Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 1, in line 4 recites, "an indicium thermally coupled with the heat-generating component and integrated with the housing" and Claim 2 recites "wherein the indicium is thermally coupled with the heat-generating component", Claim 2 limitation is substantially recited within Claim 1 and does not further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HUANG et al. (US 2013/0329367 - hereinafter, "Huang") in view of Chen (US 2024/0015935 - hereinafter, "Chen").
With respect to Claim 1, Huang teaches (in Figure 2 and 4-5)
An electronic device (20), comprising:
a housing (32) that defines an internal volume (224);
a heat-generating component (4) positioned in the internal volume (224); and
an indicium (34+24+26, in paragraph [0026], “For example, the identification member 34 can be a mark representing a product, a logo of a corporation, a safety certificate, a specification label, a barcode label or the like. Therefore, the opening 222 not only helps the heat-dissipating element 24 to provide high-efficient heat dissipation effect, but also provides a good place for showing the identification member 34”) thermally coupled with the heat-generating component (4) and integrated with the housing (32), the indicium (34+24+26) comprising:
a first layer (26);
a second layer (24) coupled with the first layer (26); and
a third layer (34) coupled with the second layer (24).
Huang fails to specifically teach or suggest a first layer comprising a first thermal conductivity; the second layer comprising a second thermal conductivity different from the first thermal conductivity; and the third layer comprising a third thermal conductivity different from the second thermal conductivity.
Chen, however, teaches (in Figure 1) a first layer (101, in paragraph [0042], “The rigid supportive layer 10 is made of stainless steel, aluminum (Al), and titanium (Ti). The heat-dissipation layer 20 is made of copper (Cu) and silver (Ag)”, see Figure 1, (10) comprises of (101) and (102) per Figure 1) comprising a first thermal conductivity (thermal conductivity of the material of the first layer (101, stainless steel, aluminum and titanium); a second layer (20, in paragraph [0042], “The rigid supportive layer 10 is made of stainless steel, aluminum (Al), and titanium (Ti). The heat-dissipation layer 20 is made of copper (Cu) and silver (Ag)”, see Figure 1) comprising a second thermal conductivity (thermal conductivity of the material of the second layer (20, copper and silver)) different from the first thermal conductivity (thermal conductivity of the material of the first layer (101, stainless steel, aluminum and titanium)); and a third layer (102, in paragraph [0042], “The rigid supportive layer 10 is made of stainless steel, aluminum (Al), and titanium (Ti). The heat-dissipation layer 20 is made of copper (Cu) and silver (Ag)”, see Figure 1, (10) comprises of (101) and (102) per Figure 1) comprising a third thermal conductivity (thermal conductivity of the material of the third layer (102, stainless steel, aluminum and titanium)) different from the second thermal conductivity (thermal conductivity of the material of the second layer (20, copper and silver)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Chen with Huang, such that a first layer comprising a first thermal conductivity; a second layer comprising a second thermal conductivity different from the first thermal conductivity; and a third layer comprising a third thermal conductivity different from the second thermal conductivity as taught by Chen since doing so would allow the indicium of Huang reduce in thickness and provides good heat-dissipation capability while achieving supportive function. (in paragraph [0036] – [0037])
With respect to Claim 2, Huang as modified by Chen teaches the limitations of Claim 1 as per above, and Huang further teaches (in Figure 2 and 4-5)
wherein the indicium (34+24+26) is thermally coupled (in paragraph [0026], “For example, the identification member 34 can be a mark representing a product, a logo of a corporation, a safety certificate, a specification label, a barcode label or the like. Therefore, the opening 222 not only helps the heat-dissipating element 24 to provide high-efficient heat dissipation effect, but also provides a good place for showing the identification member 34”) with the heat-generating component (4).
With respect to Claim 3, Huang as modified by Chen teaches the limitations of Claim 1 as per above, and Huang further teaches (in Figure 2 and 4-5)
wherein the indicium (34+24+26, in paragraph [0026], “For example, the identification member 34 can be a mark representing a product, a logo of a corporation, a safety certificate, a specification label, a barcode label or the like. Therefore, the opening 222 not only helps the heat-dissipating element 24 to provide high-efficient heat dissipation effect, but also provides a good place for showing the identification member 34”) comprises a heat sink (24) for the heat-generating component (4).
With respect to Claim 4, Huang as modified by Chen teaches the limitations of Claim 1 as per above, and Huang further teaches (in Figure 2 and 4-5)
wherein:
the second thermal conductivity (thermal conductivity of the material of the second layer (20, copper and silver) as taught by Chen in Claim 1 as per above) is greater than the first thermal conductivity (thermal conductivity of the material of the first layer (101, stainless steel, aluminum and titanium) as taught by Chen in Claim 1 as per above), and
the second thermal conductivity (thermal conductivity of the material of the second layer (20, copper and silver) as taught by Chen in Claim 1 as per above) is greater than the third thermal conductivity (thermal conductivity of the material of the third layer (102, stainless steel, aluminum and titanium) as taught by Chen in Claim 1 as per above).
With respect to Claim 5, Huang as modified by Chen teaches the limitations of Claim 1 as per above, and Huang further teaches (in Figure 2 and 4-5)
wherein: the housing (32) comprises an opening (222, see Figure 2), and the indicium (34+24+26, see Figure 5) is positioned in the opening (222).
With respect to Claim 8, Huang teaches (in Figure 2 and 4-5)
An electronic device (20), comprising:
a heat-generating component (4); and
a housing (32) that defines an internal volume (224), wherein the heat-generating component (4) is positioned within the internal volume (224), the housing (32) comprising an opening (222); and
an indicium (34+24+26) thermally coupled with the heat-generating component (4) and positioned in the opening (222), the indicium (34+24+26) comprising:
a first layer (34); and
a second layer (24) coupled with the first layer (34),
wherein the second layer (24) is configured to:
receive thermal energy (in paragraph [0023] – [0024]) from the heat-generating component (4), and
direct at least some of the thermal energy (in paragraph [0023] – [0024], see Figure 4, second layer (24) is in direct contact with housing (32) thus a portion of the thermal energy from the heat-generating component (4) would transfer to the housing (32) due to direct contact) to the housing (32).
Huang fails to specifically teach or suggest a first layer comprising a first material; and the second layer comprising a second material different from the first material.
Chen, however, teaches (in Figure 1) a first layer (101) comprising a first material (in paragraph [0042], “The rigid supportive layer 10 is made of stainless steel, aluminum (Al), and titanium (Ti). The heat-dissipation layer 20 is made of copper (Cu) and silver (Ag)”, see Figure 1, (10) comprises of (101) and (102) per Figure 1, first layer (101) comprises of stainless steel, aluminum, and titanium); and a second layer (20) comprising a second material (in paragraph [0042], “The rigid supportive layer 10 is made of stainless steel, aluminum (Al), and titanium (Ti). The heat-dissipation layer 20 is made of copper (Cu) and silver (Ag)”, see Figure 1, (20) comprises of copper and silver) different from the first material (stainless steel, aluminum, and titanium).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Chen with Huang, such that a first layer comprising a first material; and a second layer comprising a second material different from the first material as taught by Chen since doing so would allow the indicium of Huang reduce in thickness and provides good heat-dissipation capability while achieving supportive function. (in paragraph [0036] – [0037])
With respect to Claim 9, Huang as modified by Chen teaches the limitations of Claim 8 as per above, and Chen further teaches (in Figure 1)
further comprising a third layer (102) coupled with the second layer (20, see Figure 1), the third layer (102) comprising a third material (in paragraph [0042], “The rigid supportive layer 10 is made of stainless steel, aluminum (Al), and titanium (Ti). The heat-dissipation layer 20 is made of copper (Cu) and silver (Ag)”, see Figure 1, (10) comprises of (101) and (102) per Figure 1, third layer (102) comprises of stainless steel, aluminum, and titanium) different from the second material (copper and silver, in paragraph [0042]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, such that a third layer coupled with the second layer, the third layer comprising a third material different from the second material as taught by Chen since doing so would allow the indicium of Huang reduce in thickness and provides good heat-dissipation capability while achieving supportive function. (in paragraph [0036] – [0037])
With respect to Claim 10, Huang as modified by Chen teaches the limitations of Claim 9 as per above, and Chen further teaches (in Figure 1)
wherein: the first layer (101) comprises a first thermal conductivity (thermal conductivity of the material of the first layer (101, stainless steel, aluminum, and titanium)), and the second layer (20) comprises a second thermal conductivity (thermal conductivity of the material of the second layer (20, copper and silver)) greater than the first thermal conductivity (thermal conductivity of the material of the first layer (101, stainless steel, aluminum, and titanium)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, such that the first layer comprises a first thermal conductivity, and the second layer comprises a second thermal conductivity greater than the first thermal conductivity as taught by Chen since doing so would improve heat dissipation of Huang’s Indicium as the second layer of Huang’s Indicium has greater thermal conductivity, it would improve the heat transfer away from Huang’s heat-generating component.
With respect to Claim 11, Huang as modified by Chen teaches the limitations of Claim 10 as per above, and Chen further teaches (in Figure 1)
wherein the third layer (102, in paragraph [0042], “The rigid supportive layer 10 is made of stainless steel, aluminum (Al), and titanium (Ti). The heat-dissipation layer 20 is made of copper (Cu) and silver (Ag)”, see Figure 1, (10) comprises of (101) and (102) per Figure 1, third layer (102) comprises of stainless steel, aluminum, and titanium) comprises the first thermal conductivity (thermal conductivity of the material of the first layer (101, stainless steel, aluminum, and titanium), first layer (101) and third layer (102) are comprised of the same material, thus third layer (102) comprises the same thermal conductivity as the first thermal conductivity).
With respect to Claim 12, Huang as modified by Chen teaches the limitations of Claim 9 as per above, and Chen further teaches (in Figure 2 and 4-5)
wherein: the first material (material of 101, in paragraph [0042], first layer (101) comprises of stainless steel, aluminum, and titanium) and the third material (material of 101, in paragraph [0042], third layer (102) comprises of stainless steel, aluminum, and titanium) comprise stainless steel, and the second material (material of 20, in paragraph [0042], second layer (20) comprises of copper and silver) comprises copper.
With respect to Claim 13, Huang as modified by Chen teaches the limitations of Claim 8 as per above, and Huang further teaches (in Figure 2 and 4-5)
wherein: the first layer (34) comprises an exterior surface (see Figure 5), and the exterior surface (see Figure 5) is flush with the housing (32).
With respect to Claim 14, Huang as modified by Chen teaches the limitations of Claim 8 as per above, and Huang further teaches (in Figure 2 and 4-5)
wherein:
the heat-generating component (4) comprises an integrated circuit (in paragraph [0003], “To perform these functions, electronic components in the electronic devices have to execute high-speed computation and multiplexing process. These electronic components produce a large amount of heat while they operate to thereby cause a largely raised environment temperature in the electronic devices”), and
the indicium (34+24+26) is aligned with the integrated circuit (see Figure 4).
With respect to Claim 15, Huang as modified by Chen teaches the limitations of Claim 8 as per above, and Huang further teaches (in Figure 2 and 4-5)
wherein the second layer (24) is thermally coupled (in paragraph [0023] – [0024], see Figure 4, second layer (24) is in direct contact with housing (32) thus the second layer (24) is thermally coupled to both the heat-generating component (4) and housing (32)) with the heat-generating component (4) and the housing (32).
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HUANG et al. (US 2013/0329367 - hereinafter, "Huang") in view of Chen (US 2024/0015935 - hereinafter, "Chen") in view of Hill et al. (US 2016/0066454 – hereinafter, “Hill”).
With respect to Claim 6, Huang as modified by Chen teaches the limitations of Claim 1 as per above, and Huang further teaches (in Figure 2 and 4-5)
wherein the third layer (26) further comprises: a first surface (surface of the third layer (26) in contact with the second layer (24), see Figure 4) coupled with the second layer (24).
With respect to the limitation requiring a second surface defined by a flange portion.
Hill, however, teaches (in Figure 4 and as shown in annotated Figure 4 below) a second surface (see annotated Figure 4 below) defined by a flange portion (see annotated Figure 4 below).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Hill with Huang, such that a second surface defined by a flange portion as taught by Hill since doing so would allow application of adhesive to be positioned on the flange portion and for the flange portion to engage with the housing of Huang.
Figure I
With respect to Claim 7, Huang as modified by Chen as modified by Hill teaches the limitations of Claim 6 as per above, and Hill further teaches (in Figure 4 and as shown in annotated Figure 4 above)
wherein the first surface (see annotated Figure 4 above) is elevated relative to the second surface (see annotated Figure 4 above).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, such that the first surface is elevated relative to the second surface as taught by Hill since doing so would allow the third layer of Huang to conform to the shape corresponding to the shape of the second layer of Huang and while engaging with the heat-generating component and the opening of the housing of Huang.
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HUANG et al. (US 2013/0329367 - hereinafter, "Huang") in view of Chen (US 2024/0015935 - hereinafter, "Chen") in view of TRZASKOS et al. (US 2013/0077217 – hereinafter, “Trazaskos”).
With respect to Claim 16, Huang teaches (in Figure 2 and 4-5)
An indicium (34+24+26) for an electronic device (20), the indicium (34+24+26) comprising:
a first layer (34) that defines an exterior surface of the electronic device;
a second metal layer (24) coupled with the first layer (34); and
a third metal layer (26) coupled with the second metal layer (24),
wherein the second metal (24) is configured to:
receive thermal energy (in paragraph [0023] – [0024]) from the third metal layer (26), and
direct at least some of the thermal energy (in paragraph [0023] – [0024]) away from the exterior surface (in paragraph [0023] – [0024], the second metal layer (24) dissipates into the ambient air outside of the housing (32)).
Huang fails to specifically teach or suggest a first metal layer, the third metal layer comprising a flange portion configured to couple with a housing of the electronic device.
Chen, however, teaches (in Figure 1) a first metal layer (101, in paragraph [0042], “The rigid supportive layer 10 is made of stainless steel, aluminum (Al), and titanium (Ti). The heat-dissipation layer 20 is made of copper (Cu) and silver (Ag)”, see Figure 1, (10) comprises of (101) and (102) per Figure 1, first layer (101) comprises of stainless steel, aluminum, and titanium)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Chen with Huang, such that a first metal layer as taught by Chen since doing so would allow the indicium of Huang reduce in thickness and provides good heat-dissipation capability while achieving supportive function. (in paragraph [0036] – [0037])
With respect to the limitation requiring the third metal layer comprising a flange portion configured to couple with a housing of the electronic device.
Trzaskos, however, teaches (in Figure 4B-4C) a third metal layer (254) comprising a flange portion (portion of the third metal layer (254) that extends beyond the edge of a second layer (257) and a first layer (256), see Figure 4B-4C) configured to couple with a housing (232) of an electronic device (device).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, such that a third metal layer comprising a flange portion configured to couple with a housing of an electronic device as taught by Trzaskos since doing so would facilitate fitting and fastening to the housing of Huang. (in paragraph [0041])
With respect to Claim 17, Huang as modified by Chen as modified by Trzaskos teaches the limitations of Claim 16 as per above, and Chen further teaches (in Figure 1) wherein:
the first metal layer (101, in paragraph [0042], “The rigid supportive layer 10 is made of stainless steel, aluminum (Al), and titanium (Ti). The heat-dissipation layer 20 is made of copper (Cu) and silver (Ag)”, see Figure 1, (10) comprises of (101) and (102) per Figure 1, first layer (101) comprises of stainless steel, aluminum, and titanium) comprises a first metal (stainless steel, aluminum, and titanium), and
the second metal layer (20, in paragraph [0042], “The rigid supportive layer 10 is made of stainless steel, aluminum (Al), and titanium (Ti). The heat-dissipation layer 20 is made of copper (Cu) and silver (Ag)”, see Figure 1, (20) comprises of copper and silver) comprises a second metal (copper and silver) different from the first metal (stainless steel, aluminum, and titanium).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Chen with Huang, such that the first metal layer comprises a first metal, and the second metal layer comprises a second metal different from the first metal as taught by Chen since doing so would allow the indicium of Huang reduce in thickness and provides good heat-dissipation capability while achieving supportive function. (in paragraph [0036] – [0037])
With respect to Claim 18, Huang as modified by as modified by Chen as modified by Trzaskos teaches the limitations of Claim 17 as per above, and Chen further teaches (in Figure 1) wherein:
the first metal layer (101) comprises a first thermal conductivity (thermal conductivity of the material of the first layer (101, stainless steel, aluminum, and titanium)), and
the second metal layer (20) comprises a second thermal conductivity (thermal conductivity of the material of the first layer (20, copper and silver)) greater than the first thermal conductivity (thermal conductivity of the material of the first layer (101, stainless steel, aluminum, and titanium)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, such that the first metal layer comprises a first thermal conductivity, and the second metal layer comprises a second thermal conductivity greater than the first thermal conductivity as taught by Chen since doing so would allow the indicium of Huang reduce in thickness and provides good heat-dissipation capability while achieving supportive function. (in paragraph [0036] – [0037])
With respect to Claim 19, Huang as modified by as modified by Chen as modified by Trzaskos teaches the limitations of Claim 17 as per above, and Chen further teaches (in Figure 1) wherein:
the first metal layer (101, in paragraph [0042], “The rigid supportive layer 10 is made of stainless steel, aluminum (Al), and titanium (Ti). The heat-dissipation layer 20 is made of copper (Cu) and silver (Ag)”, see Figure 1, (10) comprises of (101) and (102) per Figure 1, first layer (101) comprises of stainless steel, aluminum, and titanium) comprises stainless steel, and
the second metal layer (20, in paragraph [0042], “The rigid supportive layer 10 is made of stainless steel, aluminum (Al), and titanium (Ti). The heat-dissipation layer 20 is made of copper (Cu) and silver (Ag)”, see Figure 1, (20) comprises of copper and silver) comprises copper.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, such that the first metal layer comprises stainless steel, and the second metal layer comprises copper as taught by Chen since doing so would allow the indicium of Huang reduce in thickness and provides good heat-dissipation capability while achieving supportive function. (in paragraph [0036] – [0037])
With respect to Claim 20, Huang as modified by as modified by Chen as modified by Trzaskos teaches the limitations of Claim 17 as per above, and Chen further teaches (in Figure 1)
wherein the third metal layer (102, in paragraph [0042], “The rigid supportive layer 10 is made of stainless steel, aluminum (Al), and titanium (Ti). The heat-dissipation layer 20 is made of copper (Cu) and silver (Ag)”, see Figure 1, (10) comprises of (101) and (102) per Figure 1, third metal layer (102) comprises of stainless steel, aluminum, and titanium) comprises the first metal (stainless steel, aluminum, and titanium).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, such that the third metal layer comprises the first metal as taught by Chen since doing so would allow the indicium of Huang reduce in thickness and provides good heat-dissipation capability while achieving supportive function. (in paragraph [0036] – [0037])
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2023/0012108 to Choi et al., which teaches a portable information handling system glass ceramic housing integrates a heat sink of thermally conductive wire disposed in a coil or mesh pattern that is difficult to discern from the housing exterior. A thermal transfer device communicates thermal energy from internal processing components to the heat sink in aesthetically pleasing manner. For example, a plastic logo is coated with graphene to transfer thermal energy by pressing against the thermally conductive wire so that that logo is visible from the housing exterior. Through glass via opening provide air passages between the housing interior and exterior to promote rejection of the thermal energy from the housing.
US 11,899,504 to Chen et al., which teaches an electronic device includes a casing, a driven component, a magnetic component and an electromagnetic component. The casing has an outer surface, an inner surface, and an accommodating groove penetrating through the outer surface and the inner surface. The driven component is movably disposed in the accommodating groove. The magnetic component is connected to the driven component. The electromagnetic component is aligned with the magnetic component, and the magnetic component and the electromagnetic component are located at the same side of the inner surface.
US 2021/0378135 to WANG et al., which teaches a case assembly and an electronic device are provided. The case assembly includes a metal case and a plastic cladding body. The metal case includes an inner side and an outer side, the inner side is opposite to the outer side. The metal case further includes a channel which is concavely disposed on the inner side to divide the inner side into a plurality of thermal insulation areas. The plastic cladding body is disposed on the metal case, and completely covers the outer side of the metal case.
US 2020/0006187 to Otremba et al., which teaches a heat dissipation device includes a first part having a first material and a surface portion, and a second part on the surface portion. The second part has a second material and a porosity.
/S.N./Examiner, Art Unit 2835
/Jayprakash N Gandhi/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2835