DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7, 14-15, 17-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 20150128602 A) in view of Bean, Jr. (US 7165412 B1).
As to Claim 1, Lee discloses:
A system (magnetic thermal material circulation moving device; Fig. 1), comprising:
a loop 100 containing magnetorheological fluid (Par. 0034 “Hereinafter, the term "magnetic thermal fluid" will be used collectively to refer to methods in which magnetic thermal materials are filled into a fluid in an appropriate size, magnetically reactive fluids in which magnetic thermal materials are processed to the micrometer level and mixed with oil, and magnetic fluids made by molding magnetic thermal materials into nanoscale ultrafine powders”; Par. 0037 “Magnetorheological fluids (MR Fluid), which are similar to magnetic fluids, refer to fluids containing micrometer-level magnetic particles within a fluid such as oil, and are smart fluids that can change the apparent viscosity of the fluid as a magnetic field is applied”; Par. 0041 “the present invention comprises a closed-loop container (100) containing a magnetic thermal fluid containing a magnetic thermal material”);
a heat exchanger (cooling area 120) coupled to the loop 100 to cool the magnetorheological fluid (Par. 0042 “a cooling area (120) to which the magnetic thermal material with a raised temperature is cooled”); and
a structure 110 forming a segment of the loop 100 where the magnetorheological fluid provides cooling to a vehicular component (Par. 0042 “a heat contact area (110) to which a heat source (300) that changes the magnetic properties of the magnetic thermal material is applied”; Par. 0051 “The heat source (300) according to the embodiment of the present invention may utilize solar heat, heat generated from electronic components, heat generated from heating devices, heat from various facilities requiring cooling, etc., rather than a heat source intentionally generated”; heat source 300 capable of being in a vehicle).
Lee does not disclose:
a swing check valve within the loop to constrain flow of the magnetorheological fluid.
However, Bean, Jr. discloses:
a swing check valve (swing-type check valve 114) within the loop 111 to constrain flow of the coolant (col. 14, Lines 17-19 “The line 111 feeding the line 110 includes a swing-type check valve 114 to help ensure one-directional flow of the HE coolant in the feed line 111”);
in order to ensure one-directional flow of the coolant within the feed line (col. 14, Lines 17-19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lee as further suggested by Bean, Jr. e.g., providing:
a swing check valve within the loop to constrain flow of the magnetorheological fluid;
in order to ensure one-directional flow of the coolant/magnetorheological fluid within the loop.
Additionally, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined/modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination/modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
As to Claim 2, the obvious modification of Lee in view of Bean, Jr. discloses:
wherein the structure (110 of Lee) routes a portion of the segment according to a temperature field gradient (Par. 0044 “When heat is applied from the outside through the heat source contact area (110) of the closed-loop container (100), the magnetic thermal material around the heat source contact area (110) inside the closed-loop container (100) exceeds the Curie temperature and loses its magnetism”; temperature at 110 is greater than other portions of 100).
As to Claim 4, the obvious modification of Lee in view of Bean, Jr. discloses:
wherein the segment (segment of 110 of Lee) upon receiving magnetorheological fluid follows a path directly toward hottest area of the structure 110 (fluid flows to 110 when circulating, 100 is a closed loop and fluid flows directly to 110; Lee).
As to Claim 5, the obvious modification of Lee in view of Bean, Jr. discloses:
wherein the magnetorheological fluid (MR fluid of Lee) provides electromagnetic interference shielding to the vehicular component 300 (magnetic particles within MR Fluid must provide at least in part some EMI shielding).
As to Claim 7, the obvious modification of Lee in view of Bean, Jr. discloses:
wherein the vehicular component 300 is not an electronic component (Par. 0051 “The heat source (300) according to the embodiment of the present invention may utilize solar heat, heat generated from electronic components, heat generated from heating devices, heat from various facilities requiring cooling, etc., rather than a heat source intentionally generated”; can be a heating device).
As to Claim 14, Lee discloses:
A method, comprising:
storing magnetorheological fluid in a loop 100 (Par. 0034 “Hereinafter, the term "magnetic thermal fluid" will be used collectively to refer to methods in which magnetic thermal materials are filled into a fluid in an appropriate size, magnetically reactive fluids in which magnetic thermal materials are processed to the micrometer level and mixed with oil, and magnetic fluids made by molding magnetic thermal materials into nanoscale ultrafine powders”; Par. 0037 “Magnetorheological fluids (MR Fluid), which are similar to magnetic fluids, refer to fluids containing micrometer-level magnetic particles within a fluid such as oil, and are smart fluids that can change the apparent viscosity of the fluid as a magnetic field is applied”; Par. 0041 “the present invention comprises a closed-loop container (100) containing a magnetic thermal fluid containing a magnetic thermal material”);
utilizing a heat exchanger (cooling area 120) coupled to the loop 100 to cool the magnetorheological fluid (Par. 0042 “a cooling area (120) to which the magnetic thermal material with a raised temperature is cooled”); and
utilizing a structure 110 forming a segment of the loop 100 where the magnetorheological fluid provides cooling to a vehicular component (Par. 0042 “a heat contact area (110) to which a heat source (300) that changes the magnetic properties of the magnetic thermal material is applied”; Par. 0051 “The heat source (300) according to the embodiment of the present invention may utilize solar heat, heat generated from electronic components, heat generated from heating devices, heat from various facilities requiring cooling, etc., rather than a heat source intentionally generated”; heat source 300 capable of being in a vehicle).
Lee does not disclose:
utilizing a swing check valve within the loop to constrain flow of the magnetorheological fluid.
However, Bean, Jr. discloses:
utilizing a swing check valve (swing-type check valve 114) within the loop 111 to constrain flow of the coolant (col. 14, Lines 17-19 “The line 111 feeding the line 110 includes a swing-type check valve 114 to help ensure one-directional flow of the HE coolant in the feed line 111”);
in order to ensure one-directional flow of the coolant within the feed line (col. 14, Lines 17-19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lee as further suggested by Bean, Jr. e.g., providing:
utilizing a swing check valve within the loop to constrain flow of the magnetorheological fluid;
in order to ensure one-directional flow of the coolant/magnetorheological fluid within the loop.
As to Claim 15, the obvious modification of Lee in view of Bean, Jr. discloses:
wherein the structure (110 of Lee) routes a portion of the segment according to a temperature field gradient (Par. 0044 “When heat is applied from the outside through the heat source contact area (110) of the closed-loop container (100), the magnetic thermal material around the heat source contact area (110) inside the closed-loop container (100) exceeds the Curie temperature and loses its magnetism”; temperature at 110 is greater than other portions of 100).
As to Claim 17, the obvious modification of Lee in view of Bean, Jr. discloses:
wherein the segment (segment of 110 of Lee) upon receiving magnetorheological fluid follows a path directly toward hottest area of the structure 110 (fluid flows to 110 when circulating, 100 is a closed loop and fluid flows directly to 110; Lee).
As to Claim 18, the obvious modification of Lee in view of Bean, Jr. discloses:
wherein the magnetorheological fluid (MR fluid of Lee) provides electromagnetic interference shielding to the vehicular component 300 (magnetic particles within MR Fluid must provide at least in part some EMI shielding).
As to Claim 20, the obvious modification of Lee in view of Bean, Jr. discloses:
wherein the vehicular component 300 is not an electronic component (Par. 0051 “The heat source (300) according to the embodiment of the present invention may utilize solar heat, heat generated from electronic components, heat generated from heating devices, heat from various facilities requiring cooling, etc., rather than a heat source intentionally generated”; can be a heating device).
Claims 3 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 20150128602 A) in view of Bean, Jr. (US 7165412 B1) as applied to claims 2 and 15 above, and further in view of Ueda (US 20180254136 A1).
As to Claim 3, the obvious modification of Lee in view of Bean, Jr. does not disclose:
wherein the structure routes the portion of the segment in a spiral configuration.
However, Ueda discloses:
wherein the structure routes the portion of the segment (flow path 60; Fig. 7) in a spiral configuration (Par. 0082 “The cooling flow path 60 is provided in a planar spiral shape substantially in parallel with a surface of the holding member 20 inside the holding member 20”);
in order to directly transmit heat from the conductive wire to the flow path, improving cooling efficiency (Par. 0084).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lee in view of Bean, Jr. as further suggested by Ueda e.g., providing:
wherein the structure routes the portion of the segment in a spiral configuration;
in order to improve cooling efficiency by transmitting heat directly.
As to Claim 16, the obvious modification of Lee in view of Bean, Jr. does not disclose:
wherein the structure routes the portion of the segment in a spiral configuration.
However, Ueda discloses:
wherein the structure routes the portion of the segment (flow path 60; Fig. 7) in a spiral configuration (Par. 0082 “The cooling flow path 60 is provided in a planar spiral shape substantially in parallel with a surface of the holding member 20 inside the holding member 20”);
in order to directly transmit heat from the conductive wire to the flow path, improving cooling efficiency (Par. 0084).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lee in view of Bean, Jr. as further suggested by Ueda e.g., providing:
wherein the structure routes the portion of the segment in a spiral configuration;
in order to improve cooling efficiency by transmitting heat directly.
Claims 6 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 20150128602 A) in view of Bean, Jr. (US 7165412 B1) as applied to claims 5 and 18 above, and further in view of Schmidt (US 20180220555 A1).
As to Claim 6, the obvious modification of Lee in view of Bean, Jr. does not disclose:
wherein the vehicular component is a sensor.
However, Schmidt discloses:
wherein the vehicular component is a sensor 26 (Par. 0013 “The thermal management system 30 may include heat sinks or cooling plates mounted to, or in contact with, the sensors 26 and/or the electrical components 28”; “heat generated by the sensors 26 and electrical components 28 may be transferred to the heat sinks and cooling plates”);
in order to provide cooling to sensors 26 (Par. 0013).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lee in view of Bean, Jr. as further suggested by Schmidt e.g., providing:
wherein the vehicular component is a sensor;
in order to provide cooling to sensors.
As to Claim 19, the obvious modification of Lee in view of Bean, Jr. does not disclose:
wherein the vehicular component is a sensor.
However, Schmidt discloses:
wherein the vehicular component is a sensor 26 (Par. 0013 “The thermal management system 30 may include heat sinks or cooling plates mounted to, or in contact with, the sensors 26 and/or the electrical components 28”; “heat generated by the sensors 26 and electrical components 28 may be transferred to the heat sinks and cooling plates”);
in order to provide cooling to sensors 26 (Par. 0013).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lee in view of Bean, Jr. as further suggested by Schmidt e.g., providing:
wherein the vehicular component is a sensor;
in order to provide cooling to sensors.
Claims 8-9 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 20150128602 A) in view of Schwarz (US 11503747 B2).
As to Claim 8, Lee discloses:
A system (magnetic thermal material circulation moving device; Fig. 1), comprising:
a loop 100 containing magnetorheological fluid (Par. 0034 “Hereinafter, the term "magnetic thermal fluid" will be used collectively to refer to methods in which magnetic thermal materials are filled into a fluid in an appropriate size, magnetically reactive fluids in which magnetic thermal materials are processed to the micrometer level and mixed with oil, and magnetic fluids made by molding magnetic thermal materials into nanoscale ultrafine powders”; Par. 0037 “Magnetorheological fluids (MR Fluid), which are similar to magnetic fluids, refer to fluids containing micrometer-level magnetic particles within a fluid such as oil, and are smart fluids that can change the apparent viscosity of the fluid as a magnetic field is applied”; Par. 0041 “the present invention comprises a closed-loop container (100) containing a magnetic thermal fluid containing a magnetic thermal material”);
a heat exchanger (cooling area 120) coupled to the loop to cool the magnetorheological fluid (Par. 0042 “a cooling area (120) to which the magnetic thermal material with a raised temperature is cooled”); and
a structure 110 forming a corresponding segment of each loop 100 where the magnetorheological fluid provides cooling to a vehicular component (Par. 0042 “a heat contact area (110) to which a heat source (300) that changes the magnetic properties of the magnetic thermal material is applied”; Par. 0051 “The heat source (300) according to the embodiment of the present invention may utilize solar heat, heat generated from electronic components, heat generated from heating devices, heat from various facilities requiring cooling, etc., rather than a heat source intentionally generated”; heat source 300 capable of being in a vehicle).
Lee does not disclose:
a set of loops containing magnetorheological fluid;
a heat exchanger coupled to the set of loops to cool the magnetorheological fluid.
However, Schwarz discloses:
a set of loops (multiple cooling loops 8; see Fig. 2) containing fluid F (wherein each loop 8 corresponds to 100 of Lee);
a heat exchanger (portion of loop away from 3; see Fig. 3; corresponds to 120 of Lee) coupled to the set of loops 8 to cool the fluid (col. 6, Lines 34-38 “the configuration of the larger dimensioned outlet channel 2.1, which leads off from the heat chamber 3, renders possible an improved division and dissipation of a heat flow from the heat chamber 3, as a result of which the heat transport is improved”);
in order to provide improved heat transport (col. 4, Lines 44-49).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lee as further suggested by Schwarz e.g., providing:
a set of loops containing magnetorheological fluid;
a heat exchanger coupled to the set of loops to cool the magnetorheological fluid;
in order to provide improved heat transport.
As to Claim 9, the obvious modification of Lee in view of Schwarz discloses:
wherein the structure (110 of Lee) routes each corresponding segment according to a temperature field gradient (Par. 0044 “When heat is applied from the outside through the heat source contact area (110) of the closed-loop container (100), the magnetic thermal material around the heat source contact area (110) inside the closed-loop container (100) exceeds the Curie temperature and loses its magnetism”; temperature at 110 is greater than other portions of 100).
As to Claim 11, the obvious modification of Lee in view of Schwarz discloses:
wherein the structure (110 of Lee; corresponds to 3 of Schwarz) routes each corresponding segment of each loop (loops 8 of Schwarz) to form a star-shaped configuration (see Fig. 2 of Schwarz, loops 8 are formed in star-shaped configuration, e.g., extend radially from 3).
As to Claim 12, the obvious modification of Lee in view of Schwarz discloses:
wherein the magnetorheological fluid (MR fluid of Lee) provides electromagnetic interference shielding to the vehicular component 300 (magnetic particles within MR Fluid must provide at least in part some EMI shielding).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 20150128602 A) in view of Schwarz (US 11503747 B2) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Bean, Jr. (US 7165412 B1).
As to Claim 10, the obvious modification of Lee in view of Schwarz does not disclose:
wherein each loop contains a swing check valve within the loop to constrain the flow of the magnetorheological fluid.
However, Bean, Jr. discloses:
wherein each loop 111 contains a swing check valve (swing-type check valve 114) within the loop 111 to constrain the flow of the coolant (col. 14, Lines 17-19 “The line 111 feeding the line 110 includes a swing-type check valve 114 to help ensure one-directional flow of the HE coolant in the feed line 111”);
in order to ensure one-directional flow of the coolant within the feed line (col. 14, Lines 17-19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lee in view of Schwarz as further suggested by Bean, Jr. e.g., providing:
wherein each loop contains a swing check valve within the loop to constrain the flow of the magnetorheological fluid;
in order to ensure one-directional flow of the coolant/magnetorheological fluid within the loop.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 20150128602 A) in view of Schwarz (US 11503747 B2) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Schmidt (US 20180220555 A1).
As to Claim 13, the obvious modification of Lee in view of Schwarz does not disclose:
wherein the vehicular component is a sensor.
However, Schmidt discloses:
wherein the vehicular component is a sensor 26 (Par. 0013 “The thermal management system 30 may include heat sinks or cooling plates mounted to, or in contact with, the sensors 26 and/or the electrical components 28”; “heat generated by the sensors 26 and electrical components 28 may be transferred to the heat sinks and cooling plates”);
in order to provide cooling to sensors 26 (Par. 0013).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lee in view of Schwarz as further suggested by Schmidt e.g., providing:
wherein the vehicular component is a sensor;
in order to provide cooling to sensors.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Masias (US 9786969 B2) discloses a magnetically controlled traction battery thermal plate with magnetorheological fluid.
Murray (US 20070039721 A1) discloses a heat dissipating system with the use of magnetorheological fluids.
Carpenter (US 20160116223 A1) discloses a thermal management system using ferrofluids.
/MATTHEW SINCLAIR MUIR/ Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/Jayprakash N Gandhi/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841