DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US PGPub 20170077360).
Claim 1: Yang teaches a light emitting device comprising: a solid-state light emitter for generating excitation light with a dominant wavelength from 440 nm to 470 nm [0019]; a yellow to green photoluminescence material for generating light with a peak emission wavelength from 500 nm to 575 nm [0019]; a broadband orange to red photoluminescence material for generating light with a peak emission wavelength from 580 nm to 620 nm [0019]; and a narrowband red manganese-activated fluoride phosphor for generating light with a peak emission wavelength from 625 nm to 635 nm [0019]; wherein the device is for generating light with a spectrum comprising a first maximum intensity at a first maximum intensity wavelength in the range from about 530nm to about 600nm and a second maximum intensity at a second maximum intensity wavelength in a range from about 625nm to about 635nm, where in the ratio of the first maximum intensity to the second maximum intensity is at least about 15% (Fig. 4). It is noted that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). It has also been held that products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior arts teach the identical chemical structure the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 15 USPQ 2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). In this case, Yang teaches the claimed combination of colored LED, photoluminescence material, and phosphor based materials, and therefore his device would produce the same intensity ratio claimed.
Claim 2: Yang teaches [0004-0005, 0017, 0019, 0027] the device is for generating light with a color temperature from about 2200K to 6500K and where: when the color temperature is from about 2200K to 2700K, the ratio of the first maximum intensity to the second maximum intensity is at least about 15%. It is noted that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). It has also been held that products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior arts teach the identical chemical structure the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 15 USPQ 2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). In this case, Yang teaches the claimed combination of colored LED, photoluminescence material, and phosphor based materials, and therefore his device would produce the same intensity and color combinations.
Claim 2: Yang teaches [0059] the first maximum intensity is from the combined emissions of the yellow to green and the broadband orange to red photoluminescence materials.
Claim 3: Yang teaches [0059] the first maximum intensity wavelength depends on the peak emission wavelengths of the yellow to green and broadband orange to red photoluminescence materials and the relative amount of the broadband orange to red photoluminescence material to the yellow to green photoluminescence material.
Claim 4: Yang teaches [0037] the device comprises a greater amount of broadband orange to red photoluminescence material and the first maximum intensity wavelength is at longer wavelengths closer to the peak emission wavelength of the broadband orange to red photoluminescence material.
Claim 5: Yang teaches [0004-0005, 0017, 0019, 0027] the device comprises a lesser amount of broadband orange to red photoluminescence material and the first maximum intensity wavelength occurs at a shorter wavelength closer to the peak emission wavelength of the yellow to green photoluminescence material. It is noted that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). It has also been held that products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior arts teach the identical chemical structure the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 15 USPQ 2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). In this case, Yang teaches the claimed combination of colored LED, photoluminescence material, and phosphor based materials, and therefore his device would produce the same intensity and color combinations.
Claim 7: Yang teaches [0004-0005, 0017, 0019, 0027] the device is for generating light with a color temperature from about 2200K to 6500K and where: when the color temperature is about 3000K, the ratio of the first maximum intensity to the second maximum intensity is at least about [[30%]] 20%. It is noted that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). It has also been held that products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior arts teach the identical chemical structure the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 15 USPQ 2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). In this case, Yang teaches the claimed combination of colored LED, photoluminescence material, and phosphor based materials, and therefore his device would produce the same intensity and color combinations.
Claim 8: Yang teaches [0004-0005, 0017, 0019, 0027] the device is for generating light with a color temperature from about 2200K to 6500K and where: when the color temperature is about 4000K, the ratio of the first maximum intensity to the second maximum intensity is at least about [[35%]] 30%. It is noted that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). It has also been held that products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior arts teach the identical chemical structure the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 15 USPQ 2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). In this case, Yang teaches the claimed combination of colored LED, photoluminescence material, and phosphor based materials, and therefore his device would produce the same intensity and color combinations.
Claim 9: Yang teaches [0004-0005, 0017, 0019, 0027] the device is for generating light with a color temperature from about 2200K to 6500K and where: when the color temperature is about 5000K, the ratio of the first maximum intensity to the second maximum intensity is at least about 40%. It is noted that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). It has also been held that products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior arts teach the identical chemical structure the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 15 USPQ 2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). In this case, Yang teaches the claimed combination of colored LED, photoluminescence material, and phosphor based materials, and therefore his device would produce the same intensity and color combinations.
Claim 10: Yang teaches [0004-0005, 0017, 0019, 0027] the device is for generating light with a color temperature from about 2200K to 6500K and where: when the color temperature is about 6500K, the ratio of the first maximum intensity to the second maximum intensity is at least about 50%. It is noted that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). It has also been held that products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior arts teach the identical chemical structure the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 15 USPQ 2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). In this case, Yang teaches the claimed combination of colored LED, photoluminescence material, and phosphor based materials, and therefore his device would produce the same intensity and color combinations.
Claim 11: Yang teaches [0073] the device is for generating light with a general CRI Ra of at least 90.
Claim 12: Yang teaches [0073] the device is for generating light with a CRI R9 of at least 50.
Claim 13: Yang teaches [0073] the device is for generating light with a CRI R8 of at least 72.
Claim 14: Yang teaches the device has a luminous efficacy (LE) of at least 330 lm/Wopt, an LE of at least 340 lm/Wopt, or an LE of at least 350 lm/Wopt. Since it has been held when the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 105 USPQ 223, 235 (CCPA 1955). Applicant can rebut a prima facie case of obviousness based on ranges by showing unexpected results or the criticality of the claimed range. “The law is replete with cases in which the difference between the claimed invention and the prior art is some range or other variable within the claim. In such a situation, the applicant must show that the particular range is critical, generally by showing that the claimed range achieves unexpected results relative to the prior art range.” In re Woodruff, 919 F. 2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 716.02-716.02(g) for a discussion of criticality and unexpected results.
Claim 15: Yang teaches [0019] the broadband orange to red photoluminescence material is for generating light with a peak emission wavelength from 610 nm to 620 nm, optionally with a peak emission wavelength of about 615 nm. since it has been held when the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 105 USPQ 223, 235 (CCPA 1955). Applicant can rebut a prima facie case of obviousness based on ranges by showing unexpected results or the criticality of the claimed range. “The law is replete with cases in which the difference between the claimed invention and the prior art is some range or other variable within the claim. In such a situation, the applicant must show that the particular range is critical, generally by showing that the claimed range achieves unexpected results relative to the prior art range.” In re Woodruff, 919 F. 2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 716.02-716.02(g) for a discussion of criticality and unexpected results.
Claim 16: Yang teaches [0026] the broadband orange to red photoluminescence material comprises at least one of a calcium aluminum silicon nitride- based phosphor of general composition (Sr,Ca)AlSiN3:Eu, a nitride-based phosphor of general composition Ba2-xSrxSi5N8:Eu, or a silicate-based phosphor of general composition (Sr,Ba,Y)3(Si,Al)O5:Eu.
Claim 17: Yang teaches [0019] the yellow to green photoluminescence is for generating light with a peak emission wavelength selected from the group consisting of: from about 530 nm to 540 nm, about 535 nm, from 540 nm to 545 nm, and about 543 nm. Since it has been held when the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 105 USPQ 223, 235 (CCPA 1955). Applicant can rebut a prima facie case of obviousness based on ranges by showing unexpected results or the criticality of the claimed range. “The law is replete with cases in which the difference between the claimed invention and the prior art is some range or other variable within the claim. In such a situation, the applicant must show that the particular range is critical, generally by showing that the claimed range achieves unexpected results relative to the prior art range.” In re Woodruff, 919 F. 2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 716.02-716.02(g) for a discussion of criticality and unexpected results.
Claim 18: Yang teaches [0010-0011] the yellow to green photoluminescence material comprises at least one of a cerium-activated garnet phosphor of general composition (Y,Lu)3(Al,Ga)5012:Ce; of general composition Y3(Al,Ga)5012:Ce; or of general composition Lu3A15O12:Ce.
Claim 19: Yang teaches [0026] the narrowband red manganese-activated fluoride phosphor comprises at least one of: K2SiF6:Mn4+, K2GeF6:Mn4, K2TiF6:Mn4+, K2SnF6:Mn4+, Na2TiF6:Mn4+, Na2ZrF6:Mn4+, Cs2SiF6:Mn4+, Cs2TiF6:Mn4+, Rb2SiF6:Mn4+, or Rb2TiF6:Mn4+.
Claim 20: Yang teaches [0073] the device is for generating light with a color temperature of 2700K to 5000K, a CRI Ra of at least 90, a CRI R9 from 50 to 70, and the device has a luminous efficacy from 330 lm/Wopt to 355 lm/Wopt. Since it has been held when the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 105 USPQ 223, 235 (CCPA 1955). Applicant can rebut a prima facie case of obviousness based on ranges by showing unexpected results or the criticality of the claimed range. “The law is replete with cases in which the difference between the claimed invention and the prior art is some range or other variable within the claim. In such a situation, the applicant must show that the particular range is critical, generally by showing that the claimed range achieves unexpected results relative to the prior art range.” In re Woodruff, 919 F. 2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 716.02-716.02(g) for a discussion of criticality and unexpected results.
Conclusion
/SARAH K SALERNO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2814