DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pre-grant Publication 2022/0020948 to Kim et al. cited in the Information Disclosure Statement filed 14 February 2024 (herein Kim).
Regarding claim 15, Kim teaches a display device corresponding to the display panel assembly recited in the instant claims comprising a display panel, a supporting member, a filling member, and a heat releasing member (abstract). Fig 2 of Kim shown below shows display panel 100 corresponding to the display panel recited in the instant claims disposed on supporting member 230 (paragraph 0044) wherein the display panel includes a display area (paragraph 0061).
Fig 2 also shows heat-releasing member 252 (paragraph 0049) and filling member (paragraph 0050) disposed on a surface of the supporting member 230 opposite the display panel 100 and having opening OP running through the supporting member 230 and filling member 254 (paragraph 0048). Taken together, supporting member 230, heat-releasing member 252, and filling member 254 correspond to the cover panel recited in the instant claims. Fig 2 of Kim shows protective film 260 corresponding to the first film recited in the instant claims disposed on the rear surface of heat-releasing member 252 and filling member 254 (paragraph 0052). Fig 2 also shows light-blocking member 256 corresponding to the second film recited in the instant claims disposed on a front face of protective film 260 in an overlapping relationship to the opening OP (paragraph 0053). Kim teaches that light-blocking member 256 contains a light-blocking material (paragraph 0054) while the protective film 260 is transparent (paragraph 0052).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of U.S. Pre-grant Publication 2022/0048272 to Kang et al. cited in the Information Disclosure Statement filed 14 February 2024 (herein Kang).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a display device corresponding to the display panel assembly recited in the instant claims comprising a display panel, a supporting member, a filling member, and a heat releasing member (abstract). Fig 2 of Kim shown below shows display panel 100 corresponding to the display panel recited in the instant claims disposed on supporting member 230 (paragraph 0044) wherein the display panel includes a display area (paragraph 0061).
Fig 2 also shows heat-releasing member 252 (paragraph 0049) and filling member (paragraph 0050) disposed on a surface of the supporting member 230 opposite the display panel 100 and having opening OP running through the supporting member 230 and filling member 254 (paragraph 0048). Taken together, supporting member 230, heat-releasing member 252, and filling member 254 correspond to the cover panel recited in the instant claims. Fig 2 of Kim shows protective film 260 corresponding to the first film recited in the instant claims disposed on the rear surface of heat-releasing member 252 and filling member 254 (paragraph 0052). Fig 2 also shows light-blocking member 256 corresponding to the second film recited in the instant claims disposed on a front face of protective film 260 in an overlapping relationship to the opening OP (paragraph 0053). Kim teaches that light-blocking member 256 contains a light-blocking material (paragraph 0054) while the protective film 260 is transparent (paragraph 0052).
Kim is silent as to the protective film 260 having an adhesive film disposed thereon.
Kang teaches a release film on a supporter in which a hole is defined (abstract) used in the fabrication of display devices (paragraph 0005). Fig 8 of Kang shows supporting member SUP having release films RFL1 and RFL2 disposed thereon (paragraphs 00116 and 0131) and Fig 15 shows release film RFL1 removed and replaced with a display module DM (paragraph 0155). Kang teaches that the release films include a base film and an adhesive on one side of the base film (paragraph 0080). Kang teaches that a light-shield layer LSL can be provided in the hole in the supporting member (paragraph 0151 and Fig 12). Kang also teaches that the light-shield layer can be attached to the release film with or without an adhesive (paragraphs 0236-0237).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the protective film of Kim to include the adhesive of Kang because applying a known technique to a known device has been held to be obvious. See MPEP 2143(I)(D).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Kim and Kang teach all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
As discussed above, Kang teaches that a light-shield layer can be attached to a release film with or without an adhesive (paragraphs 0236-0237).
Regarding claim 3, Kim and Kang teach all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Fig 2 of Kim shows light-blocking member 256 in contact with supporting member 230.
Regarding claim 4, Kim and Kang teach all the limitations of claim 3 as discussed above.
Kim is silent as to how much the light-blocking member 256 overlaps supporting member 230 surrounding opening OP. However, increasing or decreasing the overlap would amount to a change in size or proportion thereby rendering the claimed limitation obvious. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).
Regarding claim 5, Kim and Kang teach all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Kim teaches that light-blocking member 256 can include carbon black (paragraph 0054).
Regarding claim 6, Kim and Kang teach all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Fig 2 of Kim shows light-blocking member 256 disposed within an opening in filling member 254 and in contact with supporting member 230 which would meet the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 7, Kim and Kang teach all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
As discussed above, Kim teaches that the protective film 260 can be transparent (paragraph 0052).
Regarding claims 8 and 9, Kim and Kang teach all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Kim is silent as to the protective film 260 having the first and second portions or there being a third film present.
Kang teaches that the release films can include a plurality of handlers that outwardly protrude beyond the supporter SUP (paragraph 0105) wherein the handers correspond to the second portion recited in the instant claims. Kang also teaches that the handlers allow for a tool to grip the handler to facilitate the removal of the release film (paragraph 0106).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the protective film of Kim to include the handlers of Kang because it would facilitate removal of the protective film.
Kang is silent as to there being a third film or marking on the handlers; however, adding a colored film or marking to the handlers would amount to an aesthetic choice thereby rendering the third film obvious. See MPEP 2144.04(I).
Regarding claim 10, Kim and Kang teach all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Kim teaches that the display panel includes a display area and a peripheral area (paragraph 0061) wherein the display area includes a first display area surrounding a second display area that overlaps the opening OP (paragraph 0062), i.e. the opening, and therefore the protective film 260 are spaced apart from the peripheral area.
Regarding claims 13 and 14, Kim and Kang teach all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Figs 8, 9, and 10 of Kim show that the opening and light-blocking member can have various configurations and shapes (paragraph 0089) such as multiple openings with corresponding multiple light-blocking members (paragraph 0091). While Kim does not explicitly teach that multiple openings can have differing planar shapes, such change in shape has been held to be obvious. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and Kang as applied above and in further view of U.S. Pre-grant Publication 2022/0164006 to Lee et al. cited in the Information Disclosure Statement filed 14 February 2024 (herein Lee).
Regarding claim 11, Kim and Kang teach all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Kim is silent as to there being a circuit board disposed between the display panel and the supporting member.
Lee teaches a display module including a cushion plate with a through-hole (abstract). Lee teaches that the display module includes a back plate disposed on a rear surface of a display panel (paragraph 0091) and a cushion plate disposed on a rear surface of the back plate (paragraph 0093). Lee teaches that the display panel includes a flexible circuit board coupled to a display substrate (paragraph 0063) that is bent such that the display substrate and flexible circuit board may overlap each other and constitute a rear surface of the display panel (paragraph 0064), i.e. the circuit board would be at the back of the display panel and subsequently between any layers disposed on the rear surface of the display panel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display panel of Kim to include the flexible circuit board and display substrate of Lee because it would reduce the bezel area as much as possible (paragraph 0064).
Claim(s) 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim as applied above and in view of Kang.
Regarding claim 16, Kim teaches all the limitations of claim 15 as discussed above.
Kim is silent as to the protective film 260 having an adhesive film disposed thereon.
Kang teaches a release film on a supporter in which a hole is defined (abstract) used in the fabrication of display devices (paragraph 0005). Fig 8 of Kang shows supporting member SUP having release films RFL1 and RFL2 disposed thereon (paragraphs 00116 and 0131) and Fig 15 shows release film RFL1 removed and replaced with a display module DM (paragraph 0155). Kang teaches that the release films include a base film and an adhesive on one side of the base film (paragraph 0080). Kang teaches that a light-shield layer LSL can be provided in the hole in the supporting member (paragraph 0151 and Fig 12). Kang also teaches that the light-shield layer can be attached to the release film with or without an adhesive (paragraphs 0236-0237).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the protective film of Kim to include the adhesive of Kang because applying a known technique to a known device has been held to be obvious. See MPEP 2143(I)(D).
Regarding claim 17, Kim and Kang teach all the limitations of claim 16 as discussed above.
Fig 2 of Kim shows light-blocking member 256 in contact with supporting member 230.
Kim is silent as to how much the light-blocking member 256 overlaps supporting member 230 surrounding opening OP. However, increasing or decreasing the overlap would amount to a change in size or proportion thereby rendering the claimed limitation obvious. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).
Regarding claim 18, Kim and Kang teach all the limitations of claim 16 as discussed above.
Fig 2 of Kim shows light-blocking member 256 disposed within an opening in filling member 254 and in contact with supporting member 230 which would meet the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 19, Kim and Kang teach all the limitations of claim 16 as discussed above.
Kim teaches that light-blocking member 256 can include carbon black (paragraph 0054). Kim teaches that the protective film 260 can be transparent (paragraph 0052).
Regarding claim 20, Kim and Kang teach all the limitations of claim 16 as discussed above.
Kim is silent as to the protective film 260 having the first and second portions or there being a third film present.
Kang teaches that the release films can include a plurality of handlers that outwardly protrude beyond the supporter SUP (paragraph 0105) wherein the handers correspond to the second portion recited in the instant claims. Kang also teaches that the handlers allow for a tool to grip the handler to facilitate the removal of the release film (paragraph 0106).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the protective film of Kim to include the handlers of Kang because it would facilitate removal of the protective film.
Kang is silent as to there being a third film or marking on the handlers; however, adding a colored film or marking to the handlers would amount to an aesthetic choice thereby rendering the third film obvious. See MPEP 2144.04(I).
Contact Information
/ZACHARY M DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783