DETAILED ACTION
Claims Status
Claims 1,4-15 and 18-20 are currently pending in the application.
Claims 2-3, 16-17 have been cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 9 and 11-15, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0128294 A1 to Gupta et al in view of US 2008/0235259 A1 to Abernethy, Jr. et al.
As to claims 1 and 15, Gupta discloses a method [a computing system configured for performing a set of acts] comprising: proximate a time period during which a current segment of media content is output for presentation by a content-presentation device, (see fig.1 and 2; page.1,¶0017-¶0019); responsive to detecting the occurrence of the trigger event, obtaining related segment metadata associated with one or more related segments of media content that are separate from, but contextually related to, the current segment (see fig.1; page.1,¶0017-¶0018); and proximate a time point at which the trigger event occurred, causing the obtained related segment metadata to be output for presentation (see fig.1; page.1,¶0017-¶0018,¶0026,¶0064).
Gupta fails explicitly discloses wherein detecting an occurrence of a trigger event comprises detecting that the content-presentation device has paused output of media content.
In a related art, Abernethy,Jr. discloses detecting an occurrence of a trigger event, wherein detecting an occurrence of a trigger event comprises detecting that the content-presentation device has paused output of media content (see fig.5; page.1,¶0008,¶0032,¶0049).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gupta with the teaching as taught by Abernethy,Jr. in order to access important events in the media programs, by prompt a user for a command to access the related second content in response to the existence of related second content, by pause the output of the first content.
As to claims 4 and 18, Gupta further discloses wherein obtaining related segment metadata associated with one or more related segments of media content that are separate from, but contextually related to, the current segment comprises: obtaining current segment metadata associated with the current segment, wherein the current segment metadata includes a related segment data component that identifies related segment metadata associated with the one or more related segments; and using the related segment data component to obtain the related segment metadata (see page.1,¶0017-¶0018,¶0064).
As to claim 9, Gupta further discloses wherein causing the obtained related segment metadata to be output for presentation comprises causing the content-presentation device to output for presentation the obtained related segment metadata (see fig. 1; page.1,¶0017-¶0018).
As to claim 11, Gupta further discloses wherein the obtained related segment metadata comprises a link to media data representing at least one of the one or more related segments, the method further comprising: selecting, based on input received via a user interface, the link; and responsive to selecting the link, causing the linked related segment to be output for presentation (see fig.1-2).
As to claim 12, Gupta further discloses wherein the obtained segment metadata comprises a text- based summary of at least one of the one or more related segments(see fig. 1; page.1,¶0017-¶0018).
As to claim 13, Gupta further discloses wherein the obtained segment metadata comprises an image of a character included in at least one of the one or more related segments(see fig. 1; page.1,¶0017-¶0018).
As to claim 14, Gupta further discloses wherein the current segment and the related one or more segments are part of a given media content movie or show series, and wherein the related one or more segments precede the current segment, according to a standard playout chronology of the media content movie or show series (see fig. 1; page.1,¶0017-¶0018).
As to claim 20, claim 20 is directed toward embody the method of claim 1 in “computer readable medium”. It would have been obvious to embody the procedures of Gupta and Abernethy,Jr. discussed with respect to claim 1 in a “computer readable medium” in order that the instructions could be automatically performed by a processor. It comprises substantially the same method as discussed in claim above; there by the same rejection is applicable.
Claims 5-8,10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0128294 A1 to Gupta et al in view of US 2008/0235259 A1 to Abernethy, Jr. et al., and further US 2024/0364970 A1 to Coskun et al.
As to claims 5 and 19, Gupta further discloses generating a related segment data component of current segment metadata associated with the current segment, wherein generating the related segment data component of the current segment metadata comprises: obtaining a context data component of the current segment metadata; obtaining candidate context data components associated with respective candidate related segments; providing at least (1) the obtained context data component of the current segment metadata, and (ii) the obtained candidate context data components associated with respective candidate related segments, and responsive to the providing, receiving, an indication of related segments from among the candidate related segments; and based on the indicated related segments, generating the related segment data component of the current segment metadata (see fig.6, el.604-608; page.8,¶0061-¶0062).
Gupta and Abernethy, Jr fail discloses providing the obtained context data and receiving from a trained model the related segments.
Coskun discloses providing the obtained context data and receiving from a trained model the related segments (see fig. 3 and 6; page.1,¶0009,¶0056, ¶0070-¶0071).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gupta and Abernethy, Jr with the teaching as taught by Coskun in order to easily to identify related of media segments using historical data.
As to claim 6, Gupta further discloses wherein the obtained context data component of the current segment metadata includes (i) closed-captioning text, (ii) subtitle text, (11) dialogue text generated from a speech-to-text system, (iv) text generated from a video-to-text system, (v) a text description of an object identified by an object detection system, or (vi) a face identifier generated by a facial recognition system (see page.8,¶0061-¶0062).
As to claim 7, Coskun further discloses providing (i) user profile data for a user of the content-presentation device, (ii) social media data associated with media content of which the current segment is a part, or (iii) chat data associated with media content of which the current segment is a part, to the trained model (see fig. 3 and 6; page.1,¶0009,¶0056, ¶0068, ¶0070-¶0071).
As to claim 8, Coskun further discloses training the model by providing to the model, (i) multiple instances of segment metadata, and (ii) indications of which instances of segment metadata relate to other instances of segment metadata (see fig. 6 and 7; page.1,¶0009,¶0056 and ¶0070-¶0073).
As to claim 10, Coskun further discloses wherein causing the obtained related segment metadata to be output for presentation comprises causing a second device that is separate from the content- presentation device to output for presentation the obtained related segment metadata (see fig. 16B; page.11, ¶0089).
Conclusion
MULUGETA MENGESHA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2424
/Mulugeta Mengesha/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424