DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claim(s) 1-16 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 11
The limitation “a case” is unclear and therefore renders the claim indefinite.
Instant claim 11 requires all of the features of claim 1 which includes “a first exhaust portion in communication with a case.” It is not clear if the case recited in instant claim corresponds to that in claim 1. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill cannot reasonably ascertain the scope of the claim.
Regarding claims 12-16
Claims 12-167 are rejected at least for their dependency on claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 and 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 212542618U, Lin et al. (hereinafter “Lin”).
Regarding claim 1
Lin teaches a directional exhaust device (corresponding to the system composed of the elements within the broken lines in Fig. 1 below, the elements including a first exhaust pipe, 30, a liquid storage tank, 40, and a second exhaust pipe, 50) [Fig. 1 and para. 0058], comprising:
a first exhaust portion (corresponding to first exhaust pipe 30) in communication with a case (corresponding to housing, 10) of a battery (a battery pack is included within the housing 10) [Fig. 1, paras. 0058 and 0066]; and
a second exhaust portion (corresponding to liquid storage tank 40 and second exhaust pipe 50) in communication with the first exhaust portion (30) and an ambient environment and configured to exhaust gas generated by the battery through the first exhaust portion (30) and the second exhaust portion (50) (“[t]he high-temperature and high-pressure gas ejected from the battery pack is guided to the liquid storage tank 40 through the first exhaust pipe 30. The gas temperature is rapidly reduced to below the ignition point by the phase change of the coolant or fire-fighting material 41, and then discharged to the external environment through the second exhaust pipe 50.”) [Fig. 1 and paras. 0010, 0012, 0058 and 0066-0067]
Fig. 1 of Lin
Regarding claim 2
Lin teaches the directional exhaust device as set forth above, wherein the first exhaust portion (30) is removably connected to the second exhaust portion (50) [Fig. 2].
Fig. 2 of Lin
Regarding claim 3
Lin teaches the directional exhaust device as set forth above, wherein the second exhaust portion (40 and 50) has a first mounting hole (corresponding to first through hole 42) [Figs. 1-2 and 8, para. 0066], the second exhaust portion (40 and 50) being sleeved at an outer side (end) of the first exhaust portion (30) through the first mounting hole (42) (the end A of the first exhaust portion, 30, is connected to the second exhaust portion, 40/50, through the first through hole 42) [paras. 0009, 0017 and 0066].
Fig. 8 of Lin
Regarding claim 4
Lin teaches the directional exhaust device as set forth above, wherein the first exhaust portion (30) is sealed against the second exhaust portion (40/50) by a first seal (sealing rings are provided at the connection points of the first exhaust pipe and the liquid storage tank, 40) [para. 0034].
Regarding claim 5
Lin teaches the directional exhaust device as set forth above, wherein the first exhaust portion (30) and the second exhaust portion (40/50) are of an integrated structure (the first exhaust portion, 30, and the second exhaust portion, 40/50, are assembled together to function as a whole integrated structure, wherein anti-detachment structures are provided at both ends of the first exhaust pipe to prevent the first exhaust pipe from detaching from the explosion-proof valve and the liquid storage tank) Fig. 1 and para. 0033].
It is noted that, although the portions may be separable, when assembled they form an integrated structure configured to exhaust gas generated by the battery through the first exhaust portion (30) and the second exhaust portion (50) (“[t]he high-temperature and high-pressure gas ejected from the battery pack is guided to the liquid storage tank 40 through the first exhaust pipe 30. The gas temperature is rapidly reduced to below the ignition point by the phase change of the coolant or fire-fighting material 41, and then discharged to the external environment through the second exhaust pipe 50.”) [Fig. 1 and paras. 0010, 0012, 0058 and 0066-0067].
Regarding claim 6
Lin teaches the directional exhaust device as set forth above, wherein the first exhaust portion (30) is bendable relative to the second exhaust portion (40/50) [Figs. 1-4, paras. 0017 and 0072].
Fig. 3(left) and Fig. 4(right) of Lin
Regarding claim 7
Lin teaches the directional exhaust device as set forth above, wherein the first exhaust portion (30) is configured for an insertion to the case (10) of the battery (through fourth connecting section 34) [Figs. 2-4 and para. 0077].
Regarding claim 8
Lin teaches the directional exhaust device as set forth above, wherein the first exhaust portion (30) is sealed against the case (10) of the battery by a second seal (corresponding to sealing ring 60) [Fig. 2 and para. 0088].
Regarding claim 9
Lin teaches the directional exhaust device as set forth above, wherein a safety compartment (corresponding to interior of liquid storage tank 40) is provided between the first exhaust portion (30) and the ambient environment to temporarily contain the gas (“[t]he high-temperature and high-pressure gas ejected from the battery pack is guided to the liquid storage tank 40 through the first exhaust pipe 30.”) [para. 0067].
Regarding claim 11
Lin teaches a battery, comprising:
a battery cell (a battery pack is included within the housing 10) [Fig. 1, paras. 0058 and 0066];
a case (housing, 10) [Fig. 1, paras. 0058 and 0066]; and
the directional exhaust device to according to claim 1 (device composed of the elements within the broken lines in Fig. 1 above, the elements including a first exhaust pipe, 30, a liquid storage tank, 40, and a second exhaust pipe, 50) [Fig. 1 and para. 0058].
Regarding claim 12
Lin teaches the battery as set forth above, wherein:
the battery cell is connected to a pressure relief device (corresponding to explosion proof valve 20) [Fig. 2 and paras. 0066-0067], and the case (10) has a cavity (corresponding to cavity of enclosure 10 housing the battery pack) in communication with the pressure relief device (20) [Figs. 1-2, paras. 0066-0067]; and
the case (10) has a second mounting hole (corresponding to opening of the explosion proof valve 20) [Fig. 2 and para. 0066], the first exhaust portion (30) being connected to the case (10) through the second mounting hole to bring the first exhaust portion (30) into communication with the pressure relief device (20) [Fig. 2 and paras. 0066-0067].
Regarding claim 13
Lin teaches the battery as set forth above, wherein the second mounting hole (corresponding to opening of the explosion proof valve 20) is a through hole at the case (the explosion proof valve 20 melts or breaks) [Fig. 2 and para. 0068].
Regarding claim 14
Lin teaches the battery as set forth above, wherein the first exhaust portion (30) has a snap groove (see fourth connecting section 34) cooperating with the second mounting hole of the case (i.e., opening of the valve, which is within the case 10) [Figs. 2 and 4, paras. 0021, 0066-0067, 0077].
Claim(s) 1, 11 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 113488721 A, Zhong et al.
Regarding claims 1, 11 and 15
Zhong et al. teaches an energy storage prefabricated chamber (corresponding to cooling chamber 30) [Fig. 2, paras. 0034 and 0065], comprising:
a battery compartment (see compartment formed by housing 20 and cooling chamber 30) [Figs. 1-2 and 6, paras. 0065 and 0108]; and
a battery (corresponding to battery pack 10) [Figs. 1-2 and 6, para. 0063], the battery (10) comprising:
a battery cell (energy unit 11) [Figs. 1-2, paras. 0058 and 0066];
a case (corresponding to frame 103 and/or case of the battery back 10) [Figs. 1-3, paras. 0034 and 0091]; and
a directional exhaust device (corresponding to the system composed of exhaust channels 12 and opening 31) [Figs. 1-2, paras. 0049, 0063 and 0066], comprising:
a first exhaust portion (corresponding to exhaust channel 12) in communication with a case of a battery (10) [Figs. 1-2 and para. 0049]; and
a second exhaust portion (corresponding to opening 31) in communication with the first exhaust portion (12) and an ambient environment and configured to exhaust gas generated by the battery through the first exhaust portion (12) and the second exhaust portion (opening 31 communicates with exhaust channels 12 and the outside atmosphere) [Figs. 1-2, paras. 0063 and 0066].
Fig. 1(top) and Fig. 2(bottom) of Zhong et al.
Regarding claim 16
Zhong et al. teaches the energy storage prefabricated chamber as set forth above, further comprising:
a partition plate (corresponding to side plate 107) configured to divide the energy storage prefabricated chamber (30) into a plurality of compartments [see Figs. 5-6 and para. 0108],
a cavity (space between 107 and 109) of the partition plate (107) being in communication with the ambient environment (the side plate 107 and the corresponding second channel plate 109 are spaced apart and opposite each other, forming a cooling cavity 30 between them, the cooling cavity in communication with the atmosphere), and the partition plate (107) being the second exhaust portion (the side plate 107 is provided with an opening 31 communicating with the cooling cavity 30) [Figs. 5-6, paras. 0103 and 0108].
Fig. 6 of Zhong et al.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin as applied to claims 1-9 and 11-14 above, and further in view of CN 110299486 A, Zhong.
Regarding claim 10
Lin does not teach a fan is disposed in the safety compartment to accelerate exhaust of the gas.
Zhong teaches a directional exhaust device wherein a fan is disposed in a safety compartment (corresponding to a battery safety box) to accelerate exhaust of the gas such thereby speeding up heat dissipation and smoke removal [para. 0035].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the safety compartment of Lin to comprise a fan, as in Zhong, in order to accelerate exhaust of the gas such thereby speeding up heat dissipation and smoke removal.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
WO 2021/097644 A1, YOU et al. teaches a battery pack comprising a housing component (1); a restraining component (3), provided within the housing component (1), an accommodating cavity (6) being provided within the restraining component (3), a first exhaust channel (7) being provided between the restraining component (3) and the housing component (1), a connecting hole (33) being provided on the restraining component (3), and the connecting hole (33) connecting the accommodating cavity (6) to the first exhaust channel (7); and a battery module (2), provided within the accommodating cavity (6) [Abstract and Figs. 1-4].
/MAYLA GONZALEZ RAMOS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721