Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II in the reply filed on 25 June 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 2, 4, 9, 12, and 17 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group I.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the radiation shield positioned in the air gap (claim 13, line 2) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-6, 16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kicinski et. al. (US 4487289).
Regarding claim 1, Kicinski et. al. teaches: An exhaust assembly comprising: an exhaust tube defining a substantially central axis, wherein the exhaust tube is configured to direct an exhaust gas away from an engine to which the exhaust tube is fluidly connected (exhaust tube 33 configured to direct exhaust from an engine [Col. 3, lines 66-67 and Fig. 6]); an insulation structure positioned concentrically around the exhaust tube (insulation structure – encircled in image below of Fig. 6), the insulation structure including: a standoff coupled to the exhaust tube and providing an air gap between the exhaust tube and the insulation structure (standoff 3/41 and 2/40 creating air gap 39 between exhaust tube 33 and insulation structure [Col. 4, lines 15-19 and Fig. 6]); an inner shell coupled to the standoff and concentric about the exhaust tube (inner shell 21 concentric about exhaust tube 33 [Figs. 1 and 6]); an outer shell concentric about the inner shell (outer shell 18/38 concentric about inner shell [Fig. 6]); and an insulation layer disposed between the inner shell and the outer shell (insulation layer 20 between inner shell 21 and outer shell 18/38 [Figs. 1 and 6]); and a forced air system that drives air through the air gap along a length of the exhaust tube (system forces air through air gap 24/39 along the length of exhaust tube 1/33 via convection [Col. 3, lines 28-34 and Fig. 1] and/or aspirating action of a venturi [Col. 4, lines 47-53 and Fig. 6]).
Regarding claims 6 and 19, Kicinski et. al. teaches: The exhaust assembly, wherein the exhaust gas travels along the exhaust tube in a first direction and the forced air system drives the air in a second direction parallel to the first direction (exhaust gas travels in direction represented by arrows in tube 4/33 and forced air system drives air in a second direction parallel to first as depicted by arrows in the air gap 24/39 [Figs. 1 and 6]).
Regarding claim 16, Kicinski et. al. teaches: A system comprising: an internal combustion engine; and an exhaust assembly fluidly connected with the internal combustion engine (system comprises an engine which has an exhaust assembly fluidly connected to the engine [Col. 3, lines 61-68]), wherein the exhaust assembly comprises: an exhaust tube oriented about an axis (exhaust tube 1/33 orientated about an axis [Figs. 1 and 6]), wherein an exhaust gas is configured to flow through the exhaust tube away from the internal combustion engine (exhaust gas configured to flow through tube away from engine [Col. 3, line 66 – Col. 4, line 1]); an insulation structure positioned concentrically around the exhaust tube (insulation structure – encircled in image above of Fig. 6), the insulation structure including: a standoff coupled to the exhaust tube and providing an air gap between the exhaust tube and the insulation structure (standoff 3/41 and 2/40 creating air gap 39 between exhaust tube 33 and insulation structure [Col. 4, lines 15-19 and Fig. 6]); an inner shell coupled to the standoff and concentric about the exhaust tube (inner shell 21 concentric about exhaust tube 33 [Figs. 1 and 6]); an outer shell concentric about the inner shell (outer shell 18/38 concentric about inner shell [Fig. 6]); and an insulation layer disposed between the inner shell and the outer shell (insulation layer 20 between inner shell 21 and outer shell 18/38 [Figs. 1 and 6]); and a forced air system that drives air through the air gap along a length of the exhaust tube (system forces air through air gap 24/39 along the length of exhaust tube 1/33 via convection [Col. 3, lines 28-34 and Fig. 1] and/or aspirating action of a venturi [Col. 4, lines 47-53 and Fig. 6]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8, 10, 11, and 13-15 allowed.
Claims 3, , and 20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art of record does not disclose or reasonably suggest the exhaust insulation system having the combination of features set forth in independent claim 8, and dependent claims 3, 7, and 18.
US 4487289 to Kicinski et. al. may be seen as close prior art in certain aspects but fails to expressly teach the fan configured to drive air through the air gap as described in independent claim 8 and dependent claim 7. Furthermore, the prior art does not account for the standoff comprising a porous metal mesh disposed in the air gap as claimed by the applicant in dependent claims 3 and 18 and the air flow from forced air system being carried in an opposite direction to the exhaust flow direction as claimed in dependent claims 5 and 20.
Kicinski et. al. discloses an exhaust insulation assembly comprising outer shell, inner shell, insulation layer, air gap, standoff and forced air system (see rejection above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Kimball et. al. (US 20180245493) teaches: liquid cooled exhaust manifolds for marine engine applications (Abstract and Fig. 6).
Kroll et. al. (US 20120096842) teaches: an exhaust manifold for an internal combustion engine comprising an air gap and insulating material joined to an outer jacket (Abstract and the Figure)
Hinder et. al. (US 20030033801) teaches: an exhaust system for an internal combustion engine having a triple pipe configuration for conveying exhaust and coolant in parallel and opposing directions (Abstract and Figs. 1 and 2)
/JOSHUA D LEARY/Examiner, Art Unit 3753
/CRAIG M SCHNEIDER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3753