped honeycomb structure 8, Figs. 1 and 2) comprising:
an inner peripheral wall (6); an outer peripheral wall (7); and partition walls (5a) disposed between the inner peripheral wall and the outer peripheral wall, the partition walls defining a plurality of cells (4) each extending from a first end face (2) to a second end face (3),
wherein, in a cross section orthogonal to an extending direction of the cells (Fig. 2), the partition walls comprise one or more first partition walls extending in a radial direction (plurality of the radial extending first partition walls 5a), and
wherein the inner peripheral wall and the outer peripheral wall have an average thickness of 0.1 mm or more (see table 1, the outer wall 6 and inner wall 7 each has a thickness of 1.5 mm), and a thickness variation coefficient of 1.0 or less, represented by the following equation (1): the thickness variation coefficient = a standard deviation of the thicknesses of the inner peripheral wall and the outer peripheral wall / an average thickness of the inner peripheral wall and the outer peripheral wall (1) (the outer wall 6 and inner wall 7 have the same thickness. Therefore, a standard deviation of the thicknesses of the outer wall 6 and inner wall 7 is zero. As a result, the equation 1 is also zero which is less than 1 as claimed).
Regarding claim 2, Kawaguchi further discloses wherein the partition walls further comprise one or more second partition walls (5b) extending in a circumferential direction in a cross section orthogonal to the extending direction of the cells (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, Kawaguchi further discloses wherein the inner peripheral wall has an inner diameter of 20 to 200 mm (diameter of the hollow region 10 of 52mm, see Example 1, paragraph 0168. The hollow region 10 defines an inner diameter of the inner wall 7), and the outer peripheral wall has an outer diameter of 30 to 300 mm (outer diameter of 70mm in Example 1, paragraph 0168).
Regarding claim 5, Kawaguchi further discloses wherein the number of the second partition walls is 50 or less (two second partition walls 5b shown in Fig. 2).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Kawaguchi further discloses wherein the first partition walls and the second partition walls have an average thickness of 0.1 to 1 mm (see table 1, both the first and second partition walls have a thickness of 0.3 mm).
Regarding claims 8, Kawaguchi further discloses wherein a length in the extending direction of the cells is 10 to 300 mm (a length of the honeycomb structure in Figs. 1 and 2 is 25mm, Example 1, paragraph 0168).
Regarding claims 9, Kawaguchi further discloses a heat exchanger (1) comprising the honeycomb structure (in Figs. 1 and 2) according to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawaguchi (US PGPub No. 2019/0277570) in view of Miyairi (US PGPub No. 2020/0123956).
Regarding claim 4, Kawaguchi fails to explicitly disclose wherein the number of the first partition walls is 50 to 1500.
Miyairi discloses disclose wherein the number of the first partition walls is 50 to 1500 (paragraph 0072 and Fig. 3, the ceramic cylinder tube 10 may be provided with 50 or more cell columns. Therefore, 50 or more radial first partition walls 13 are provided in the ceramic cylinder tube 10).
The number of the first partition walls 5a determines the number of cells 4 and further determines the cell density according to paragraph 0081 in Kawaguchi. The paragraph 0081 further discloses that the cell density may be adjusted as needed depending on applications or the like and increasing the cell density increases the strength of the hollow pillar shaped honeycomb structure 8 itself.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the number of the first partition walls is 50 to 1500 in Kawaguchi as taught by Miyairi in order to increase strength and increase heat transfer area if the hollow pillar shaped honeycomb structure 8.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/12/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that Kawaguchi fails to disclose the standard deviation of the respective average thickness, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies upon: the thickness variation of the inner and outer peripheral walls in the honeycomb structure as a result of extruding a green body and further determines the standard deviation (pages 6 and 7 of remarks), are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The argument implies the standard deviation in microscopic view of the green body or surface roughness, and that causes the thickness variation described in remarks.
The argued part of claim 1 is excerpted as follows:
“wherein the inner peripheral wall and the outer peripheral wall have an average thickness of 0.1 mm or more, and a thickness variation coefficient of 1.0 or less, represented by the following equation (1): the thickness variation coefficient = a standard deviation of the thicknesses of the inner peripheral wall and the outer peripheral wall / an average thickness of the inner peripheral wall and the outer peripheral wall (1)”.
Claim 1 only recites a general average thickness and a standard deviation of the thicknesses of the inner peripheral wall and the outer peripheral wall, without specifying where the thickness is taken or details of the thickness of the inner and outer peripheral walls.
Kawaguchi discloses that the outer wall 6 and inner wall 7 have the same thickness of 1.5 mm (in Example 1 of Table 1) more than claimed 0.1 mm. Therefore, an average thickness of the outer wall 6 and inner wall 7 is the same 1.5 mm. A standard deviation of thicknesses of the walls 6 and 7 must be zero because they have the same value, and thus the claimed equation and “a thickness variation coefficient of 1.0 or less”.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JIANYING C ATKISSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/F.K.L/Examiner, Art Unit 3763