DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on 2/13/2024. These drawings are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 13, 17, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yu et al (US 2022/0209350 A1, hereafter Yu).
With regard to claim 1, Yu teaches a battery cell comprising:
a housing (housing 13) [0084];
a first electrode component (first electrode assembly 11) and a second electrode component (second electrode assembly 12) accommodated within the housing and arranged along a first direction (width, shown in vertical direction), wherein the first electrode component is insulated from the second electrode component (by buffer layer B3) [0084, 0093-0096, fig. 3-5];
a first electrode terminal (tabs 117) arranged on the housing and electrically connected to the first electrode component to lead out electrical power from the first electrode component [0091-0092, fig. 4]; and
a second electrode terminal (tabs 127) arranged on the housing and electrically connected to the second electrode component to lead out electrical power from the second electrode component [0091-0092, fig. 4].
With regard to claim 2, Yu teaches the first electrode component (first electrode assembly 11) and the second electrode component (second electrode assembly 12) are spaced apart from each other (by buffer layer B3) [0084, 0093-0096, fig. 3-5].
With regard to claim 3, Yu teaches a first insulating component (buffer layer B3) wherein at least a part of the first insulating component (buffer layer B3) is arranged between the first electrode component (first electrode assembly 11) and the second electrode component (second electrode assembly 12) to insulate and separate the first electrode component from the second electrode component [0084, 0093-0096, fig. 3-5].
With regard to claim 5, Yu teaches a second insulating component (buffer layer B1) coated (glued or injection molding) on an outer side of the first electrode component so as to separate the first electrode component from at least a part of the housing; wherein the first insulating component is connected to the second insulating component (as seen in fig. 4) [0093-0096, fig. 3-5].
With regard to claim 13, Yu teaches the first direction (width, shown in vertical direction) is parallel to a length direction of the battery cell [0084, 0093-0096, fig. 3-5].
With regard to claim 17, Yu teaches an electrical apparatus comprising the battery cell according to claim 1 (as detailed in the rejection of claim1 above) wherein the battery cell is configured to provide electrical power [0100].
With regard to claim 18, Yu teaches a method for manufacturing a battery cell, comprising: providing a housing (housing 13), a first electrode terminal (tabs 117) and a second electrode terminal (tabs 127), wherein the first electrode terminal and the second electrode terminal are arranged in the housing [0084, 0091-0096, fig. 3-5];
providing a first electrode component (first electrode assembly 11) and a second electrode component (second electrode assembly 12) [0084, fig. 3-5];
installing the first electrode component and the second electrode component within the housing, and electrically connecting the first electrode terminal to the first electrode component and electrically connecting the second electrode terminal to the second electrode component (integral formation) [0084, 0091-0092, fig. 3-4];
wherein the first electrode component and the second electrode component are arranged along a first direction (width, shown in vertical direction) and are insulated from each other, (by buffer layer B3) [0084, 0093-0096, fig. 3-5], the first electrode terminal is configured to lead out electrical power from the first electrode component and the second electrode terminal is configured to lead out electrical power from the second electrode component [0091-0092, fig. 4].
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, 10, 13, 15, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al (US 2021/0126231 A1, hereafter Wang).
With regard to claim 1, Wang teaches a battery cell comprising:
a housing (case 101 and cover plates shown in fig. 1-2) [0073, 0084, fig. 1-2];
a first electrode component (left battery core 1031) and a second electrode component (right battery core 1031) accommodated within the housing and arranged along a first direction (left to right), wherein the first electrode component is insulated from the second electrode component (adjacent cores separated by separator plate 105) [0073, 0078, fig. 2];
a first electrode terminal (left external lead out member seen in fig. 2 and fig. 4) arranged on the housing and electrically connected to the first electrode component to lead out electrical power from the first electrode component [0073, fig. 2, fig. 4]; and
a second electrode terminal (right external lead out member seen in fig. 2 and fig. 4) arranged on the housing and electrically connected to the second electrode component to lead out electrical power from the second electrode component [0073, 0129-0130, fig. 2, fig. 4].
With regard to claim 2, Wang teaches the first electrode component (left battery core 1031) and a second electrode component (right battery core 1031) are spaced apart from each other along the first direction (left to right) [0073, fig. 2, fig. 4].
With regard to claim 3, Wang teaches a first insulating component (separator plate 105) wherein at least a part of the first insulating component is arranged between the first electrode component (left battery core 1031) and second electrode component (right battery core 1031) to insulate and separate the first electrode component from the second electrode component [0073, 0078, fig. 2, fig. 4].
With regard to claim 4, Wang teaches a via (connection through hole 1051) that connects a space on a side of the first insulating component (separator plate 105) facing the first electrode component to a space on a side of the first insulating component facing the second electrode component [0138].
With regard to claim 6, Wang teaches a space on an outer side of the first electrode component (left battery core 1031) is connected to a space (through connection through hole 1051 in separator plate 105) on an outer side of the second electrode component (right battery core 1031) [0073, 0078, 0138, fig. 2, fig. 4].
With regard to claim 7, Wang teaches the first electrode terminal (left external lead out member seen in fig. 2 and fig. 4) and the second electrode terminal (right external lead out member seen in fig. 2 and fig. 4) are installed on two ends of the housing along the first (left to right) direction [0073, fig. 2, fig. 4].
With regard to claim 10, Wang teaches the housing comprises a housing body (case 101) and two end caps (cover plates shown in fig. 1-2), the housing body has openings on two ends along the first direction (left to right) and the two end caps are configured to cover the two openings respectively [0073, 0084, fig. 1-2]; and
the first electrode terminal (left external lead out member seen in fig. 2 and fig. 4) and the second electrode terminal (right external lead out member seen in fig. 2 and fig. 4) are installed on the two end caps [0073, fig. 2, fig. 4].
With regard to claim 13, Wang teaches the first direction (left to right) is parallel to a length direction of the battery cell [0073, fig. 2, fig. 4].
With regard to claim 15, Wang teaches a battery comprising a plurality of battery cells (battery pack in fig. 12 including multiple batteries 100) each being the battery cell according to claim 1 (as detailed in the rejection of claim 1 above) [0057, fig. 12].
With regard to claim 17, Wang teaches an electrical apparatus (vehicle) [0043] comprising the battery cell according to claim 1 (as detailed in the rejection of claim 1 above) wherein the battery cell is configured to provide electrical power.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu as applied to claims 1-3, 5, 13, 17, and 18 above, and further in view of Eo (US 2013/0323563 A1, hereafter Eo).
With regard to claim 8, Yu teaches first electrode terminals (tabs 117) arranged on the housing and electrically connected to the first electrode component and second electrode terminals (tabs 127) connected to the second electrode component [0091-0092, fig. 4]. Yu does not explicitly teach the polarity of the terminals. However, it is well known in the art as evidenced by Eo when using pairs of tabs to use one tab connected to a positive plate and one tab connected to a negative plate [Eo 0045].
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang as applied to claims 1-4, 6-7, 10, 13, 15, and 17 above.
With regard to claim 9, Wang teaches a size of the battery cell is in a range of 400 to 2500 mm (which overlaps and renders the claimed range obvious, see MPEP 2144.05) [0128].
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang as applied to claims 1-4, 6-7, 10, 13, 15, and 17 above, and further in view of Aizawa (US 2007/0099070 A1, hereafter Aizawa).
With regard to claim 11, Wang teaches the housing body (case 101) comprises two first side plates (top and bottom sides seen in fig. 2) arranged oppositely along a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (vertical) [0073, 0084, fig. 1-2]. Wang does not explicitly teach a pressure relief mechanism. However, in the same field of endeavor, Aizawa teaches a vent located on a sidewall of a battery cell and overlapping and end portion of an electrode component (electrode 6) [0028, 0033-0034 fig. 1]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the vent of Aizawa with the battery of Wang for the benefit of preventing explosions and reliable opening in the event of abnormal pressure [Aizawa 0003, 0044]. Modified Wang would not explicitly teach the claimed location of the vent, however this would be an obvious variant to one of ordinary skill in the art since it would perform the same function of releasing pressure and would only require a rearrangement of parts. See MPEP 2144.04 VI.
With regard to claim 12, Wang teaches the housing body (case 101) comprises two first side plates (front and back sides seen in fig. 2) arranged oppositely along a third direction perpendicular to the first direction (thickness/depth) [0073, 0084, fig. 1-2]. Wang does not explicitly teach that an area of one side plate is greater, however this would be an obvious variant to one of ordinary skill in the art since it would perform the same function of housing the battery cell and only require a change in size. See MPEP 2144.04 IV.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang as applied to claims 1-4, 6-7, 10, 13, 15, and 17 above, and further in view of Eo (US 2013/0323563 A1, hereafter Eo).
With regard to claim 14, Wang teaches a wound electrode [0074] and tabs that extend in the first direction (left to right) [0073, fig. 1-2] but does not explicitly teach the winding direction. However, a winding direction parallel to a tab direction is a well-known battery design as evidenced by Eo [0044, fig. 2]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to try the winding direction of Eo with the battery of Wang since it is known to allow for effective connection of tabs to the wound electrode [Eo 0049].
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang as applied to claims 1-4, 6-7, 10, 13, 15, and 17 above, and further in view of Morioka (US 2017/0346050 A1, hereafter Morioka).
With regard to claim 16, Wang teaches a plurality of battery cells (battery pack in fig. 12 including multiple batteries 100) [0057, fig. 12] but does not teach bus bars. However, in the same field of endeavor, Morioka teaches the use of a negative bus bar (25), a positive bus bar (23) and inter-group bus bars (26) with the negative bus bar and positive bus bar connecting first and second (positive and negative) terminal groups in parallel and the inter-group bus bar connecting first and second terminals in series [0027, 0043]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the bus bars of Morioka with the battery cell of Wang for the benefit of being able to form and connecting battery groups that may power vehicles [0007, 0043].
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu as applied to claims 1-3, 5, 13, 17, and 18 above, and further in view of Reis (US 2012/0060361 A1, hereafter Reis).
With regard to claim 19, Yu teaches the first electrode component and the second electrode component are arranged along a first direction (width, shown in vertical direction) and are insulated from each other, (by buffer layer B3) [0084, 0093-0096, fig. 3-5], the first electrode terminal is configured to lead out electrical power from the first electrode component and the second electrode terminal is configured to lead out electrical power from the second electrode component [0091-0092, fig. 4].
Yu does not teach the claimed system components. However, in the same field of endeavor, Reis teaches a system for battery assembly including a vacuum laminator (installation apparatus), a conveyor belt (first providing apparatus), and a robotic arm (second providing apparatus) [0053, 0063]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the system of Reis for manufacturing the battery cell of Yu for the benefit of efficient manufacturing that meets quality requirements [Reis 0062-0063]. Reis does not explicitly teach all of the claimed processes, however since the claim is drawn to a product and the system of Reis would be capable of performing the claimed function Yu and Reis would render the claim obvious. Claims directed to apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959). See also MPEP § 2114.
The manner of operating the device does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
Conclusion
/BRENT C THOMAS/Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/STEWART A FRASER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724