DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment, filed 05/24/2024, has been entered.
Claims 1-39 have been canceled.
Claims 40-64 are pending and currently under examination as they read on a method of treating a condition comprising administering a cell that expresses a chimeric receptor comprising an extracellular domain that comprises a partial sequence of B-cell activating factor (BAFF).
Independent Claim
Claim 40. A method of treating a condition in a patient in need thereof, the method comprising administering to the patient a cell that expresses a chimeric receptor, wherein the chimeric receptor comprises, from N-to-C terminus:
(a) an extracellular domain that comprises: (i) a B-cell activating factor (BAFF) partial sequence consisting of an amino acid sequence with at least 90% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 3, and (ii) a hinge domain;
(b) a transmembrane domain;
(c) a CD28 intracellular domain; and
(d) an OX40 intracellular domain.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 40-43, 45-64 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding the instant claim limitations, the specification does not appear to provide an adequate written description for a genus of BAFF partial sequence consisting of an amino acid sequence with at least 90% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 3 because there is a lack of sufficient written description to support the genus of polypeptides encompassed by the limitation. The standard for Written Description is met by "showing that an invention is complete by disclosure of sufficiently detailed, relevant identifying characteristics ... i.e., complete or partial structure, other physical and/or chemical properties, functional characteristics when coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or some combination of such characteristics." See Enzo Biochem., Inc. v. Gen-Probe Incorporated 323 F.3d 956 (Fed. Cir. 2002). The present claims are drawn to a genus of BAFF polypeptides consisting of 90% sequence identity with SEQ ID NO: 3. Furthermore, the claims require said genus to have the function of binding to BCMA, TACI and BAFF-R, a feature essential to the instant invention.
The fact that two polypeptides that are homologous in structure or share certain degrees of identity in sequence does not in and of itself required that the two sequences share any functional activity such as promoting quiescent state. In the absence of sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, reduction to drawings, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, the claimed invention is not described in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventors, at the time the application was filed, had possession of all the BAFF polypeptide variants to have the function of binding BCMA, TACI and BAFF-R.
A person of skill is well aware, at the time of the invention was made, that different molecules, even with sequence similarity, do not necessarily have the same function. For example, Attwood (Science 290: 471-473, 2000) teaches that “[i]t is presumptuous to make functional assignments merely on the basis of some degree of similarity between sequences. Similarly, Skolnick et al. (Trends in Biotech. 18: 34-39, 2000) teach that the skilled artisan is well aware that assigning functional activities for any particular protein or protein family based upon sequence homology is inaccurate, in part because of the multifunctional nature of proteins (e.g., "Abstract" and "Sequence-based approaches to function prediction", page 34). Even in situations where there is some confidence of a similar overall structure between two proteins, only experimental research can confirm the artisan's best guess as to the function of the structurally related protein (see in particular "Abstract" and Box 2).
The problem here is that there is insufficient written description to lead a person of skill in the art to know, regarding the polypeptide with the percent identity, which sequences are essential, which sequences are non-essential for the variants of BAFF polypeptide to be able to bind BCMA, TACI and BAFF-R, a required property of the claimed polypeptide.
Therefore, the disclosed species are not sufficiently representative of the genus encompassing all the variants of BAFF encompassed by the above-mentioned limitations because the disclosure fails to describe the common attributes or characteristics that identify all members of the genus, known and unknown at the time the invention was made.
Vas-Cath Inc. v. Mahurkar, 19 USPQ2d 1111, makes clear that “applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention. The invention is, for purposes of the written description inquiry, whatever is now claimed.” (See page 1117.) The specification does not “clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [he or she] invented what is claimed.” (See Vas-Cath at page 1116.) Consequently, Applicant was not in possession of the instant claimed invention. See University of California v. Eli Lilly and Co. 43 USPQ2d 1398.
Applicant is reminded that Vas-Cath makes clear that the written description provision of 35 U.S.C. § 112 is severable from its enablement provision. (See page 1115.)
Claims 40-64 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
The present claims are drawn to a method of treating a condition comprising administering a cell expressing a chimeric receptor comprising an extracellular domain comprising a BAFF. The breadth of the claims encompasses treating any conditions. However, the instant specification, as filed, does not provide sufficient enabling description for treating the full scope of the diseases encompassed by the claims because there does not appear to be sufficient in vitro or in vivo evidence to support administering the cells comprising chimeric receptor to prevent or ameliorate the symptoms of all the diseases encompassed by the claims.
Pharmaceutical therapies in the absence of in vivo clinical data are unpredictable for the following reasons; (1) the protein may be inactivated before producing an effect, i.e. such as proteolytic degradation, immunological inactivation or due to an inherently short half-life of the protein; (2) the protein may not reach the target area because, i.e. the protein may not be able to cross the mucosa or the protein may be adsorbed by fluids, cells and tissues where the protein has no effect; and (3) other functional properties, known or unknown, may make the protein unsuitable for in vivo therapeutic use, i.e. such as adverse side effects prohibitive to the use of such treatment. See page 1338, footnote 7 of Ex parte Aggarwal, 23 USPQ2d 1334 (PTO Bd. Pat App. & Inter. 1992).
The specification does not adequately teach how to effectively prevent or treat the breadth of diseases or reach an appropriate beneficial therapeutic endpoint in by administering the antibody. The specification does not teach how to extrapolate data obtained from various in vitro or in vivo observations as well as clinical experience with the cell expressing chimeric receptor to the development of effective methods of preventing or treating plethora of the diseases broadly encompassed by the claimed invention.
There is insufficient guidance and direction as well as objective evidence provided for treating the scope of diseases encompassed by the claimed method. In view of the lack of predictability of the art (e.g., treating a cancer) to which the invention pertains, undue experimentation would be required to practice the claimed method of treating any cancer with a reasonable expectation of success, absent a specific and detailed description in applicant's specification of how to effectively use the claimed agent and absent working examples providing evidence which is reasonably predictive that the claimed agent is effective for treating any cancer commensurate in scope with the claimed invention.
Reasonable correlation must exist between the scope of the claims and scope of the enablement set forth. In view on the quantity of experimentation necessary, the limited working examples, the nature of the invention, the state of the prior art, the unpredictability of the art and the breadth of the claims, it would take undue trials and errors to practice the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 40-46, 48-64 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Ma et al. (US 2019/0135894 A1; cited in IDS; see entire document).
Ma et al. taught a method of treating a condition comprising administering a NK cell, NK T cell and cytotoxic T cell expressing a chimeric receptor comprising an extracellular domain that comprises BAFF, IgG1 hinge domain, CD28 transmembrane domain, and OX40, CD3 zeta or CD28 intracellular domain from N-to-C terminus and a linker, wherein the cell is autologous or allogeneic (see, e.g., paragraphs 0016, 0236, 0249, 0270, 0071, 0245, 0029, 0573, 0229, 0278 Fig 1A and 11A). Ma’s chimeric receptor would bind BCMA, TACI and BAFF-R because its extracellular domain comprises BAFF. Given that Ma’s chimeric receptor comprises the same domains as the claimed chimeric receptor of the present application, Ma inherently taught the amino acid sequences of the domains of the chimeric receptor as the amino acid sequences are inherent features of these domains disclosed by Ma. Furthermore, Ma taught the recited conditions such as multiple myeloma, B cell malignancies, follicular lymphoma and SLE (see, e.g., paragraphs 0358, 0448, 0450, 0481).
Double Patenting
Claims 40-64 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,023,354 in view of Ma et al. (US 2019/0135894 A1.
The claims of the reference patent disclosed the same chimeric receptor as recited in the present claims and the immune cells expressing the chimeric receptor. Although the patent claims did not disclose a method of treating a condition, it would have been obvious to do so in view of the teachings by Ma et al. as discussed above (see 102 above). Therefore, the patent claims in view of Ma render obvious of the present claims.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/SHARON X WEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1641