DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/12/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PARK et al. (US 2019/0152996) in view of MAES et al. (US 2021/0358745).
Regarding claims 1-4, 7-10, 12-14, and 19
PARK teaches a lanthanum compound for atomic layer deposition (cyclic vapor deposition) [0037].
The compound shows the use of two cyclopentadienyl ligands and a acetamindinato bidentate ligand (heteroleptic). The R1 on the cyclopentadienyl (Cp) group is H or a C1-C4 linear/branched alkyl group (substituent) [0006]. The reactive gas for deposition onto a substrate is oxygen or oxygen containing gas such as ozone , water and hydrogen peroxide [0082]-[0083]. The substrate is in a reaction chamber [0077].
PARK teaches the deposition of lanthanum oxide using the claimed precursors but does not teach the selective deposition of the metal oxide on a first surface relative to a second surface. However, MAES teaches a method for selective deposition that includes a metallic surface and dielectric surface abstract. The selective deposition can occur onto the dielectric using a passivation layer on the metal as shown in Figs. 1A-D. The metal can be a conductive metal such as copper [0076]. The dielectric layer can be an inorganic dielectric such as a silicon oxide [0077]. The deposited material can be lanthanum oxide [0011] and [0083]. At the time of filing the invention it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to selectively deposit lanthanum oxide onto a dielectric to improve insulating characteristics in integrated circuits.
Regarding claim 5,
PARK teaches using silicon oxide as a dielectric. Silicon is a semi-metal and is considered to fall within the scope of a metal using the broadest reasonable interpretation of metal.
Regarding claim 11,
MAES teaches using a passivation layer on the metal while depositing on the dielectric. The passivation process is further shown in Fig. 13 which includes a pre-treatment step of both dielectric and metal surfaces. The pretreatment is an exposure to silicon reactant (silylation agent) [0196]. Then the inhibitor is applied where the inhibitor can be polyimide (organic polymer) [0200]. The clean up step then exposes the dielectric surface for selective deposition.
Regarding claim 15-17,
The R2-4 groups connected to the acetamidinato ligand can be hydrogen or a linear/branched alkyl group C1-C5 or C1-C4 [0006]. The scope of the generic structure therefore includes two alkyl groups and a hydrogen (dialkyl-).
Regarding claim 18,
The R1 on the cyclopentadienyl (Cp) group can be a branched C3 alkyl group (isopropyl) [0006] and there are two monodentate Cp ligands. The R2 and R3 on the acetaminidinato group can both be C3 branched alkyl group (isopropyl) [0006]. The resulting compound corresponds to the claimed langhanum precursor. The PARK reference does not expressly teach an embodiment using the claimed lanthanum compound. However, at the time of filing the invention it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select R groups according to the instructions provided in PARK and consequently arrive at the claimed compound.
Regarding claim 20,
PARK teaches the oxygen containing reactive gas can be a combination of (different) gases including oxygen, ozone, water, and hydrogen peroxide [0083].
Regarding claim 21,
PARK teaches the thickness of the deposited layer is controlled by the number of ALD cycles [0135]. The deposition speed can be 0.01nm/min [0134]. The reference does not expressly teach the thickness of the deposited lanthanum oxide layer. However, at the time of filing the invention it would have been prima facie obvious to deposit the lanthanum oxide to whatever thickness is required for their particular specifications.
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PARK et al. (US 2019/0152996) in view of MAES et al. (US 2021/0358745) further in view of FORBES (US 2005/0275011).
Regarding claims 5 and 6,
PARK teaches depositing the lanthanum onto an inorganic dielectric but only mentions the use of silicon oxide [0077]. However, FORBES teaches that when using dielectric layers, a silicon dioxide dielectric can be improved by a nanolaminate structure of other inorganic dielectric materials abstract. The FORBES reference teaches other known inorganic dielectric layers [0026] used in the art and also shows that they can be used as surface material for lanthanum oxide ALD [0028]. At the time of filing the invention it would have been prima facie obvious to use additional dielectric material such as HfO2 and ZrO2 as dielectric material as a simple substitution of known inorganic dielectric materials onto which lanthanum oxide can be deposited by ALD.
Conclusion
/AUSTIN MURATA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712