Objections to the Drawings
1. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the controller must be shown or the feature canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Rejections 35 U.S.C. § 112
Claim 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In particular, claim 11 line 4 mentions a controller but the specification at paragraph [0021] merely mentions a microcontrollers but does not provide any specifics of the controller namely, i.e., a processor or algorithm associated with the controller or flow chart in the drawings depicting the controller.
Independent claim 11 recites the limitation "a side brush" in line 2. Since claim 11 depends from clam 1, it is not clear whether the side brush is the same as the one mentioned in line 2 of claim 1, from which claim 11 depends. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 is rejected for its dependency on claim 11.
Rejections 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1)
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent (10,433,697) to Lindhe` et al. (cited by Applicant).
Regarding independent claim 1, Lindhe` et al. discloses moving the floor robot (10) (See FIG. 4a; S101), upon approaching a corner, so that the side brush (24) lies in the corner (See Col. 7 lines 30-45); varying a rotational speed of the side brush while the floor robot is at a standstill (See Col. 3 lines 1-15); and steering the floor robot (10) out of the corner (See Col. 7 lines 33-40; FIG. 5b).
Regarding claim 2, Lindhe` et al. discloses that the moving step includes driving along a lateral boundary of the floor area (against a wall into the corner), wherein the side brush (24) is facing the lateral boundary (against a wall into the corner; See Col. 5 lines 30-40).
Regarding claim 3, Lindhe` et al. discloses that the controlling the rotational speed of the side brush (24) while driving along in dependence upon a driving speed of the floor robot (10) (See Col. 1 lines 50-60).
Regarding claim 4, Lindhe` et al. discloses that the varying of the rotational speed of the side brush (24) step further includes temporarily reducing the rotational speed (See Col. 1 lines 50-60).
Regarding claim 5, Lindhe` et al. discloses that the includes varying the rotational speed in stages (See Col. 1 lines 50-60).
Regarding claim 6, Lindhe` et al. discloses that the rotational speed is reduced when the floor robot (10) is at the standstill, and a reduction in the rotational speed is ended prior to an end of the standstill (See Col. 7 lines 1-15).
Regarding claim 7, Lindhe` et al. discloses that the rotational speed is reduced prior to the floor robot (10) being at the standstill and a reduction in the rotational speed is ended prior to an end of the standstill (See Col. 15-25).
Regarding claim 8, Lindhe` et al. discloses that the rotational speed is varied multiple times in succession (See Col. 6 lines 55-67).
Regarding claim 9, Lindhe` et al. discloses a variation of the rotational speed includes temporary reversal of a direction of rotation of the side brush (See Col. 7 lines 1-15).
Regarding claim 10, Lindhe` et al. discloses a further variation of the rotational speed is controlled while the floor robot (10) is steered out of the corner (See Col. 7 lines 33-45).
Regarding claim 11, Lindhe` et al. discloses a side brush (24) being rotatable about a vertical axis and having at least one flexible cleaning arm (at numeral 24 in FIG. 1) being configured so as to be guided over a floor area; and a controller (16) configured so as to control the floor robot (10) according to the method according to claim 1 (See Col. 6 lines 10-20).
Conclusion
MICHAEL DEANGILO. JENNINGS
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/MICHAEL D JENNINGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723