DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 9 recites the limitation “wherein processing circuit is configured” in Line 2.
Claim 9, Line 2 should recite: wherein the processing circuit is configured.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6 and 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyer et al. (US 2016/0061610) in view of Young (US 2019/0023271).
Claim 1: Meyer teaches a battery electric machine (101) (Fig.1), comprising:
a propulsion system configured to propel the battery electric machine (101) (Par.25 and 31);
a battery module (12) comprising battery terminals configured to connect to a primary battery and provide power to the propulsion system (Par.28 and 32);
a processing circuit (20) (Par.27) configured to:
monitor an existing potential energy of the primary battery (12) (Par.43, 57 and 101),
estimate a remaining upward vertical distance that the battery electric machine (101) can travel based on a first vertical estimation algorithm and the existing potential energy (Par.104-107), and
estimate a remaining downward vertical distance that the battery electric machine (101) can travel based on a second vertical estimation algorithm and the existing potential energy (Par.43 and 104-107; The distance prediction tool utilizes the potential energy as the vehicle travels uphill and downhill to determine the distance to empty (DTE); DTE is the remaining distance that the vehicle can travel.); and
a display (24) (Par.28) configured to indicate the remaining upward vertical distance and the remaining downward vertical distance (Par.108).
The examiner notes a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. In this case the battery electric machine of Mayer is capable of carrying a payload. Therefore, the structure of Meyer meets the claim.
Meyer does not explicitly teach the propulsion system includes an electric motor.
Young teaches a battery electric machine (1) (Fig.1) configured to carry a payload (Par.23), comprising: a propulsion system including an electric motor (22) (Fig.2) (Par.45-46).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Young in the system of Meyer with the expected result of driving the machine (Par.49) utilizing a known drivetrain configuration (Par.45-46).
Claim 3: Meyer in view of Young teach the limitations of claim 1 as disclosed above. Meyer teaches wherein the remaining upward vertical distance corresponds to an increase in elevation relative to the battery electric machine (101), and wherein the remaining downward vertical distance corresponds to a decrease in elevation relative to the battery electric machine (101) (Par.43-44).
Claim 4: Meyer in view of Young teach the limitations of claim 1 as disclosed above. Meyer teaches wherein the remaining upward vertical distance and the remaining downward vertical distance correspond to vertical distances along a vertical plane, and the battery electric machine (101) is a tired machine configured to travel along a driving plane that intersects the vertical plane (Par.43; The vehicle travels up and down different heights while transversing a road segment.).
Claims 5-6: Meyer in view of Young teach the limitations of claim 1 as disclosed above. Meyer teaches wherein the processing circuit (20) is configured to:
calculate a total mass based on a machine mass of the battery electric machine (101) (Par.43),
estimate the remaining upward vertical distance that the battery electric machine can travel based on the first vertical estimation algorithm, the total mass, and the existing potential energy (Par.43-44), and
estimate the remaining downward vertical distance that the battery electric machine can travel based on the second vertical estimation algorithm, the total mass, and the existing potential energy (Par.43-44).
Meyer does not explicitly teach the total mass based on a sum of a payload mass and a machine mass; further comprising: at least one sensor configured to sense the payload mass of the payload and generate at least one sensor signal representative of the payload mass, wherein the processing circuit is configured to receive the at least one sensor signal and calculate the total mass based on a sum of the payload mass, indicated by the at least one sensor signal, and the machine mass of the battery electric machine, and wherein the at least one sensor includes a torque sensor or a pressure sensor.
Young teaches a processing circuit (26) (Fig.2) (Par.49) configured to: calculate a total mass based on a sum of a payload mass and a machine mass (Par.49); further comprising: at least one sensor configured to sense the payload mass of the payload and generate at least one sensor signal representative of the payload mass (Par.25), wherein the processing circuit (26) is configured to receive the at least one sensor signal and calculate the total mass based on a sum of the payload mass, indicated by the at least one sensor signal, and the machine mass of the battery electric machine, and wherein the at least one sensor includes a pressure sensor (Par.49).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Young in the system of Meyer to have had adjusted the electric machine operation based on the varying weight (Par.23) to have had reduced fuel consumption while maintaining performance level (Par.53).
Claim 9: Meyer in view of Young teach the limitations of claim 1 as disclosed above. Meyer teaches wherein the processing circuit (20) is configured to scale the existing potential energy by a weighted upward efficiency value for estimating the remaining upward vertical distance according to the first vertical estimation algorithm, wherein the weighted upward efficiency value corresponds to an uphill operational efficiency of the battery electric machine (101) (Par.56), and
wherein processing circuit (20) is configured to scale the existing potential energy by a weighted downward efficiency value for estimating the remaining downward vertical distance according to the second vertical estimation algorithm, wherein the weighted downward efficiency value corresponds to a downhill operational efficiency of the battery electric machine (101) (Par.56 and 77).
Claim 10: Meyer in view of Young teach the limitations of claim 9 as disclosed above. Meyer teaches wherein the uphill operational efficiency is an operational efficiency of the battery electric machine (101) while using the primary battery (12) for uphill movement (Par.56 and 92), and
wherein the downhill operational efficiency is an operational efficiency of the battery electric machine (101) while using the primary battery for downhill movement (Par.43, 73 and 77).
Claim 11: Meyer in view of Young teach the limitations of claim 1 as disclosed above. Meyer teaches wherein the processing circuit (20) includes at least one memory (Par.28) configured to store an upward efficiency table and downward efficiency table (Par.92),
wherein the upward efficiency table corresponds to the battery electric machine while using the primary battery (Par.92; Propulsive),
wherein the downward efficiency table corresponds to the battery electric machine while using the primary battery (Par.92),
wherein the upward efficiency table is configured to store uphill trip data (Par.92; Generated for specified road segments.) (Par.73 and 91-92; Including receiving information based on an elevation.) (Fig.4; Efficiency model 412 receives elevation data from 405),
wherein the downward efficiency table is configured to store downhill trip data (Par.92; Generated for specified road segments.) (Par.73 and 91-92; Including receiving information based on an elevation.) (Fig.4; Efficiency model 412 receives elevation data from 405),
wherein the processing circuit (20) is configured to calculate an upward efficiency value based on the uphill trip data and scale the existing potential energy by the upward efficiency value to estimate the remaining upward vertical distance (DTE) (Par.92), and
wherein the processing circuit (20) is configured to calculate a downward efficiency value based on the downhill trip data and scale the existing potential energy by the downward efficiency value to estimate the remaining downward vertical distance (DTE) (Par.92).
Claim 12: Meyer in view of Young teach the limitations of claim 11 as disclosed above. Meyer teaches wherein the uphill trip data includes an uphill used battery energy (Par.72-73; Elevation energy consumption), and wherein the downhill trip data includes a downhill used battery energy (Par.72-73; Elevation energy consumption).
Claim 13: Meyer in view of Young teach the limitations of claim 11 as disclosed above. Meyer teaches wherein the upward efficiency table includes initial uphill trip data including an initial uphill trip efficiency value (Par.92; Energy efficiency database stored in memory.),
wherein the processing circuit (20) is configured to collect the uphill trip data for one or more uphill trips, update the upward efficiency table with the uphill trip data for the one or more uphill trips, and, after each uphill trip of the one or more uphill trips, recalculate the upward efficiency value based on the initial uphill trip efficiency value and the uphill trip data for the one or more uphill trips, and calculate the remaining upward vertical distance (DTE) based on the upward efficiency value (Par.92) (Par.97; The efficiency value (Average efficiency) is recalculated after every trip.) (Fig.5),
wherein the downward efficiency table includes initial downhill trip data including an initial downhill trip efficiency value (Par.92; Energy efficiency database stored in memory.), and
wherein the processing circuit is configured to collect the downhill trip data for one or more downhill trips, update the downward efficiency table with the downhill trip data for the one or more downhill trips, and, after each downhill trip of the one or more downhill trips, recalculate the downward efficiency value based on the initial downhill trip efficiency value and the downhill trip data for the one or more downhill trips, and calculate the remaining downward vertical distance based on the downward efficiency value (Par.92) (Par.97; The efficiency value (Average efficiency) is recalculated after every trip.) (Fig.5).
Claim 14: Meyer in view of Young teach the limitations of claim 13 as disclosed above. Meyer teaches wherein the processing circuit (20) is configured to calculate an uphill trip efficiency value for each uphill trip of the one or more uphill trips based on respective uphill trip data, and calculate the upward efficiency value as an average of the initial uphill trip efficiency value and one or more uphill trip efficiency values calculated for the one or more uphill trips (Par.92 and 97) (Fig.5), and
wherein the processing circuit (20) is configured to calculate a downhill trip efficiency value for each downhill trip of the one or more downhill trips based on respective downhill trip data, and calculate the downward efficiency value as an average of the initial downhill trip efficiency value and one or more downhill trip efficiency values calculated for the one or more downhill trips (Par.92 and 97) (Fig.5).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyer et al. (US 2016/0061610) in view of Young (US 2019/0023271) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Charr et al. (US 2022/0274618).
Claim 2: Meyer in view of Young teach the limitations of claim 1 as disclosed above. Meyer teaches wherein the remaining upward vertical distance is a first vertical range that the battery electric machine can travel in an upward vertical direction before reaching a depletion limit of the primary battery (Par.25 and 43).
Meyer does not explicitly teach the remaining downward vertical distance is a second vertical range that the battery electric machine can travel in a downward vertical direction before reaching a saturation limit of the primary battery.
Charr teaches a remaining downward vertical distance is a second vertical range that a battery electric machine (vehicle) can travel in a downward vertical direction before reaching a saturation limit of a primary battery (1) (Par.43 and 68).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had a remaining distance a vehicle can travel based on a saturation limit of the vehicle’s battery in the system of Meyer to have had avoided untimely and unexpected breakdowns due to battery energy overconsumption (Par.69) as disclosed in Charr.
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyer et al. (US 2016/0061610) in view of Young (US 2019/0023271) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nguyen et al. (US 2022/0360091).
Claims 7-8: Meyer in view of Young teach the limitations of claim 1 as disclosed above. Meyer does not explicitly teach wherein processing circuit is configured to calculate a state of health of the primary battery, calculate a state of charge of the primary battery, and calculate the existing potential energy based on the SOH and the SOC; wherein processing circuit is configured to calculate the existing potential energy based on the SOH, the SOC, and a nameplate capacity of the primary battery.
Nguyen teaches a processing circuit (1604) (Fig.16) is configured to calculate a state of health of a primary battery (SOH), calculate a state of charge of the primary battery (SOC), and calculate the existing potential energy based on the SOH and the SOC (Par.110-111); wherein processing circuit (1604) is configured to calculate the existing potential energy based on the SOH, the SOC, and a nameplate capacity (C) of the primary battery (Par.111).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Young in the system of Meyer to have had utilize specific and varying parameters of the battery to calculate the existing energy (Par.109-111) thereby improving accuracy of the determination.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyer et al. (US 2016/0061610) in view of Young (US 2019/0023271) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Park et al. (US 2017/0021737).
Claim 15: Meyer in view of Young teach the limitations of claim 1 as disclosed above. Meyer teaches wherein the processing circuit (20) is configured to:
calculate a total mass based on a machine mass of the battery electric machine (101) (Par.43),
estimate the remaining upward vertical distance that the battery electric machine can travel based on the first vertical estimation algorithm, the total mass, and an existing potential energy (Par.43-44), and
estimate the remaining downward vertical distance that the battery electric machine can travel based on the second vertical estimation algorithm, the total mass, and an existing potential energy (Par.43-44).
Meyer does not explicitly teach the total mass based on a sum of a payload mass and a machine mass.
Young teaches a processing circuit (26) (Fig.2) (Par.49) configured to: calculate a total mass based on a sum of a payload mass and a machine mass (Par.49).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Young in the system of Meyer to have had adjusted the electric machine operation based on the varying weight (Par.23) to have had reduced fuel consumption while maintaining performance level (Par.53).
Meyer does not explicitly teach wherein the battery terminals are configured to connect to a secondary battery for providing auxiliary power, wherein the processing circuit is further configured to monitor a secondary existing potential energy of the secondary battery. Meuer does not explicitly disclose wherein the existing potential energy used by the processing circuit in the remaining vertical distance estimation being a secondary existing potential energy.
Park teaches a battery (50) (Fig.1) comprising battery terminals configured to connect to a secondary battery (100) for providing auxiliary power (Par.52), wherein a processing circuit (120) (Fig.2) is configured to monitor a secondary existing potential energy of the secondary battery (100) (Par.60 and 63).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had a secondary battery and based the remaining vertical distance on the potential energy of the secondary battery in the system of Meyer to have had reflected conditions of the road (Par.7) and energy available in an additional battery that may affect the overall energy available for travel during downhill and uphill sections (Par.60) thereby accurately estimating a remaining distance.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyer et al. (US 2016/0061610) in view of Young (US 2019/0023271) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2024/0059171) and Yamamoto et al. (US 2013/0166125).
Claim 16: Meyer in view of Young teach the limitations of claim 1 as disclosed above. Meyer does not explicitly teach wherein the battery terminals are configured to connect to a secondary battery and provide a power swap with the primary battery, wherein the battery module is configured to, while using the primary battery as a power source, recharge the secondary battery with recharge energy routed from the primary battery.
Lee teaches a primary battery (121) comprising battery terminals configured to connect to a secondary battery (111) and provide a power swap with the primary battery (121) (Par.66-67), wherein a battery module (120) is configured to, while using the primary battery (121) as a power source, recharge the secondary battery (111) with recharge energy routed from the primary battery (121) (Par.55 and 58).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Lee in the system of Meyer to have had preferentially charged a primary battery and preferentially discharge a swap battery (Par.8) therefore the charge of the primary battery is always secured , reducing the number of charging times and improving driving performance (Par.30).
The combination of Meyer in view of Lee does not explicitly teach wherein the processing circuit is configured to decrease the remaining upward vertical distance based on the recharge energy, and wherein the processing circuit is configured to increase the remaining downward vertical distance based on the recharge energy.
Yamamoto teaches a processing circuit is configured to decrease a remaining upward vertical distance (DTE) based on a recharge energy, and wherein the processing circuit is configured to increase a remaining downward vertical distance based (DTE) on the recharge energy (Par.105; Distance is reduced or extended based on battery recharge energy).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Yamamoto in the combination of Meyer in view of Lee to have had taken into consideration a difference in energy consumption/recharge when a vehicle travels uphill or downhill thereby accurately calculating a remaining travelable distance (Par.13).
Claims 17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyer et al. (US 2016/0061610) in view of Young (US 2019/0023271) and Yang et al. (US 2021/0379999).
Claims 17 and 20: Meyer teaches a tired machine (101) (Fig.1), comprising:
a propulsion system configured to propel the tired machine (101) (Par.25 and 31);
a battery module (12) comprising battery terminals configured to connect to a battery and provide power to the propulsion system (Par.28 and 32);
a vertical distance estimator comprising a processor (20) (Par.27) configured to:
calculate a total mass based on a machine mass of the battery electric machine (101) (Par.43),
calculate a potential energy value of the battery (12) (Par.43, 57 and 101),
estimate a remaining upward vertical distance that the tired machine can travel based on a first vertical estimation algorithm, the total mass, and the potential energy value (Par.43-44 and 104-107; The distance prediction tool utilizes the potential energy as the vehicle travels uphill and downhill to determine the distance to empty (DTE); DTE is the remaining distance that the vehicle can travel.), and
estimate the remaining downward vertical distance that the tired machine can travel based on the second vertical estimation algorithm, the total mass, and the existing potential energy (Par.43-44); and
a display (24) (Par.28) configured to indicate the remaining upward vertical distance and the remaining downward vertical distance (Par.108).
Meyer does not explicitly teach the propulsion system includes an electric motor; where the vertical distance estimator is configured to determine a payload mass of a payload carried by the tired machine; calculating a total mass based on a sum of a payload mass of the payload and a machine mass of the tired machine.
Young teaches a tired machine (1) (Fig.1) configured to carry a payload (Par.23), comprising: a propulsion system including an electric motor (22) (Fig.2) (Par.45-46); a processing circuit (26) (Fig.2) (Par.49) configured to: calculate a total mass based on a sum of a payload mass of the payload and a machine mass of the tired machine (1) (Par.49).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Young in the system of Meyer to have had adjusted the electric machine operation based on the varying weight (Par.23) to have had reduced fuel consumption while maintaining performance level (Par.53).
Furthermore, Meyer does not explicitly teach wherein the vertical distance estimator is further configured to monitor a state of charge of the battery and calculate a first potential energy value of the battery and a second potential energy value of the battery based on the SOC, wherein the vertical distance estimator is further configured to estimate a remaining upward vertical distance that the tired machine can travel based on the first potential energy value, and wherein the vertical distance estimator is further configured to estimate a remaining downward vertical distance that the tired machine can travel based on the second potential energy value.
Yang teaches a tired machine (3) (Fig.3), comprising: monitoring a state of charge of a battery (41) and calculating a first potential energy value of the battery (41) and a second potential energy value of the battery (41) based on the SOC (Par.68, 70 and 75; Calculation of SOC and energy in each of a plurality of sections), the first potential energy value based on an upward vertical distance (Uphill) (Par.64-65) (Fig.8) and , and the second potential energy value based on a downward vertical distance (Downhill) (Par.69).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had calculated a first potential energy and a second potential energy in the system of Meyer to have had reduced deterioration of the battery while required traveling performance is ensured (Par.9) and have had prevented the tired machine from stopping due to lack of energy (Par.5-6) as taught in Yang.
Claim 19: Meyer in view of Young and Yang teach the limitations of claim 17 as disclosed above. Meyer teaches wherein the vertical distance estimator includes at least one memory configured to store an efficiency table (Par.92),
wherein the upward efficiency table corresponds to the tired machine (101) while using the battery (12) (Par.92; Propulsive),
wherein the efficiency table corresponds to the tired machine (101) while using the battery(12) (Par.92; Propulsive),
wherein the efficiency table is configured to store uphill trip data (Par.92; Generated for specified road segments.) (Par.73 and 91-92; Including receiving information based on an elevation.) (Fig.4; Efficiency model 412 receives elevation data from 405),
wherein the efficiency table is configured to store downhill trip data (Par.92; Generated for specified road segments.) (Par.73 and 91-92; Including receiving information based on an elevation.) (Fig.4; Efficiency model 412 receives elevation data from 405),
wherein the vertical distance estimator is configured to calculate an efficiency value based on the uphill trip data and calculate a potential energy based on the upward efficiency value (Par.92), and
wherein the vertical distance estimator is configured to calculate an efficiency value based on the downhill trip data and calculate a potential energy value based on the downward efficiency value (Par.92).
Meyer does not explicitly teach wherein the vertical distance estimator is configured to calculate a first potential energy value, and calculate a second potential energy value.
Yang teaches a tired machine (3) (Fig.3), comprising: calculating a first potential energy value of the battery (41) and a second potential energy value of the battery (41) (Par.68, 70 and 75; Calculation of energy in each of a plurality of sections), the first potential energy value based on an upward vertical distance (Uphill) (Par.64-65) (Fig.8) and , and the second potential energy value based on a downward vertical distance (Downhill) (Par.69).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had calculated a first potential energy and a second potential energy in the system of Meyer to have had reduced deterioration of the battery while required traveling performance is ensured (Par.9) and have had prevented the tired machine from stopping due to lack of energy (Par.5-6) as taught in Yang.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyer et al. (US 2016/0061610) in view of Young (US 2019/0023271) and Yang et al. (US 2021/0379999) as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Charr et al. (US 2022/0274618).
Claim 18: Meyer in view of Young and Yang teach the limitations of claim 17 as disclosed above. Meyer teaches wherein the remaining upward vertical distance is a first vertical range that the tired machine can travel in an upward vertical direction before the battery reaches a depletion limit (Par.25 and 43).
Meyer does not explicitly teach the remaining downward vertical distance is a second vertical range that the tired machine can travel in a downward vertical direction before the battery reaches a saturation limit.
Charr teaches a remaining downward vertical distance is a second vertical range that a battery electric machine (vehicle) can travel in a downward vertical direction before reaching a saturation limit of a primary battery (1) (Par.43 and 68).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had a remaining distance a vehicle can travel based on a saturation limit of the vehicle’s battery in the system of Meyer to have had avoided untimely and unexpected breakdowns due to battery energy overconsumption (Par.69) as disclosed in Charr.
Conclusion
/JOHALI A TORRES RUIZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859